When Edmonds Roses was located in Oregon, I ordered many roses from them and even visited their test garden and store. The roses were always No. 1 grade roses. When they sold out and after I had submitted an order, the order was fulfilled by Weeks Roses. I thought it was some kind of joke. The roses I got from Weeks were not just weak, they were trash. They were scraggly and never thrived. I vowed to never buy from them again. Then they apparently resurrected the Edmunds Roses name and I tried a new order. It just came. Same junk as before. Although I had called and asked about the grade of roses before I ordered, and been assured that these were all No. 1 grade, the stuff I got in the mail looked like it had been retrieved from the trash. If you think that I am unhappy with this company, you have understated my opinion.
On Feb 19, 2015, cynthia94941 Tamalpais-Homestead Valley, CA wrote:
When the Edmunds family owned Edmunds Roses, I absolutely loved being able to call and chat when I was being indecisive about which roses to get. The roses I got were always healthy. Once or twice I got a rose that didn't have three healthy canes, and they replaced them immediately based solely on my word.
Now it's a hugely different story. The catalog looks the same but the company that owns the name now is in Minnesota, not Oregon, and appears not to grow its on roses (buying them from wholesalers). No advice available.
Edmunds had all three of the roses I wanted, so to reduce shipping expenses I decided to order three roses from them for delivery in the winter of 2014. All three arrived with severe frost damage. My word was not considered reliable, so I had to take pictures of them and send the pictures. They'd sold out of one of the roses, but said they would replace the other two. When the replacement roses arrived, only one was acceptable. The other was, again, severly frost-damaged. Again, I had to send a picture and then argue with them about whether it was damaged enough to warrant a replacement. At that point, it was too late to try again and too late to order them elsewhere. So, I had to spend a year with an empty hole in two very prominent places in my rose garden.
In November 2014, I tried to place an online order for the replacement roses, but the credit voucher they'd given me didn't cover about $6 of the shipping costs. I called and placed the order. Everything seemed fine except that it is now a month after the roses should have arrived (I'm in California) and I haven't heard a word. I wrote them an e-mail today. We'll see what they have to say.
On Feb 19, 2015, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
"On Feb 25, 2015 5:41 PM, Edmunds\' Roses responded with:
I am very sorry to hear of the experience you have had. As for Edmunds we are located in Randolph, WI as listed on our catalogs. When Edmunds was purchased they were using wholesalers for roses. These are the same wholesalers and roses to this day.
As for the pictures I am sorry this came off as distrusting. There are times we do ask for pictures not because we don't believe our customers but so we can improve where we need to. In your case the request for the pictures was not from disbelief but so we could see how extensive the frost damage was. This then can let us know if just adding more packaging could resolve the problem, different packing altogether, boxes, etc...
As for the credit voucher, shipping, and other problems, these are very concerning to me and I will contact you directly to work on a acceptable resolution for you.
On Jul 23, 2013, saltydog44 Lenoir, NC (Zone 7a) wrote:
I hate to give them a Negative, but the downside is greater than the the upside.
First the positive. They have a terrific selection. There are many hard to find varieties. Ordering is easy. Prices are reasonable. Customer Service personnel are generally responsive.
But the reason we are buying roses is to get beautiful plants and flowers. I ordered 9 roses last year. Four died by this spring, one in a couple of months. (I followed their planting guide carefully.) They replaced one and I bought the other three replacements. At this point the other 5 were doing OK, but just OK.
.One of the four was the wrong rose so they sent me a replacement at no charge.
Now however, all 10 roses are pathetic. New growth is spindly and sparse. It won't hold up the few blooms and flops over. Two appear to be dead or nearly so.
I have grown roses successfully in several different parts of the country. I usually am frustrated by blackspot but this time I can't get enough growth to have it!
I guess I'll keep looking to try to find a supplier with the varieties AND the quality we should receive.
My first experience with Edmond's was in ordering 3 roses with the first 2 roses fine but the 3rd, though beautiful, looked different than the photo in the catalogue and had no fragrance. When I informed them, they asked me to send a picture of the rose. After receiving it, they apologized and sent me the proper replacement the following spring, 2012. I later ordered 4 roses from them last summer, 2012. Two of the four looked fine but the other 2 looked rather dry. I did everything I could to try to help them thrive but was unsuccessful. When I emailed Edmond's about these lifeless roses, they told me that I should have informed them sooner, as per the instructions, and would not refund my money.When I wrote back and explained that I grow many roses and moreover have recommended them to a local nursery owner who had been looking for a good rose company and that I therefore hoped that they would reconsider, they essentially said they would not change their position. No refund. I will not be ordering from them again.
