Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Jung Seed

Click here to return to Jung Seed's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
241 positives
48 neutrals
89 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | ... 10 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive jbettis_mg34
(1 review)
On Apr 15, 2012, jbettis_mg34 Waverly, IL wrote:

This was my first time ordering from this company, I ordered several perennial plants. They were packaged well and all plants were very healthy. Will definitely buy from this company in the future, and will recommend them to friends and family.

Neutral TA152H
(9 reviews)
On Apr 14, 2012, TA152H Stony Point, NY wrote:

Posted on April 3, 2012, updated April 14, 2012
I have been buying from Jung for many years. They are a little behind the times in varieties, and are expensive, but if they have what you want, the quality is very good. I'm never disappointed with their trees, or seeds, and never regret buying from them. They also have a very nice catalog.


On April 14th, 2012, TA152H changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

I just got a tree from Jung's, and it was really bad. The scion wood was decent, although a little beaten up, but the root stock was an atrocity. The bud union was over 16 inches from the root. I've never seen something like this before. And the root was broken in places, and not pruned, and worse than that, it had no roots on one side of it. None at all, like it was grown against a huge rock, or a wall.

This type of tree should not be sold when it's obviously been grown and budded by an incompetent. It's not like it's hard to see these types of problems, but they ship them out like that anyway.

So, this company is mixed in quality, and high in price. It's just not worth it if there's a risk in quality.
Positive Pattyw5
(10 reviews)
On Apr 12, 2012, Pattyw5 La Salle, IL wrote:

Can't comment on other product's offered by Jung, but their bare root Roses are excellent and always have been. If they have what I need there's nothing better. Best to carefully follow planting instructions for excellent results.
Pat Wallace

Positive sgardencrazy
(3 reviews)
On Apr 3, 2012, sgardencrazy Crystal Lake, IL wrote:

March 31, 2012
I placed an order in February and I do not remember if I requested a ship date or not -I usually do...around April 30 for zone 5. My plants arrived on March 31. -I potted them up and put them in a sheltered place not willing to chance planting them our this early and not knowing if they were greenhouse grown. -That aside, the bare root plants appear to be fine and the two perennials and two blueberry bushes were very nice size, good root systems and well packed. -Prices were very reasonable as well. -Will order from them again!

Positive tzonehunter
(1 review)
On Mar 26, 2012, tzonehunter Hartford, WI wrote:

We ordered a variety of tomatoes, peppers, herbs, and kohlrabi, all seed, from Jung this spring. Nearly all seeds have germinated (started indoors). We received our order within 5 days of the order date. Customer service responded promptly to both of my emails requesting shipping updates (I ordered late and was in a rush to get planting). Nothing but good things so far!

Positive taufgardner
(20 reviews)
On Mar 8, 2012, taufgardner American Fork, UT wrote:

Posted on July 21, 2011, updated March 8, 2012
Posted on January 19, 2011, updated July 21, 2011
I have ordered from a sister company (HPS) of Jung for a few years. This year, I received catalogs from Jung and Totally Tomatoes. I decided to give each a try. Orders came promptly, accurately and well-packaged. I have no doubt I will have the same positive experience with the seeds as I have had with HPS.


On July 21st, 2011, taufgardner added the following:

I have had a great experience with Jung's seeds. Good germination and performance. I like the family of companies that are associated with Jung's, and they are now my main supplier.
On March 8th, 2012, taufgardner added the following:

A variety of pepper I ordered did okay, but the germination was a little below par and the seed count a bit stingy. A specialty variety and I got enough. Experience not enough to kill the love I have for the various companies on Stroud St. in Randolph, WI
Positive ekconrad
(1 review)
On Sep 15, 2011, ekconrad PEYTON, CO wrote:

I recently ordered four plants from Jung Seeds. I was impressed that they were shipped quickly. When I received them 3 of the 4 were in great shape the fourth was not looking so great. I planted them all. After two weeks the 3 plants were thriving but the fourth did not make it. I contacted customer service and they quickly sent out a replacement. I just received the replacement and it is lush and full plant! I am very excited to see all of my plants bloom next year! I have ordered form Jung on and off for about 15 years. Many of the plants and plants that I have started from seed I have in my garden came from Jung.

