On Feb 13, 2012, cathrn67 louisburg United States wrote:
Can't believe all the negs here! I have ordered on and off from them for the last 12 years. I think the only problem I encountered was getting a common spiderwort over the Blushing Bride I ordered. Never knew if they sent the right one because a Vole promptly ate it. I think a lot of plants/bulbs not coming up are due to weather and voles which the company should not be responsible for. I will be placing an order in the next couple of weeks and expect the best!
On Feb 13, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Feb 14, 2012 5:30 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you so much for your wonderful testimonial. You are correct there can be many factors as to why plants do not survive. Just remember we do offer our lfetime guarantee for as long as you garden. Happy Gardening!"
I began ordering from Breck's approximately five years ago and am very pleased with every purchase made...and their have been many. I have followed the directions/advice that accompanied the plants and have NEVER needed to return or replace ANY of my purchases. The first four years I was planting in Clarksville, TN and now I am planting in Columbia, SC. The mature bulbs in Clarksville have returned and multiplied wonderfully...daffodils, lillies, hostas, etc. My new plantings here in SC are also doing beautifully.
I am submitting this review because I for one have not had any of the problems indicated in the below negative reviews and can completely understand a company not doing business with customers who do not seem to have success with their products and continually request refunds and replacements. That is smart business in my opinion.
On Jan 2, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jan 3, 2012 11:46 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you so much for feedback concerning your experience with our company. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us."
On Dec 21, 2011, Barbara777 Larkfield-Wikiup, CA wrote:
On 12/14/11 I ordered 6 "Kris Kringle" tulips for gifts at Christmas. I called on 12/20/11 to find out the shipping information and was told that they would not ship until 2012. They had run out of the product and not notified me. Their customer service was terrible, only offer was to sell me another product at twice the price. I found out that they use a third party customer service call center, you can't actually talk to someone at Breck's that might care. I have used Brecks.com for years but will never order from them again.
On Dec 21, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Dec 30, 2011 9:43 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for letting us know about the problems you experienced with our call center and your order. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and to rectify this for you."
So far so good. I ordered 300+ bulbs on Oct. 12, 2011. I was billed out right away. However, 12 days later I recieved an email stating that my shipment would be sent out any time between Nov 4- Nov 23. REALLY! I called customer service and explained that I live in upstate NY and by then there will be at least 6 inches of snow on the ground. She said she would place a priority shipping status on the order. Low and behold, the shipment arrived 4 or so days later. WOW. I have planted the bulbs today. They look great. I just hope that they look great when they flower. I have ordered from several of the sister companies and have had no problems with service, refund, or delivery. Hopefully I can update this post in the spring with a true positive. Reading others comments, I am a bit nervous. Looking forward to the display of colors. My only real complaint/recommendation is don't bill the customer until the Item ships. When billing right away, it gives the customer the sense that the shipment will arrive within 7-10 days maximun.
On Oct 30, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Oct 31, 2011 11:26 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate what our customers have to say and use your comments to better improve our company. Please let us know if you have any problems. Happy Gardening!"
I have planted Brecks bulbs every year for 15 years at two properties in Massachusetts and have only had one group of bulbs fail, and that was because I took a chance and planted them in an area that did not receive enough sunlight. Also I ran out of bulb booster on some of them. Most of the complaints I have read on this site are from people who keep returning merchandise. If you follow instructions on planting depth, fertilize, and avoid planting in too much shade you should have no problem. No. I am not a Breck's representative. I have just had better results from Brecks and Dutch Gardens than from Home Depot and other sources. In fact, I don't dig up my bulbs, just let them winter over, and I have never lost any bulbs other than the group I experimented with. Bear in mind that I only have the normal style tulip bulbs, daffodils, grape hyacinth, and some low-to-the-ground carpet variety of flowering bulbs. (My mother told me that some of the tulip varieties such as the lily style must be dug up and replanted annually though she leaves the regular bulbs in the ground over winter.) If I had a customer that kept returning merchandise I would assume that he was doing something wrong in planting and care and I would refuse to let him reorder also.
Lastly, most of my tulips are still growing strong after many years.
On Oct 4, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Oct 5, 2011 9:15 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you so much for your testimonial about our bulbs and service. We do our best to provide excellent service and offer top quality bulbs. Happy gardening to you."
