Comments regarding Glasshouse WorksClick here to return to Glasshouse Works's listing.
You are viewing only negative comments
|On Dec 21, 2016, FLSunshineGal Lakeland, FL (Zone 9a) wrote:
I ordered a dozen plants from this company earlier this year and most of the plants travelled well in shipping but one was clearly past the point of surviving. The leaves and most of the stem were all completely dried and the one leaf that wasn't dead was black (instead of green) and fell off the next day. The plant couldn't be revivied - I tried anyway, hoping some roots survived and would send up a little something. I suspect the plant was unhealthy when packaged because I don't know how it would arrive in such horrible condition otherwise. I contacted Glasshouse Works immediately after unpacking my plants and sent them a picture of the dead plant and asked their return policy. I got no response whatsoever and no attempt was made on their part to correct the problem. In addition, some of the plants I received were substitutions of the more common versions of the plants I actually ordered. They arrived healthy though, so I didn't complain to the company about it, but lesson learned: I won't be ordering from them again and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.
|On Sep 15, 2016, Tidwellsgardens Cleveland, OH wrote:
After ordering 4 plants this spring and 1 was out of stock, I received 3 plants and a free bonus Hoya about a month after placing my order. Some of these plants were dormant (Sarracenia x 'Scarlet Belle') and others can't really be identified until they flower (Huernia, Asclepiads in general). It took 3 or 4 months for the plants to get to a mature size to correctly identify them. Out of the 3 plants I paid for, 1 of them was the correct plant. I ordered a Stapelia gigantea, Sarracenia x 'Scarlet Belle' and Huernia macrocarpa penzigii. I was sent the S. gigantea (with little to no roots and it's barely alive at the moment), a Huernia whose flowers look nothing like the one I ordered and the Sarracenia turned out to be a 'Judith Hindle' Luckily I did get a refund after multiple emails back and forth about the Sarracenia. (at first I was told I could get the Scarlet Belle sent to me when I placed another order, a freebie!) I'm not sure what will happen with the Huernia. Save your money and spend it elsewhere, other companies offer more established plants and even send you the correct plant when you order them
|On Dec 2, 2014, tdfallon Fort Lauderdale, FL wrote:
Posted on November 29, 2014, updated December 2, 2014
On December 2nd, 2014, tdfallon added the following:
The resolution to my disappointment.
I asked them to make things right.
If the problem was cold weather and shipping, and not dead dying and rotting plants before they were packed, to replace 4 of the plants, and send 1 that was missing from the original order, a total of 5 plants of the 11 plant order.
I did not want them to think I was out to defraud them like I am sure happens plenty of times to even the best businesses.
These 5 plants where not the rare or expensive plants of the order. These were ones commonly found at home centers. This would cost $45.00 “their retail price” of the $142.00 original order. I thought if they sent good quality plants I mark my experience as just another wonder of the world as to how these plants got in the box.
Instead since I did receive one good green plant out of the order, the plant was $32.50 they refunded $98.00 so this $32.50 plant cost me $44.00.
I am very happy to get $98.00 back from these guys.
$44.00 is cheap lesson to learn to check reviews on businesses before you buy.
On a happy note I placed an order with “ Secret Garden Rare Plants ” and could not be happier with what they sent. The best plants I have ever received, including plants I personally pick out myself.
|On Jul 10, 2014, MaxWest Terrebonne, OR wrote:
Posted on June 26, 2014, updated July 10, 2014
On June 19th, 2014, MaxWest added the following:
June 19'th seller emails me this
"The reason why some of the orders take longer to be shipped is because of the current stage of development of that particular crop. We propagate almost all of our plants, thus the vast variety that we can offer. We are a small company, we do not always have a large inventory per plant - and like I said, the plants are in various stages of development. Some of the plants that are not ordered often, we will propagate to order. We do not ship the plants until we feel that they are in a mature enough state to survive the transportation and arrive at your door with the best possible chances of flourishing. We assume that you want the same thing.
Our grower has been working on the Kalanchoe's that you ordered. Not all of them are ready, but he said that he will ship what he is ready this coming Monday. He may sub with other, interesting, rare Kalanchoe that matches the description you wrote in your comment section - he is very good with such things, the vast majority of people love the surprises that he sends.
I hope this answers your question. Plants do not always obey our desired schedules.
Your order will be shipped Monday or Tuesday. UPS will email the tracking number to you on the day the order goes out. We will also notify you.