On Jan 11, 2013, LittleIra Bonners Ferry, ID wrote:
I dealt with Edmunds Roses for many years and was very happy. Last year was the first time I tried the Jung Edmunds Roses from Wisconsin instead of Oregon. First, they shipped in the middle of winter here. I kept the plants in pots until thaw. One made it into early summer, the other only Spring. Second, the plants were not as robust as I was accustomed to receiving from the original Edmunds. Third, Customer Service was a bit abrupt, they did not offer to ship later (I formerly received them in April) and did not even offer to replace the lost plants. I will not be dealing with Edmunds Roses or Jung Seeds again.
On Apr 12, 2012, snapple45 Holland, OH (Zone 5b) wrote:
I'm a Landscape Designer and Horticulturalist by trade. A client wanted a specific tree rose which was only available from Edmunds'. I ordered and received three 36" Easy Spirits. One was in prime condition and one was judged acceptable. However, the third was substandard. Although the grafts looked solid, the root mass was about 1/3 the size of what it should have been. This rose should never have been put out for sale. The grafts have now dried up and are dead. The other two roses are leafed out. The rose judged acceptable is slow and does not appear to be vigorous. One good rose out of three is not a good average. My client, luckily, has been understanding. The design called for three identical tree roses bordering one side of a granite flagstone path. We have had to change the plan. I can't recommend this company to anyone, even with their replacement guarantee. Their quality control is non-existent.
I initially had a positive impression of Edmunds' Roses, but after two orders have decided to order elsewhere in the future. My first order of four roses had one excellent rose (Honey Perfume), one very good (Neptune), one that is very weak in its second year and covered with blackspot (Moondance) and one that was not true to name (Scentimental). I contacted the company late last fall to get a replacement credit for Scentimental, and had no problems with them at all about it. This year I ordered two roses, Rock'n'Roll (replacement for Scentimental) and Belinda's Dream. Belinda never even came up! Roses take too long to grow to continue this cycle of getting a replacement every year for one of my roses. At this point three of the six roses I have ordered have been unsatisfactory- not a good average. Sorry, Edmunds'!
Posted on June 8, 2010, updated July 8, 2010
Posted on May 12, 2010, updated June 8, 2010
Today I got my roses in the mail. As the earlier poster stated, it was a small box and I wondered how exactly they fit 4 roses. Well, it turns out only 3 were shipped. I ordered in late December, thinking all the roses were in stock. They were, in December. I waited until May to have them shipped due to frost in zone 6 and the fact it is a new garden/patio so I needed to have the bed made first. The Vavoom Floribunda was not sent because it was not in stock in May. They informed me that a refund/credit would be made. I called to find out what happened, and have a different rose shipped. (it's a large garden and really needed the extra rose). They ended up refunding the card a few days ago. I would have liked to know this information as soon as they did, so a different rose could have been ordered, and sent with the original roses.
I asked if the roses are "reserved" when the order is placed. They said no. It is a first come, first serve based on when the shipping date is. We get punished by choosing a later shipping date. Someone else can come in and take the roses you carefully selected just because they choose a shipping date before yours. That is the whole point of a reservation. Just like on that Seinfeld episode, they can take the car reservation, but they cannot hold the car. Seriously. I wish I know about this before hand. No one has ever mentioned this. I thought everyone should be aware of this shady practice. I honestly do not know if I will order from here again. It depends on how the roses do in the ground, but I doubt it.
On June 8th, 2010, emart added the following:
One of the 3 roses I did get in my order never produced. I called for a refund to my credit card and was informed they don't do that. She offered me a new rose (with out warranty) or voucher for a rose next year. I took the new rose (for the same rose) and made sure it was in stock. The "customer service" lady was very rude. She acted like it was my fault the rose didn't grow. The other roses have great leaves and some buds on them, and I followed the directions for all 3. It's not like I did something to the one that didn't grow. She refused to tell me when it will be shipping, and had a horriable attitude. Over all she was very rude. I wish I remembered her name, it might be Helen or Ruth???
