Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Burgess Seed

Click here to return to Burgess Seed's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
142 positives
52 neutrals
340 negatives

Comments:

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | ... 9 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Negative Al5843
(1 review)
On Aug 25, 2015, Al5843 Neshkoro, WI wrote:

This company shipped us 6 varieties of plants that were dormant in AUGUST!!
Draw you own conclusions: if that's what you like, order from them.

Negative Buck7455
(1 review)
On Aug 19, 2015, Buck7455 Hudsonville, MI wrote:

I tried to cancel an order with Burgess and was told that would be no problem. They shipped the order anyway.
Upon returning the order they refused to reimburse my purchase so I had to go through the credit card company to get my money back.
Well, Burgess really knows how to play the credit card system. When they saw I got my entire $257.89 back from them they posted $247.90 to my account - $9.99 less than what they owed me. That triggered a VISA policy that took the $257.89 back from me and left me $9.99 short of a full refund from Burgess.

Burgess is a sham operation set up to collect as much money from people as possible without providing any benefits to the customer at all. They know how to play the system. If you don't want to get screwed over do not do business with this company at all. Those pretty catalogs they send you are just bait for their scam.

Negative MikeMdavesgarde
(1 review)
On Aug 17, 2015, MikeMdavesgarde Saint Louis, MO wrote:

I HAVE BOUGHT PLANTS FROM MANY ONLINE NURSERIES.
BURGESS IS BY FAR THE WORST!
1. Vague responses that do not answer your questions days later on emailed questions.
2. Extremely rude customer "service". They clearly have many customers calling them upset everyday.
3. They will charge your credit card, then not send you any plants for months, even in summer.
4. When you call them to ask nicely about when your plants will ship, they will interrupt you and rudely declare "read the website, no one ever reads the website then they waste our time asking questions".
5. If the info wasn't buried in the website and it was presented upfront, they would be out of business.
6. No one will wait for months, then receive different plants "it says we have the option to send you different plants"...what?

THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A HUGE MIDDLEMAN WHO IS OUT OF CONTROL AND IS PLAYING A NUMBERS GAME. "IF WE LOSE 2 OUT OF EVERY 3 CUSTOMERS, SOME WE REFUND, MOST BE IGNORE, WE STILL HAVE 1,OOO's OF PLANT ORDERS!"

LET'S DRIVE THIS WASTE OF TIME AND FRUSTRATION OUT OF BUSINESS. NONE OF US NEED MORE PROBLEMS IN OUR LIVES!

Negative Crazysweets
(4 reviews)
On Jul 14, 2015, Crazysweets York, ND wrote:

I ordered 6 raspberries, 2 manchurian apricots, 2 juneberries, 2 honey berries from Farmer Seed, aka: Burgess, Richard Owen Nursery on January 22, 2015. I received 2 buffaloberry plants instead of the june berry the middle of May. So I sent in the shipping label right away per their request after I called them to notify them. They said they received it and had it on file numerous times. I planted all the trees immediately. June 1, 2015 I notified them that all there trees except the apricots showed no life and were presumed dead when they arrived. I have written and emailed and each time I get a different story, they are being shipped, no they are not. We don't have your shipping label, yes we do, no we don't. I still have not received any tree replacements or any juneberries. Complete waste of money. Total cost was over $100. Plus I lost out on plants, I could of reordered but had hoped they would honor there guarantee.

Negative KCW0326
(1 review)
On Jun 23, 2015, KCW0326 Pleasanton, NE wrote:

Last year I decided to give Burgess a try because they had the hybrid willows I was looking for. I ordered 20 hybrid willows, 1 Stanley plum/prune, & 8 hostas. When I emailed customer service about my order & told them I had 21 dead trees (I told them the plum looked like a stick with no roots) & 2 live hostas, was told to give the bareroot trees some time & if they didn't grow I would have to return my original packing slip. This spring I sent in the packing list & requested replacements for my trees & 6 hostas. 3 of the 6 hostas grew this time but my trees are still sticks & my 2 hostas that grew last year did not make it through the winter. So to sum up I have received a total of 42 dead sticks & 11 dead hostas. I am no going to waste my time trying to get any replacements. Save your money & time & do not buy from this company!