This to me is totally crazy. 11 days later and they tell me that some of the plants are apparently still growing to meet the correct size and others are being propagated O_O Are you kidding me? That's like selling a tree and telling the customer you have to wait for it to grow from a seed. I didn't pay for that. Then he says this third party grower is going to send a partial order (I didn't agree to that) and/or whatever he wants to send me that he thinks I'll like. I didn't give anyone permission to "substitute my order with other interesting items". This is just crazy, poor customer service. Never sell things you can't instantly produce or tell them at the time of purchase it's going to take weeks for delivery. I wouldn't have ordered if I knew this was the case.
On June 26th, 2014, MaxWest added the following:
Recieved two voice mails over the weekend from the guy Ken. I didn't feel like calling back either as both of the voice mails did not even remotely address my concerns regarding the serious amount of time it was taking to receive the plants, nor any acknowledgement that they try to sell full plants depicted on the website and then when it takes weeks to get them you find out that they are trying to grow each one for your order. It's silly. I told them 3 times that I wanted to cancel the transaction and have my money refunded. No refund. I've put in a paypal claim and escalated it to a dispute. Sad that I have to do that and they can't just apologize and return my money seeing as they never shipped anything. So I'll have to wait a few more days for paypal to hopefully side with me so I can get my 70$ back. This is one of the worst companies I've ever dealt with in my entire life. His voice mail was condescending and totally made it seem like it was my fault I didn't understand that all these plants would take weeks upon weeks to grow and that I was being too demanding actually wanting what I paid for instead of substitutes they would just try to pawn off on me. What total lunacy. I would advocate everyone steering clear of this company. I should have known it was too good to be true for such a company to have all these rare succulents and it is, because they don't!! They have very little of any of it in stock and will try to propogate per order and make you wait weeks to try to send you something small or send you something totally different and hope that you'll be pleased enough to not complain. Don't shop Glasshouse works. What they are doing is selling things they don't have and can't produce in any kind of a timely manner. It's tantamount to fraud.
On July 10th, 2014, MaxWest added the following:
Finally got my paypal money refunded to me (3+ weeks later), no thanks to glasshouse works. Why they couldn't just accept that I was unhappy after several emails and didn't want them to ship the plants I had waited weeks for and just GIVE my money back is beyond me. These guys are con artists, that's why. They quickly take your money with little sincerity or commitment about ever delivering your order.
I implore everyone who thinks about ordering from glasshouse works to read every comment on this site before making a decision to purchase. As of this writing 68 of their feedback are negative/neutral and only 154 are positive. That means half of the time they are either outright screwing people or doing a poor job. Is that the kind of company you want to spend your money with?!?!
What I realized from reading everyone else's posts is that my experience is strikingly similar to what others have experienced.
*They list tons of items on the site that they do not have in stock and most likely can't produce.
*They immediately bill you but then expect you to wait (weeks, months, sometimes years) for items to be grown/propagated -which may or may not even be happening.
*They have millions of excuses as to why orders are not shipped in a timely manner or in many cases not at all.
*They will substitute all orders at any chance they can get, since they don't have most items. They hope sending you "something else interesting" will appease you. What kind of company does this!?!?
*Any complaint you have is your problem, something you don't understand about growing rare/exotic plants, or is not their fault because of some delay, weather, lack of sun, etc. -whatever they can dream up that day. They are adept at ignoring emails and paypal claims!
*You're unlikely to ever get a refund from this company and it will never be in full unless you've made a chargeback with your bank or filed an escalated claim with paypal.
Spending money with this company is risky and foolish. It's throwing money away with little to no expectation you're going to receive any success. If you've been scammed by this company I highly suggest filing a complaint with the better business bureau. Selling things you don't have, and can't produce within a claim dispute period is FRAUD! I hope this company goes out of business just so they can't steal from more new customers.
|On Jun 1, 2014, Windchyme Stockton, CA wrote:
Posted on May 25, 2014, updated June 1, 2014
On June 1st, 2014, Windchyme added the following:
Here is the words in the introduction of this page that I wish to draw your attention to.
"Recently, we have noticed a couple entries here from people who have never called or emailed us about a problem before they post a negative rating. Please notice that most of our ratings are almost always positive. I urge all customers (and potential customers) to always contact us first about an order or a concern; we will take care of any problems with your order...Our customer service is constant and timely...
Those who have posted negative reviews have always been contacted and their problems worked out."