Positive coolnigh
(3 reviews)
On Sep 7, 2011, coolnigh Gilmanton, NH wrote:

Posted on September 1, 2011, updated September 7, 2011
Posted on August 31, 2011, updated September 1, 2011
Hi everyone. I just ordered from Jung Seed for the first time and thought I'd chronicle the process here (which I did previously for Fast Growing Trees).

On Aug. 29 I placed an online order for their Perennial Border collection - 21 plants of 16 varieties. I'm a little concerned that their plants are said to be in 2.5" pots (even Burpee does 4") so I anticipate they will be very small. I am hoping that each and every one is alive when they arrive and that I will be able to plant them successfully.

It's only been 2 days since the order and no word on when they will ship. I hope they send me some sort of communication within the week.


On September 1st, 2011, coolnigh added the following:

I kind of panicked last night and sent an email (using their website's online form) to cancel this order. I received a prompt reply today saying it had already shipped. Then another email arrived with the FedEx tracking code.

So at least I can say that their shipping is timely!
On September 7th, 2011, coolnigh changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

After 7 days in shipping, all plants arrived today. Considering the amount of time they spent without fresh air, water, and sunlight, they are just fine. of the 21 plants, only 2 had fallen out of their pots. i've removed dead leaves, watered generously and i'm giving them 24 hours to acclimate. I'll update again if they don't do well after planting, but i have nothing bad to say about this order or Jung in general.
Positive Gramma25
(2 reviews)
On Aug 24, 2011, Gramma25 wrote:

I see so many negative remarks about a lot of companies. I think when people are satisfied with a company they do not take the time to let others know. This is our experience with Jung. We ordered two dwarf apple trees this spring. They came in a box which was an indication that this company was above the rest. We followed they instructions for planting and now have two healthy young apple trees with leaves. We are hoping to buy two more fruits this next Spring.

Negative furballfarm
(3 reviews)
On Aug 10, 2011, furballfarm Tilden, NE wrote:

Ordered 18 hardy garden phlox plants 8-2-11, on 8-4 sent email asking for shipping date and carrier. Two days later I received an email that the plants would leave their warehouse next week and forward from there. "forward" from where? "leave the warehouse" to where? And of course no answer to how they were to be shipped. My account was charged 8-4, so I was hopeful. Today 8-10, I called - FORGET CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! She could tell me that the order went to the warehouse....maybe would ship in 2 days. Once again couldn't tell me if it was coming USPS, UPS or any other way. I told the customer service person that if they ship in two days that they will be sitting all weekend long. Her explanation was that it was hot last week and they couldn't ship. I told her to cancel the order and she advised me to just refuse it when it arrives. I would love to refuse the order but I don't plan on sitting home for a week incase they ship it. How can I refuse the order when they can't even tell me how it will arrive or when.
BUYER BEWARE ~~I should have listen to the negative reviews.

Positive paradacrades
(4 reviews)
On Aug 9, 2011, paradacrades Hilliard, FL (Zone 8b) wrote:

Jung is a great company to do business with. I have been ordering from them for years, and have never had a problem. Great customer service as well.

Positive Buddy44
(24 reviews)
On Jun 27, 2011, Buddy44 Eagle Rock, VA wrote:

Ordered rhubarb and asparagus late in the season. Planted them right away. All are doing nicely.

Positive SPORTSMAN1
(4 reviews)
On Jun 26, 2011, SPORTSMAN1 Mapleton, ND wrote:

I have been ordering plants and seeds from Jungs for many years.Everything has always arrived.

This past spring I ordered my usual seeds along with 25 Ft.Laramie and 25 Annapolis strawberries.Also ordered 9 Polana raspberries.They didn't send the Annapolis strawberries.Contacted them and they were promptly sent to me.

5 strawberries and 2 raspberries did not grow.E-mailed them and since the shipping season was over,they said they would credit me.A week later the credit slip arrived in the mail to be used next spring.

As usual,I recieved excellent service.Will continue to order from Jungs.

Neutral 3wer4c
(2 reviews)
On Jun 14, 2011, 3wer4c Leetonia, OH wrote:

for three years in a row i have ordered jungs seed. the first year less than half of the seeds germinated. this year about a third of the seeds germinated. however,the second year,they germinated very well. i dont think i will be ordering from them again.