Negative beluga11
(1 review)
On Jun 19, 2015, beluga11 Friday Harbor, WA wrote:

When ordering i always make it a point to ask the vendor to send in early March, which is proper planting time where i live. My Burgess order hadn't arrive ed by April 15, so i wrote them. It's coming they answered. Finally, on May 12 i asked them to cancel my order. They said it was mailed a week ago, which was a lie, because it didn't arrive here until June 1.Some plants were OK, but two of them 2 pawpaws and two oxydendrum looked very dead ó no roots, no leaves, no buds, shriveled tips. I wrote Burgess with my invoice #. They insisted I plant the trees and give it 6 weeks. I gave it 3 weeks and when the plants snapped in half with a nudge it was totally obvious they were dead. I wrote Burgess for replacements, an issue I've never had a problem with working with any other vendor. Burgess told me I had to ship back to them both the original invoice and the trees, themselves. I didn't have the original packing anymore. I told them, they had my invoice number, and my name and email linked to that number. So what was the problem? They said they would not replace my plants without the original invoice and plants. I have complained to the Better Biz Bureau, because i feel they use this legal ploy to avoid their own responsibility in sending out live plants, let alone healthy plants.


On Jun 19, 2015, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Jun 20, 2015 10:48 AM, Burgess Seed responded with:

Many of our items are shipped bare root and dormant as this allows them to be transplanted with much higher degrees of success. It does not mean they are dead, but since they are dormant, and not leafed out, people unfamiliar with bareroot nursery stock may they mistake them for dead. We suggest soaking in water overnight or for a few hours before planting. Then keep well watered after planting and within 6 weeks of warm weather, the plants should break dormancy and show signs of leaf.

We do have both a refund and a replacement guarantee which is clearly posted online and in our catalog, and we stand behind them. We do not require that you return the dead items when requesting replacement.

A customer care representative has contacted this customer to see if we may be of assistance
"


Negative johnjay
(1 review)
On Jun 7, 2015, johnjay Fallbrook, CA wrote:

As the majority state, plants arrive in poor state an only about 10% of what I ordered survived and sprouted. Beautiful catalog and great prices (seemed). The reality not so great. Warranty says to send back dead plant and shipping label. Except for the trees, nothing left to send back. I don't want to waste more money on shipping and have the same thing happen again. This was a tough $100 lesson for me. You have no idea when things will show up, for us was the worst time, when we were out of town, 4 different shipments. Seeds may be OK. None of my onion sets sprouted, never happened to me before!

Negative megandbruce
(1 review)
On Jun 5, 2015, megandbruce wrote:

On the 1st of April, I ordered a dozen of a new kind of strawberry, called a pineberry. I was unfamiliar with them, and I wanted to try something new. Almost 60 days went by, and repeated emails to Burgess. On June 2nd I received a small plastic bag with the dozen strawberries in it..........10 of which were completely dead. The other 2 I am working on, trying to save them. It isn't so much the poor product. That happens occasionally. It was the attitude I received from the company as I tried to find out where my products were. We plant strawberries here at the end of April. That's why I ordered them at the beginning of April. These that arrived on June 2nd are absolutely no good to me(the 2 that survived). Needless to say, that was my first and only order with Burgess.


On Jun 5, 2015, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Jun 7, 2015 12:28 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

We are sorry to hear of this customers experience as we do take pride in our customer care. A customer care representative has contact this customer for further information. We do have a 1 year replacement guarantee on all of our plants and do hope that the customer takes advantage of this guarantee."


Negative tooner2
(7 reviews)
On May 18, 2015, tooner2 Charlotte, NC wrote:

Completely unacceptable. Bare root plants arrived well after planting time. Roots of trees weren't wrapped in anything! They were completely dried out. One tree had poked through the package and the top was broken off. Pitiful and disgusting.


On May 18, 2015, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Jun 7, 2015 12:33 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

Many of our items are shipped bare root and dormant as this allows them to be transplanted with much higher degrees of success. It does not mean they are dead, but since they are dormant, and not leafed out, people unfamiliar with bareroot nursery stock may they mistake them for dead. Bareroot items can still be planted at this time. We suggest soaking in water overnight or for a few hours before planting. Then keep well watered after planting and within 6 weeks of warm weather, the plants should break dormancy and show signs of leaf.


A customer care representative has contacted this customer to see if we may be of assistance
"


Negative billclintonm
(1 review)
On May 5, 2015, billclintonm Jackson, MI wrote:

I ordered black raspberry plants over a month ago. Here it is toward the end of the planting season and still no plants. Every time I call I get a busy signal even when initially trying to order which was over a dozen times. If only they were as fast with their deliveries as they to add the charge to my credit card. I should have known better when they never answer their phone. Never again will I order from them.

Negative dmitri25
(1 review)
On Apr 30, 2015, dmitri25 Leland, NC wrote:

I order $158.00 worth of fruit trees on 04/02/2014. All the trees arrive dead after contacting customer service I was advice to give them a chance and plant them any way in worse case I will get replacement. Year later trees still dead I request replacement. When replacement arrive all the trees dead again. Do not order from this company do not fall for price you will get dead trees. At this time I try to get my money back Ö.. no response to my emails. You not be able to get anybody on the telephone. Only by email. Look like a good scam to me to sell dead trees for half price.

