Comments regarding Breck's BulbsClick here to return to Breck's Bulbs's listing.
You are viewing only negative comments
|On Oct 16, 2015, hudit Seattle, WA wrote:
I ordered 25 galanthus bulbs from Breck's at the end of September 2015. The good news is they arrived about a week later. The bad news is that 7 of the 25 bulbs were covered in mold and mildew. I wrote to them and they promptly wrote back that they were sending a new shipment. Which they did. And this shipment was worse than the first one. Many moldy bulbs. I'm not writing them again. I don't want anymore moldy bulbs. the price on these bulbs was much cheaper than I could find in the local nurseries but then you get what you pay for. I will not buy from this company again.
|On Sep 3, 2015, loriminnesota Arlington, MN wrote:
Soooo disappointed! After spending hours online to find just the right bulbs, I placed my order with them in the wee morning hours of 8/30/15. Order was only about $75.00, but thought I was getting a good deal on the 140 bulbs and they were soooo gorgeous! Paid for via Paypal which they promptly took out of my account. Two days later, they finally acknowledged my order. Shipping date of 10/10/15. I'm leaving town for 2 weeks on 10/16/15, but I thought it was doable. The next day, I notice my order has been pushed back to 10/12/15. Okay, I can still fit this in before I leave. But then less than 8 hours later, my order had been pushed back to 10/13/15. Considering I only placed the order a few days ago, and my delivery date has already changed three times, I have no doubt there is NO WAY I would receive my order before I left. And living in Minnesota, we frequently get snow by Halloween, so didn't want to take my chances that would be the last time my delivery date got pushed back. It's only been a few days and they changed it three times. That said, still waiting for my refund. While they responded promptly to cancel my order, a refund to my Paypal account has yet to be issued. I feel so terrible that I won't be getting this beautiful mix of bulbs...especially after all that planning. :( I would never even think of ordering from this company again. Wasted time I did not have to waste.
|On Aug 8, 2015, smcatl Atlanta, GA wrote:
I ordered about a dozen different tall bearded iris last fall from Breck's. Mistake. They arrived rattling around loose in a cardboard box with several of the varietal tags detached from the leaves, and one tag missing altogether. About half the plants bloomed this year, which is not unexpected. But two of them were NOT varieties I had ordered, and because they weren't tagged and half haven't yet bloomed, I still don't even know what I'm missing.
|On Jan 22, 2015, LilacJennifer Eden, NY (Zone 5a) wrote:
I ordered from Breck's for my first and last time in the Summer of 2014. Not happy at all. The columbine, bleeding heart and other plants basically came as dry roots in a plastic bag with wood shavings. I planted them up in pot to keep an eye on them and get them going, and later into the garden. But they remained weak. I will be very surprised if they survive the winter. Very disappointed.
|On Sep 21, 2014, BetNC Hendersonville, NC (Zone 7a) wrote:
This was my first and last order using Breck's as there was one problem after another . . . . and the bulbs haven't even arrived yet. There was a difference between catalog price and web site price - even using their "code" to get the catalog price. When I called customer service about this, the person insisted I make an entire new order, in order to get the catalog price; when I did not get a confirmation email, I called again= to learn there was no new order so my items hadn't been ordered. Since I had given my credit card authorization for the new "order", my bank account was compromised and I had to cancel/order a new card. . . and then contact all the other vendors with the new, correct payment information. Original delivery was scheduled for Oct 24-30, so I arranged to hire a planter-person for then (I'm disabled and can't plant my own plants). Breck's arbitrarily changed the delivery date for a month earlier, but after almost two weeks of emailing back and forth with customer service (even explaining why the change was unacceptable), they finally agreed to deliver a SECOND shipment of the same items Oct 20-27.
|On Sep 10, 2014, sasquatchdan Madison, WI wrote:
Pricing is confusing... Catalog varies vs. website. Website offers a deal through an email, which somehow increases the price when the code is used? Deceptive pricing.