I also received a letter stating that I was no longer able to order from this company again. I was so upset that I called and spoke to rude customer service people who informed me that getting such a letter means that I also cannot order from their other companies as well. These include Springhill, Gardens Alive, Gurney and Henry Fields. I have been purchasing from these companies for years. I have a very large yard and spend thousands of dollars every year so my yard can be used for charity events. I do not believe these companies should offer lifetime guarantees if they are not going to honor them. In fact, the main problem that I have had in recent years is that they do not send what I order. For example, shrub lilies should not be 4' tall, shrub apricot roses should not be 3' tall, white feather hostas come out and stay pure green. I also get upset when I order a specific color and they substitute without asking first. If I wanted the color they sent me...I would have ordered it. Another problem they have is their timing. I live in the northeast and get items sent to me in March. When I call...I am told to keep them in the refrigerator. After weeks (or until the correct planting time), they are starting to form mold or getting mushy. I suppose this is my fault as well. I feel their letter was very degrading to a long time, loyal customer. The only saving grace is that there are many other companies to order from. I do not recommend using any of the companies I mentioned above.
On Sep 5, 2011, Snowbabymama Custer City, PA wrote:
After ordering from Breck's for a number of years, I received a letter stating that since a majority of my purchases have been reshipped, replaced, etc., that "our products are not a good match to your needs." They will not process any further orders; they have canceled my pending orders (which I have ordered months ago and paid for in advance; and my reshipments have been cancelled -money to be refunded. This is all in spite of and contrary to their "lifetime guarantee" which has no exclusions. My fail rate on my bulbs and plants were unusual this year because of our extraordinary harsh winter and spring flood rains - collections were lost. I only seek replacement for plants that fail within the first year; after that it is my loss. I had made a new garden area last year, prompting orders (which needed replaced), and I also placed new orders because I decided to increase the number of plants. I now have a this empty garden bed and all my orders (replacement or otherwise) have been canceled. They are banning me from ordering and won't provide me with the replacement plants under their guarantee of "full refund or replacement, whichever you prefer." Now I must scramble to try to place a new order with a competitor this late in the season.
On Aug 20, 2011, OceansEdge Conception Bay South Canada wrote:
Posted on August 19, 2011, updated August 20, 2011
Posted on August 19, 2011, updated August 19, 2011
I tried earlier this week to place a simple 3 item order, using the relevant coupon (expiring today) through the Canadian website http://www.brecksbulbs.ca and discovered that their check out is well broken. It simply would not take me to the 'shipping and billing' area. The help' information on the website does not actually reflect the process used for order and checkout so I sent an email to 'support' after getting an unitelligable (garbledygook) response I finally got an email from 'Shannon' saying they'd passed my note on to the web people and if I'd like I could go back to the website and place the order or call the 1-800 number.
I went back to the website, yesterday and today, and the check out is still broken so I tried faxing the order to the fax number listed on the order form. No answer.
So I sent another email detailing my frustrations - really this isn't a good impression to leave a first time customer with.
I got exactly the SAME email form letter response from 'Shannon', so indeed I indicated to them that sending me canned email form letter responses designed to look like they came from a real person doesn't make me any happier.
I got another email back suggesting I could "send your check or money order on our mailing address" OR "You can place your order through our website(www.brecksbulbs.ca) " I mean - REALLY? am I dealing with an overseas call/order processing/customer service group? Because whomever "Shannon" is she really doesn't seem to be getting the gist of the problem. The order coupon expires today mailing it won't arrive in time, the website checkout bloody well doesn't work! The fax line isn't picking up the phone and in all honesty after all this the last thing I want to do is talk to an overseas call centre to place a credit card order.
Enough already. You lost my business before you ever had it.
On August 19th, 2011, OceansEdge added the following:
There are reasons why I rely on web and fax for mail ordering, I don't do phone orders.
While I do understand that occasionally one can have problems with their website, surely it isn't terribly difficult to see that your fax machine answers the phone?On August 20th, 2011, OceansEdge added the following:
I was finally able to place the order through a different computer and sending the order as a 'guest', rather from being logged in. (my computer automatically logs me into my accounts on various websites).
I really do think that your support team needs to learn how to be more helpful than simply suggesting people return to the website (if it didn't work this time why would that suddenly change next time) or calling - if I could call you, I would have when I first had the problem.\
Hopefully there won't be any difficulties with the order itself.On Aug 20, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Aug 19, 2011 11:38 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Vicky, we apologize for the trouble you have had trying to place your order. A customer service representative will contact you and place your order for you if you like. We will still honor your coupon. We have contacted our IT department to have our website checked out. We also have an 800 number you could call if you would prefer and they can take your order as well. Our number is 800-644-5505.