Negative joeriw
(2 reviews)
On Apr 22, 2015, joeriw Limestone, TN wrote:

I was very excited about their catalog... They seem to have nice plants/seeds for good prices.

As soon as you order, they are still looking good... They shipped my seeds about 3 weeks after the order. That was a bit slow and made me a bit late for my early crops.

They chopped my order in half, as I had also ordered a tree, strawberries and some other shrubs.

It's now a month and a half PAST planting time here, and I have still not received my order....
After sending them an e-mail they just sent me a standard mail back (not answering my question).

I will never order from them again (or any other "cheap" seed companies/nurseries).

I've asked for a refund on my order, but I highly doubt that they will even read my e-mail, let alone answer it in a proper way...


Never again!!!

Negative bckkiller1
(3 reviews)
On Apr 20, 2015, bckkiller1 Lexington, VA wrote:

I have no idea how their plants come and this enough of a negative for me to write this review. I am not sure this company isn't a complete scam and im not far away from reporting them to the BBB.
My experience is as follows. I ordered a variety of plants from them two months ago coming to a total of 120 dollars after shipping. I received an email notification and a charge on my credit card and then nothing. I emailed them once inquiring about my lack of items to get a general email saying oh yeah were shipping those soon and yet still nothing.
It has been another month so I decided I should call them and the number they have on their website is either disconnected, continually busy, or never worked to begin with. If I could at this point I would cancel the whole order but I am unable to even get someone on the phone. I am one and done with this company at this point no matter what shape the plants arrive in and based on reviews I am not crossing my fingers. This has not been my experience with the other companies I order from.

Negative Pinkfloyd47
(2 reviews)
On Apr 9, 2015, Pinkfloyd47 Eustis, FL wrote:

It is now April 9 and I have yet to receive my order placed on the 15th of January. The temps down here in central Florida are now in the upper 80's and headed into the 90 degree range. How well do they think their plants will take root and thrive in these conditions? In the future it may cost me a little more but Burgess and the Plantron group of nurseries will not see any future orders from me.

Negative akatja
(1 review)
On Apr 2, 2015, akatja Lake Zurich, IL wrote:

Re: WORST EVER direct mail catalog gardening plant and seed company

I am writing here to share my NEGATIVE experience dealing with one of the worst direct mail gardening company, Burgess Seed & Plant Co. The company has so many alias and dba names what that should rise red flags before I even opened my check book.
Because of the company like this we will never use another catalog gardening company ever again. There are plenty of local nurseries around. It is not even a case were you receive dead or bad or sick plants, here we were nursing wrong plants, wasting our time and resourced for three years.

Here is our story.

We ordered GRAPE SEEDLESS SELECTION (3207 2PCS CANADICE, 6300 NIAGARA GRAPE 2PCS, 6304 CATAWBA 2PCS, 6305 CONCORD 2PCS, 6599 NEW HIMROD 2PCS, 6074 MARQUIS SEEDLESS GRAPE 2PCS) on June 30th 2012, Order # Aristova 60047, PKG ID#131905678. Couple of plants being dead on arrival.

As you can see , we ordered SIX different grape varieties with TWO plants EACH.

Five of grape plants had berries last summer for the first time. ALL OF THEM TURNED OUT TO BE THE SAME VARIETY ( SEEDED, small dark blue barriers with thick skin, looks like some sort of wine variety).

We ordered two plants of each variety, so how come we had FIVE plants bearing the same barriers and all are seeded? Thatís supposed to be SEEDLESS Collection.
Looks like you just sent us all plants from same least popular variety. We wasted THREE years of growing wrong grapes.

We contacted the company and they replied what we are out of our 14 days return period and they cannot issue a refund. THATíS ALL!!!!

This business has many alias and dba names, here are just a few:

Richard Owen Nursery
Farmer Seed & Nursery
Four Seasons Nursery
Inter-State Nurseries
Exciting Gardens
Royal Dutch Gardens
Honeycreek Nurseries, LLC
Kelly Nurseries
Plantron, Inc.
Burgess Seed & Plant Company
Direct Gardening

Negative Mandolin1960
(1 review)
On Dec 26, 2014, Mandolin1960 Whitesville, KY wrote:

This company did sent me replacement trees of which none survived, they will not stand behind those replacements. To further my displeasure they sub the Cherry trees for Plum trees without asking, it did not matter I guess they did not live either. Nothing showed any sign of life. They will tell you it may take 6 weeks or more for the dormant plants to show signs of life but they only give you 14 days to request a refund. My advise is to purchase potted plants from your local nursery or farm store, even Walmart has better products and a better warranty.
STAY AWAY FROM BURGESS SEED COMPANY and ANY OF THERE AFFIALTE COMPANIES!
Feel cheated in Kentucky....