Update: I still have not been contacted and it is 6/1/14 and I have emailed them through the paypal complaint process two days ago or so and told them that if they do not contact me by Monday 6/2/14 that I will escalate this to an official complaint and claim.
I no longer want the plants...I just want a complete refund at this point. I'm SO done.
|On May 28, 2014, Mauli Lake Helen, FL wrote:
I don't like to make negative comments about a company but I feel I need to share my experience with Glasshouse Works. I made a purchase on April 1, 2014, Four crotons Pele's Fire, three Tripogandra False Bromeliad and Sanchezia Nobilis Singapore Gold. I received a confirmation that my order would be shipped out last part of April. It was May and I haven't received my order so I decided to inquire about it. I was told it would be shipped out May 5th and that the Sanchezia was not available due to crop failure. If I wanted a refund for that there was a charge of $2.00 for PayPal charges. Or I can get substitute plants. I chose the substitute plants. They said okay order will be shipped out on the following Monday. By the end of the next week still no plants so I emailed back....plants will be shipped out the next Monday. I finally receive my order on the 22. The crotons sent were not Pele's Fire and the Tripogandra False Bromeliads were not all variegated, one was all green. All the plants arrived limp and crushed except for the crotons. I was most upset with the crotons not being Pele's Fire. Those were the plants I wanted the most. I emailed Glasshouse Works and never received a response. Luckily the next day I went to Home Depot and they had Pele's Fire there. The plants at Home Depot were properly identified and were large healthy plants. I will NEVER shop Glasshouse Works again and will not recommend them.
|On Apr 8, 2014, PCart1 Collingswood, NJ wrote:
They may be nice people but bought 4 ficus trees for $12 and when I got them they had given me 4 $ 2 cuttings. Sure they put in an extra little ivy plant but when I complained they ignored me. I asked for my money back and they ignored me. Finally I complained through pay pal and low and behold I got three emails that morning.
|On Jun 21, 2013, zeabird Applewood, CO wrote:
Posted on June 21, 2013, updated June 21, 2013
On June 21st, 2013, zeabird added the following:
My husband just informed me (as he's planting the plants) that two plants don't look like they will make it. Some of the roots appear to be molded/disintegrating. I feel I wasted a good deal of money, and should have spent it on the other site that is more costly but has excellent service and beautiful, health, LARGE, plants. : (
|On May 15, 2013, shakergardener Beachwood, OH wrote:
They shipped my order in the middle of April...when I asked them to ship in May. They said it would be 'NO PROBLEM'. The plants were very small and sickly. I even sent them pictures of some of them.so they could see how awful they were. Emailed them 4 times with no response. Totally not satisfied.
|On Jul 15, 2010, dante99 Bronx, NY wrote:
Be aware of this online store! Orders take at least 2 months to fulfill and they ship whatever they have on hand! They don't ask the customer if they want to substitute a plant, they just take hold of your money and send you whatever half-dead plant they have. I WILL NEVER SHOP AT THIS STORE AGAIN! They are a ripoff!
On Jul 15, 2010, Glasshouse Works responded with:
"On Jul 15, 2010 12:56 PM, Glasshouse Works responded with:
As you can see below, our feedback is almost always positive. This customer did not contact us. We will try to figure out who they are and get things straightened out. We will reship is we need to. We will suggest that they give us some possible substitutes so we can get some items to them the work for their situation. I will report here later when we get more information. Tom
|On Oct 30, 2008, Thescann Eastlake, OH wrote:
After my fourth order from this company, I am pretty fed up with their poor business practices. If you are not familiar with this company you need to know what you are getting into. They always charge you immediately even though I've never gotten plants with a month (or the receipt I require). Most recently I placed an order sometime in early July/late june and didn't get any plants until late August and not even all them. They cited that they were making an exception shipping them early because the heat which is crazy, especially cause I was simply calling them every couple of weeks to inquire about the order. The plants were fairly puny which I expected from them but one plant in particular, an aroid, was just ridiculously tiny with just one leaf the size of a fingernail. Of course I didn't get the whole order. I called a 2 to 3 weeks ago to inquire about the rest of the plants and was told it was going out very shortly. I could have propagated a hundred of these plants by this time in multiple generations! It's been 4 months!!!