I'm really surprised by all the negative comments for this company. I absolutely love ordering bulbs from Brecks! Every year I layer 300-500 bulbs into my perennial beds and a good deal of them come from Brecks. The bulbs are always large, in excellent condition and packaged well. I feel their selection is very good also.
There has only been one instance in which I had to call for a replacement and that was for three crown imperials that failed to thrive. There was absolutely no questions asked and I was shipped replacement bulbs (at the correct time for planting in my zone) without hesitation.
On Aug 5, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Aug 11, 2011 9:51 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with our company, thank you and Happy Gardening!"
I've only used Breck's twice so far, but am VERY impressed! My first purchase was a daylily lover's grab bag. I thought I would receive a bunch of tiny seedlings, but got two boxes filled with actual plants. My second purchase was the garden lover's grab bag.
I opened the boxes that came in the mail and felt like a kid in a candy store. I can't believe I got everything they sent me for $20.00! I'll be sure to update everyone to let them know how everything does.
Posted on May 28, 2011, updated June 20, 2011
I place my order (10341171900) on Feb 3 (it was a long Indiana winter and I was excited for spring!). The estimated delivery date kept getting pushed back by weeks at a time until they weren't estimated to arrive until mid-June (which is dry and hot here).
Finally I email them and they told me they were shipping my order from Holland so it would take 3-4 weeks. I got the shipment a couple of days later because they actually shipped from Indiana.
However, the shipment did not fulfill my order. I checked back today and they canceled the rest of my order without any notification. At least they didn't charge me for it but now it's too late to get the plants I needed for my landscape. I am very disappointed in how Breck's manages orders.
On June 20th, 2011, yla1031 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
The company sent me a gift certificate to apologize. I am happy with the plants that did arrive. I will give them another chance in the fall.On Jun 20, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On May 30, 2011 9:23 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We apologize for the delay in shipment. I checked on your order and your bulbs were shipped from Holland. A customer service representative will be contacting you about the rest of your order."
I placed an order from Brecks on April 19th for three items. They shipped one item promptly, another item some time later and I have been waiting two months now for the final item which was important to my spring planting plans (final item had a count of 5). I finally call Brecks on Monday of this week (after calling a few times over the last couple of months) to understand why the ship date has been pushed back multiple times and was now estimated as late as the last couple weeks of July?! That is nearly THREE months after the order. They told me how bad the season was in Ohio this year due to bad weather but that they were putting a 'rush' on my order - I thought their product came direct from Holland??? This is misleading at best. But it gets better...I went online this morning and noted they cancelled my order for the final item I have been waiting two months for. No email, no call and when I called them they said they are only returning a fraction of my total amount for the full order. Doesn't make any sense at all and on top of that their 'sister company', Michigan Bulb, did the same thing in canceling part of an order I just place about 10 days ago. This experience, coupled with the refund I had to request on my items from last fall due to them not coming up this spring was the end of it for me with Brecks and all their affiliates. I wanted to share this with the Dave's community (I rarely, if ever, post negative about a company) but this one is comical at best. Urgh - off to the local store to buy my items (probably should have done that from the get-go).
On Jun 15, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jun 16, 2011 9:29 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for letting us know about the problem with your order. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information. We will do whatever we can to make sure you are taken care of. We apologize for any inconvenience."
Posted on June 6, 2011, updated June 14, 2011
I had oredred a couple of grab bags fromt hem 3 years back. The following year a few plants came back and so I asked them to send only one grab baga s replacement since thignswerent as bad. 2 years gone adn now only a few shamcrock bulbs and one dahlia and the lily tree (some bulbs) survived. I caled them this eyar to complain and requested ar eplacement. A very rude lady told me that they cannot keep shipping me free plants every time ( i asked for it only once so far). She said that she can give me a credit for future use that I CANNOT use for grab bags. It can only be used for phone order (not online). I said that is not fair adn then she said that if I ask for replacement then she threated to close my account and not let me order ever again. I did like the plants especailly the dahlia collection I received as part of my grab bag, the poppy anmonie, dutch glads, peacocks and many more but nothing survived. So basically it is like I spent my money to have those plants just for one season and not really perennials :(
On June 14th, 2011, loveforplants added the following:
I did get an email from brecks and I responded to itbut they havent gotten back to me after I provided them with the information that they askedOn Jun 14, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jun 6, 2011 3:57 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. We apologize for the rudeness of our agent. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and take care of this for you."