Negative wildforager
(3 reviews)
On Nov 23, 2014, wildforager Sheboygan, WI wrote:

I purchased 30 paw paw seedlings from Burgess and they were dried little sticks with no roots and no moist packing material. Just sticks in a bag. They did replace them but only with more dried sticks. I give up. I'll never buy from them again.

Negative feem2001
(1 review)
On Aug 8, 2014, feem2001 Philadelphia, PA wrote:

I wish I had come across this site before I ever got involved with this company; I can understand now why these people have an overwhelmingly negative score here. I bought something from them a year or so back and the plant never made it. To their credit, they sent out another plant. Thinking this was a fluke (after all, things like this happen with plants at times), I ordered some things from their catalog again recently. Pretty much none of the plants survived and ended up disappearing in my garden, so I couldn't send them back for a refund. I wanted an exchange, but received quite the runaround. And trying to get someone on the phone is pretty difficult, as they either never pick up or you get nothing but busy signals. By mail is no better, with their hilariously red underlined letters; they should explain themselves better because the last letter I got from them was a mess of crossed out words (uh, why?). I finally managed to get someone on the phone recently, who kindly explained that last letter. The exchange will probably not survive, either, but what else can I do? Like many others, this is the last time I order anything from them. Good riddance.

Negative watchdog98338
(1 review)
On Aug 2, 2014, watchdog98338 Graham, WA wrote:

Twice I have used burgess seeds, and twice I have received dead plants. My fault for not following up the first time, but I tried follow up the second time. They require proof (like a cancelled check) for the purchase. This is a game they play, and I refuse to deal with stupid customer service folks. If I had know about Dave's site, I would have seen they are one of the 10 worst companies.

Negative shtr01
(1 review)
On Jul 18, 2014, shtr01 Waverly Hall, GA wrote:

Called and placed an order with Burgess 7/9/14. Cancelled order same day and still no refund. Having talked with so many employees there I figured out their problem. Top to bottom there is no integrity. They will tell you exactly what you want to hear to get you off the phone..

It really is to bad because the company had wonderful customer service many years ago. Now it's more like they pimp their seeds rather than sell them.


On Jul 18, 2014, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Jul 23, 2014 2:44 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

We are sorry to hear of this customers experience. It does become very difficult to cancel an order once entered into processing. If the order was canceled the same day the charge never would have been processed to issue a refund.a refund. We have contacted this customer via D-mail to see how we may be of assistance.

"


Negative jennigermc
(1 review)
On Jul 2, 2014, jennigermc Holley, NY wrote:

Very dissatisfied. Ordered a ton of merchandise. A couple hundred dollars worth only to receive twigs for trees (10 trees altogether) and not a single one of them thrived or had life. Several of my grapevines and elderberries and strawberry plants and perennials gave me nothing. Mailed for a request on replacement warranty weeks ago. Can't get a hold of the company. Their phone line is always busy. I swear they leave their phone off the hook. Worst company I have ever ordered from. Waste of money. I could've ordered from a reputable successful honest and reliable company for dollars more with a customer service representative willing and able to respond to my complaints and concerns. Burgess just lost a customer along with an entire thread of friends and neighbors that I warned not to purchase from being that their catalog is sent so generously to your mailbox with the advertisement "guaranteed to grow." I'm sorry but this isn't so. Burgess is a joke. Spend your money elsewhere where you can be sure the product will not arrive dead or lifeless and actually grow after spending hours of planting. What a disgrace.


On Jul 2, 2014, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Jul 23, 2014 2:48 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

Many of our items are shipped bare root and dormant as this allows them to be transplanted with much higher degrees of success. It does not mean they are dead, but since they are dormant, and not leafed out, people unfamiliar with bareroot nursery stock may they mistake them for dead. We suggest soaking in water overnight or for a few hours before planting. Then keep well watered after planting and within 6 weeks of warm weather, the plants should break dormancy and show signs of leaf.

We do have both a refund and a replacement guarantee and stand behind them.

A customer care representative has contacted this customer to see if we may be of assistance

"


Negative NotwithBurgess
(1 review)
On Jun 24, 2014, NotwithBurgess Heber City, UT wrote:

In January (2014) we ordered several items from Burgess Seed and Plant Co. but, I'm not complaining that there were no seeds in the Cauliflower packet and I'm not complaining that the Russet potato sets were moldy and looked as if they were dead. What I am complaining about is the poor tracking service and the fact you can't get a decent answer, as to when you can expect to receive the things you ordered. Also I'm complaining about the two Carpathian Jumbo 3-4' Walnut trees. What came in the mail, in that green plastic bag, was two very sad looking sticks. One of them was only about 2' tall and the other was about 3'. I soaked them over night and planted them the next day with tender loving care and I've been watering them every other day since, but its been over two months and there is not even a small sign of life in either one. I have since read many of the reviews about Burgess Seed and Plant Co., if only I had seen them before I ordered anything, I wouldn't have ordered from Burgess. I have ordered several things from other mail order companies, but Burgess was the absolute worse experience. I do not recommend that anyone order anything from Burgess and I hope you read the reviews, before you even thought about ordering anything.