On January 10th, 2009, Thescann added the following:
I did respond to this companys email through Dave's Garden so that is a lie. They wanted to offer me free stuff to change my rating. I said I still would like the plants I ordered last summer. I have called them a couple times about getting my plants but it's pretty much useless until the weather improves anyway. They need to make customers satisfied the first time. Not after they have to call and complain several times and then post a negative review (always seems to get instant response for everyone so I would recommend everyone keep it up).
On Oct 30, 2008, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On Oct 31, 2008 12:07 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
I have emailed this customer using D-Mail on this site. I have offered help and and offer a reshipment of any plants that did not make the trip. I told this customer that all the plants listed on our Website are here in our stock greenhouses. We primarily are a mail order nursery, so not everything is in our small sales area for viewing when people visit. But everything is in our stock greenhouses ready to be propagated!
On Dec 3, 2008 2:49 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
We have tried to email this customer and have received no response. As usual, we wanted to replace any substandard plants or give a credit on a future order. I have been unable to find out who this customer is because we have no customer with an Eastlake address. And we received no orders from Ohio during the period they say the order was placed. We cannot help if we do not know who the customer is. As you can see from other reviews, we always take care of our customers if we know who they are! Thank goodness most of our reviews both here at Garden Watchdog and in our business emails have been great! So many of our customers are pleased with their plants from us. Tom "
|On Jul 28, 2008, Phebe Joppa, MD wrote:
I ordered a lot of begonias from Glasshouse Works April 25, 2008, total $106.75. That total was posted to my bank account May 1, 2008.
On Jul 28, 2008, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On Aug 13, 2008 3:51 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
DAVE'S GARDEN Readers please note our continued customer service. This seems to be an example of crossed emails. I received the following email at about 10:00 on a Monday:
|On Aug 19, 2007, franjee Manistee, MI wrote:
I placed an order in June from Glasshouse Works because I really wanted to find a certian type of butterfly bush and it wasn't one of the common davidii types that can be found at almost every garden center. Because I was already paying for the shipping costs for those plants, two other different plants also were ordered at the same time. The credit card was charged as soon as the order was placed but there was no notice of when the plants would be shipped. After waiting close to five weeks and still no plants, a call was made to Glasshouse Works to find out what the problem was with the order. It turns out the two butterfly bushes weren't available and I just wanted the order canceled and the money refunded. Instead of refunding the money, they hurried up and sent some other type of common butterfly bush as an UNWANTED substitution! Oh, and as a "bonus" they also included two extra unwanted plants of the same kind of butterfly bush. They also made another substitution and sent a different color of one of the other plant varieties. Their website showed the plant with purple flower and the tag on the one they sent said it is white. I was very disappointed with their substitutions and thought it was clear over the phone that I did not want any substitutions.
On August 19th, 2007, franjee changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
I have been asked by Glasshouse Works to please change my rating to "neutral" because they don't think a negative rating is really all that fair. Maybe a negative rating isn't fair to them but I really don't like having the plants that I order substituted and maybe other plant collectors that have a special need for a particular plant may feel the same way.
The owner at Glasshouse Works is really concerned about the rating and is now trying to be helpful to work something out (apparently there was an email problem with their service) but I don't really want credit and I am not asking for a refund. Like they pointed out, they did not charge anything for their extra plants that they included in my order but I am still disappointed that another business was unable to send what was ordered.
On October 12th, 2007, franjee changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
One of their substituted 'Lochinch' butterfly bushes has flowered..... guess what? It was a violet pink and not the blue that is the real color of the 'Lochinch' butterfly bush.
|On Apr 3, 2007, WaterCan2 Eastern Long Island, NY (Zone 7a) wrote:
I have been very disappointed by the quality, the tardiness, even the packaging of this company's products. I have placed two orders from this company at 5 -6 plants ea, (chalking up my first experience to happenstance) and have been very disappointed both times. To make matters worse when a specimen is out of stock they substitute a number of common inferior plants to make up the value of the order even when the orders are clearly marked as 'no substitutions'. Unfortunately I cannot recommend this company to anyone and will never take a 'chance' with them again.
On April 4th, 2007, WaterCan2 added the following:
I did not realize this was a debate forum. In any event; 1) The representative above has not contacted me nor can he (since he does not have my new address). 2) Six Coleus plants in lieu of 3 of the 5 plants that I ordered is not what I consider an upgrade. 3) The orders were clearly marked “No Substitutions”. 4) All of the plants came wrapped in wet newspaper which did a nice job of crushing the foliage. 5). A 2 month wait is not what I consider reasonable.