Negative ronnoc2709
(1 review)
On Jun 8, 2011, ronnoc2709 Charleston, IL wrote:

Don't do it. Just order from a company that will offer a refund if the plants don't make it. Jung will only issue a credit and if they've stopped shipping for the season, you have to wait until the next year to use it. (which was the case for me on 6/7/11) I ordered nearly $200 worth of plants and two items didn't make it. One, a lilac tree appeared to arrive dead but I trusted that is was only dormant, planted and watered it, but it never budded out. Clearly, my instincts were right. It was dead. A geranium purple pillow also arrived in poor shape but I thought I might be able to coax it out of it. It failed too. I never expect 100% survival, so I could live with the hassle of losing a spring growing season, but they wouldn't ship new plants and won't (per policy) provide a refund. I'm stuck waiting till next year and hoping they offer the same plants. I'd read negative feedback about Jung, but thought I'd take my chances. Wish I'd gone with another company, many of whom I've ordered from in the past, and always been able to get new plants or a refund. Don't do Jung. The other five geraniums don't look great either and I'm wondering if they'll survive the summer. Oh, and BTW, the "policy" is not one that is prominently displaced at the website when you're ordering. In fact, I've yet to find it but they promise it's there.


On Jun 8, 2011, Jung Seed responded with:

"On Jun 9, 2011 12:20 PM, Jung Seed responded with:

We are sorry that a couple of our items failed to grow this season and we could not replace at this time. Bareroot trees
and shrubs only stay dormant a certain amount of time, even in cold storage, so we have to discontinue shipping in early June. The 98 degree temperatures in Wisconsin recently were also a deciding factor. We know customers do not like to lose a growing season so we certainly would have sent replacement plants if it had been possible.

Our guarantee is on the home page of our website on the right hand side. It does state that we give a replacement or credit letter if an item fails to grow. The credit letter that you will be receiving for the failed items can either be used for free replacements when available or you can use the dollar amount towards any future order. Our new fall catalog will be online in the next couple of weeks or we have a wide selection of seeds and sideline items we are still shipping from the spring catalog.

If you have any further problems with your order, just let us know by October 1st and we will be happy to help you.

Regards,

Mary, Customer Service Manager
Jung Seed Company
1-800-297-3123
info@jungseed.com"


Negative d_r_dan_c
(1 review)
On Jun 7, 2011, d_r_dan_c Northbrook, IL wrote:

I ordered 6 Ben Sarek black currants in mid April of 2011. After planting, two of them turned out to be a different fruit. I called the company and requested a replacement of the currants among other items. The replacement was not shipped until I called again, e-mailed them photos as proof, and demanded a resolution from a CS manager. The requirement to send pictures was never communicated to me. My issue with them is quality control, customer service and communication. It is good business practice to admit mistakes and proactively follow up, and that did not happen in my case.


On Jun 7, 2011, Jung Seed responded with:

"On Jun 9, 2011 11:27 AM, Jung Seed responded with:

Your 2 new Ben Sarek Black Currant plants have been reshipped to you and we sincerely apologize that they were not sent with your other replacement plants. Our operator thought the request had to go to our horticulturist for verification since they were not true to name, which is not the case. We do pass this type of information on to that department to follow up on, but the new plants should have been requested with the rest of your items. We have addressed this issue with her so it does not occur again.

Also, the request for pictures is not a requirement for getting a replacement. The only reason we even ask is because they are so helpful if we have to contact our supplier. By no means should our customers be made to feel that they have to do this and are very sorry that you were made to feel that way.

We are first to admit that we can make mistakes and we do pride ourselves on fixing them as painlessly as possible for our customers. This certainly did not happen in your case and we sincerely apologize. You had a very nice order with us and we do greatly appreciate your business. If you have any other issues with your order, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Mary, Customer Service Manager
Jung Seed Company
1-800-297-3123
info@jungseed.com"


Positive JeniAnn
(4 reviews)
On May 28, 2011, JeniAnn Long Grove, IA wrote:

I am happy with my JWJung order. Everything came well packaged and in good shape (especially the Russian Quince - beautiful!)
I would like to suggest though, that you hold back shipping orders until a more appropriate time. I had to wait to plant the Quince 2 weeks so I could dig a deep enough hole. There was still frost in the ground!

Negative Sassamel
(2 reviews)
On May 10, 2011, Sassamel El Paso, TX wrote:

Ordered cucumbers, petunia, zucchini and cosmos seeds, first off there were only about 10 seeds in each package, planted all the seeds in each pkg, 2 cucumbers germinated, 5 cosmos, 5 zucchini and 3 petunias. Will not order from them again.