Negative toysndogs
(1 review)
On Jun 4, 2014, toysndogs Woodland, WA wrote:

Posted on May 24, 2014, updated June 4, 2014
If you are smart enough to be checking these reviews BEFORE ordering from Burgess (I wasn't), do yourself a big favor & STAY AWAY FROM THEM! This 'company' is a joke from everything I've read and experienced personally. Nearly a month now since I placed an order (grasses & ground cover) with no communication other than an email response to my order inquiry stating "we have begun shipment to your area and your order is scheduled to be shipped out at any time."....that was 2 weeks ago! Oh Yeah!.... you should know that they charged my credit card immediately on receipt of the order last month ...what reputable company does that!? I'm still waiting to receive what I now expect (based on other reviews) to be a bunch of worthless garbage and will never deal with them again.... try Henry Fields instead, I at least got their (well packed) shipment in reasonable time.


On June 4th, 2014, toysndogs added the following:

Good news! 6 weeks after I placed my order, it was finally delivered yesterday. After reading other posts, I was fully prepared for the proverbial 'green bag' and not surprised by the poor quality of what I received. To give you some perspective, my order was filled with 69 "plants" that fit into one 11x14" shipping bag! Wish I could post pictures because words can't describe the real difference... but I bought some large, healthy blue fescue plants at the local garden store (when I became impatient of waiting on Burgess) for $3 each, the same Burgess plants were only $1 each, but were 1/10th the size & and in very poor condition. You get what you pay for, but if you pay bargain prices and get virtually nothing...it's still not a deal!
Negative Debbie102862
(1 review)
On May 23, 2014, Debbie102862 Long Beach, WA wrote:

First time I shopped and last with this company. Finally(after like pulling teeth to get tracking #)got bag of smashed bulbs, potted twigs(dead) and part of order missing.oh and not to mention how many times it took to get through (493 to be exact.only ordered in March) so now I have sent 2 letters woo hoo and got new shipment yesterday and guess what got missing bulbs(squished) sent 6 hibiscus(didn't order) and no butterfly plants(MORE EXPENSIVE) so you got it, got to send another letter. Figure it will be winter before I will get done lol also noticed on shipping label their permit expires in June

Negative ddw_or
(1 review)
On May 8, 2014, ddw_or Roseburg, OR wrote:

DO NOT BUY ANY LIVE PLANTS.
(Yes I know that all Caps is Yelling)

this was and is the one and only time i will order live plants through the mail.

order was placed on 3/23/2014.
last package was received on 5/7/2014.
45 days from time of order
each package was received about 1 to 2 weeks apart.
all 3 packages by USPS

the first package was sent in a cardboard box
Condition of contents = OK
Huckleberry, Garden, Jumbo Pkt.
Fish Fertilizer, 1 quart
Tomato Set Aerosol

the second package with live plants was a green plastic bag. nothing on the outside of the bag stated do not crush or fold.
the package was shipped USPS, who folded and stuffed the bag into the rural mailbox. yes i will talk to our delivery person.
Condition of contents = BAD
Cactus, Christmas Yellow
Cactus, Christmas Lavender
Lilac, BloomerangT Reblooming
Asparagus, Mary Washington
Daisy, Alaska Shasta
Pep Start Pills

the third package with live plants was a green plastic bag. again, nothing on the outside of the bag stated do not crush or fold.
Condition of contents = Good to bad
Nut, American Butternut
Nut, Pecan
Fig, Dwarf
Walnut, Carpathian English, 1-3'
Redwood, Dawn 1-2
Grape Collection, Sweet Seedless
Blueberry Collection Premium
Lilac, Old Fashioned
Free Gifts as Earned

I should have known that $9.69 shipping does not buy much.
Burgess did not send an email or any notification as to what was shipped and when.

this was and is the one and only time i will order live plants through the mail.

Negative trixie6862
(1 review)
On May 8, 2014, trixie6862 Foster, NE wrote:

Items were shipped in a green bag, no packing, with no mention that fragile items were inside; therefore the postal service folded the bag in half and stuffed it inside my mailbox resulting in several of the dead twigs being broken in half at arrival. All that the bag contained were many dead twigs, but I thought I will give it a try and planted them. No sign of life out of any of them, I will not be returning my label to the company for a replacement as I don't want to receive more broken dead twigs. Plants that I ordered from another company at the same time are thriving! Will be telling everyone that I know not to waste their time or their money on this company.

