Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.
ordered about $80 worth of plants from this company. they cashed the check on the 19th of september. i sent them 2 emails asking for the status of the shipment and as of today, oct 23, they havent responded yet. i understand they're closing or selling the company. i hope that they either ship the plants or refund my money.
On October 25th, 2007, virgil_ added the following:
They never e-mailed me back as the company rep said. My name and mailing address were in the follow up e-mail I sent.
On October 25th, 2007, virgil_ added the following:
Additionally, if they don't have my name, how could he claim he filled my order on the 22nd of October?On October 26th, 2007, virgil_ added the following:
the company cashed the check on sep 19. they shipped on the oct 22. they can keep track of the money but not the order? they keep saying they responded to my emails which i never received. i'm not the first one who commented on their lack of customer service, at least 2 other people have complained about this company's inability to respond to e-mails in a timely manner. this could have been easily resolved if they only keep good records and respond to emails. i received the plants yesterday, oct 24. i will not order anymore from this company, nor will i post anymore replies after this. i wish them luck on the sale of their company.On Oct 24, 2007, Shoal Creek Succulents responded with:
On Oct 24, 2007 3:17 PM, Shoal Creek Succulents added:
I responded to all of these emails. Clearly there is a problem with him being able to receive them. In addition, the content of our first two replies was basically 'what is your name?' as he had not given us any info with which to look up his order, not even a name. At any rate, his order was filled and shipped 10-22
On Oct 25, 2007 9:13 AM, Shoal Creek Succulents added:
I won't get sucked into petty argumentation here. We did originally look for his order under the name virgil, which was the only info we had. Nothing came up in the records, so we assumed he either used a different name when ordering or some similar situation (which happens fairly regularly). At that time we responded to his email requesting clarification, and then again after his second email. We discovered his order when we got to packing the orders we received by mail. Had the customer simply sent a mail saying "I sent you an order via mail, my name is virgil *****, what is the status of my order?", there wouldn't have been a problem. Although, given that he never received any of our responses anyway, perhaps even that wouldn't have helped."
Beware -- these folks should be run out of business.
I placed a nearly $50 order from this company on Dec. 1, 2004 and paid immediately via credit card, receiving an automated response that my payment had been processed. I emailed on Dec. 11th to inquire about when my order would be shipped, explaining that I would be out of town from 12/20 - 1/4 and wished to receive my order before then so the plants would not freeze on my doorstep. I received a response from Ryan McNew that the plants would be shipped on 12/14. When I did not receive them by 12/20, I arranged for a neighbor to check my doorstep daily. Still no plants upon my return on 1/4. I again emailed on 1/5. No response. I sent yet another email on 1/12 asking them to either ship the plants or issue a refund, and I have still heard nothing from these folks! I've tried calling -- no response. These folks have had my full payment now for 51 days, over seven weeks, and I cannot even get the courtesy of a response from them! Because it seems clear to me now that they have absolutely no intention of either sending me the plants or issuing me a refund, I am pursuing a back charge with my credit card company (Thank God I didn't use a debit card). It angers me greatly to spend my time dealing with what amounts to thievery on behalf of this company. They don't deserve your business.
On Jan 20, 2005, Shoal Creek Succulents responded with:
"This was a mistake on our part and has been dealt with. We were out of town and closed for much of the period in question. SCS - Jan 22nd"
I am not impressed with this company. The plants are good, but the "service" is terrible. I placed an order in early December. My credit card was charged on the spot (never a good sign), for the full amount of the order. I feel better about companies when they charge upon shipping. Anyway, one plant was out of stock so they sent me a credit voucher towards a future purchase (not a good policy either). Another plant was missing, even though I was charged for it. The plants that did arrive were of good quality. I emailed them informing them of the problem and offering to place a second order (that I would pay the shipping for and apply the credit voucher towards), asking them only to include the missing plant from the first order. Got no response. Emailed them again a few weeks later (late last week). No response to date. Mind you, we are talking of only a few bucks here, but I will never order from them again, and urge you to be vey wary. There are much better sources for cacti and succulents (e.g., Miles to Go, Living Stones and Mesa Garden).
On January 26th, 2005, gowron changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
On Jan 23 I received a short acknowldegemenet of my complaint and a refund for the missing plant was posted to my credit card that same day. There was NO indication when I ordered that the nursery would be closed over the Holidays. When I sent my first email to them I received an automated response that they would be closed until Jan 10. My second email was after Jan 10. They did not respond until Jan 23 (perhaps after looking at this site?). I am changing my rating to "neutral" because they did respond, but I am not satisfied enough with their service to warrant a "positive".On October 24th, 2007, gowron changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
These clowns sold the nursery in the minutes that went between adding items to my cart and going to the checkout - I was not able to submit an order that I had spent quite a bit of time adding to. I'm not unhappy to see them out of business - hopefully the new owners will be more professional.On October 26th, 2007, gowron added the following:
The way to proceed:
1. Agree with the buyers on a time when the transaction becomes effective.
2. Stipulate in the contract that the final price for the nursery will be adjusted according to the inventory at the time agreed upon in point 1.
3. Put a large announcement on the website stating that orders will be taken and filled only until the time designated in point 1.
The time can be as short as a day or two after you reached an agreement with the buyer - the crucial thing is to treat your customers with respect, and not as an afterthought.On Jan 18, 2005, Shoal Creek Succulents responded with:
"Again, we were closed for the period in question, so email could not be returned. This was prominently noted in the shopping cart of the website, and also as a auto-reply on our email. I'm not sure what the reference to a credit voucher is, as we only use these for orders which have been paid by check (unless it refers to a voucher over a year old when we still used them). Our normal policy is now to issue a credit card refund for items which are out of stock. This streamlines order fulfillment. SCS- jan 22nd.
On Oct 25, 2007 9:21 AM, Shoal Creek Succulents added:
Obviously, once we sold the business it would have been unethical and dishonest to continue accepting orders, so we disabled the shopping cart. I do apologize if this was an inconvenience for you. Would you have done something different? And would it have been ethical?
On Oct 26, 2007 11:34 AM, Shoal Creek Succulents added:
Yes, All of this was done as you explain. The only difference was that we stopped the sale and shut down the website as of the time of the agreement to sell the business. We pointed out that this would happen in the email you received when we started the 20% off sale, so there was an announcement of the situation. This action was necessary due to the incredibly high volume of sales we were experiencing at the time. Had we not done so, or had we waited a few days as you suggest, there literally might not have been a business left to sell. Again, I do apologize your order didn't make it in. I disabled the website late at night specifically so this wouldn't be an issue for anyone, and I'm sure the new owners will be happy to fill it once they re-open. If you have not logged out of the website or deleted your cookies, your order should show in the shopping cart once they reopen."