Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.
I ordered Coreopsis 'Cosmic Eye.' They have sent it twice and I still don't have the correct plant. I don't like leaving negative feedback, but they seem to have a problem getting the correct plants sent out. Also, the other plants I received from them this year were tiny. Example: Hydrangea 'Zebra' - It was 3 inches tall and cost $9.99. It died and there was nothing I could do to save it. It was just a tiny cutting!
I was astonished to find small plugs removed from their containers and shipped with soil and roots showing. After my first email request, I was told that sometimes Santa Rosa will ship these small sprigs on a two for one basis rather than the usual 4 inch pot advertised on their website. My second conversation confirmed this practice was done without informing or giving a choice to the customer. To Santa Rosa's credit, after my second complaint, they offered to send me mature plants when they became available. The only way to prevent this from occuring again is to mark on each customer order "no two for one substitutions".
On Apr 16, 2011, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
"On Apr 16, 2011 5:57 PM, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
I will certainly look into this. It is not our intention to ever ship plants bareroot, without pots. If soil and roots were showing, those plants were not shipped per our routine. The sales person was correct that there are times when we ship 2 or 3 smaller pots in place of the larger pot in order to fill a customer's order according to their planting schedule. Those are very rare instances and we always offer our 100% replacement/refund guarantee on all of our plants. Many gardeners have planting schedules and if 1 crop out of many is not ready yet, we want to give the gardener the best solution available. In that case, holding the entire order for 1 plant is not the best option. I hope that you will give those smaller plants a chance. We would also be happy to ship the larger pot as it becomes available. I believe that sales also offered you a full refund on those plants as well. I hope we have resolved this to your satisfaction. If not, please contact us and we will be happy to discuss the order further. Thank you for understanding."
On Apr 28, 2009, cherokeeleprechaun Alvarado, TX (Zone 8b) wrote:
I am not sure how a company can advertise having plants available for sale and then not have them. I understand that weather and other factors can impair crops but when it does, such particular plants should not be listed as available.
I had one such plant become unavailable from this company on my order and they wonderfully informed me of this. I chose to have the money I had already prepaid refunded.
Suddenly my order shipped with another item not included with no such gracious notice.
Oh I was notified that it would not be included, it would be shipped later. NOW, it will be shipped later again.
No option to refund this time.
I will await my tiny black sempervivum, however, I doubt that I will order from this company again without serious hesitation.
I believe they are a reputable company, but if I could not produce our tool for our customers when they ordered it, I would be out of buisness in very short order.
I do sincerely hope that whatever is causing these late or incomplete orders clear up for them.
On Apr 28, 2009, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
"On Apr 28, 2009 4:54 PM, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
Thank you for posting your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with your order. We do understand the importance of filling orders completely and on time and are equally disappointed when a crop issue doesn't permit us to meet those goals. Out of the plants you ordered on April 2, we did have an issue with the Sempervivum Black and the Echeveria Metallica, which are no longer available for order on our website. These particular succulents were not all finishing in the time we had hoped and we were forced to ship those that were ready on a first-order-in basis.
When a specific plant variety does not respond as expected and we unfortunately miss the target ready date, we aim to provide the best solution for the customer. Of the 1,000+ varieties of plants we produce, we are very pleased with the high level of accuracy we achieve in meeting requested ship dates.
We do ask that if any customer is concerned or disappointed with how we handled their order that they contact us and give us an opportunity to make it right. Most on-line mail-order nurseries ship product as they have it ready in spring, not according to a chosen ship date. While it is often a difficult task to manage, we are pleased to allow our customers to choose their ship week, and often the specific day in which they receive their plants.
On Sep 12, 2003, goswimmin Gainesville, GA (Zone 7a) wrote:
I need to say that the entire experience was definately not negative.
I ordered about $50 worth of grasses from them this spring.
The order arrived on time and was nicely packed. All plants were in pots.
The plants though were extremely small, many in 2" pots which I call liners.. Some grasses had only 3 blades and the grasses were not more than a few inches tall for a few. I wrote them back and they did replace one at that time that had died.
Later in the summer when they were still very small I wrote again and they replaced the entire order with, again, small plants.
I had never bought ornamental grasses before anywhere and got excited seeing the pictures on their site. If I had only waited till a little later in the spring I could have gotten very nice size grasses locally. I did in fact go to my local nursery and get big plants recently. The Santa Rosa product may someday grow but it looks like it will be many years before they get to the size that are sold locally for good prices.
I guess I learned that I need to be patient and wait for spring and not order in the winter.
On Sep 12, 2003, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
On Mar 15, 2007 8:36 AM, Santa Rosa Gardens added:
I appreciate these comments, and all comments from our customers, positive and negative. This was a situation where the few varieties that were purchased happened to be varieties that we were having trouble with that season. When you grow the number of plants that we do, you will have some trouble crops. Any nursery that tells you otherwise...well...
Our goal through this type of problem order is to (1) provide our customer with plants that are viable and will grow. (2) to make sure the customer is pleased with the purchase and how the plants perform in their garden. (3) provide replacement/refund/or credit, whichever the customer prefers if the plants fail. We tried our best to provide the plants ordered and stood behind our guarantee with this customer.
On May 1, 2008 6:53 AM, Santa Rosa Gardens added:
In the fall of 2007, we switched to a larger sized pot for our perennials and grasses. This 4 inch round pot has a soil volume of 16 oz and is designed to give gardeners an even faster start with their plants.