|On Sep 7, 2014, kc1966 Downingtown, PA wrote:
I'm very disappointed with my most recent Breck's orders (spanning a year and a half). Only 1 of the 3 Switzerland Begonia tubers I received showed signs of life on arrival. As expected, only that one grew into a lovely plant (despite being planted in identical conditions). However, it was clearly NOT a Switzerland Begonia. The Blue Hill Salvia also appeared lifeless upon arrival, and none of them produced even a hint of a plant. The Hosta "Mixture" Super Sak contained 10 plants of the identical shade of light green--nothing even close to resembling the catalog image of great variety in color and size. Despite receiving the wrong daffodils in my previous order, I ordered from them again. That was obviously a mistake. Complaint submissions to Breck's were ignored. I have been ordering from this company for a number of years, trying to beautify our homes in military housing as we moved from state-to-state. I refuse to continue to be loyal to a company that doesn't value or respect its customers.
|On Aug 9, 2014, clevelandgarden wrote:
This is a company to avoid. I ordered a Louis Cotton cannas
|On Jun 25, 2014, chuck7701 McKinney, TX (Zone 8a) wrote:
While the plants they ship may be of fair to good quality, the first shipment I ordered was satisfactory, but arrived six weeks later. I'm still waiting on the second shipment TWO MONTHS after I ordered them 4/27/14.
|On Jun 18, 2014, millsj54 Montvale, NJ wrote:
Gardners beware of Brecks!... They do not honor their own guarantee to grow or a replacement will be provided. I have stopped ordering from Brecks....as most of the bulbs never seem storng enough to either grow the first year and the ones which do grow...die during the winter. I finally had enough and located a receipt for a replacement....the customer service dept. sent me a $10. credit...why would I want a $10 credit when the first item failed to grow! I have had no success with Brecks..and advise people of their scam to take your money and not honor their replacement guarantee...save your money and go to your local nursery and you will have better results! Beware of Brecks deceit.
|On Jun 14, 2014, alatoob Meredith, NH wrote:
I placed an order a month ago for some plants that should have shipped immediately. After a couple weeks I called and was reassured that my order would be put on priority status in the warehouse. The shipping date got delayed repeatedly and then, without any notice, the item was cancelled - I only found out when I again went to check the status online and discovered the peony collection "not yet shipped" had disappeared entirely from my order. I was not offered a substitute for the plants and have yet to receive an official email informing me of the cancellation or a refund. I'm extremely disappointed with the customer service and communication this company offers and will most likely go elsewhere for future purchases.
|On Jun 9, 2014, macoopermd River Forest, IL wrote:
I have used Brecks and its sister companies (Spring Hill, etc) for over 25 years but have decreased my orders substantially over the past several years due to poor quality or long delays in the delivery. The bulbs are generally good quality but their other plants are not. Today I called to inquire and complain that some items (which shipped two weeks after they were promised - with many delays and e-mails in between) were not sprouting yet, the customer service woman deprecatingly lectured me on the Chicago winter, on warm ground, and threatened our credit rating when I said I was not interested in paying them until I saw the caladia sprouting. I have had other items credited this spring from their sister companies for no growth where similar plants from local growers are doing quite well already. Generally Brecks customer service is friendly and helpful, but not this woman who felt she had to speak harshly to me. I know about hard winters - less than 1/3 of their bulbs that I planted last fall came up this spring, yet I did not complain about those.
|On Apr 22, 2014, Warrenstapestry Greenfield, NH wrote:
I had put some items from a great sale into my cart. I then recieved emails "encouraging" me to complete the sale or else the sale prices would disappear and they would empty my cart.
|On Mar 23, 2014, PaisanoHouse Rockport, TX wrote:
While I shopped online, prices for the same eight items in my shopping cart changed three times. The final totals for my order ranged from around $100 to almost $200 for the same items. Here is what happened at Brecks.com as a I attempted to order items online that were featured in its "Spring 2014 Planner for Summer Gardens" print catalog in which items were priced up to 75% off: (The catalog showed three prices for each plant, with Price 1 and Price 2 crossed out; Price 3 being the final sale price.
|On Dec 16, 2013, EvaHecht Kensington, CA wrote:
Posted on November 1, 2012, updated December 16, 2013
On December 16th, 2013, EvaHecht added the following:
I have a comment on my most recent experience with Breck's.