Negative Tnvol1
(1 review)
On May 7, 2014, Tnvol1 Limestone, TN wrote:

I placed an order which was received however the order was not complete. I was missing 36 Siberian elm plants. I contacted customer service and was told I would have to mail them a letter along with the original shipping label. I mailed them a letter on April 2nd and over a month later I still do not have my plants. Everytime my husband and I call them we are told they are in the process of shipping . We have been told this since April 18th. Today I called them and asked them to just credit my credit card back for the missing plants. I was told I would have to mail a letter. Really, when It is their mistake from the beginning? Why is it my problem when they are the ones who messed the order up? I will never order from this company again. My credit card company has been notified about this issue.

Negative Hebrewroots
(3 reviews)
On May 6, 2014, Hebrewroots Shively, KY wrote:

It takes a lot for me to complain and post a negative rating. I've ordered from about 20 mail-order nurseries over the years and Burgess is an embarrassment. I would never order from a disreputable company such as Burgess, with their ultra-hyped, cheesy and outdated catalog which looks like it hasn't been updated since 1958, BUT, someone bought my wife and I a gift certificate for our wedding. I pretended to be pleased and ordered some apricot trees and plum trees. The order arrived on time. In a red plastic bag. Bare root trees stapled into a translucent plastic bag with NO packing material to keep the roots moist and no protection! I opened the bag and what was inside looked dead on arrival- some withered up bare root little sticks of trees, dry as a bone. Any reputable company would use moist material around BARE roots to keep the trees alive! Not just throw them bare-rooted in a bag, staple it and mail it! I mean really?!
I went ahead and soaked the roots over-night, being very proficient with handling plant stock. So far, one apricot has sprouted somehow and another looks like it MIGHT. Everything else was dead and dried up on arrival.
I called the company and got a very unenthusiastic and uncaring representative who said unless I had the packing receipt I would not get a refund for the expensive dead sticks I was shipped, which I did not keep. So, make sure not to buy from this company unless you want to be very disappointed or at best get half-dead stock. In all my years ordering trees I've never had a worse experience than with Burgess.

Negative rsells
(1 review)
On Apr 17, 2014, rsells Iola, TX wrote:

I ordered a number if items and when the package finally arrived, I was extremely disappointed. The red maples were just un wrapped sticks...Completely dried out and dead. The blackberries were rotted in their baggies. I ordered 6 and got 7 but not a single plant was viable. Same thing with the hollyhocks. I also ordered 5 thuja trees with only 2 of them green...others were rotted in their packing.

I will never order their sorry products again and have told everyone I know not to wastep their money.

Negative flaco2
(1 review)
On Mar 27, 2014, flaco2 Corydon, IN wrote:

I just received 7 rose bushes which were described in the Burgess catalog as 2-yr. old field grown plants. I have raised 100s of roses over the last 50 years and know that there are only 3 grades of roses bases upon age, number and diameter of canes. #1 is the best, followed by 1 1/2 and 2. Of the seven, only 1 came close to being a 1 1/2, 4 were 2 and 1 was below 2 and had canes about 1/2 the diameter of a lead pencil. If these were field grown for 2 years the field must have been near the North Pole since they grew so little. Also, they were shipped too soon because they were not dormant and had buds growing which in this area will be killed by a freeze and I have no way to keep them for another month until the frost-free date in this area. If you want good roses, pay a few extra dollars and buy from a reputable dealer, not Burgess or any of its affiliates. They make their money off of those people who do not take the time or trouble to get replacements plus the fact that the companies sell inferior products while representing them as better than they are.


On Mar 27, 2014, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Apr 13, 2014 3:33 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

A customer care representative has contact this customer for further information. We do have a 1 year replacement guarantee on all of our plants and do hope that the customer takes advantage of this guarantee."


Negative shunter3
(1 review)
On Feb 23, 2014, shunter3 Roann, IN wrote:

I've ordered from Burgess several times over the years and had mixed results with their plants- nothing to brag about but no major complaints... until now. I placed an order through their website and now I am getting bombarded with gardening spam. Just got another spam email a few minutes ago from DirectGardening. Shame on you Burgess for giving out (or more than likely selling) my email address! I'll never order from you again!


On Feb 23, 2014, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Feb 25, 2014 1:05 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

We are sorry to hear this. It does state in our catalog that if you provide your email address you will automatically be included to receive newsletters from DirectGardening.com. We do not give out or sell email addresses to outside vendors. It also states that if you wish to removed from the email list to please follow the "remove" link in any newsletter we have sent you.

