Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Heirloom Roses

Click here to return to Heirloom Roses's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
183 positives
22 neutrals
35 negatives


Negative JoeLukowski
(1 review)
On Jul 10, 2015, JoeLukowski Ball Ground, GA wrote:

Posted on July 10, 2015, updated July 10, 2015
I am finding it frustrating dealing with the email correspondence with this company. This had lead to the decision notto shop with them again.The basic problem is 2 of the six roses I ordered and planted ( to what I believed to be proper planting instructions) are not growing. I was informed that mixing Miracle Grow Garden soil with the top soil was not recommended ( I did this) as it may have contributed to burning the roots of these two roses. Yet the other four are doing well (same soil mix). I was told that they would not do anything to help rectify the situation because I used that brand of graden soil. There is no mention on their website or their emails warning us that the soild is not to be used. As a matter of fact I did find on the website that they do recommend using Miracle Grow within the first year of planting. I see these people more interested in their bottom line than customer relations.

On July 10th, 2015, JoeLukowski added the following:

--- after trolling the internet I found out the reason why Heirloom Roses does not recommend the use of Miracle Grow -- at it wasnt on their site ! Happens that the nitrogen level can be too high for certain roses to handle and it ought not to be used for that reason. It appears anything else is safer including 1/4 cup of epson salts to 1 gallon of water for fertilzer.
On Jul 10, 2015, Heirloom Roses responded with:

"On Jul 13, 2015 11:52 AM, Heirloom Roses responded with:

Dear Joe,

We sincerely apologize if there is any misunderstanding regarding the use of a potting soil with granular fertilizer in it. We clearly indicate not to use this type of product with all shipping notices as well as on our website.

We strongly recommend giving us a call rather than posting on Facebook or here, as this will help is give you personal attention and resolve your concerns one on one.

Our Customer Service team is available to assist you M-F from 8:00a-4:30p Pacific Time. You may reach us at 1-800-820-0465.

Thank you."

Negative beckettsmama
(1 review)
On Jul 6, 2015, beckettsmama New York City, NY wrote:

Posted on June 22, 2015, updated July 6, 2015
I have purchased from this company in the past and have never had a problem with their roses or service. However, since it was acquired by new owners, it has never been the same. The roses are not as robust as before. And the picture of the sample rose they show is nothing like what is received (at least what I received).

What I purchased and received on May 26 died in a matter of weeks. I e-mailed on June 10th and received an automatic reply. Almost a week later, on June 16th, I e-mailed again and again I received an automatic reply. Today I called and was placed on hold for 10 minutes without every speaking to anyone, but was subjected to bad music.

So I hung up and promptly called my credit card company and complained. The cost is a blip on what I spend on roses, but quite frankly, this is horrible customer service and shouldn\'t even matter. But I should have realized this when they made a big deal that they offered free shipping and no tax. But that\'s after hiking the cost of their band roses by $8.00. So that claim is extremely disingenuous.

So buyer beware. I definitely won\'t be purchasing from them ever again.

On July 6th, 2015, beckettsmama added the following:

So I was given a replacement certificate for the rose that, of course, is not in stock. But the problem continues.

I had another rose which I had ordered just after the one I've written about, not knowing the problem I would have. So I also contacted Heirloom about that one. Surprisingly, I received a reply from Linda, their Rose Order Specialist, that suggested we "trouble shoot" the problem. (But I suspect it is because I posted on this site and called my credit card company. In any event, that rose also died.)

In "trouble shooting" the problem, Linda asked that I, "Please send a photo along with a description of how it was planted: potting soil/amendments etc.," which I did, as though I had no idea how to plant roses. And received this reply: "In order for the warranty to be applied, the roses need to be planted according to our instructions. Putting two roses in one pot is inadvisable." Really? Since when? There is no mention of this in their container roses info.

There also was no mention of the "potting sol/amendments, etc." that I used. Certainly, "inadvisable" does not mean you can't. Mind you, the other rose I planted (which is growing) with the one that died is one I also purchased from Heirloom. So I'd like Linda to explain to me how one is thriving, while the other is not, if it is "inadvisable" to put two roses in the same pot. Or that two of their Memorial Day roses are growing in the same container; and have been for three years now. So please, Linda, explain that reasoning to me.

Needless to say, I long for the days of the previous owners who not only were responsive, but also did their best to keep their customers.
On Jul 6, 2015, Heirloom Roses responded with:

"On Jul 1, 2015 3:04 PM, Heirloom Roses responded with:

Hello beckettsmama,

Our customer service team would like to speak to you to resolve your concerns. Please call us at 1-800-820-0465.

Thank you!"