I ordered ( and paid for) a fairly large shipment of bulbs on September 18 but became suspicious of its whereabouts when I had not received the bulbs by Thanksgiving. I called and found out to my dismay that 2 items were "out of stock". However a supervisor promised to have the remainder sent per express. I trusted this, rescheduled my gardener for a second time to help plant the bulbs and today when checking again, found out that 1: NO express shipment had been made and 2: that EVEN MORE items were "out of stock" AND 3: that no shipment would be made anyway till JANUARY. This is a complete disgrace. I told the supervisor to cancel my entire order and re-credit my account. I will find a more reliable company next year.
On Dec 16, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Nov 5, 2012 2:55 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your feedback. I can tell you that the white fungus on the Cyclamen, which is most probably some storage mold is no problem. After the Cyclamen has been planted in the soil it will disappear.
|On Dec 11, 2013, chilimomo Montreal
I ordered about 200 lily bulbs from VanFleur.ca which is a sub company of Breck in October for spring shipment. I receive the confirmation and the full amout was charged from my credit card. Two month later, I receive a "out of stock" notice to let me know that everything I ordered were not available. The website were changed to breckwholesale.ca, and the customer service just told me they no longer carry the products!
|On Nov 26, 2013, MendhamGardener Mendham, NJ wrote:
Breck's Wholesale cancelled two items in my order as "Out of Stock" nearly two weeks after I had placed my order. When I had placed the order, the items were shown as available, and were confirmed in an email. The same items were still available on the Breck's retail website (though one was sold out the next day), in smaller quantities and twice as expensive. Breck's benefited by canceling my wholesale order to sell the same items at retail. They offered to let me purchase the one item still available at the retail price. No thanks. This is a bad business practice, if not fraudulent. I will never order from Breck's again.
|On Oct 28, 2013, deba114620 Rochester, NY wrote:
I ordered bulbs and mini garden furniture on my iPad using my debit card. I never received an email about the order and My account was never charged so I thought the order didn't go through. Several months later the bulbs and furniture came in the mail and they said I opened a credit account . I called three separate times as I never opened a credit account and I was confused about the amounts charged. I was on the phone for over an hour as they sent me from customer service to credit several times. They told me I made the order on the phone which I never did and that I told them I would pay for them later thereby opening a credit account. This never happened. So, I ended up paying $16.99 for four bulbs ( and since I don't have the catalog I can't dispute it but I NEVER would pay that much for 4 bulbs.) I returned the mini furniture and then they sent me a bill for 11.00+ shipping costs. I will never buy from Brecks or any associated company again. This is the worst customer service ever.
On Oct 28, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Nov 16, 2013 11:19 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the problems you had with our company. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and figure out what happened concerning your order."
|On Oct 19, 2013, PapayalizaLiza Lincolnville, ME wrote:
Posted on October 18, 2013, updated October 19, 2013
On October 19th, 2013, PapayalizaLiza added the following:
Just to note, although their prices are high, that is not the point here. The point is the company purposely misleads. Also, the poppy roots arrived October 18 for my zone 5 garden...much too small to stick in the garden and expect them to survive...I potted them up and put them in a cold frame to overwinter....we'll see if they make it.
On Oct 19, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Nov 16, 2013 11:34 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for letting us know about the problems with your order. I checked on the Trebbiano and this is a new dahlia, the color of this one is black. I also checked the Nuit d'Ete and found the color of this one is a deep red. I apologize for any confusion. The allium can range in color from a dark purple to blue, the picture of the allium was not altered at all. The poppies you received can be planted at this time of year as long as the ground is not frozen. Keeping them in a cold frame will be fine but may set back the growing time in the spring since they will need to be replanted."
|On Jul 14, 2013, marriedthepope Eau Claire, WI wrote:
Pulls the same stunts as the "other large company." Cancelled orders without notice and REAL bait and switch on their website. Disappointing to say the least. I won't be purchasing from them this fall. Customer support and good communication are really all it takes to keep my business. When you lie to me or try to be deceptive I WILL go somewhere else.