Posted on May 23, 2011, updated May 31, 2011
Posted on May 23, 2011, updated May 23, 2011
Posted on November 16, 2010, updated May 23, 2011
Posted on November 12, 2010, updated November 16, 2010
I order the grab bags---basically because they are such good deals; I always like the surprises, and it makes me change up what I normally do. I had a great spring bulb grab bag last year, and I LOVED the spring cheer daffodils I got by chance. The tulips were also great. I also bought the lily grab bag last time, though I never had done lilies before. The carpet lilies performed well; the trees did not; the Madonna lily was fantastic. I have to agree with the incredibly slow shipping. Holy cow--I ordered the daffodil grab bag this year on October 4th, and they are due to finally arrive November 15th. I have two other orders pending---spring bulb collection grab bag and a crocus grab bag (with some gipsy hyacinth I threw in with the 50% discount). Anyhow, I just wish they would ship them when I order them. It's obviously planting season---the orders should just go out.
On November 16th, 2010, bwalls added the following:
I just received my daffodil grab bag from Brecks and I'm THRILLED! For $19.99 plus shipping I got $350. 00 worth of bulbs. I have 50 of the summer cheer daffodils and 15 of the spring cheer---so I'm extremely happy. I got the shrike, raffles, and pensioner daffodils; I've never had a 2010 or 2009 Award Winner before---or any Award Winner for that matter, so I'm interested to see these. If I could give a Double Positive review, I would. I guess I've just lucked out, because it's still warm in the California desert, so planting now isn't an issue. Lucky me!On May 23rd, 2011, bwalls added the following:
I've ordered again from Brecks and the shipping is ridiculous!!!
I bought some for me and then some for my mother for Mother's Day (4/28 and 5/1 order 11210712000 and 11180312200) and shipping has been delayed three times! I live in the desert, and I needed to get them in the ground ASAP. I emailed them, but only got a form letter that didn't address the issue that they needed to ship my order now. I can see why other people get so irritated.On May 23rd, 2011, bwalls changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:
I've ordered again from Brecks and the shipping is ridiculous!!!
I bought some for me and then some for my mother for Mother's Day (4/28 and 5/1 order 11210712000 and 11180312200) and shipping has been delayed three times! I live in the desert, and I needed to get them in the ground ASAP. I emailed them, but only got a form letter that didn't address the issue that they needed to ship my order now. I can see why other people get so irritated.On May 31st, 2011, bwalls changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
I received my grab bag today, May 31...a month after I ordered, but I I'm going to change my feedback. The plants in the grab bags are just so nice---hostas, dahlias, glads, Mexican shell flower, lilies, asclepias, sedum. It may be too late for the glads and lilies since they are already starting to bloom in my yard, but for the money paid I received some great things. Also, my mom was really happy with her delayed Mother's Day surprise. It was still a good planting time for her---just not for me and my desert zone. Also, I really appreciate the person (s) who monitor this site from Brecks because he/she gets on top of it faster than any email or telephone call supervisor. On May 31, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Nov 15, 2010 8:46 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience with us.
On May 23, 2011 1:49 PM, Breck's Bulbs added:
Thank you for your feedback. Your order is on the way and you should receive it in approximately the next 7-10 days. We apologize for the confusion as the bulbs are shipped from Holland and take about 4 weeks for delivery."
On May 30, 2011, ladybearscout60 Hendersonville, TN wrote:
There shipping is slow sometimes, but the bulbs are great. I had 50 lilies shipped. They just bloomed and they are huge. There is 5 huge blooms on about 15 inch stalks. Also the hostas were in great shape. I just planted begonias and they all seem to be coming up.
Overall everything I've had shipped have been good. I had some bad poppies but so far they have responded to my problem. I've been waiting on them to bloom to see which ones I lost.
On May 30, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On May 31, 2011 3:04 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for sharing your experience with our company. Just let us know which poppies you need reshipped and we will be happy to replace them for you."
I ordered the Mixed Grab Bag on 4/28/11 and the shipping date was between 5/6 through 5/9. On 5/8 they moved it back a week - since then it moves back every day with it now being moved out to 5/31 through 6/14 (with it moving backwards still). Calls provide no clarity and I was told that boats move slow from Holland. It is getting to be too late in the year to even plant many of the bulbs I will be getting. This is a very, very bad experience - please avoid.
On May 24, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On May 24, 2011 12:23 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate you letting us know about the problem wth your order. We will have a customer service representative contact you for your account information and check into the delivery of your order."