Negative basaladino
(2 reviews)
On May 31, 2015, basaladino Spring Valley, IL wrote:

I looked at this site for several weeks and decided to order from them. My son is recouperating from stage 4 lymfoma, and is just feeling better...I told him for his birthday I ordered some roses...he was all excited..then when they arrived he sent me a pic of the 2 st shithum roses..I was so disapointed..they were so small with very thin stems..I did not expect that as I paid $61.00..which are now $38.50 for one..I could have gotten a much healthier and better rose at Walmart, Home Depot or menards...I just wanted a special rose bushes for my son..very disappointed..we have pics on facebook which will show how small they are and one is yellow...too bad.

On May 31, 2015, Heirloom Roses responded with:

"On Jun 5, 2015 5:55 AM, Heirloom Roses responded with:

We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We work diligently to inform our customers of what to expect when they order from us by posting a video on our website as well as a link to the same video on the confirmation email that is received after an order is placed.

Own-root roses are roses grown from cuttings taken from stock plants. Unlike grafted roses, the roots of own-root roses are the same variety as their flowering tops.

Heirloom Roses does no budding or grafting at our nursery. Unlike the majority of rose growers in the US. we sell only own-root, virus-free roses. Our roses are first-year cuttings that are grown from a leaf cutting taken from a “mother” or “stock” plant. Own-root roses may be smaller when purchased, but quickly catch up to grafted roses (which are usually sold as two-year-old plants).

Here is a link to our video for reference. We appreciate the opportunity to send you a replacement rose in hopes that you will be more satisfied.

Thank you!"

Negative bluebuster77
(26 reviews)
On May 31, 2015, bluebuster77 Belmont, CA wrote:

Posted on May 7, 2015, updated May 31, 2015
Posted on April 20, 2015, updated May 7, 2015
Posted on January 24, 2015, updated April 20, 2015
Posted on January 22, 2015, updated January 24, 2015
Posted on January 29, 2014, updated January 22, 2015
Posted on January 26, 2014, updated January 29, 2014
Posted on March 30, 2012, updated January 26, 2014
Posted on January 25, 2012, updated March 29, 2012
I received the roses from Heirloom earlier than any other growers. Plants seems small but I realized that very halthy and mutiple points that are ready to grows. Already leaves out and within few weeks grow over 6-8\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\" in my 2 gallons pots. Their plants are like a miniature bush, one of top growers send me a stick like plant with one or two leaves :(
I order Tequila Sunrise and Tropical Sunset-I like unusual rare color, very exciting to see them bloom. I definitely consider to order from Heirloom rose again. Thanks

On March 29th, 2012, bluebuster77 added the following:

If I was the person to decide this ranking, Heirloom is the one of the Top 5 list.
After my 1st order was really made me satisfied (also it\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s my first own root roses and first rose to received earlier than others), I decide to order again from Heirloom. This time I ordered two David Austin roses, healthy, clean, non complicated professional packaging (Thank you) and of course fast delivery. Thanks again.
I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m sure roses are grow quick as first order, my first roses are ready to bloom in next a week or two. Awesome place to buy healthy roses. Like I said in first comment, plants seem small but there is multiple joints and ready to form bushy growth. I set Heirloom as my future resource to buy own root roses.
On January 26th, 2014, bluebuster77 changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

Unlike latest two negative comments, I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'ve some disappointment with heirloom. I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m huge fan of heirloom over 3 years, even I went to nursery when I visited to Portland. Lately shipping cost is rising and plants are smaller and smaller, some roses are just like little stick. Slowly growing, I was so carful and put more effort not to loose my money..even better I propagate myself some variety from neighbors and friends. I was think twice to order from again. I don\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t complain if charge high shipping with bigger plants like Roses Unlimited or lower shipping with medium size plants like Rogue Valley
On January 29th, 2014, bluebuster77 added the following:

Hi Ben

Thanks for reading my feedback. I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m also standing as forever customer for Heirloom. If I think of buying new roses, I always browse your site. My latest experience was really bad. I understand the plants are small but smaller is very unusual. I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m not asking 2\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\' tall plants with lush and blooms. At least some branches with 7\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\"- 9\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\" will be acceptable. I don\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t complain about roots, however, I put extra effort to rescue the tiny 4\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\" stick to leaves out. I felt like I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m partialy grow this roses to thrive and reach acceptable condition. The plants I purchased during my visit were excellent condition ever. Meaning trust is involve in this case. I didn\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t leave this feedback if the plants are equally same on both purchases. But I think I will try again!
On January 22nd, 2015, bluebuster77 added the following:

I am excited about recent feedbacks and ordered few roses for 2015. Like old Heirloom, still thumbs up for email communication as I needs for replacement and some Q/A, shipping speed was fast but no reminder for your package was shipped or tracking information. Plant sizes are still the same as Heirloom\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s way, short and small but I rely on their GUARANTEE. Wide selection as always Heirloom style but not all roses are actually available, regardless notification on the variety when this rose will be available. Something is not right until I received package with missing rose, which indicates as available the time I placed order. I think still mix feeling about good and bad, and I prefers to keep my feedback as neutral
On January 24th, 2015, bluebuster77 changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

Problem Solved
On April 20th, 2015, bluebuster77 changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

I never had problem roses died with old heirloom roses in past. But lately I counted about 5 roses died from last few orders. It happened 2-3 months after received them, even under good growing condition. I was doubt how this happen, I grow roses from other suppliers at the same time but rest of the roses grows well and blooms. It is something wrong. When I was contacted about dead roses, they prefers to issue store credit right away than discuss to replace the same variety. After this year I will never going to do business with new Heirloom roses.
On May 7th, 2015, bluebuster77 added the following:

As of today I don\'t receive one of my rose is suppose to deliver on April. I sent two email but no response. They excited to announced that new owner changed, but I think getting worst than previous Heirloom. They forced to sent me store credit for first dead rose instead of replacement, and no response for another dead rose and one rose I ordered was not deliver. How can I say that this company is professional? Whatever promising or guarantee on their website is false statement. Gardeners beware.
On May 31st, 2015, bluebuster77 added the following:

Wow you cannot believe what happen to me even I currently having issue with some dead roses. I made brand new order with just one hybrid tea rose which is really want to add as my hybrid tea collection, I received heathy bushy about foot long plant...nice. Noooo! I realized this band plant has 7-9 leaflets with thin green growing stems and foliage, if you're experienced gardener or rosarian you know what it is. I double checked with few rosaians to make sure it's something wrong, they agree. It's kind of mutiflora root stock plant or wilder variety, also similar to sucker. I fully shocked at this point. But wait more shocking part is this rose has correct label tag of variety I ordered was attached. I'm speechless. I needs to find out more previous roses not yet bloom purchased from Heirloom. Owner response back to me but this is big red flag warning and total lost of trust
On May 31, 2015, Heirloom Roses responded with:

"On Jan 27, 2014 4:38 PM, Heirloom Roses responded with:

Dear Bluebuster77,

My name is Ben Hanna and I am the new owner of Heirloom Roses. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your purchase. Our shipping prices have not changed in almost 3 years and the plants.

Our company is committed to sending healthy, striving plants and we are always working to improve them. As we stand behind all our plants, I will contact you directly to make this right.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us the opportunity to add roses to your garden in the future.

Ben Hanna
Owner, Heirloom Roses

On Jun 5, 2015 6:02 AM, Heirloom Roses added:

Hello. I'm not sure I totally understand what has occurred. We would like to make this right for you. Please contact our customer service team at 1-800-820-0465 and we will be happy to assist you.

Thank you!"

Negative Debra8
(1 review)
On Mar 14, 2015, Debra8 Beaufort, SC wrote:

I placed an order online for a rose. Due to a website glitch I could not place an order on my iPad so I used the PC to do so. Soon after there was a sale on ramblers and climbers, the website promptly crashed. I called to place my order. The woman I spoke with told me the website was working fine, they just hadn't removed the message about the crash. She attempted to place the order and realized the website had crashed. While I was on the phone with her I received an email the order was placed. She was very surprised she had been successful. The second rose I ordered (by phone) arrived. I went to the website, signed in to check my order and the only order that showed was from 2012. I called and spoke to Linda in customer service. I explained my problem, she kept interrupting and saying if I placed an order by phone it wouldn't be on my account. Even if this was true the online order should show up and it doesn't. I asked why they didn't ship them together and Linda said they were too small and didn't have enough people to do that. I order from many small nurseries and can add to my order until shipping time. They have some serious website issues. I would appreciate customer service understanding my problem instead of insisting there isn't one.

Negative Rosalee916
(1 review)
On Apr 24, 2014, Rosalee916 Citrus Heights, CA wrote:

I purchased approximately 19 roses from Heirloom roses at around 03/13. The roses did come as small cuttings, which was very different than receiving bare root or in a container. They all grew pretty well except for one which was promptly replaced by Heirloom. Also at that time, I voiced my concerns about some of the roses not having a scent. I really don't remember them offering to replace these roses. First is the rose itself and does it have a fragrance? Smell the roses! Out off the 19 so far, 2 are the miniature rose and fragrance was not an issue. Everest Double Fragrance has some fragrance, but nothing huge. Hot Cocoa has none. Heirloom none, Royal Pageant beautiful, little fragrance, Star of the Nile, small, very little fragrance, Special Occasion, small, little fragrance, New Day, little scent, Sleeping Beauty little fragrance, Velvet Fragrance, little. New Dawn fragrant, Honore de Balzac fragrant, Paradise, Fragrant. Memorial Day, no roses, Zephirine Drouhin no roses. These roses are beautiful, but again no scent. What would all of you do?