On Jul 14, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jul 16, 2013 10:13 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate you letting us know about the problems you had with your order. We would be happy to check into this for you and do what we can to correct the problem. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information."
|On Jun 26, 2013, cybergal Round Valley, CA wrote:
Just found out that the elephant ear collections we had ordered and paid for in advance over two months ago were cancelled without notification (no email, no phone call) two weeks ago. These bulbs are a major part of a special landscape design, all hardscape has been purchased dependent on using these elephant ears bulbs .... the yard is under construction .... contractors are waiting to add these bulbs ... and now I find out that Brecks doesn't have product and I was told doesn't intend on shipping these plants. While I was on the phone with the representative, I pulled up their website and they are still selling elephant ears. The representative informed me that although they were selling them and they showed available on their website, I shouldn't count on them being shipped. This is the first time I've ordered from Brecks, and it is totally unacceptable for a company to sell product they KNOW they do not have. At this point I'm waiting for a phone call to find out if they can source product for this landscape design ... however, this incident makes me wary to order from Brecks again. I work under tight deadlines and need to trust that a nursery will ship product as advertised on time and a good quality product. So far, I'm a very disappointed customer.
On Jun 26, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jun 28, 2013 9:19 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
I apologize for the problem with your order. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and check on this order."
|On Jun 8, 2013, janetantrim Shelton, WA wrote:
they send substitions ALL the time,, ive wasted a fortune on there stuff and ended up with something else... they say it right in there ordering info they WILL substitute,,,,if they are out of stock they will give you whatever they have closest to it NOT what you wanted in the first place,,,,
On Jun 8, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jun 11, 2013 11:25 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate you letting us know about the problem with your order. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and take care of this for you."
|On Jun 8, 2013, jdawn5 Wadsworth, OH wrote:
I ordered a few grab bags a little while back and just found out by going to their website that they cancelled my order. They sent no email informing me of the cancellation. I would have been waiting for my items to arrive for a long time if I had not thought to check. What a disappointment. I was looking forward to trying the company's product. I think that the lack of notification speaks volumes of the customer service.
On Jun 8, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jun 11, 2013 10:48 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for letting us know about the problem with your order. I apologize you were not notified of the cancellation. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information."
|On Feb 26, 2013, mpwifey Colorado Springs, CO wrote:
I love the daffodils I got from Brecks. Unfortunately I had problems with my last two orders. I bought two midnight mystique hyacinths in 2011. The Arrived Nov that year. Ground was already frozen. Planted them anyway. They never came up spring 2012. most of my other bulbs I had ordered never came up either. but the were cheap wasn't worried about them, figured they just didn't like growing in high altitudes and dry weather of Colorado. The hyacinths were expensive and I know for a fact they grow well here. In March 2012 I placed and order that included 1 WILD HORSES REBLOOMING DAYLILY
On Feb 26, 2013, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Feb 27, 2013 12:26 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize no one has replied to your emails. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and take care of this for you."
|On Feb 20, 2013, jampinot Vancouver, WA wrote:
Posted on February 25, 2009, updated February 20, 2013
On April 3rd, 2009, jampinot added the following:
I was asked by a Manager who worked for Brecks what they could do for me to make me satisfied. I told them that they could cancel my current order that was on the books and refund my order or the Coral bells. I also said that they could ship me their Lily Tree Collection and replace the Garden Pleasure Trees that didnt come up. The manager said no problem. I received a check for the coral bells and the products I requested were placed on order. I just got an email telling me that the product I had cancelled was shipping a month late. I then went online to check the replacement order for the Lily trees and found out that it had been cancelled and I wasnt notified.