I did not write this review with the intent of harming this company, I could care less if it reaches the Fortune 500 or disappears tomorrow. I wrote it because the Garden Watchdog has been an invaluable asset in ordering plants and I realize it needs the feedback of customer’s experiences to continue. I wrote of my experiences. Nor am I seeking restitution from this company. Wasted time is more important than money and it is something you cannot replace. I consider the matter closed.
Ps. The catalog did mange to make it to my new address earlier this year, – but not for long - I threw it away immediately!
On Apr 3, 2007, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On Apr 4, 2007 10:17 AM, Glasshouse Works added:
I have contacted this customer. Two things need to be mentioned. 1) We do not substitute unless we are given permission and when we do, it is always with a more expensive or valuable plant. 2) We know our packers are good and we often get compliments on our shipping. Thus, something must have gone wrong with the processing of this order. In fact, sometimes our delays are due to the fact that we are making sure the customer gets exactly what they order.
On Aug 16, 2007 10:36 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
We did try to contact this customer using Dave's Garden Dmail.
|On Aug 5, 2006, TrinidadColeus Athens, OH wrote:
During July, several members of my garden group visited the Glasshouse Works in hopes of a gardener's excursion. This place is right in the middle of a small, rural residential neighborhood. What a dump. We did not know we were going to such a disorganized, messy and dilapidated business. Dead and overgrown plant material, pots, and trash is everywhere and the buildings are so old and in disrepair, they are literally falling down. The outside of the property was so overgrown with weeds, bushes and trees that it is nearly impossible to believe that a business is contained within this collection of abandoned old houses clustered on the property. We were leary to buy anything because of the appearance and how difficult it was to find anything without assistance. We cut short our garden tour. The staff gave us the impression that they knew about plants but the appearance of the place told us they must really struggle with running a garden center and greenhouses. We won't be inclined to return unless they clean the place up and organize it to make it inviting to avid gardeners.
On August 5th, 2006, TrinidadColeus added the following:
How do they operate this way?
On Aug 5, 2006, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On Aug 13, 2006 10:21 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
This person is not a customer. She or he has never purchased a plant or an item from our galleries. I believe she or he either went to the wrong place or entered the business from the back alley and walked by our stock and experimental breeding area and then left. We maintain our own stock plants and propagate from these plants. We hybridize and we have a private area where new plants are grown on before the best are selected out. Thank goodness we are not a “Garden Center.” We are a rare plant nursery and a display garden with rare and variegated plants arranged in display beds. The open areas are kept weeded and beautiful. The avid gardener is always thrilled to see plants they might have only seen in pictures in books. This is why we are famous. One does not come to Glasshouse Works to purchase nationally advertised common garden plants. We have bus tours and tourists from all across the country coming in regularly. Our knowledgeable staff is always available to give a great tour of the “Official” Garden Area. Some gardeners are sometimes thrilled to be able to get into our “Private” growing area to see plants (if we have a bit of spare time) that might be introduced in the next few years. I wrote this person a nice letter inviting her or him to identify himself or herself and come out to visit our actual display gardens and be given a personal tour. We have received no answer. We have done a lot of upgrading the last few years and the Showroom is newly painted and filled with superb garden art and items from local artists. We offer a line of hand-carved granite statues and have a beautiful area in the Showroom of handmade African Art. We offer bonsai pots, grow lights, and potting supplies. We are open to the public on Fridays and Saturdays. We always work closely with both the Athens and Marietta Tourism bureaus. They are happy we are here! They consider us a valuable local resource. Most of the garden clubs in Athens, Parkersburg, and Marietta are our supporters."
|On Jul 21, 2006, pepsncrotons Pompano Beach, FL wrote:
I placed an order with this company in mid-January. I promptly received an invoice in the mail outlining my order and informing me that the order was already being processed, but may take until spring since it was 'currently winter in Ohio'. Over $500.00 was charged to my credit card, but I was willing to "wait until the spring" when the plants would be ready. I called in mid-May to inquire about the order. They were very polite and promised a "rush" would be placed on my order. Two weeks passed with no contact, no plants. I sent an email inquiry which was promptly replied to, stating that because of a cold/dark spring, the plants did not root but that they would try to get at least one of each plant together and *another* rush would be placed on my order, I would be contacted when the order shipped. Another four weeks passed, no contact, no plants. I sent another email inquiry, this time just giving up and asking for my money back (after a 6 Month wait). They promised that a refund would be processed, which it was, and that when the plants are ready, they will pack them up and bill me again for what ever they had ready. Three weeks have passed, no contact, no plants.