From now on, I will be purchasing my roses from local growers, and not mail order, especially not from Edmunds. I expected great roses and great customer service due to all the great reviews, but I was wrong. On July 8th, 2010, emart added the following:
Their guarantee states true-to-name roses. My Ebb Tide, clearly marked Ebb Tide, is not. It does not match the catalog description, and has clusters of roses just like the Midnight Blue. Ebb Tide has no clusters. And for a supposedly purple rose, it is more pink/magenta then purple. Whatever it really is, I am disappointed it isn't the deep purple I thought I was getting.
I am not going to attempt to deal with the company for another worthless replacement. Just wanted to update you guys. Buyers beware. On Jul 8, 2010, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
"On May 12, 2010 3:07 PM, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
We are sorry to hear that you did not recieve one of your roses. The operator that you talked to was evidently misinformed, since we do try very hard to reserve inventory for customers that have ordered early but have a later shipping date. However, when dealing with live plants it is very difficult to assure that the plants are in sellable condition at the end of the shipping season. We try to cut off sales as soon as we know we are running out of an item so all previous orders will be covered. However, as the shiping season progresses if an item fails to store well it has to be removed from inventory. Another problem is if a second shipment of inventory is expected but does not arrive it is the orders that have not yet shipped that are affected. We wish it was as easy as having bedspreads counted on a shelf since they do not deteriorate, but unfortunately live goods are much more unpredictable.
If you still need a rose shipped, please feel free to call our customer service line at 1-888-481-7673. We will be happy to check our warehouse to make sure your new selection is available so this does not happen again for you. We do appreciate your business and are very sorry that this happened."
Posted on May 10, 2010, updated May 27, 2010
Posted on May 10, 2010, updated May 10, 2010
Posted on May 9, 2010, updated May 10, 2010
I ordered 9 roses from Edmunds. The roses arrived and I knew looking at the box that I had a problem. 9 roses were some how in a 12" square (top measurement) box. I opened the top to see that the roses had been shoved inside and there were numerous broken canes. I took the box to my work shop and carefully cut the side of the box open. When I got the box open I noticed that the bag that was supposed to be surrounding the roots had been torn and the moss surrounding the roots as well as the roots were dry. Also, many of the canes were shriveled and generally the whole mess did not look good. I (surgically) unwound the bushes from each other and cut out the broken canes (there was alot). I then placed the bushes in a large tub of water to see what would happen. I have checked the roses daily and after 10 days there is nothing going on there is no signs of life and the canes have not recooperated. I e-mailed Edmunds today and will update my post with their response.
On May 10th, 2010, russ9673 added the following:
THESE PEOPLE ARE UNBELIEVABLE! I received an e-mail this morning and was told that it would be easier to call them and describe my issues. I did so and spoke to a rude and accusatory woman named Laura. She informed me that I should not have soaked them and that there was NOTHING MORE THAT they would do for me. When I told her that I was going to take it up with my credit card she then told me that I could talk to her supervisor. After several minutes on hold I spoke to Helen - who proved to be even more rude than Laura. Helen informed me that they would refund my money and take me off their mailing list as "they are unwilling to do business with people who cannot follow directions." I told her that I had posted my concerns on this website and that I had received 4 emails overnight from people who have had similar issues with Edmunds. That set her off even more. She said that she does not understand why people don't have the "respect" to give them the opportunity to deal with issues and go off and "bad mouth them" on the internet. WOW! I can't imagine why people bad mouth their company - they send me crappy, dry, and dead plants and it's my fault - I guess I am just a stupid customer!! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH EDMUNDS ROSES.On May 10th, 2010, russ9673 added the following:
Now comes Edmunds with a passel of lies to attempt to cover up for their misdeeds. Amazing how it is still my fault for what ever "misunderstanding" they seem to think there was.
I mentioned SEVERAL TIMES to both Laura and Helen that there were issues from the time that the box arrived and I opened it to reveal bent and broken, bent and dried canes. Helen even said to me, "so you were unhappy with them when they arrived?" To which I replied that I was not necessarily unhappy and wanting to give them the benefit of the doubt that they being in the rose business they knew what they were doing and that they would not knowingly send out a poorly packaged product.