The first customer service person I spoke to couldn't find my order that is shipping a month late and I know will show up. They also said that the Lily Trees had been cancelled because they were out of season and even though they were cancelled they were shipped in the fall. I didnt believe him so I called another representative and told her that I could place an order now and get the same product. She told me that the orders that were placed were discontinued items and that is why they were cancelled and they wouldn't ship. I gave her the new sku numbers and she first told me that I couldn't have the new product because it was now more expensive according to their supervisor. I asked to speak to that supervisor. After waiting over 10 minutes on line the representative came back on line to say that they would place the order at the new price and will ship it to me now. The fact that these wont ship for 4 to 6 weeks will mean that they probably won't even grow and I will be doing this all over again in the fall.
Why can't Brecks hire some knowledgable people. The fact that I could order the product now and it would ship in 4 to 6 weeks after being told that it was cancelled in the first place because they can't ship Lily Trees in the spring means that he hasn't a clue as to when product ccan ship. He didn't even look online to find out that they were currently shipping the product. The fact that it took two supervisors to approve a replacement of $65 when I should have demanded a refund for the 10 sales orders I provided the manager with for product that didn't grow, arrived unsatisfactory or were only one color would have amounted to easily over $350.
I won't be ordering from Brecks ever again. I found Stargazer lilies at a garden store that were bigger and looked better for only $6.97 for 7 bulbs will send me back there. They also had all the ones availabe at Brecks along with two new ones I haven't seen at Brecks for the Oriental and Asiatic Lilies. I also bought some Hyacinths and Tulips for over half the price of Brecks at the same store and they out performed the Brecks product again for a fraction of the cost. I brought back my receipt for one package out of 12 that didn't perform as well as the others and was issued a credit immediately, not told they would reship it to me the following fall.
At least Springhill issued a check to me this year for product that shipped while there was a major snow storm in the midwest and it showed up dead.
I will never spend another dime at any online store selling plants or bulbs. The perennial plants that Brecks send for $10 as a 3 inch pot can be bought at Home depot full size (1 gallon) for $7.97.
My advice for those who are buying from any of these huge online stores is to check their local gardening centers and if they don't have what they like then get them from a local nursery or one in the states close to where you live. You should see the beautiful tuilips my neighbor bought from Skagit Valley (Mt. Vernon, Washington). They were the tallest and most beautiful tulips I have seen. I am going up there in April and to a show in Woodburn, Oregon to order my bulbs I can't find in my local stores or for those that Brecks claim to grow 24 inches(never happens) and are assorted colors (7 of one and one each of the other 3 or 5.
On February 20th, 2013, jampinot added the following:
Buyers beware.Brecks says that they guarantee their products for life. Not so. I asked to have some products replaced because after 2 or 3 years the bulbs stopped growing or ones I ordered the previous year and they only replaced some of the bulbs and cancelled the other replacement orders and sent a letter saying that they no longer wanted to do business with me because I ask them to replace too many of the products I buy. Never on their website do they say that they won't replace product if you ask them too much. I was buying $200+ per year and some of those products did well and didn't have to be replaced. I have found other growers I am going to try this year. I had several products that died this past year, a peony that was only 2 years old. I bought one from a local store that was large and half the price of the starter I got from Brecks that only had two flowers this year. I will be buying more locally. I found a Tree Lily farm a couple of miles from my home. Just beware that Brecks won't honor their guarantee if your product doesn't perform.
|On Dec 7, 2012, Cougzone Seattle, WA wrote:
I ordered bulbs from this company in the fall. I promptly sent a check to fully pay for my purchase. The check cleared my bank about 1 week later. Now Brecks keeps sending me notices that I am past due. I contacted the customer service department who requested that I fax them a copy of my cleared check, which I promptly did. I called 1 week later to confirm my account had been credited and was told "they are working on it". I asked what exactly that meant and they could not tell me. I asked for a supervisor who also could not provide me further details. I also questioned why it takes over 1 week to credit my account. The supervisor had no answer. This company has horrible customer service and I have yet to speak with a representative who has been helpful or willing to simply credit my account. THERE ARE LOTS OF BULB COMPANIES. IN THE FUTURE I WILL NEVER USE BRECKS AGAIN. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE.