We have contact the customer to provide further assistance.
"


Negative snotbottom
(1 review)
On Jan 19, 2014, snotbottom Milton Freewater, OR wrote:

Posted on September 13, 2012, updated January 20, 2014
Seems they haven't learned... and neither have I.

I ordered a seedless grape collection from them in 2011 and while the vines grew beautifully, and was very pleased to discover that they were going to bear fruit their second season. I dutifully thinned them, but not entirely (I saved a handful of clusters on each vine, because I wanted to try each variety). Then as they started ripening, my frustration grew because they all are the same... a very seedy (NOT seedless) dark purple variety (NOT a collection).


On January 19th, 2014, snotbottom added the following:

As you've seen on so many of the negative reviews, a customer representative did send me a private message as well asking for more information to try and resolve the issue, but nothing came out of it.
I gave the information as requested, then... heard... nothing... not even a reply that the information was recieved.

Calling the customer service number was pointless as well, they were rude and completely unhelpful. The company deserves every negative review they've earned here and elsewhere.
On Jan 19, 2014, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Sep 26, 2012 9:56 AM, Burgess Seed responded with:

A customer care representative has contact this customer for further information. We do have a 1 year replacement guarantee on all of our plants and do hope that the customer takes advantage of this guarantee.


On Feb 5, 2014 10:01 AM, Burgess Seed added:

We are sorry to hear of this. We have checked and do not show that we received a reply from this customer. A new Dmail has been sent at this time to try to resolve this issue."


Negative Ken_from_Oregon
(1 review)
On Jan 19, 2014, Ken_from_Oregon Dallas, OR wrote:

Dave and friends
DO NOT ORDER from Burgess unless you want to waste not only money and time
I recieved their great colored catalog last spring. I placed an order for
Walnut trees, cherry trees, rasberry and currents. I awaited the package. When it arrived I was a gasp. The rasberrys were not only small but the only items in a bag with any knid of water in a paper towel. ALL the trees were in a large bag 1'x3'. all of them were dried out. Of the 5 or 6 Idid get only one had any roots, another had one root 1" long. I also did not get all the trees. now I knew time was working not in my favor so I gave them a chance (they do this for a living after all) I immidatly planed and water all the plants.
I then contacted Burgess and told them of the proble senging them info off the lable I had copied down uppon arrival. Their response was unbelievable. Unless I send back EVERYTHING in the large plastic bag they would do NOTHING (I do not know about you but I discard plastic and did so on the day I got them and planted).
WHY WAIT TILL NOW TO REVIEW well I gave them a chance waited all season for any sign of life NOTHING. I removed them from the ground to check them this eeek NOTHING is left below ground even the one with a 1" root.
I will NEVER order off lone no matter how nice the pictures are.


On Jan 19, 2014, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Jan 20, 2014 2:53 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

Many of our items are shipped bare root and dormant as this allows them to be transplanted with much higher degrees of success. It does not mean they are dead, but since they are dormant, and not leafed out, people unfamiliar with bareroot nursery stock may they mistake them for dry and dead. We suggest soaking in water overnight or for a few hours before planting. We do have both a refund and a replacement guarantee and stand behind them. When requesting replacement we do not as that the items be returned.

A customer care representative has contacted this customer to see if we may be of assistance
"


Negative bjeffords
(1 review)
On Jan 16, 2014, bjeffords wrote:

I placed an order with The Burgess Seed and Plant Co and received my order for the quantities and items ordered. After planting I waited and waited without a single spout or shoot of any kind.
I wrote a letter stating that I was requesting a replacement order for "the items on the enclosed shipping label with an exception of 3 Burning bush and about 12 twelve strawberry plants" two months before the "guarantee/warranty expired. Without delay I received 3 Burning Bush and 25 strawberry plants, but not a full order of product. I didn't think anything out of the unusual because their "shipping time schedules for nursery stock items are shipped at the proper planting time for your (my) location." Thinking my location and time of year was still to come, I waited.
I finally called the commercial telephone number and found it took some time before I got through. I spoke with "Mary" and discussed my situation and was told flatly my response was not timely and I failed to itemize the replacement items.


On Jan 16, 2014, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Jan 20, 2014 2:55 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

A customer care representative has contacted this customer for further information. We do hope to hear back from the customer as we would like to help resolve this problem

"


Negative amartz
(1 review)
On Oct 18, 2013, amartz Castle Pines, CO wrote:

Burgess does not respond to complaints and does not honor it's own replacement guarantee.

I purchased grape plants from Burgess in June, 2012. They died, so in June, 2013 I wrote to them requesting replacements. I was within their one-year period and enclosed the original packing slip as they require. No response. I e-mailed them in August, 2013 - no response. I have tried to call them on many occasions over the past two months, but their line is always busy.

I would not recommend this company to anyone. Their discounted prices do not make up for their poor quality plants and nonexistent customer service.