Negative rdharlin
(1 review)
On May 2, 2011, rdharlin Marshall, MO wrote:

I have been a Jung and Totally Tomatoe customer for years, i order early like first week of January. This year i ordered a wisteria plant from them. Today May 2nd i get a letter telling me i won't be getting it. Company said their supplyer has a lose of plants so they couldn't supply. So guess what it is too later to find it from another supplier. Looks like to me they need to stay in contact with their suppliers better. Needless to say im done with them. What i can't understand is why so many seed suppliers are so shady.

Positive crzywmn1965
(1 review)
On May 2, 2011, crzywmn1965 Recluse, WY wrote:

Bought 5 different live plants and I was very impressed with all of them.

Negative dspirits
(1 review)
On May 1, 2011, dspirits Harpers Ferry, WV wrote:

Posted on May 1, 2011, updated May 1, 2011
Posted on April 20, 2011, updated May 1, 2011
I just got my first order from this company and not only was it missing plants but the plants that arrived were all dead except 1 green leaf on one tiny bit of plant. I called about it and they were very rude and acted like I was lying about the situation. I order from all different companies like Millers, Blue Stone and others and never have I spent so much for such a horrible outcome. Bad product and bad customer service.


On May 1st, 2011, dspirits added the following:

They did offer to send me new plants.. 2 weeks later and still nothing. Also in that time the 3 purple colored roses I ordered have gone from some green on the stems to all brown and no new leaves. I told the rep that the roses looked bad also but she said they all look like that before coming back...seriously Millers root stock has never come in all brown.
On May 1st, 2011, dspirits added the following:

The roses were Ebb Tide and the Plants were Echinacea Hot Summer. I won't post an order number but you can email me for it or send a message.
On May 1, 2011, Jung Seed responded with:

"On Apr 21, 2011 11:45 AM, Jung Seed responded with:

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience when receiving your order and that your phone call was handled in an unfriendly manner. Our operators are instructed to ask questions about any problems only so the issue can be resolved correctly. Normally they do an excellent job of this and we sincerely apologize that you were made to feel that your honest was being questioned. That is not the way our customer service is supposed to be handled.

You mentioned that your plants arrived bad or were missing. Our operator should have offered a reshipment--you did not mention in your posting if this was done. We would be happy to check on that for you if you could respond with your order number. We take pride in our products and service and want you to be happy with both.

Mary,
Customer Service Manager
Jung Seed Compoany
"


Negative woof12
(16 reviews)
On Apr 26, 2011, woof12 Philadelphia, PA wrote:

What a ripp-off. Just got my order or should I say replacement order. Both times were nothing but a" MESS"! Plants the size of a freckle & in tiny plastic bags instead of the pots as advertized. Also, they tried to tell me it had to be shipped in March. They didn't listen that it was too early. FOr a different month they wanted an extra $15. No way I'd do that. As it is they didn't ship them til later & their "TINY, PUNY" things came mid April.

Positive Gardener5b
(8 reviews)
On Apr 25, 2011, Gardener5b Kansas City, MO wrote:

I ordered quite a few trees and bushes from Jungs this year.

All plants arrived carefully packed and in good condition. Every single tree and bush has come out of dormancy.

One tree could have been shaped better, but hopefully, I'll be able to rectify that through careful pruning.

Heck, one of the apple trees I planted only a few weeks ago has over 100 blooms on it. It's a dwarf, so this is saying something. Obviously, I'll remove any that are pollinated for the good of the tree. I think, though, that this indicates just how healthy this stock is.

Negative anakinson
(4 reviews)
On Apr 22, 2011, anakinson Eau Claire, WI wrote:

Summer, 2010, I recieved the most poorly packaged perennials that I have ever ordered from anywhere. Every potted plant arrived in something that looked like a brown lunch bag thrown into the box quite haphazardly, so haphazardly, in fact, that about a third of the plants were broken, several were outside of their pots, and half of their potting medium (if you want to call a substance resembling dry peat a potting medium) lining the bottom of the shipping box. Bareroot plants weren't any better: dry or rotten. I think maybe ten percent of the plants survived. I considered calling, but I realize that mail-order live anything is substatially buyer-beware, and I don't have the time to haggle over the phone. Those plants should have been correctly packaged in the first place. So I decided it would be less hassle to go through some local nurseries where I can see what I'm getting.
Now that I've discovered this forum I've decided to voice my opinion on the absolutely worst packaging and shipping of any mail order nursery with which I've dealt. I've dealt with about two dozen.