On Dec 7, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jan 7, 2013 11:49 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
I apologize for the problems you are having with your account. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and check on your account for you."
|On Nov 8, 2012, mariasnoek Portland, OR wrote:
Received a package from Breck's. It happened to be a present from my sister, but was not told so by Breck's. The packing list contained 4 species of bulbs. One species was missing. The count of the bulbs was wrong in 2( 17 instead of 18 bulbs) of them and of the Narcissus Poetica ( 5 bulbs) one was so rotten and moldy that is was ready for the garbage-can. I hope you can open these photo's I took of them./Users/Mhecht/Desktop/DSCN2279.JPG/Users/Mhecht/Desktop/DSCN2282.JPG.
On Nov 8, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Nov 13, 2012 11:02 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate you taking the time to post and apologize that the bulbs were not in good shape. We would be happy to reship some new ones to you. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information."
|On Oct 19, 2012, TabCatter Rutherford, NJ wrote:
Round 1: I selected about $150 worth of Fall delivery bulbs. When I went to check out, the website kept asking for the code data from the catalog the company had sent me in the Spring. I put the codes in four times -- and then it indicated that Special had expired. Why not say that the first time???
On Oct 19, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Oct 31, 2012 9:42 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. We apologize for the problems you had. One of our customer service representatives will contact you and work out your order with you."
|On Sep 24, 2012, churace Somerville, MA wrote:
1.One Sep 9, I placed my first order, amounting to $131.47, on the phone with the Breck's representative, Anna, who confirmed the shipment will be made by last week of Sept. The shipment date is just right as I have to go aboard right after that so I can have time to do the planting.
On Sep 24, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Sep 25, 2012 10:37 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. We apologize for the confusion over when your order would ship. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and see what we can do."
|On Aug 17, 2012, toneej Idyllwild, CA wrote:
I ordered some fall planting bulbs and rhizomes on their website at the end of July and requested an earlier shipping window via comments.
On Aug 17, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Aug 20, 2012 11:03 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. We do ship accoring to the USDA
On Aug 20, 2012 11:06 AM, Breck's Bulbs added:
Thank you for your posting. We do ship according to the USDA but we also know there are other micro climates that need to be considered. I apologize for the confusion. We could send your order to the green house and ask that they ship sooner if the product is available. A customer service representative will contact you for your account information."
|On Jul 3, 2012, brydas Pensacola, FL (Zone 8a) wrote:
Placed original order(by mail) on 5/8/12 for $53.31.Sent check on 5/21/12. Got a better offer from them so cancelled 1st one & made a 2nd one. They told me they had charged me ($9.95) for the 1st CANCELLED order as they were"unable" to refund the S&H.My case:the order was CANCELLED & not even due to be shipped out 'til Oct/Nov-neither shipped nor handled 'til then. Asked 4x for them to send me a copy of the "policy" stating they were"unable........". Never got one. Been fighting with them since 5/8-----30-45 e-mails, 3 phonecalls, 5 e-mails from parent co.(garden's alive, no more help than Breck's people). I find them to be conniving, underhanded, dishonest, incompetent, misinformed & unknowledgable. Have documentation ready to go to the Atty.Gen, Angie's list, the Watchdog & the BBB.
On Jul 3, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Jul 16, 2012 1:28 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. We will be happy to get this taken care of for you. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and get this taken care of. We apologize for all the trouble."
|On May 30, 2012, wufflespring Yoder, CO (Zone 5a) wrote:
Posted on April 5, 2012, updated May 30, 2012
On May 30th, 2012, wufflespring added the following:
Quote: Thank you for your posting. Our bulbs ship from Holland and can take 3-4 weeks to arrive once they are shipped. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and take care of this for you.