I placed an order using a $25 coupon. As required, I paid the balance of the order with a credit card. Plants arrived in the fall and by the next spring they were blooming nicely. End of story? Not quite yet. Fast forward to the call from a collection agency claiming I somehow own money from a COD order. A quick call to Brecks (aka Gardens Alive) and they confirmed they failed to apply the coupon in full. It took them 2 minutes to figure out where they made the mistake. It is now nearly a month later and I still get calls from the collection agency despite attempting to follow-up with the company 1/2 dozen times. They have written nice letters (to me) stating that they have cleared this up, but the collection agency still says my account is not cleared. So if you order from this company, realize you may end up having your account go to a collection agency after they misapply a coupon. Good luck.
On May 13, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On May 16, 2011 10:43 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for letting us know about the problems you are having with your account. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and take care of this for you.
On May 5, 2011, nitzi1944 Kings Park, NY (Zone 7a) wrote:
Posted on October 10, 2010, updated May 5, 2011
I just received my tulip bulbs. They were well packed and look big and healthy. I can't wait for Spring. The Carpet Border lilies I ordered in the Spring as well as the Glamini Gladilolias all performed well. This was a challenging time here this year with drought. Breck's bulbs did great!
On May 5th, 2011, nitzi1944 added the following:
I planted Breck's Life's a Cabernet and Hot Honey Rag tulips. They were spectacular. Ice Cream tulips=no sign of life. They looked so nice in the catalog. Boo hoo. I called and a refund is on the way. Great service! Will order soon.On May 5, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Oct 13, 2010 8:45 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate your feedback. Your feedback is appreciated and used to help provide better service to our customers. Thank you and Happy Gardening!"
On Apr 30, 2011, beckytheother Saint Paul, MN (Zone 5a) wrote:
Generally, I have been pleased by my experiences with this company. My perspective changed after I requested via email that an order I had placed be canceled. I was advised this was not possible as the order as "'unable to cancel your order since your order has been processed and ready to ship" by a gentleman by the name of Patrick. I do not understand how the order cannot be canceled if it has not shipped. I am very disappointed in their service. I am at present doubtful that I will place another order with this company.
On Apr 30, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On May 5, 2011 3:51 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We apologize for the problem with your order. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and take care of this for you."
On Apr 22, 2011, Roly0217 Miami, FL (Zone 10b) wrote:
Posted on April 15, 2011, updated April 22, 2011
Posted on January 20, 2011, updated April 15, 2011
Posted on January 17, 2011, updated January 20, 2011
Posted on January 17, 2011, updated January 17, 2011
I ordered 2 begonia collections last year. Planted the tubers as instructed and they never came up. These were tuberous begonias. One was the Prima Donna begonia collection and the other one was their other collection available at the time. I'm dissapointed that I didn't know about the Garden Watchdog before I placed my order.
On January 17th, 2011, Roly0217 added the following:
The other collection was the Roseform begonias. I absolutely loved the pictures but the results were less than desirable.On January 20th, 2011, Roly0217 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
I've changed the rating to neutral since I've been contacted by a CS rep and they will be reshipping my order comes March. I will change to positive if they bulbs produce foliage and blooms.On April 15th, 2011, Roly0217 changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
Well we go back to a negative here. I received half of my reshipped order since the other collection appeared to be out of stock. I didn't receive any form of store credit for the other collection. Or a replacement with something else. Buyers don't let the pretty pictures confuse you.On April 22nd, 2011, Roly0217 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
Received my check in the mail. They took care of the problem though I was dissapointed that I didn't get the other collection. I'm sure that when I was first contacted by the rep the collection was not sold out.On Apr 22, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jan 18, 2011 10:10 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post. We do offer a lifetime guarantee on our products. A customer service representative will be contacting you for more information.
On Apr 20, 2011 7:54 AM, Breck's Bulbs added:
We had contacted the customer and a refund check was mailed out on April 19 for the remaining balance."
Last fall, I ordered three sets of tulip bulbs from Brecks (Prince Tulip Mixture, Tulip Parrot Mix and Cream of the crop Tulip Mix Super Sak). I wanted to experiment with planting them in containers and leaving the containers outdoors during the winter (plastic containers). The only protection I gave them were some bags of mulch placed up against them, a layer of bark mulch on top and any snow that fell. Like most places, we had a very cold winter in Ohio this year.
I'm thrilled that every container is currently up and blooming with very minimal loss of plants (I would guess I have 95% of the tulips blooming right now). I wasn't sure how they would do, but they came through wonderfully.
I also recently planted several Astilbe collections (March 2011) and every one of them are growing vigorously in the moist, shady location I chose. I'm looking forward to seeing them bloom later this spring.