On Jul 21, 2006, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On Aug 16, 2007 10:40 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
We mailed a subsequent order to this customer and he said he would change or alter the review to neutral or positive if time permitted. I can certainly understand with all the time constraints we all have that he did not make it back to do an update. We tried to work out the problems and he got some plants. Tom "
|On Jul 16, 2006, jackaloupe San Francisco, CA wrote:
I have tried to place orders with this company since April of 2006. Its now the middle of July. I get e-mail promsise's but no results. I am very fustrated with this company. They promise but don't seem to be able to follow thru. How does any one get thru to this company?
On Jul 16, 2006, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On Aug 12, 2006 2:13 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
I believe we never received payment on an order made early April. We emailed requesting follow up. We finally deleted the order from our files after not hearing back."
|On May 23, 2006, DaleTheGardener Tampa, FL (Zone 10a) wrote:
These people are plant collectors and not high quality plant sellers. Almost all the comments (even many of the positive comments) I have read indicate that they never have all the plants on their website and quality & size are ongoing issues with them. They do not appear to give refunds, only credit for more plants.
On May 23, 2006, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On May 23, 2006 8:33 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
We will of course contact this customer and give a refund for the appropriate amount if we need to. I will give further comment as soon as this gardenener and I talk and decide what to do. We always work with every customer till they are pleased. Tom
On May 24, 2006 10:21 AM, Glasshouse Works added:
Previously I wrote: We will of course contact this customer and give a refund for the appropriate amount if we need to. I will give further comment as soon as this gardenener and I talk and decide what to do. We always work with every customer till they are pleased. Tom
|On May 15, 2006, sugarweed Okeechobee, FL (Zone 10a) wrote:
Had to call to find out when and if my order would be shipped. Asked to be sure and e-mail me when shipped so someone could unwrap and care for them if I were not in Jacksonville when they shipped.
On May 17th, 2006, sugarweed added the following:
After several calls pleading with me to change my rating here, offering to send more plants, and boasting about the 10 calls received just that day saying what great plants they had sent folks I told Tom I was leaving town and did not want any more plants. That there would be no order from me next year. He said he would credit my debit account for $50. I thanked him and he e-mailed me that the credit to my account had gone thru. I have checked the bank account 6 times today, no $ added so far.
The purpose of Garden Watchdog is to help us not send off money and have to wait for months to hear from the plant sellers. I would very much like to see that $50 of the $126 they took returned to my account. I would consider Tom and me even. He was very nice in spite of all of this. I cannot however change my rating.
On May 20th, 2006, sugarweed changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
Recieved 3 nice replacement plants yesterday and a $95 refund. Tom is one of nicest people I've ever had conflict with.
On July 31st, 2006, sugarweed changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
To add insult to injury one plant I received turned out to be Inky Fingers instead of the Black Magic I wanted.
Guess they thought I wouldn't know the difference, but after much research I have Inky fingers and No Black Magic!
On May 15, 2006, Glasshouse Works responded with:
"I have never made a rebuttal on the Garden Watchdog before, but I feel I must here because I want people to know that we do work with every customer as personally as we can. We have been in business for 30 years and we have many fine and longterm customers. You can rest assured that any problems with any order from Glasshouse Works will be fairly taken care of!
|On Sep 6, 2005, tasf45 Saint Charles, MO wrote:
If you order from this company, get ready to wait a LONG time for tiny plants.
On Sep 6, 2005, Glasshouse Works responded with:
On May 17, 2006 6:39 PM, Glasshouse Works added:
This fellow has moved, it appears. I wanted to give him a replacement with another plant, but we have not located him since his order. "
|On Jun 24, 2005, tsmith711 Cincinnati, OH wrote:
I placed an order for 12 scented geraniums(pelargonium) in early May and was disappointed when I received a written confirmation 12 days later that they had received my order and that it would not ship until early June. One of the reasons that I ordered from this company is that they are located in my home state and thought that transportaion time would be reduced to a minimum. Along comes June 24 and still no plants. I called the company to check on the status of the order because the large bare spot in one of my front yard beds is looking a tad strange found out they hadnt shipped yet but they would be willing to send them out on monday. I seriously doubt they were planning on sending this out on Monday if I hadnt called. Because of the 50% satisfaction rate on this site and the reponse from one person who had been waiting two years for his plants from this company I decided to cancel the order with the understanding that I would have my AMEX credited.