My main point was that I was sent an email, telling me that my order had been shipped TO ME. As in, it's on it's way. And then weeks later, I find out it never did actually ship but would soon. MY PROBLEM with that is: DON'T TELL ME YOU'VE DONE SOMETHING UNTIL YOU HAVE ACTUALLY DONE IT! I don't MIND waiting. But don't lie and tell me to expect something nearly a month before you actually mail it to me. I have to drive 5 miles one way up a very bumpy dirt road to get to my mailbox. When I am expecting a package, I check mail DAILY. When I'm NOT, I check mail weekly. So during that period, I was checking mail every day for something that was NEVER shipped.
On May 30, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Apr 9, 2012 3:00 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. Our bulbs ship from Holland and can take 3-4 weeks to arrive once they are shipped. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and take care of this for you."
|On Apr 26, 2012, idahosteve Twin Falls, ID (Zone 5b) wrote:
I have been trying to get a replacement order for the one that died last year due to late shipping and poor plant quality. I have contacted customer service several times but they will not even respond back to me. I do have a replacement certificate that they sent to me but when I try to use it I get kicked out of there online ordering site. So I guess I have a worthless piece of paper for my money. Way to go Brecks.
On Apr 26, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Apr 27, 2012 12:24 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for posting. I apologize for the problems you are having with our site. A customer service representative will contact you for your account information and take care of this for you."
|On Apr 11, 2012, 1234dottie Morgantown, WV wrote:
I have received some things from this company usually small. That is ok. But this time I ordered a Heuchera Caramel plant. It is a plant not a tuber. Well what I received was something painful to look at. I am growing plants now from seed. What I saw was a plant barely starting to grow. Few very small green stubs was sticking out in the soil. Barely starting I paid $16.49 for a plant that was barely beginning. I was so disappointed I was so looking forward to at least seeing a few leaves of this plant when I received this. I repotted this plant but now I don't even see anything in the pot. I will never buy another plant from this company that they call a plant. Tubers are fine. But when I buy a plant from a company I expect to see a plant. I don't mind small but this so called plant was nothing but the very beginnings of a plant. For 16.49 I deserved something more.
On Apr 11, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Apr 18, 2012 10:21 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. We would be happy to replace the plant for you. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information."
|On Mar 25, 2012, Freckledgirl Carmel, IN wrote:
I do not want to hear from Brecks customer service. I have placed several orders from Brecks over the years for bulbs and I never had a problem until 2010. I ordered roots this time and when I opened the box it was very musty smelling, sort of like the smell of rotting leaves in a forest. I wasn't sure if that was normal or that they were moldy but since I didn't see any mold I decided I'd plant them anyway. I followed the directions in planting them, and nothing, absolutely nothing was healthy or came to be an actual plant from that order. I have 1 lily that survived from that order but never flowered and now in year 2 the leaves look pathetic compared to the other lilies around it that I purchased elsewhere. Anyhow, I pursued a refund from Brecks, on only those plants that didn't become a plant at all, which was granted. I then ordered a bunch of bulbs mid summer to plant in the fall. I received only a quarter of my order in October and was sent a notice in November that the rest of the bulbs were out of stock. My response to that...."Seriously?" Toward the end of the planting season they inform me of this, at a time when nurseries are no longer selling what I want?
On Mar 25, 2012, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Mar 27, 2012 1:07 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the confusion. We appreciate each and everyone of our customers and would not flag a customer as 2nd rate, or ban them from placing an order due to complaints. If ever a customer's return rate is 80% or higher, we determine at that time that our company's products are not a good match for them. We regret that we are not successful in satisfying all of our customer's needs. However, we do strive for 100% customer satisfaction, and in most cases, achieve it. This can be evident by our devoted customers who purchase year after year from us and by the many testimonials we receive from them."
|On Dec 21, 2011, Barbara777 Larkfield-Wikiup, CA wrote:
On 12/14/11 I ordered 6 "Kris Kringle" tulips for gifts at Christmas. I called on 12/20/11 to find out the shipping information and was told that they would not ship until 2012. They had run out of the product and not notified me. Their customer service was terrible, only offer was to sell me another product at twice the price. I found out that they use a third party customer service call center, you can't actually talk to someone at Breck's that might care. I have used Brecks.com for years but will never order from them again.