I have tried several times recently to place an order on-line, but Breck's site won't accept their own $25 gift coupon ("no strings attached"). No 800 #, so I was going to mail it - until I read these comments. Sounds unreliable, and like too much of a hassle. Catalog is out for recycling!
We appreciate your feedback to let us know of the problem you were having. Unfortunately we do not have an 800# but we do have a notes box at the end of the order process where you can type in that you have the coupon. When we process your order we can then apply the coupon for you. We apologize for the problems on the website and this will be checked into."
On Mar 30, 2011, 2minny_mouse Kingstree, SC wrote:
Posted on March 25, 2011, updated March 30, 2011
Posted on March 12, 2011, updated March 25, 2011
Posted on October 16, 2010, updated March 12, 2011
This is my first time ordering from Breck's, My tulip bulbs arrived and they were in excellent condition. I can't wait to see them bloom in the spring. I had 2 bad bulbs, I called Breck's and they are going to replace them. How's that for excellent service! I will be ordering more things from Breck's.
Way to go Breck's!
On March 12th, 2011, 2minny_mouse changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:
All of the Halley's comet Jumbo Tulips didn't get up and the ones that did didn't grow as tall as they were discribe. I see red and pink and a few white ones, What happened to the other colors? I'm dissapointed but I'm not going to bash the company, I know they will make it right.On March 25th, 2011, 2minny_mouse changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
I called customer to replace replace the tulips that didn't come up and the customer service lady wasn't very nice. I will think twice about ordering from them again. I was so happy with my first experience with them, Now I don't know about them any more. They guarantee their product why give the customer a hard time when they call for replacements.On March 30th, 2011, 2minny_mouse changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
Brecks contact me about the problem I had, And they are going to make it right. I'm changing my rating back to positive.
Thanks Breck's !!On Mar 30, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Oct 27, 2010 7:17 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are very appreciated and are used to better service our customers We always do our best to provide the best possible service. Happy Gardening!"
received a shipping notice on 3/04/2011. After a few days I noticed that the UPS tracking data was fake After I complained I noticed the tracking number was changed on 3/10/2011 and received another shipping date through email.
The new tracking data even to this date says a label was printed 3/10 but, UPS never received the package.
I inquired a a 2nd time and the customer support basically said it shipped 3/04 and when I pointed out the tracking data saying the shipping label was created 3/10 they said it was lost and would reship.
The new delivery date (3/24-3/27) is up and still have not shipped. I have doubts this company will ever ship this package and sent them a final email stating that if they can't make this due date to please cancel. It is too hard trying to babysit and prod this company to ship products and trying to get around fake shipping labels and ever changing delivery dates.
On March 29th, 2011, jackparker changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
Much thanks for Donna here for addressing my concerns and locating my package. Everything arrived today and although small they look in decent shape. I can grow them up though.
. Donna seems a huge asset for this company and appears the only person from Brecks that could help me. . I will probably order from again fall/ next year but, a little earlier.
Maybe a disclaimer that X product takes more time due to shipping from Holland and maybe a little prep work with customer support as they too seemed confused about product location..
. On Mar 29, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Mar 25, 2011 8:45 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
I apologize for the confusion with your order. Your order is shipping directly from Holland via several different shipping modes, which may cause confusion on the shipping date. A customer service representative will contact you for your account information to find out when you should be receiving your order.
Posted on October 4, 2010, updated March 28, 2011
Posted on May 26, 2010, updated October 4, 2010
Being a newbie gardener, I called Breck's customer service several times to get information on the plants that I ordered. Each time I was given great info and helpful advise.
I have placed 2 orders with them and have been very pleased so far! I can't wait to get my fall order!
I have made this suggestion before, but the only thing that I would love to see is for the Customer Service Reps to have photos of what the seedlings or newly sprouted plants should look like. As I get more experienced, this should not make a difference, but as a newbie, that would have helped me identify plants that I forgot to label.
On October 4th, 2010, TishSparr added the following:
I just wanted to state what a pleasure it has been to work with Breck's. Yes, I did have some plants that did not work out, but they have 100% lived up to their Guarantee. I spoke with one of their customer service reps, Sharon, and was quite pleased with all of her help, friendliness and willingness to stay on the phone with me until all my questions/concerns were answered.
I have order a ton of spring bulbs and will be anxious to let you all know how well they do. From looking at them, they look to be in great shape. Out of 200 bulbs, only one bulb was damaged, and they are going to give me replacement for all three! That is customer service. The other thing that I noticed is that the bulbs are much larger than I expected and many of the bulbs were double, which is a nice bonus.
