Comments regarding Santa Rosa GardensClick here to return to Santa Rosa Gardens's listing.
You are viewing only negative comments
|On Sep 19, 2017, esanita TYASKIN, MD (Zone 7a) wrote:
Posted on April 23, 2015, updated September 19, 2017
On September 19th, 2017, esanita added the following:
I didn't take my own advice and ordered from them again. I ordered pennistum 'plugs'. Instead of the small 'plug' plants I expected, I got large plants stuffed info tiny pots. The roots were so bound, they looked like coconut coir. Couldn't even water them.
SRG plants generally look like they were some other grower's leftovers -- mostly overgrown, root-bound, etc. Maybe this is why they can offer such low prices.
People have been complaining about their packaging for years and nothing has changed. Their customer service is top-notch. However, their plants and packaging are not -- order elsewhere.
On Sep 19, 2017, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
"On Apr 30, 2015 6:55 AM, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
Thank you for providing us with feedback. We do appreciate hearing back from customers regardless of the good news or bad.
|On Jun 2, 2015, Sequoiadendron4 Lititz, PA (Zone 6b) wrote:
My first purchase from Santa Rosa in spring of 2014 was fine. No issues, so I decided to buy more items this spring. My order came and most of the plants were bone dry. The plants were poorly packaged as well. That combined with the bone dry soil and probably rough handling by the shipping service caused one of the plants to come out of its pot and dump most of the soil out in the box. Luckily, this plant was an echinacea and they can handle abuse. I repotted it and soaked the plants over night in a tub of water. All of them made it. I took a pic and sent them an email about it but no one ever got back to me. There are several other nurseries with a better selection and better packaging than this retailer. I don't really see a reason to purchase from them again.
On Jun 2, 2015, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
"On Jun 2, 2015 9:09 AM, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
I apologize for any issues you had with your shipment and assure you that we will correct those problems. Please be sure to check your junk mail and add Santa Rosa Gardens to your 'safe senders list'. It would be very unusual for your shipping complaint to be overlooked. From your description, it sounds like the plants received less than normal shipping care in transit. 'Bone dry' and 'out of the pots' usually suggest that the plants sat in a hot truck for an extended period, and the box was mishandled along the way. Please give us a call and we will absolutely correct any issues with the shipment and send replacement plants as needed. We hope you give us an opportunity to prove you wrong regarding our packaging. We're quite proud of our methods and our success rate. Thank you."
|On Jul 16, 2012, echinaceamaniac (Clint) Medina, TN (Zone 7b) wrote:
I ordered Coreopsis 'Cosmic Eye.' They have sent it twice and I still don't have the correct plant. I don't like leaving negative feedback, but they seem to have a problem getting the correct plants sent out. Also, the other plants I received from them this year were tiny. Example: Hydrangea 'Zebra' - It was 3 inches tall and cost $9.99. It died and there was nothing I could do to save it. It was just a tiny cutting!
|On Apr 16, 2011, Harleygrandma Macon, GA wrote:
I was astonished to find small plugs removed from their containers and shipped with soil and roots showing. After my first email request, I was told that sometimes Santa Rosa will ship these small sprigs on a two for one basis rather than the usual 4 inch pot advertised on their website. My second conversation confirmed this practice was done without informing or giving a choice to the customer. To Santa Rosa's credit, after my second complaint, they offered to send me mature plants when they became available. The only way to prevent this from occuring again is to mark on each customer order "no two for one substitutions".
On Apr 16, 2011, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
"On Apr 16, 2011 5:57 PM, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
I will certainly look into this. It is not our intention to ever ship plants bareroot, without pots. If soil and roots were showing, those plants were not shipped per our routine. The sales person was correct that there are times when we ship 2 or 3 smaller pots in place of the larger pot in order to fill a customer's order according to their planting schedule. Those are very rare instances and we always offer our 100% replacement/refund guarantee on all of our plants. Many gardeners have planting schedules and if 1 crop out of many is not ready yet, we want to give the gardener the best solution available. In that case, holding the entire order for 1 plant is not the best option. I hope that you will give those smaller plants a chance. We would also be happy to ship the larger pot as it becomes available. I believe that sales also offered you a full refund on those plants as well. I hope we have resolved this to your satisfaction. If not, please contact us and we will be happy to discuss the order further. Thank you for understanding."
|On Apr 28, 2009, cherokeeleprechaun Alvarado, TX (Zone 8b) wrote:
I am not sure how a company can advertise having plants available for sale and then not have them. I understand that weather and other factors can impair crops but when it does, such particular plants should not be listed as available.
On Apr 28, 2009, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
"On Apr 28, 2009 4:54 PM, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
Thank you for posting your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with your order. We do understand the importance of filling orders completely and on time and are equally disappointed when a crop issue doesn't permit us to meet those goals. Out of the plants you ordered on April 2, we did have an issue with the Sempervivum Black and the Echeveria Metallica, which are no longer available for order on our website. These particular succulents were not all finishing in the time we had hoped and we were forced to ship those that were ready on a first-order-in basis.
|On Sep 12, 2003, goswimmin Gainesville, GA (Zone 7a) wrote:
I need to say that the entire experience was definately not negative.
On Sep 12, 2003, Santa Rosa Gardens responded with:
On Mar 15, 2007 8:36 AM, Santa Rosa Gardens added:
I appreciate these comments, and all comments from our customers, positive and negative. This was a situation where the few varieties that were purchased happened to be varieties that we were having trouble with that season. When you grow the number of plants that we do, you will have some trouble crops. Any nursery that tells you otherwise...well...
On May 1, 2008 6:53 AM, Santa Rosa Gardens added:
In the fall of 2007, we switched to a larger sized pot for our perennials and grasses. This 4 inch round pot has a soil volume of 16 oz and is designed to give gardeners an even faster start with their plants.