On Dec 21, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Dec 30, 2011 9:43 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for letting us know about the problems you experienced with our call center and your order. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and to rectify this for you."
|On Sep 13, 2011, March13 CLIFTON PARK, NY wrote:
I also received a letter stating that I was no longer able to order from this company again. I was so upset that I called and spoke to rude customer service people who informed me that getting such a letter means that I also cannot order from their other companies as well. These include Springhill, Gardens Alive, Gurney and Henry Fields. I have been purchasing from these companies for years. I have a very large yard and spend thousands of dollars every year so my yard can be used for charity events. I do not believe these companies should offer lifetime guarantees if they are not going to honor them. In fact, the main problem that I have had in recent years is that they do not send what I order. For example, shrub lilies should not be 4' tall, shrub apricot roses should not be 3' tall, white feather hostas come out and stay pure green. I also get upset when I order a specific color and they substitute without asking first. If I wanted the color they sent me...I would have ordered it. Another problem they have is their timing. I live in the northeast and get items sent to me in March. When I call...I am told to keep them in the refrigerator. After weeks (or until the correct planting time), they are starting to form mold or getting mushy. I suppose this is my fault as well. I feel their letter was very degrading to a long time, loyal customer. The only saving grace is that there are many other companies to order from. I do not recommend using any of the companies I mentioned above.
On Sep 13, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Sep 23, 2011 1:58 PM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
I apologize for the problems with your account. A customer service representative will contact you for your account information and check into this for you."
|On Sep 5, 2011, Snowbabymama Custer City, PA wrote:
After ordering from Breck's for a number of years, I received a letter stating that since a majority of my purchases have been reshipped, replaced, etc., that "our products are not a good match to your needs." They will not process any further orders; they have canceled my pending orders (which I have ordered months ago and paid for in advance; and my reshipments have been cancelled -money to be refunded. This is all in spite of and contrary to their "lifetime guarantee" which has no exclusions. My fail rate on my bulbs and plants were unusual this year because of our extraordinary harsh winter and spring flood rains - collections were lost. I only seek replacement for plants that fail within the first year; after that it is my loss. I had made a new garden area last year, prompting orders (which needed replaced), and I also placed new orders because I decided to increase the number of plants. I now have a this empty garden bed and all my orders (replacement or otherwise) have been canceled. They are banning me from ordering and won't provide me with the replacement plants under their guarantee of "full refund or replacement, whichever you prefer." Now I must scramble to try to place a new order with a competitor this late in the season.
On Sep 5, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Sep 6, 2011 9:23 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Thank you for your posting. We will have a customer service representative contact you for your account information and check this out for you."
|On Aug 20, 2011, OceansEdge Conception Bay South
Posted on August 19, 2011, updated August 20, 2011
On August 19th, 2011, OceansEdge added the following:
There are reasons why I rely on web and fax for mail ordering, I don't do phone orders.
While I do understand that occasionally one can have problems with their website, surely it isn't terribly difficult to see that your fax machine answers the phone?
On August 20th, 2011, OceansEdge added the following:
I was finally able to place the order through a different computer and sending the order as a 'guest', rather from being logged in. (my computer automatically logs me into my accounts on various websites).
I really do think that your support team needs to learn how to be more helpful than simply suggesting people return to the website (if it didn't work this time why would that suddenly change next time) or calling - if I could call you, I would have when I first had the problem.\
Hopefully there won't be any difficulties with the order itself.
On Aug 20, 2011, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
"On Aug 19, 2011 11:38 AM, Breck's Bulbs responded with:
Vicky, we apologize for the trouble you have had trying to place your order. A customer service representative will contact you and place your order for you if you like. We will still honor your coupon. We have contacted our IT department to have our website checked out. We also have an 800 number you could call if you would prefer and they can take your order as well. Our number is 800-644-5505.