Also, I found that they had more specialty type plants that you don't usually find at the discount places or even a nursery, so I am excited to see how well they do. One note, I did find that some of their prices for like items were much higher than others sites, so just be a little careful with that. The main one that I notice was Fritillaria imperialis (Crown Imperial...19.99/one bulb vs. 9.99/bulb at an upscale nursery.
Other than that, don't be afraid to try them.
Tish SparrOn March 28th, 2011, TishSparr added the following:
Well here is my follow-up to the the bulbs that I ordered last fall. All came looking healthy. Now that it is spring, it has been so fun to walk out and see all the new growth that my gardens are having.
They really have been a great company to work with. As I have learned a little bit more about gardening, the plants that did not work out, were because of ME (not THEM), yet they still replaced them with no questions asked.On Mar 28, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jun 8, 2010 11:01 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate your feedback. Your feedback is appreciated and used to help provide better service to our customers. Thank you for your suggestion and Happy Gardening!"
Today I was trying to call in an order using my credit memo that was sent to me after something I ordered was out of stock. It was for $7.99 and I wanted to replace it with something that was $6.99. Seems simple enough to me. I had my account number, the keycode (for sale price) and the notecard/replacement number all on hand and was happy to give any information even when asked mulitple times. The rep was polite enough but kept having me repeat numbers and putting me on hold. Finally after 35 minutes he told me that my total would be $7.41. When I asked him for what he said shipping. When I said that isn't what customer service had told me before I was put on hold again. In the end I have my order completed but it took 45 minutes! I asked that he please transfer me to a supervisor who only told me that he was new and that she was sorry but couldn't do anything. I understand someone being new but you expect people to waste 45 minutes on their cell phones just trying to replace something they already paid for? I am beyond unhappy at this point.
On Mar 3, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Mar 7, 2011 3:07 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
I apologize for the problems you had while trying to place your order. It should not have taken that amount of time to place your order. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information to research this further. Thank you for contacting us regarding this problem. Providing excellent customer service is our highest priority."
Selections and quality were good for bulbs. But the customer "order status" function was empty for so long that I gave up. I ordered the item from another company and had it planted in the ground before learning that Breck's was about to ship. I've appreciated their parent company for many years, so this experience is especially disappointing.
On Nov 5, 2010, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Nov 9, 2010 9:28 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We use your comments to better improve our service to our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for more information."
I've ordered for a couple of years from Breck's. Biggest complaint is that their shipping is horrendously slow. often it takes 2 months..while you wait they string you along with emails like "your shipment is getting prepared in Holland" and "your shipment is in customs and will take 10 days to clear" etc. Maybe it's true, maybe not, but who wants to wait forever for their bulbs. There are better companies out there who are more responsive to feedback and who sell better product at cheaper prices.
On Oct 27, 2010, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Nov 1, 2010 9:41 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are appreciated and are used to better service our customers. Our shipping has greatly improved from previous seasons. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information.
On Sep 30, 2010, GuyInTheField Cranbury, NJ wrote:
Posted on September 30, 2010, updated September 30, 2010
I have been dumped by Breck's. I found this out when I received a letter from Michigan Bulb (affiliated company). The bulbs never performed well. And, despite what information these companies may tell you, I found the bulbs I bought at Wal-mart last year to be far superior to the Breck's, at a much lesser cost. And, when 3 of 6 Helenium plants did not grow, Brecks sent me 15 replacements in total. None of those plants even grew, and the 3 that grew last year did not return this year. Can you imagine? I don't know why these companies bother. I can say that they've refunded most of my money now, and if I've missed any, I hope they refund the rest. They do offer a guarantee - but if you ask them to replace too much - they get rid of you - even if it was they who did not send quality products. Unfortunately, there is no guarantee or refund for the soil and pots I had to purchase or for my time and efforts.
On September 30th, 2010, GuyInTheField added the following:
I forgot to add my Breck's account number 01084102On Sep 30, 2010, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Oct 6, 2010 2:13 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for feedback concerning the problems you have had with your orders. We regret that we have been unsuccessful in satisfying your gardening needs. We do strive for 100% customer satisfaction, and in most cases, achieve it. A customer service representative will be contacting you and check into your account for you."
Posted on August 15, 2010, updated August 22, 2010
I have been ordering spring flowering bulbs from Brecks since 1997. I have had very few bad experiences - once about 7 years I ordered alliums, some of which didn't bloom and the others were less than spectacular. Last fall I placed a large order, everything arrived, great condition, on time for fall planting. Only one set of bulbs did not bloom (or even emerge) this Spring: the Early Snowdrops. I grew early snowdrops at my old house, and I always loved the incredibly early burst of Spring, as early as February with snow still on the ground. In my new house, the snowdrops were very sadly missed. I never complained to the company, though, and I don't if it is too late. Overall, I have always been very happy with this company, the quality of the bulbs, and the arrival time of the shipments. I was really surprised to read so many negative comment!