On Oct 18, 2013, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Oct 29, 2013 10:19 AM, Burgess Seed responded with:

We are sorry to hear of this customers experience as we do take pride in our customer service. We have many customer care representatives available to help via phone, and we try to answer all emails within 24 hours.

A customer care representative has contacted this customer for further information."


Negative web4web
(1 review)
On Oct 17, 2013, web4web La Crosse, WI wrote:

My wife and I ordered several plants and trees from Burgess Seed. Unfortunately, the plants that were shipped were unhealthy. The survival rate is less than half of the total shipment. Itís just unacceptable. I contacted the company, letting them know of the situation and also letting them know that I had the order receipt but have lost the packing slip. Their answer was less than helpful, telling me only to ďgive it all a chanceĒ and that their plants are shipped in a dormant state. Also they implied that since Iíve lost my packing slip Iím out of luck on that front too. Well these plants are not dormant, theyíre dead. More than half of the total order is dead waste. In effect, that fully doubles the effective cost of the order. Iíve been trying to call them again, only to find that their line is constantly busy now. Dead plants, and so much of their customer service leaves a lot to be desired.


On Oct 17, 2013, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Oct 29, 2013 10:14 AM, Burgess Seed responded with:

We are sorry to hear of this customerís experience as we do take pride in our customer care. We do have both a refund and a replacement guarantee and we stand behind them.

A customer care representative has contacted this customer to see how we may be of assistance.
"


Negative ascorbate
(2 reviews)
On Oct 3, 2013, ascorbate Kingsville, MD wrote:

Same experience as most of the other negative reviews here... twigs (not trees) half their advertised size that arrived dead or near dead which didn't flourish!


On Oct 3, 2013, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Oct 15, 2013 1:30 PM, Burgess Seed responded with:

A customer care representative has contact this customer for further information. We do have a 1 year replacement guarantee on all of our plants and do hope that the customer takes advantage of this guarantee."


Negative ugh1111
(1 review)
On Jul 21, 2013, ugh1111 Moss, TN wrote:

I ordered 3 trees for Fall of 2012. All "twigs" arrived and were planted with care and all of them just rotted in the ground, never budding out. Well, I used the shipping label as directed and received a new batch the next spring (2013). The Mulberry's arrived alive (barely) and I coaxed one into coming out, the other has not died but has never done anything, and the cherry was just bone-dry-dead. I sent them a letter warning that I would complain to the BBB and perhaps their state's Attorney General Office if they sent me another dead cherry. Their response? After weeks of waiting they sent me a completely dead, rotten little twig that It is obvious would be a waste of time to plant. I don't mean dormant, I mean dead dead. Anyway, I am now starting my complaints and warning people away from them. What good is a warranty when you just send one dead tree after another? BTW, I ordered 3 trees from Burnt Ridge Nursery in this same year, all lived and thrived and arrived, you guessed it, alive!


On Jul 21, 2013, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Aug 3, 2013 11:26 AM, Burgess Seed responded with:

Many of our items are shipped bare root and dormant as this allows them to be transplanted with much higher degrees of success. It does not mean they are dead, but since they are dormant, and not leafed out, people unfamiliar with bareroot nursery stock may they mistake them for dead. We suggest soaking in water overnight or for a few hours before planting. Then keep well watered after planting and within 6 weeks of warm weather, the plants should break dormancy and show signs of leaf.

A customer care representative has contacted this customer to see if we may be of assistance
"


Negative gardendude56
(1 review)
On Jul 17, 2013, gardendude56 Ozark, MO wrote:

I spent $ 69.99 on 1-28-13 . I bought 4 blue spruce, 1 redwood tree, 1 climbing rose bush,several butterfly bushes, 3 burning bush 2 Pompass grass and a pack of lettuce seeds. Only 1 blue spruce is alive out of 4, climbing rose is alive, 2 burning bush alive and the seeds grew. Everything else was dead. I did not have the original shipping label that came with the shipment, but had the final receipt and my credit card translation ID proof of purchase, they said that would be good enough, but I had to mail it thru the Postal mail.
I mailed it to them, requesting to replace the redwood tree and 3 blue spruce. They returned my letter and envelope with no explanation. I called them 4 times and they tell me they can only correspond thru
the postal mail. I have sent a fax and tried to send it again a day later and they turned off the fax machine. I have sent several emails, but no response. This has been only 6 months since purchased.
THEY ARE A SCAM, STAY AWAY.


On Jul 17, 2013, Burgess Seed responded with:

"On Aug 3, 2013 11:23 AM, Burgess Seed responded with:

A customer care representative has contacted this customer for further information. We do hope to hear back from the customer as we would like to help resolve this problem.

"


Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | ... 9 Next »


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2015 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America