Positive AnnieG487
(2 reviews)
On Apr 20, 2011, AnnieG487 Edwardsburg, MI wrote:

I ordered three Shasta poppies. They arrived as HUGE bare root plants. The roots were large and at least a foot long. Am very pleased with them.

Positive LDB60
(1 review)
On Apr 19, 2011, LDB60 Jenera, OH wrote:

We ordered some Tristar strawberries from Jung earlier in the year and they were delivered as promised. I planted them last week after waiting on the weather. I found 23 plants instead of 25, also a couple were very small but will probably grow. I
e-mailed them just to let them know, not requesting anything.
Yesterday I received another order of 25 plants, less than a week later. That is about as good as it gets for service.

Positive greenman115
(6 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2011, greenman115 Ringtown, PA wrote:

I had dealt with Jung in the past with good results and product. Last year I ordered several berry bushes with less than stellar results - two of the gooseberries I received had no roots to speak of at all and were basicly just "sticks"! As I suspected, even with religious watering they did not survive. When I called to complain, I was not given a hard time and was immediately issued a credit memo.

I placed another order this year for four different Mt. Ash varieties and used my credit without any issue. The trees just arrived in great condition - larger than expected, budding, and with tremendous root systems intact! Thank you very much.

Positive LeahJoy
(2 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2011, LeahJoy Hawthorne, NJ wrote:

This is my first experience with Jung Seed and so far, so good. I ordered 20+ plants and all arrived a little over a week ago with the exception of one that's backordered. I planted immediately. All but one plant--a columnar apple tree--are out of dormancy and growing beautifully. I'm not too worried about the tree--I think I see a hint of a bud today. Overall, great prices and great experience. As long as these plants don't unexpectedly "terminate", than "I will be back." :)

Positive RabbitSoup
(3 reviews)
On Apr 9, 2011, RabbitSoup Fort Wayne, IN wrote:

My parents (in their 70s) have been faithful customers of Jung's for as long as I can remember. I've carried on the tradition, and find their seed germination rate to be good, if not excellent, compared to other companies. My only questionable experience was this year, when I received perennials in February that I was assured would arrive in May. They do carry Valentine Rhubarb, something you don't see every day. Will order from them again.

Positive kacton
(7 reviews)
On Apr 7, 2011, kacton Hasbrouck Heights, NJ wrote:

I ordered the "special" three hydrangeas from Jung Seed. I was so surprised at how large they were, two of them were 12 inches tall and grew 3x their size with leaves within 1 week. The largest was the new vanilla/strawberry which was literally 2ft plus and already sprouting buds. They did a great job packaging and their prices were more affordable than other websites. Great job Jung Seed!

Positive seashoregarden
(2 reviews)
On Apr 5, 2011, seashoregarden Round Pond, ME wrote:

I order by phone, customer service is pleasant and helpful. Products ship on an appropriate time line for my zone. Grapes are superior! They are my primary supplier.

Positive Old_Farmer
(6 reviews)
On Apr 1, 2011, Old_Farmer Napier, WV (Zone 5b) wrote:

I am 72 years old and have been a gardener since about six years old. I have ordered from Jung Seed every year since 1979 and have gotten the best on the market from them. This year I ordered two of their giant red peonies and they arrived today 1 Apr 2011 and were super specimens as usual. They advertise 3 to 5 pips on each plant. Well one had 5 and the other had 6 pips with at least 6 inch roots. They will definitely bloom this year. In the past I have been completely satisfied with everything I have ever ordered from them and feel that it is time to let them know of my satisfaction. I will give them a 5 star rating. Keep up the good work. John, former owner of North Hills Nursery.

Negative homegrownveg
(1 review)
On Mar 24, 2011, homegrownveg Waukesha, WI wrote:

So, I ordered some seed from Jung's and it was NOT the 100 seeds the packet said it contained. It had only 25 seeds instead. I planted what I had indoors and didn't make a big deal of it. The germination rate was high so I was still thinking I made out okay. Then today it was bugging me so I decided to call the company because there should have been much more seed and figured it probably happened to other people too.
When I called the lady was NOT pleasant and kept asking me for the 'CID#' of my order or my packaging slips. I told her I did not think I had it since I ordered seed in the winter each year and don't hold onto that stuff. (Like most gardeners I place multiple orders at different places and am inundated with mail, cataloges, and split shipments each year, etc.) I gave her my last name and she told me my first name, etc... She said I had not placed an order since 2006! I asked her if she could find it by address or any other factors and she said if I had my catalogue that would help (HUH?). She did not seem the least bit interested in my complaint and about 2 minutes into the exchange I realized that I was WASTING MY TIME by calling and should not have bothered calling for such a small dollar amount. (but I did feel cheated and also wondered if they do this on a big scale to everyone, it really adds up in their favor).
So, while I'm talking to her I scramble to the seed closet and end up finding the invoice from the shipment! My memory is jogged now because I see why I held onto this paper. My handwriting shows that I had already complained about another seed packet from the same shipment being ridiculously short on count and was told 'they are all there...they are just really small seeds". As if I don't know how to count something unless it's beach balls? Also on the invoice I have a note that on top of all this I OWED them an additional amount of money according to their sales tax calculations (but they could not tell me what the sales tax rate they were charging me was, only that my amount was in accurate-I had calculated for 5.5% tax, and still don't know what tax rate they are applying) and did infact sent them a check for the remainder. The lady on the phone responds that too much time has passed since I received the order (huh? january-march?) and 'i can't do anything'.

In short, I had forgotten what a pain it is to deal with anyone at this company! I currently have another order on its way and am super annoyed that I have given them more of my money. So, if you want decent seed but not in the quantity you are paying for SHOP HERE. If you want to be given excuses for why nothing is as you order SHOP HERE. If you want to be treated poorly when you have a complaint SHOP HERE. If you want to be nickelled and dimed SHOP HERE. If you want to be asked for nonsense in order for them to track your order SHOP HERE. They used to be reputable and I would rather buy from a local company but NO LONGER will I purchase anything from them.

What a dissapointment! This time I'm going to remember.

Negative annatomic
(2 reviews)
On Mar 7, 2011, annatomic Biloxi, MS wrote:

I ordered some plants from Jungs through their website based on a special in their catalog. The website had a note saying the savings would show up at checkout, but they never did. I was charged full price. A normal company would be able to easily fix this problem over the phone, but Jung's is exceptional in their incompetence. I was on hold for close to 15 minutes just to explain the problem. When I finally got some one on the line I was accused of misreading the sale in the catalog! Luckily I had it in front of me. I was also accused of ordering the wrong thing on the website, I ordered by item number and I remember clearly checking to make sure it was the same offer.... All of this left a really bad taste in my mouth and after 45 minutes waiting to have it figured out they wouldn't even comp the shipping or anything! I will NOT being buying from this company ever, ever again.

Neutral xeriscaper1
(1 review)
On Feb 25, 2011, xeriscaper1 Bismarck, ND wrote:

Am I understanding the "Editor's Note..." correctly? The posts to which the note is attached were actually submitted by the company posing as a customer? If that is the case, that says far more about the way the company conducts business than what the customers have posted. Not someone I want to do business with, if that's the case.

Positive drendel
(4 reviews)
On Jan 31, 2011, drendel Yorkville, IL wrote:

I have ordered perennial plants, seeds and roses from Jung for the past 4 years. I have been pleased with the germination rate of the seeds and the roses have done beautifully. I have not dealt with their customer service because I have not had to return anything. I highly recommend Jung Seed.

Neutral summerwynde
(7 reviews)
On Jan 28, 2011, summerwynde Dublin, NH wrote:

I have been a Jung's customer for at least 25 years. I have purchased both seeds and nursery stock.

I've always been impressed with the nursery stock. I've been reading some of the comments on here about people complaining that they only received a 'dry root' for a perennial or tree. I too have received the 'dried out root', but have never had a problem getting them to grow. I'd hate to see them sent already growing (like those that commented want), because then it would dry out in the packing box rather than arriving dormant and alive.

As for the seeds, I stopped ordering lots of seed for quite some time because the germination rates were not the best. The few things I did buy here and there because I could only find them with Jungs were okay, but not great. Veggies were better than flowers for germinations. I started ordering again in 2009 when they were the only ones that had stock of particular varieties I was looking for. Whatever they did to change their quality control, they did it well! Everything I bought in 2009 and 2010 did very well. Among the things I purchased this year, I have onions and shallots that I started in my trays last week and they are about 90-95% germinated already. Impressive! It looks like they updated all of their packet instructions this year (because I have a few packets from last year and there is a different look to them) to include germination directions and they are very nice and informative.