Either way, even if I was totally in the wrong, the way I was treated was totally uncalled for. Both representatives had an attitude. Laura barely let me tell her what the problems were before letting out a long sigh and beginning to tell me all the things I did wrong. Helen was rude and obnoxious from the start. Bottom line, I did not and do not want a refund. What I needed was roses to fill the space that is ready for them. What I got was treated poorly and badgered by people who would not know good customer service if it came up and slapped them in the face. I have already done what I should have done in the first place taken my business to a local garden center and purchased potted roses. They were slightly more expensive but well worth the lack of aggravation.
A side note here. I requested a catalog from Edmunds in October 2009. When it had not arrived by January, I called them. I was informed that they had a limited number of catalogs and decided to send catalogs to their "established" customers. New customers would be left without one. I mentioned that it would be nice if they had sent a postcard or something letting everyone who would not be getting a catalog what was going on. The representative told me, "well, I'm taking your call, isn't that enough." As I told them today, I should have just taken my business somewhere else right then and there. On May 27th, 2010, russ9673 added the following:
So the saga continues. True to their word, they did process a refund for my order. However, despite the fact that they say that they DO NOT share information with other companies, I have begun to receive e-mail from Jung Seed, a company that they are either owned by or are associated with. I have never done business with Jung and was surprised by the e-mails. I called them and inquired how they got my information. Low and behold, Edmunds gave it to them. Just another example of the lies and poor business practices of Edmunds.On May 27, 2010, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
"On May 10, 2010 3:10 PM, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
Our orders normally arrive in excellent shape, as verified by many postings on this website. However, if packages do arrive damaged (as we mentioned at the end of the phone conversation) we do appreciate being notified so that we can rectify the situation. Nothing was mentioned at the beginning of the phone conversation that the plants arrived in bad condition, only that they were soaking for 10 days and had died. Our operator naturally assumed this was the reason the roses died since our planting directions state to soak for a maximum of 12 - 24 hours. It was not mentioned until the end of the conversation that the package had arrived damaged.
It is always very important that we be notified immediately if an order arrives damaged. Our orders are guaranteed to arrive in good shape so we are processing a refund for this order. We do want our customers to be satisfied with our products.
On Jan 11, 2010, corgiboy2 Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA wrote:
Online ordering proved to be impossible. To place an order on their website you must create an account--no guest checkout! I tried this. They e-mailed a code (which purportedly is needed to complete registration) and a return web address. Clicking on that brought up a page with the code automatically filled in. However, when I entered my e-mail address as requested it said the code didn't mach. Huh? After a couple of attempts I figured I'd just try all over again. But when I did, it said my e-mail and password were already registered, and that I could view this on My Account. Yet when I clicked on My Account I got the page that asked me to create a new account! So I figured I'd e-mail them about the problem. Guess what? They don't have an e-mail contact. What self-respecting web retailer fails to have an e-mail contact? Over one hour of frustration.
On Jan 11, 2010, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
"On Jan 11, 2010 12:49 PM, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
We are sorry you had so much trouble with our website. If you contact us by phone or email we can help you through the trouble you are having. You can order with an account or as a guest. Whichever you prefer.
If you click on the contact information on the top right of any page you can email us or get our toll free number from there. If you would prefer to contact me directly you can call our toll free numbers 800-347-7609 or 888-481-7673. I'm at extension 4319 or just ask for Ruth. You can email me directly at firstname.lastname@example.org or use the email form from the website contact page, the girls in customer service that get those emails will forward it to me.
We would be happy to help."
Edmunds has changed more than hands it hasalso changed ethics.I ordered many roses from Edmunds as I have done in previous years.This year the roses were partially dry.I ordered 4 36" tree roses.They sent 3 36" and 1 20" rose.That woulk be a strange lineup.I called Ednunds and they were not too receptive to my situation,after all I did recieve 4 roses.They offered a discount on the short one.I said no.They advertised 36"rose trees and I ordered 4 of them.They dont sell shorter (exce[t miniatures).They asked me what I would do with the short one and I said I would find a place to plant it or else they could have it back. They acted as if it were my fault they recieved only 20" trees of that certain name.But they still proceeded to sell them as 36" trees althought they knew they were not.They also did not contact me when filling the order.So they said they would send a replacement but they would not guarantee it except aht it would arrive alive.Their regular guarantee would not hold.This is lousy customer service and although I have bought from them for more than16 years I will not buy from them again.I warn anyone beware Edmunds.They have changed. I will contact the Better Business Bureau and file a complaint.