On August 22nd, 2010, bader929 added the following:
Update: I wish I could give Breck's a positive PLUS!! I never complained to the company about my Snowdrop bulbs, but they read my comment above and are sending me a new shipment of snowdrops to plant this fall. I think that is excellent customer service.
As I wrote above, I have been ordering from Brecks since 1997 and have always been happy with the bulbs, the shipping and the customer service. I will definitely be ordering my bulbs from them again this year.On Aug 22, 2010, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Aug 16, 2010 10:53 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate your feedback. Your feedback is appreciated and used to help provide better service to our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you concerning your snowdrops so we can get those reshipped to you. Thank you and Happy Gardening!"
Posted on August 2, 2010, updated August 11, 2010
I ordered a border lily collection called "starlight magic" last fall. They arrived on time in good condition, and have now started to bloom. The website says they are rose-red with a white outline. Mine are mostly white with a pink inside. Nothing like the photo they have posted.
Not a happy camper...
On August 11th, 2010, blackcanyon changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
Breck's got in touch with me immediately, and we've been communicating about the problem. They are shipping me another (different) collection next spring. Hopefully this one will be a red lily, like the photo.
They've been very helpful and stand behind their product. On Aug 11, 2010, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Aug 2, 2010 12:16 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback to better serve our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and to check into the border lily collection you had ordered."
I have ordered several Lily Trees for my mother in Wisconsin.... she love them. She never believed how tall they would get.. She is 5 ft 2 and they are taller than she is... I also have order tulips, daffodils, and day lilies all which I am very happy with.
I ordered several plants/bulbs from Breck's for spring shipping. All arrived on time ( early/mid may) and were healthy. All 6 dahlias came up ( maki, myrtles folly and kenora), all 12 lily trees are up, some phlox that didn't and 2 geraniums out of 6 did not come up. I emailed them, and have had an order already placed to replace these for next spring. Great service, and I am pleased as 90% of a large order are doing well, only waiting to see the blooms. I ordered early in February and had no issues with my order or with the quality. I will definetly order again.
I received 2 emails from Breck's on separate days, with an offer for a "Lily Grab Bag" (for spring shipment) and a "Tulip Grab Bag" (for fall shipment) because they said they had too much inventory.
I purchased both. I received the Lily Grab Bag. But, I was sent an email several days later that the Tulip Grab Bag was no longer available because it was sold out, even though I ordered it the same day I received the email.
What is really going on here? How is it possible that they sold out, after I already placed a timely order?
Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback to better serve our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information to see what happened to the Tulip Grab Bag."
After spending over $100.00 with Brecks dating back to 2004 I finally got it that some of the bulbs were never going to grow. I called the company today and was told that because an order(1of many) had been sent to collections that it voided the gaurantee on ALL of my orders. I asked to speak to a supervisor, got one on the phone and she just repeated the same thing the other lady had told me. She also offered to give me the phone # to the collection folks. I asked her if that would get me satisfaction and was told NO. I get that the gaurantee would be voided on that particular order, however it should not void the gaurantee on all previous orders as they were paid for by credit card or a check BEFORE the bulbs were sent to me. I will not do business with this company again nor will I recommend them to anyone that I would like to keep as a friend.
Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback to better serve our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information to check into your account."
Posted on June 9, 2010, updated June 11, 2010
Breck's canceled my order of lily grab bags because they said the offer was too popular and their shipping schedule had ended. However, the grab bag is still on sale... (Albeit for the non promotional price)...
On June 11th, 2010, jack_mcdowell added the following:
Still nothing...On Jun 11, 2010, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jun 10, 2010 7:46 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback to better serve our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and help with your order."
On May 31, 2010, sherman99 Menifee, CA (Zone 9a) wrote:
Posted on May 23, 2010, updated May 31, 2010
Ordered 2 sets of Dahlias. the bulbs were rotting when they arrived. i returned the bulbs with the invoice and two months later i am still receiving bills for these bulbs. will not ever buy from them again
On May 31st, 2010, sherman99 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
Customer Rep saw negative comments here and resolved issue for me very quickly..
I am going to order again and see what happens On May 31, 2010, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On May 24, 2010 12:03 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback to better serve our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and take care of your balance owed."