|On Aug 27, 2004, DaleP6 Sarasota, FL (Zone 9b) wrote:
First of all I had my doubts about the fact that they could carry ALL the plants in their catalog. When I made calls to check on plants no one but one fellow cold tell you about them. I ordered and was looking forward to receiving my package. Well...I had never been so disappointed! These guys looked like plants I wouldn't even look at at a retail sore, either walk by or feel terribly sorry for them. I think they should start concentrating on quality and not quanity. Certainly if you have been hunting a plant for years you will accept a rather ratty plant...but a coleus let's say? I wrote about the conditions and in reply I got a note that they had gotten them this far and my TLC would take them to the moon! HA! I will never be tempted by the numbers to order from these guys again!
|On Jul 17, 2004, JoeCS Atlanta, GA (Zone 8a) wrote:
Yesterday I received the rest of my $580.00 order, it took TWO (2) years, yep 2 years. This company is very, very unorganized. It became a game with me, I would call them and get a response like "we will be shipping your order on _____", so I would make note of that date and then call them again and do it all over - date, call, date, call.
|On Jun 21, 2004, grhse147 Southampton, NY wrote:
My experience over two years trying to deal with this company have left me with the resolve to avoid the temptation to check their website for plant availability ever again.
|On Jun 11, 2004, inguvap Parlin, NJ wrote:
I ordered a total of 10 plants from these people. First of all, it took 30 days for them to ship the plants. Finally, I sent them a mail to cancel my order, and that is when they sen me the plants. only 4 plants are surviving now after 2 months and they are not willing to give me credit or send the plants again.
|On May 6, 2004, ACsAgapePlants Mesa, AZ (Zone 9a) wrote:
I have been waiting three + months for my order. Each time I inquired when it would be shipped, I would get a different answer. I have a problem when my credit card is charged or my check is cashed, yet I have nothing to show for it after three months. I will NOT order from them again!
|On Apr 8, 2004, KDePetrillo North Scituate, RI (Zone 6a) wrote:
I've ordered from Glassworks several times and have been about 95% satisfied with my orders. I attribute the problems I've had with ordering tropical plants in the winter (I expect the occasional problem, as I live in Zone 5). I'm disheartened by the negative comments, but will use them again until I, too, have a negative experience.
On July 15th, 2004, KDePetrillo changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:
I received an order for 9 plants today and was stunned at what they sent me: 5 of the plants are pathetic. I don't know how they could ship such sorry specimens. I've bought from them in the past, as I've said, and been happy with Glass Works, but this last order really shocked me. I've requested either replacements for the unsatisfactory plants or a refund. I'll post a follow-up to my complaint after I've heard from the company. I'm really disappointed: I thought I could count on Glasshouse Works for quality plants.
|On Feb 9, 2004, corossol Dobbs Ferry, NY wrote:
Interesting to read others' comments. I ordered from this company. Some companies add fertilizer to their plants before they ship them, so that they burst into growth when you get them. Well, Glasshouse must add ANTI-fertilizer! I have a couple of rhipsalis plants I got from them 18 mos. ago, and they have not grown at all. They are alive, but have pretty much just sat there. I am no botanist, but I am no idiot when it comes to plants, so I've got to say: avoid Glasshouse....despite their good selection, their plants don't thrive. Plus, their website has got to be one of the most frustrating to navigate. I'm sorry to be so negative, but this is the truth.
|On Jan 18, 2004, gardengalca wrote:
Well, the previous feedback should make the issue clear. Plants are small, often mislabeled, and the service isn't that great.
|On Oct 19, 2003, dougrobnyc New York, NY (Zone 6a) wrote:
There is no doubt that this establishment is well stocked with interesting and exotic plant life. Unfortunately, my personal experience on several occasions was negative.