On May 5th, 2007, sacerdos1 added the following:
I received a response from Jung company which was an insult.Very nicely they stated that I would be dropped from their mailing list because I was not happy with my order because one rose tree was 8" shorter than the others.They should have said "8" shorter than whatr was stated in the catalogue.Their guarantee states "We will guarantee all plants to be true to variety".Does that cover sending a tree rose 8" shorter than the other three and which was advertised as 36"? They are blind that they are in error.They admit that all the roses which are Chihuly came in 24",but they never notified me of the fact and asked whether I still wanted it .They just sent it and when I objected that it was not what I ordered all they would do was give a reduction on the rose which I could not use anyways.They were more concerned about what I would do with the rose tree than about what they should do to remedy THEIR mistake. Why would a person order 4 36"rose trees and not be upset when one of them was 28".Edmunds does not sell that size so why would I want it.The final straw is still their refusal to place their guarantee on a new rose because they consider it a replacement rose.In short they did not deliver what I ordered.This is dishonesty and I now appreciate what people have to put up with when dealing with unethical business people.I am a pastor of a large Catholic parish in McLean Virginia,asuburb of Washington D.C. and have two rose gardens.Many peopel of all faiths visit these gardens and one qiestion they all ask "where do you obtain your roses?"I will certainly tell them as a voice of one crying in the desert"Anywhere but Edmundsfor if they deal with the church this way how worse will they treat you?"On June 2nd, 2007, sacerdos1 added the following:
Ruth has a selective memory.They did offer me a replacemnt rose but they added that the guarantee would not cover it.My point is that they sold me a rose knowing that it was not the rose I wanted.My position is they should have told me that the rose I ordered was not available or admit their mistake and send another rose with the same guarantee.The contradicted wat was written in their catalogue and website.I am pursuing it with the company and the state only because a parishioner who is a lawyer said they are in violation of their own policy.Edmunds is dishonest.On May 2, 2007, Edmunds' Roses responded with:
On May 7, 2007 9:33 AM, Edmunds' Roses added:
Interesting that a pastor would forget to mention that he was offered a second rose at no cost or a full refund in both contacts we have had with him. After reading my email to him, I admit I did come off as saracstic. I am sorry about that.
We have indeed removed his name from our mailing list. If anyone else would also like to, please contact me privately
Following an on-line order, an email advised me to expect further confirmation of variety availability within 15 days. I called yesterday (on day 17) and the person to whom I spoke (Joyce) seemed unclear about this issue. She promised that customer service would email assurance that the cultivar would be available for me (a verbal was not acceptable---I want some sort of trail). No email of yet.
If this is official company policy, she should be aware of it and eager to allay my concerns.
I will call again today. If I get the same bewildered treatment, I plan to cancel my order to avoid disappointment along with at least a month's worth of anxiety, waiting for my shipment.
On March 16th, 2007, macpams changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
This is a section of the order confimation email which I received on 2-24:
"We will be sending you an acknowledgment by email
or mail from an associate of Edmunds' Roses within the next few days where we actually reserve your products from our inventory. Please compare that acknowledgement with this one to be sure your order is correct. If anything is sold out, it will be noted on your acknowledgement. If you do not receive an acknowledgement from an associate within 15 days, please
call our toll free number."
Still have not received their follow-up acknowledgement indicating the cultivar is in stock and reserved for delivery to me.
So they charge my credit card immediately but can't (or won't) confirm inventory per their stated policy. I'm feeling a little uneasy about this.
On April 15th, 2007, macpams added the following:
Firstly, I must clarify; Edmunds did not charge my credit card. Their initial order confirmation email appeared as though they had, but on later checking my statement I found they had not. I have wanted to clear this up as it was unfair to leave this impression and I aplogize.
Edmunds contacted me via "Dave's Garden" email after my posting. We did not communicate effectively; nor were my concerns resolved. Intuition told me that the rose cultivar which I had selected was not available and they didn't know how to handle the situation. I became very concerned when Customer Service reps failed to understand that I was seeking a confirmation of variety availability and was following the Company's own instructions when I did not receive one within 15 days. Obfuscation and excuses (Jung just took over the Company) make me queasy.
Thankfully, the order was cancelled. It was not a pleasant experience. Most companies have procedures in place to effectively communicate with their customers. Frankly, I never before encountered a policy which obliged the customer to follow-up and be responsible for verifying an order, nor a more disobliging Customer Service staff.