Negative numberone
(1 review)
On Aug 22, 2013, numberone Toquerville, UT (Zone 8a) wrote:

My husband ordered 11 roses for me and they arrived fresh, but all of them had Thrips and viruses. I sent the pictures of those problem roses to them, and they said they were so sorry and the would send the replacement. I felt so appreciated and waiting for my replacement roses, which I expected them to be healthy. The roses arrived and they were all have the same problem like the first lot. I reported to them, and here they said. "We have discussed your roses in great depth with the shipping and plant health managers. We feel they did arrive in poor condition. However, if you defoliate and plant them they will be great plants for you to enjoy for many years to come." I didn't want any replacement, but I thought 'Heirloom' has good quality of roses. I won't order from them any more!

Negative Miramoo
(1 review)
On Jul 4, 2013, Miramoo Augusta, GA wrote:

My boyfriend purchased AngelFace for my birthday (April) and it said that June was the start of shipping. He got confirmation and everything but now it says they are out of stock?

Ummm. Forgotten order? Not enough supply? I figured he should have gotten at least told it was sold out, refunded, or made to chose another. So far, he has gotten neither or as much as a "sorry were out". Horrible way to do business. He will be trying for a refund and take his business elsewhere. Buyer beware. Disappointing with such high positives. :(

Negative ForestSister
(1 review)
On May 28, 2013, ForestSister Long Lane, MO wrote:

Rec'd email notice noon Friday that the Order I placed on Monday was being processed. I Called them Immediately and asked them NOT to SHIP that day! It was Friday of Memorial Day Weekend. I was told they would decide what is best.
My order arrived the Tuesday after Memorial Day completely dried out and severely wilted. I called them again and was told to send it back and they would review it to see if it met the terms of their website guarantee. Their website reads like the really understand and care for their roses. It's a real pity the rose I ordered wasn't one that they cared about.

Negative weaselskin
(2 reviews)
On Apr 14, 2012, weaselskin Durango, CO wrote:

The plants arrive healthy and well but small. They have not grown much or produced blooms in over 2 years. Other roses from other companies have done extremely well in our area. Summary about heirloom own root cuttings is they are small and stay small.

Negative groMike
(1 review)
On Aug 18, 2011, groMike Clover Hill, MD wrote:

I have ordered from them several times each time has been worse than the last. The plants have been ok - small and expensive - they have grown ok.
Their customer order process and customer service needs some work! My last order was lost, after they charged my credit card. The person on the phone was less than helpful - couldn't even find my order, they didn't know how?! They refused to make up for their screw up by sending product to arrive by my dead line - after the date the plants should have arrived in the first place, I even selected plants in stock to avoid delays. There are good companies and I think I'll try and find one.

Negative maggiemae1981
(1 review)
On May 21, 2011, maggiemae1981 Congers, NY wrote:

My order was placed way back in February. The webpage clearly stated they would begin shipping in March. I then received an email they would not be shipping my items until 7 days after April 21st.

That should have been my first warning sign things would not go smoothly.

Getting a bit impatient I emailed the company around the middle of April requesting an updated status on my order. I received a two sentence response from "Laurel":

"The below acknowledgment indicates that the order is set to process on the 21st of this month. You should then receive the roses within 7 business days after the order processes."

I let it alone and continued to wait for my order. When it finally arrived on April 27th I was over the moon. One by one I removed each plant carefully. I then discovered two plants were missing. On the order slip it stated they were back ordered and they were not sure when they would be in stock.

There was no refund issued, no communication on "Laurel"s part that my order would be incomplete.

Now nearly another month has gone by and I still have not received the rose plants or refund.

I have emailed the company once again requesting some sort of resolution.

This review will remain negative until they resolve this in a timely fashion.

Negative gremlin17
(2 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2011, gremlin17 Jenkins, KY wrote:

There are times when you open a box and say boy did I get screwed, never in my 60 years have I felt it more today. Tiny rooted cuttings for 16.95 each. Upon calling to express my concern I was told we have thousands of satisfied customers,. I am not one of them!