|On Aug 17, 2003, Mblade wrote:
Well I made the mistake of ordering once from this company and they will never again recieve my business. I ordered just 2 plants from them as a "feeler" order to see how customer service is and how they handle everything, My Card was charged promptly of course yet 2 weeks later I still had no plants, wich was ok as the websight states it may take a bit for some plants, I called just to see how status was and basically they could not give me any estimate of time, wich I was not at all happy with. So I told them ok, Cancel my order and I will order elsewhere. The Owner of the company then got on the phone and told me they clearly state the time and that if I was not happy he didnt need me as a customer!!!!!!! I was rather shocked by this statment alone....I then said fine cancel my order and we will be done with it and we hung up. Ten Minutes later he called me back to tell me he "thought" my order was already shipped at wich time I told him if such is the case, then dont worry bout reversing the charges and I will take whatever he sent and be done with it, I also told him his customer skills where lacking to say the least after his previous comment and how shocked I was...this economy is not strong...ornamental plants are not a "need", they are a "want"....in a time when people have a hard time making sure their "needs" are covered you dont throw stones at someone spending any amount of money on a "want". The plants arrived 3 days later, they where tiny.....wich was OK, they acclimatized alright with a little nurturing from me....its a shame that an owner of a place turns off his own prospective clients...its not how a company remains in business. He DID send a "bonus" plant wich sadly to say was much stronger and healthier than the orignal plant I ordered.
|On Jun 24, 2003, plantgirl77 wrote:
Ordered several plants way back in the winter, they sent me a letter saying that something was wrong with my credit card and if i didnt reply they would consider my order cancelled, decided not to reply, as original total was around 30 dollars but after shipping and converting the money to Canadian it was over 150 dollars. A while later I check my credit balance and low and behold they charged me for the plants. May came and weather turned nice, expecting plants. NO plants come my way. I email them and get an excuse, plants are waiting to be shipped, it is now the end of June, I emailed them several times and have gotten several excuses. The last one being the Ag inspector was coming the next day and would inspect my order and then it would be sent. That was 2 weeks ago!! I paid for Fedex shipping!! I will never order anything from them again, that is if I do ever get my order!!
|On Jun 3, 2003, Jewelweed Arlington, TN wrote:
I placed an order aprroximately 1 year ago. Several times I called to inquire when it would be shipped; my credit card had already been charged. I was told something different every time by the friendly woman who answered the phone. On the third call she said that plants are propagated after you order, that mine were still growing. I canceled the order and my account was credited. I haven't ordered from them again, although their catalog is very interesting. Something's not right.
|On Jan 19, 2003, bmwragtop wrote:
I ordered from this company twice and was disappointed and angered both times. I thought, perhaps the first time was a fluke.... so I gave them another chance. It wasn't a fluke! I recommend staying AWAY from them... don't waste your money.
|On Jul 22, 2002, akebono wrote:
The absolute worst mail order experience I've ever had, bar none.
|On Jul 18, 2002, Hedera wrote:
Ordered 7 plants May 2001 for $41.00. GHW charged our card IMMEDIATELY and BEFORE shipping - that is rarely a good sign in the nursery business. Then they wrote there was a "production delay" beyond their control. (Apparently this is a form letter they use often - just around the time your rights to contest the charge with the card company ends). Still waiting for plants July 2002. All the plants we ordered are easy-to-root vines (ie. 2-4 weeks) so there is no excuse. Letters and emails never answered. 800 number says they only take new orders. We're letting the Ohio Attorney General's Consumer Advocate handle this for us since nothing else has worked.
|On Jul 15, 2002, MrGray wrote:
I had many frustrating experiences with the gentlemen of Glasshouse Works in the late '80's; I sent them choice plants with no expectations of trades and placed orders for many hundreds of dollars. Only a small percentage of the plants were ever shipped, even after the passage of more than 14 months in the case of one order. Many phone calls and legal threats were made before I finally recieved a refund. They don't have any of what I call gardener's honor. It might be a nice greenhouse to visit but don't do business with them by mail.
|On Jul 13, 2002, Raymond Yonkers, NY wrote:
As someone who works in the green industry, I was appalled at the service and the quality of plants from this company. Last year the order took six months, some plants were missing when I received the order. This year (2002) I placed an order on January 17th, after many phone calls it arrived July 1st, four plants were missing, some of the plants were tiny plugs stuck into two inch pots, they withered in two days in the ninety degree heat. They owe me a refund of over fifty three dollars, who knows when that will materialize. When you see the price of plants in their catalogue, it appears that your getting a good bargain,not so. Never again will I order from this company. Totally frustrating!
|On Jul 12, 2002, Gardenslave wrote:
Terrible service, terrible plants. I placed an order for about a dozen Coleus, and what I got were tiny, barely rooted woody cuttings that were infested with mealybugs.