I've also dealt with their customer service team in 2010 when I had some problems with my seaberries growing. The customer service representative was polite and friendly and said she would pass my info on to get more information. The next day, the horticulturist gave me a call and she was knowledgable and friendly too.

Jung's has been in business for 104 years, and with the quality of their stock, seeds, and people, it's easy to see why that is. If they keep it up, they will still be around in another 104 years. I highly recommend this company.


Note from the Garden Watchdog editors:

It is the stated policy of the Garden Watchdog that companies can NOT pose as customers in submitting customer feedback to inflate their own rating. The rating, originally positive, was changed from positive to neutral so that it would not affect the overall rating given by customers.
Neutral bevgar
(3 reviews)
On Jan 5, 2011, bevgar Ithaca, NY (Zone 5a) wrote:

Posted on May 25, 2010, updated January 5, 2011
The last two years I have ordered gooseberries and currants from Jung's and I have been burned each time. In 2009, I ordered the Ben Sarek Black Currant. I ordered this variety because of its high disease resistance to white pine blister rust. I got my order with the currants labeled as 'Ben Sarek' and planted them. As they started to bud out, I knew they were not Ben Sarek because they did not have the characteristic smell. I called the company, not so much because I wanted my money back or a replacement but because I wanted to know what I had been sent. The first time I called I was told by the operator to wait a few weeks and let them grow a bit more. I did, but there was still no smell so I called again. This time I was put through to the top and spoke with Supervisor Mary and Horticulturist Katrina. Mary put through my replacement and Katrina told me that there had been a substitution of another variety. Both apologized profusely and I thought that this mistake would not happen again. WRONG!!! This year I ordered from Jung's again, this time Invicta Gooseberry. I received my gooseberries, planted them, and they started having some buds. I knew instantly that these were not gooseberries. Not only do the leaves not look like those in the catalog or any photo of Invicta that one can find online, but they do not even remotely look like a gooseberry. They look more like a lilac in shape but lack the glossiness. Again, I called. After a number of hurdles to jump and a good long time on hold while the operator conferred with Mary, I was told that I would be reshipped new plants. Okay, that's well and fine. Got the new plants, planted them... and they look exactly like my first batch of Invicta. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?! I called back and after a number of transfers ended up with Katrina again. She remembered me and asked for a photo. I emailed photos and she checked with their greengoods buyer. According to their buyer, these are gooseberries.

I refuse to purchase anything from a company that has a buyer that cannot even identify a problem when it happens. And obviously in this case, it has happened multiple years in a row. While I am not up on the legal issues that may be at play here, I am SURE that MISREPRESENTING the product you are sending to people is ILLEGAL! I will still buy seeds from Jungs as they are always the best, but I will look elsewhere for my bareroot items. I just wish the company had more Marys and Katrinas because then I would be able to give the company a positive report across the board.


On January 5th, 2011, bevgar changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

While I've been burned on the fruit end of this company, I would like to say that I was really pleased with the seeds that I have been receiving from the comapny the last few years. In 2009 we purchased our cucumber seed for our hydroponic production through them and in 2010 we purchased cukes, tomatoes, peppers, and lettuce/greens. I was really pleased with the germination rates of all the varieties we ordered -- at least 95% or above and sometimes I think two sprouts came up for each seed. Absolutely wonderful! Because of Jung's, we are only planting one seed per pot in our cucumbers now instead of two.

I'm tempted to get that Pink Lemonade Blueberry, and will be commenting on it when I do!
Positive gacooleys
(2 reviews)
On Nov 20, 2010, gacooleys Buford, GA (Zone 7b) wrote:

I have been ordering from Jung's for close to 30 years and have been very happy with their service. While Gurney's and Henry Fields quality has went down hill, the quality of Jung's products has remained good. I have ordered from every catalog under the sun and I have received poor quality plants and seeds from all of them at one time or another. Employees making near minimum wage do not think about the fact that this plant is half the size of all the other ones I've sent out so I shouldn't send it. They just box it up and send it out because that's what they get paid to do. And like the customer service reps most of them are not gardening experts so they have no idea. However, this has not happened very often with Jungs and when it has they have always replaced items. I have also recently started ordering from RH Schumway because they carry a few different items and the quality has also been good. I always look forward to receiving their catalogs and will be ordering from them again this spring. Keep up the good work Jungs!

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | ... 10 Next »


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America