Negative mjohnso6
(1 review)
On Apr 3, 2011, mjohnso6 Ridgefield, WA wrote:

When I entered the nursery today, I was totally ignored by the saleswoman. I spent about 20 minutes selecting some roses and brought them to the cash register. The saleswoman was still helping the people whom she had been with when I first entered the nursery. I failed to get the attention of the saleswoman, who did not acknowledge my presence in any way. After several minutes of standing in line to pay while she incessantly chatted away with the people in front of me, I couldn't stand being treated so rudely any longer, so I sat down what would have been my purchases and vacated the premises. I will never go back. Horrible, horrible service that even a teenaged cashier would have known better than to do.

On Apr 3, 2011, Heirloom Roses responded with:

"On Apr 15, 2011 9:17 AM, Heirloom Roses responded with:

We feel sickened that any one of our customers would have received such treatment and wish to make this matter correct if you will allow us to. Would you be so kind as to provide your contact phone number by email to and reference this posting? Thank you. Heirloom Roses Management "

Negative mrs_colla
(29 reviews)
On Mar 4, 2011, mrs_colla Marin, CA (Zone 9b) wrote:

Posted on March 1, 2011, updated March 4, 2011
Posted on February 18, 2010, updated March 1, 2011
Posted on February 7, 2010, updated February 17, 2010
Posted on November 14, 2009, updated February 7, 2010
Posted on June 06, 2008, updated November 14, 2009
I got my 6 Austin Roses yesterday, packed very well.
Nice and moist roots, not wet. Deep pots with fine roots.
The plants are small, but bigger than I expected for own root seedlings.
I will order again, I am very satisfied with the overal quality.
Thank you,

On March 14th, 2009, mrs_colla added the following:

By now I have ordered several times here. The roses are very very consistent in quality.

All roses that I have planted as wee babies last year have grown to be at least 2 gallon size plants, I have allowed all of them to make 1 or 2 blooms.

All roses have come out of dormancy with perfect health and vigour.

They were true to type, exquisite blooms.

I have ordered for this season and can't wait to get my new babies.

I am a fan!

On November 14th, 2009, mrs_colla added the following:

Ordered more, and will still order more, I am always very happy!
On February 8th, 2010, mrs_colla added the following:

I have ordered at least 5 more times, and every time I am very happy. The roses are small, but very mighty! I have never lost one rose form this nursery!
They are packed very carefully and the prices are good.
On February 18th, 2010, mrs_colla added the following:

Thank you so much for another three perfect little roses. They are all I hoped for!
On March 1st, 2011, mrs_colla changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

The roses were not mentioned to ship in March on the website, and yet they are now, without warning.
I emailed to ask where the plants were, and got a reply that they would ship in March. I told them to cancel, because this order is a gift for my elder father in law.
They said they would ship last week Monday if I still wanted them. I accepted. 10 days have gone by and still no roses. False promises are not appreciated.
I am awaiting a response to my canceled order. Too bad.
On March 4th, 2011, mrs_colla added the following:

They have emailed me since to explain my email fell into the cracks and they were busy with flower shows. Understandable, but the lack of communication has made it so I couldn't give my old father in law his roses in time... They have not tried to make it up to me other than explaining why I didn't get what they said they'd do. I have been a very loyal customer, I was hoping that would have made a difference.
Negative Jessence
(1 review)
On Feb 28, 2011, Jessence Bocas del Toro
Panama wrote:

I ordered 13 different rose types from Heirloom, and the plants themselves are doing pretty well . The plants are not why I give this company a negative rating. I do so because I have written them 4 emails with questions about the roses before and after ordering them, and the owner (?) defintely took her time to respond to my inquiries, and all of her replies are in a very curt and unfriendly manner. The last email I wrote her was very obviously not read thoroughly. My question to her was if I could take cuttings of my plants to Panama (where I live) with me and plant the mother plants at my parents' house, and how to go about it. Her reply was simply, "We do not sell cuttings of our roses". Absolutely not my question. I responded to her to please reread my email thoroughly and answer my question accordingly. That was 4 days ago and I have heard nothing from her yet. I understand that sometimes people have things going on that prevent them from replying immediately, but this has been my consistent experience with this company for the last 5 months. I myself run my massage business on the web, and I would have NO clients if I ran my business in the same way she does. Being a forgiving person and wanting to give every chance possible, I continued trying to work with them since the roses ARE fairly healthy, but I have finally given up and have found a different rose vendor (Edmund's) to obtain the rest of my rose plants from. It is not my way to write negative reviews on anyone; however, I am hoping she will see this and realize the errors of the way she handles her clients inquiries.

Negative artfulgardens
(1 review)
On Aug 16, 2010, artfulgardens Quinault, WA wrote:

My recent experience with this company was unfortunately very BAD. I ordered over twenty roses last fall and most of them were were not of the quality that I had received years previously. Barely rooted so they did not make it through the winter. (Two survived) I called them and wanted replacements or a refund...something...but all I got was an indifferent "the guarantee time is over". I asked to talk to someone about how and why this happened but no one would respond.

After growing over 200 roses over 20 years, I do know something about roses and not an amateur. I STRONGLY suggest you buy roses from those companies that believe in treating their customers better and more professionaly. They lost a customer who plans on 500 roses in her garden.

Kathy dePass
Artful Nuance

On Aug 16, 2010, Heirloom Roses responded with:

"On Aug 16, 2010 12:38 PM, Heirloom Roses responded with:

The order in question for 20 roses was placed the first part of August 2009, taking advantage of the "Summer Sale" posted online. The roses in question where on special for $7.95. The special stated:

"Because of the dramatic savings, the guarantee offered is for 30 days. If planted in zones 6 and below caution needs to be taken to ensure that they make it through the winter. Heirloom can not guarantee over the winter months."

Negative damicom
(1 review)
On Jun 17, 2010, damicom Soquel, CA wrote:

I ordered about 12 roses from their fragrant rose collection. I planted the tiny plants in containers and waited for them to grow. Two of the plants did well, some struggled and 3 were just plain suicidal. I contacted Heirloom Roses about the poor performance of the plants. They responded asking me how I planted and cared for them. I gave them detailed information & then I never heard from them again. My local nursery would have replaced them! I cannot recommend anyone buying from a company that does not stand behind their product or have customer service. There has been a lot of time, effort and money lost to these roses.

Negative katz2711
(2 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2010, katz2711 Chattanooga, TN wrote:

This was the first and last time I ever ordered from HR. After 5 weeks I finally received my roses today.
Initially there was a problem with my order, which I corrected by phone. A week and a half later I called and asked when the shipment would arrive, to make sure everything was ok with my order. I was told it should arrive the next day or two. However, another week and a half later I found out, that my order never was shipped out and nobody had bothered to look into it when I called to ask the first time. They basically took my money but just conveniently "forgot" about the order. I never even got an apology. Finally after empty promises and denial about the delivering date, I called to cancel my order and asked my money back. They said, once they receive the roses back, they would refund my money! They already had cheated me once and I had never even seen the roses yet! After I saw that I could not even then get my money back, I decided to wait for a couple more days to decide what to do and today I finally got the roses in the mail. The plants looked ok and I am going to keep them. Still, I will certainly not be a returning customer, because I have never encountered worse customer service.

Negative SerenaSYH
(4 reviews)
On Jun 1, 2009, SerenaSYH Overland Park-Kansas City, KS wrote:

I will not be ordering from Heirloom Roses in the future. From the 2 bands I received, I believe that they are removing and selling many baby bands way too early from the nursery. My minimum requirements are that bands should be at least 6"-8" in height and have the very minimum of 8 healthy, green leaves... Out of the 2 bands I received, one was healthy but! was 5" with only 6 leaves total on the entire plant... Thank goodness those leaves were very healthy and viable. On the other hand the other band I received was exactly 3-1/2" high with no viable leaves... Each tiny leaf on that band was only 1/4" max . and all! were shriveled or yellow-green... All the original leaves ended up dead... I am not sure what has been happening with 2009, but there were quite a few customers from a popular rose forum that also faced this issue with their orders from 2008-2009... Their roses were similar to mine when first received and did not survive their first year. But suffice it to say that I have been permanently scared off from Heirloom Roses....

Please note! if you ever receive either very sick bands or too small bands from HR, do not! plant them straight into the ground according to their original instructions... Those need to be planted into pots... they require a different growing method in order to reach enough maturity to endure the cold winters if you are in a cold zone...Their instructions to plant straight into the ground is a huge mistake if the bands are in ill health or are too small to achieve enough growth by fall.

Negative sandi625
(2 reviews)
On Jun 7, 2007, sandi625 Highland Park, MI wrote:

Last year I ordered 3 roses from this company. Shropshire Lad, Mary something and New Dawn. They were about 6 inches tall and never grew anymore. I covered them for the winter and this spring they were dead except the New Dawn. She is about three feet tall and will be 20 when matured. Maybe!!

I notified the company and they said they are only guaranteed for three months. I paid a lot of money for nothing. I was very upset, so my daughter gave me three huge rose bushes for Mother's Day. She purchased them from English Gardens.

I will be dealing with them from now on.

Negative Dan1465
(8 reviews)
On Jun 12, 2006, Dan1465 Northfield, NJ wrote:

I ordered and received 3 very expensive Roses from them in late April. They were packaged well and were very healthy apon arrival but, I have never seen such small plants in my life. It's like a joke. They are so small that I have had to put ugly crabtraps around each one so that the rabbits and my dog won't damage them. I have this beautiful show stopping garden with these ugly crabtraps standing out for all to see. At their apparent growth rate, which has been minimal so far, I figure they'll be wearing them all summer long. This Company should grow their plants at least another 6-9 months before selling at such high prices. I'm not very happy.

Negative TickTock
(3 reviews)
On May 19, 2006, TickTock Memphis, TN wrote:

I ordered 2 roses from this company. Jude the Obscure & A Shropshire Lad. In anticipation I dug two very large holes expecting to receive the size rose I've received from other companies in the past be they bareroot or not. I was shocked when I saw the roses. "Twigs" . 4-5". I'm not exaggerating. Stems were soft. Tiny. I wrote to them laughing because they were so tiny and I had dug these enormous holes. We had a rain storm and they didn't make it. So I wrote to them telling them of my disappointment and how their reputation is on the line sending out such puny roses. Seedlings. I paid over $40.00 for these twigs. I wrote my huge disappointment but received no reply. I proceeded to order from S&W and got healthy large, full potted roses that are beautiful and doing great. I wish nurseries would provide an example photo of what you will receive. MerryGro does this and I'm expecting a delivery from them soon with hope the photos were accurate.

Negative wordsilk7
(3 reviews)
On Aug 1, 2005, wordsilk7 Norwalk, CT (Zone 7a) wrote:

They ran out of the rose I ordered -- but I didn't find out about it for 45 days after I ordered. They claimed, in the letter they sent me, that they tried to contact me via email and telephone, but I received no email, phone calls, or messages from them until I received the letter via snail mail.

Furthermore: DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE WITH YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER. They do not have security in place to safeguard against credit card theft -- when they sent me a copy of my order via mail, my complete credit card number was included on the order and, according to Laurel Anderson, she prints this out to give to people for shipping, etc. They may be a small operation, but credit card security is not that hard to implement (I do it for a living).

On Aug 1, 2005, Heirloom Roses responded with:

"Heirloom Roses, Inc would like to assure our customers that we have their security at the top of our list of priorities. Sensitive customer information is seen only by qualified staff at order entry and our website and billing practices are secure."

Negative acajuncharm
(1 review)
On May 28, 2005, acajuncharm Gonzales, LA wrote:

I ordered six roses from this company as so called "John's Minature Roses!" Two are nearly dead - as in dying and I don't know if I can bring them to life. They surely did not ship them priority mail because nothing has ever looked like this via priority - plus they took forever to ship them to me!! Never again for me - the sad part is this hurts other company's who try to sell via internet. NOT BUYING FROM THEM AGAIN!!!

Negative Yuska
(4 reviews)
On May 27, 2005, Yuska San Antonio, TX (Zone 8b) wrote:

Never again! I knew I might be taking a chance, but this is ridiculous! I only ordered because the variety I wanted I hadn't found elsewhere. I ordered in early March, and it was to be sent by 3/20. When by April 10 nothing had arrived, I e-mailed - "scheduled for shipment next week" I was told. After my credit card statement came with $24.65 on it, I wrote again; same response.

The box arrived today. Pathetic. Small doesn't describe it. To say tiny is being generous. I truly believe that once my order was received they rooted a cutting. If it survives, and that's a big IF, it will be at least three years before it blooms.
If I were a commercial grower, I would be embarrassed to ship something like this with my company's name on it.

Negative sugarlump
(13 reviews)
On May 27, 2005, sugarlump Louisville, KY wrote:

It pains me to say it, because this vendor has an enviable assortment of roses, but my experience with Heirloom has been a disappointment. I read these comments prior to placing my order and I knew what I would get would be small, but seriously. The plants are VERY small. They are potted up and look much the same now as they did when I received them over a month ago. I will baby them and they will live, but for $16 per rose, the size is pathetic. These roses need to be grown on for another year. I will only order again if they have a rose that I can find nowhere else, and not sure if I would then.

Negative Cottage_Rose
(14 reviews)
On Nov 11, 2004, Cottage_Rose (Zone 5b) wrote:

I purchased 1 rose from Heirloom because I couldn't find it else where and it was the tiniest, sickliest rose I have ever seen. Its was barely bigger than a newly rooted cutting. I babied it but it never thrived and I finally pitched it. Never the less Heirloom did refund me for the rose upon my request. I have heard many people complain about their small roses plus I think their prices are too high, especially for what you are getting. I won't order from them again but at least they gave me a refund.

Negative branka
(2 reviews)
On Aug 15, 2004, branka Hobart, IN (Zone 5a) wrote:

Note: This company is also affiliated with

I recently ordered one rambling rose from them. I paid $14.95 plus shipping, the bill was a little over $22.00. I recieved a small rooted cutting. It has two or three twigs on it and maybe 10 leaves, that's it. The only good thing about it is that it is green. I can't find anywhere on the website that states that a buyer will only recieve a small rooted cutting. It says the roses are potted and greenhouse grown which made me think that I would be getting a decent sized rose bush. I will never buy from this company again.

Negative Deoliver
(1 review)
On Jun 9, 2004, Deoliver Saugerties, NY wrote:

Ordered 16 roses from this company. They arrived very late (I ordered Jan 1), and I live in zone 5 - so they needed to be planted early to get established. They were "twigs" but not even healthy ones - 2 were DOA, 4 more were dried out looking, and the rest did not have developed root systems. I have received bands before, but never anything this tiny. They will never make it through the winter here - if they last that long.

Emailed them with a complaint - and received no response.
Then called to protest, and was told to "put them in the mail" and return.

I posted photos of what I received to and online rose group - and those who have ordered from them in the past agreed that these were extraordinarily puny.

On the other hand - I also ordered from Chamblees, Ashdown and Michael's. Got healthy plants (the ones from Ashdown were huge) with root systems, and they are happily developing in my garden.

Heirloom is also very expensive for what you get (or don't get). For the same price or cheaper you can get well-grown own-roots or bareroots, or 1, 2 and 3 gallon potted plants from other suppliers.

I realize that other folks posting here have had good experiences - but mine was more than negative - it was awful. Would suggest that if you live in zone 5 or above - don't ever order from them unless you plan to have twigs that you will baby for the next three or four years, if they survive.


Negative justme277
(3 reviews)
On Jun 4, 2003, justme277 wrote:

I am mad about roses!!!!!I have 140 bushes in my Garden and I show them for fun.I bought 2 roses from this company and I have never seen anything sooo tiny. By the end of the season they had grown, as others have said, and they did bloom but only one decided to come back this spring , the other was the only one of 140 that I lost over the winter. As someone else said their web site isn't very user friendly for problems like I cut my loss, but use caution when you order and realize when you get these plants they are little sticks...don't expect instant roses.They do have some choices you won't find anywhere else which is nice when you have as many bushes as I do, but I am not impressed enough to re order from this company

Negative lalonde
(1 review)
On Jan 31, 2003, lalonde wrote:

Bought several plants from Heirloom, and only 2 survived. The plants they ship are incredibly small, and their prices are high. I can get very well established,healthy, own-root roses from Chamblee's for half the price. Over the past 2 years I have ordered over 30 roses from Chamblee's and they are all performing beautifully in my garden. I decided a while back that I will no longer order from Heirloom Roses.

Negative JeriJennings
(2 reviews)
On Dec 29, 2002, JeriJennings wrote:

We no longer order from Heirloom. Of the dozen or more plants ordered from them, (over a period of 2-3 years) more than half of them were mis-labelled -- and they were not cooperative about making good on their errors. Jeri Jennings, Ventura Co, SoCalif.

Negative doctorg
(2 reviews)
On Jan 1, 2002, doctorg wrote:

Thanks for you site, which I find very informative. I am another of those not pleased with the above. They actually sold me a bare root PEACH TREE instead of a rose I ordered! Has grown great, but...

Negative douglascampb
(1 review)
On Jul 1, 2000, douglascampb wrote:

I ordered from Heirloom in Spring 1999. I was completing a bed for a friend. I also ordered from Antique Rose Emporium, who I've bought numerous plants from since 1990. I was appalled by Heirloom's stock. While the plants were clean and well-grown, they were completely small! Compared to the two-year plants from ARE, they were an embarrassment. My friend wanted to know why I had gotten taken. I called an complained to Heirloom and was directed back to their statement in their catalogue that states that they ship smaller plants. While I admit that they forewarned me, I will also say that I never thought about reading their statement as I've been ordering roses from ARE and Vintage and some other vendors for over 12years and I have never been presented with stock that costs the same, but is so completely out of whack with the marketplace. I certainly would urge anyone to order from another vendor because FOR THE SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY you'll get plants TWICE AS BIG. Again, I am appalled at Heirloom and am surprised that they've been able to survive so long while offering so clearly an inferior product. Buyer Beware!

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2015 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.

Hope for America