Photo by Melody

Comments regarding High Country Gardens

Click here to return to High Country Gardens's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
489 positives
46 neutrals
72 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | ... 16 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive COgardener2675
(6 reviews)
On Jun 1, 2011, COgardener2675 Fort Collins, CO wrote:

Beautiful packaging. Plants arrive safely cocooned. Love the plants in the premium containers. The root systems are twice the size of regular containers. Very healthy plants. Love their on-line sales and catalog filled with tips.

Positive sagebird
(4 reviews)
On May 19, 2011, sagebird Laramie, WY wrote:

Very well packed, healthy good plants.
Good experience

Positive plympton
(11 reviews)
On May 17, 2011, plympton Plympton, MA wrote:

Posted on May 12, 2011, updated May 17, 2011
Although my communications and shipping "experience" shopping with HCG was positive---no problems there---for me, it's all about the plants. What I received was "almost" what I expect from a reputable mail-order source---well rooted young plants with healthy foliage.

With a little TLC, hopefully these plants will recover and go on to become robust, healthy plants. Hence, my "neutral" rating---the plant material could have been better.




On May 17th, 2011, plympton changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

Well---after planting the penstemon and gaura I purchased from HCG, I was so impressed with the abundance of roots in the premium containers that I thought I'd come back and upgrade my rating from a "neutral" to a "positive". I see that a company rep has beat me to it and has provided a good explanation for what I received :-)

The day I received my order from HCG, I also received two other orders---one from a Top 30 company and one from one that should be. Of the three orders, one had small plants with no roots---they were barely rooted cuttings in an oversized pot, the second, the plants from HCG in the condition as described above and the third were large, robust plants in excellent condition from another nursery.

As I evaluated them, I naturally felt a "negative" for the one order with small plants/no roots and a resounding "positive" for the order with the large plants. That left me with a "neutral" for the HCG order. However, upon planting them out, I found the root structure to be so well developed that I felt obliged to come back and upgrade my review.

On May 17, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 13, 2011 3:59 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We put great effort into growing plants that transplant well and take off in your garden. We are in zone 5, (it was -20degrees in February) and we grow our plants cold without a lot of heat so they are strong and flourish in your garden. The amount of leaves and stems on spring grown perennials is not a determining factor of plant quality, itís the crown and roots that make a great perennial. Please note: many western native plants begin waking up much later than common perennials.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387


On May 19, 2011 2:32 PM, High Country Gardens added:

Howdy, plympton! Thanks so much for your diligent feedback. Because we know there may be other customers out there who are a little surprised by the lack of showiness in their plants when they arrive in our High Country Gardens boxes, we thought we'd take the chance to build on your experience and comments and put together this short video explaining the different growing habits of various plants. Hopefully this will give customers the encouragement they need to give plants that look a little anemic upon arrival the chance to impress and wow them, just as you did.

Please view the short video here: http://www.youtube.com/user/hcgvid#p/u/6/siwrSC20cEU

Sincerely,
Blake Driver
Public Relations/Marketing Specialist
Santa Fe Greenhouses, Inc.
Home of High Country Gardens
bdriver@highcountrygardens.com"


Neutral Get_growing
(8 reviews)
On May 16, 2011, Get_growing Dallas, TX wrote:

Ditto the comments from others regarding plant size and - I hate to say it - health of the plants. The plants I received about 6 weeks ago are still struggling to get established, and I fear I may lose a couple of them. I'll probably be able to check on the refund/replacement guarantee and will update if that happens. That said, they are certainly not the smallest or weakest plants I've ever received from a mail order nursery.

On the positive side, prices at HCG are some of the best. They offer many unusual, hard-to-find things. Especially love their focus on xeric and natives, something other nurseries should offer...considering the state of our planet. Will update status of plants in a couple of weeks.

Neutral ruesoleil52
(1 review)
On May 12, 2011, ruesoleil52 Salem, OR wrote:

I was generally satisfied with the processing of my on-line order with High Country Gardens a few weeks back - and they were prompt in the shipment of the order. My one complaint though (and I'd read this complaint from other customers) is the puny size and condition of the plants. It appears as if HCG is trying to maximize profits by minimizing plant size. One week after this shipment, I placed an order with Digging Dog Nursery in N. California for similar plants and pricing, and received plants that were easily twice the size of those from High Country Gardens.


On May 12, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 13, 2011 4:00 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We put great effort into growing plants that transplant well and take off in your garden. We are in zone 5, (it was -20degrees in February) and we grow our plants cold without a lot of heat so they are strong and flourish in your garden. The amount of leaves and stems on spring grown perennials is not a determining factor of plant quality, itís the crown and roots that make a great perennial. Please note: many western native plants begin waking up much later than common perennials.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Negative jsrider
(1 review)
On May 9, 2011, jsrider Cambridge, MA wrote:

I placed an order Friday morning. I paid extra for 2 day delivery. Day 1 = Saturday, Day 2 = Monday. I called today and found out that the store didn't receive the order until Saturday (even though the store is the website) and didn't send it out for delivery until today. So my 2 day delivery now becomes a 5 day delivery.

Explain this better so that people don't have an expectation of better service. It is unacceptable that an order isn't immediately forwarded to be filled after being placed online.


On May 9, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 9, 2011 4:04 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Thank you for placing your order. 2nd day means your plants are in transit two days. We received your order Friday, shipped out the very next business day which is Monday. UPS does not pick up or ship on weekends so we keep your plants fresh in our greenhouse rather than sit in a box over the weekend. All handled on schedule as we promised and your order will arrive Wednesday. Shipping information is available on our site under How we ship. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Negative Bastgatto
(1 review)
On May 8, 2011, Bastgatto Carrollton, GA wrote:

I have been eyeing this companies beautiful catalogs for years now. This year I took the plunge and ordere myself something. I was SO excited. I ordered a Desert Willow. When it arrived it was broken in two. I did not see any evidence of postal mishandeling. I used the companies website to get a credit for this plant. I bought a replacement at a local plant sale for the Desert Willow. When I went to use the credit, I find that I can not get anything in the catalog or online for a credit of 9.99 due to the high shipping charges. I realize the company states this in their gaurantee but I was just so dissapointed :-(


On May 8, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 9, 2011 11:37 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

What customers most like about our company is how easy it is to work with customer service on replacements and refund. Online crdits are used for customers that order frequently and just want to try another plant on their next order. We cheerfully replace or refund any plant damaged in shipping. Please call or e-mail me personally 800-925-9387 or vperalta@highcountrygardens.com.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens"


Positive Astrogarden
(2 reviews)
On May 1, 2011, Astrogarden Bend, OR (Zone 5a) wrote:

I was reluctant to order a second time as I had ordered some plants a couple years ago and every one died. Since they have such a good selection of Hyssop and also Munro's Mallow which grows great here (semi-native), I gave them one more try. Plants were great and all are now in larger pots in our greenhouse awaiting warmer weather for transplant. Most have doubled in size since we got them!

I would suggest ordering in spring as the first time was in summer and I suspect I got leftovers.

Positive agastachegrl
(5 reviews)
On Apr 30, 2011, agastachegrl Eden Prairie, MN wrote:

Posted on June 4, 2007, updated April 30, 2011
Love this company! This is about the fifth order I've placed and the plants are always beautifully packaged. The plants all flowered the first season and are very healthy and gorgeous. I live in a colder zone, but bring them in to over winter. Agastache plants are phenomenal, many hummingbirds and butterflies. Thank you High Country Gardens, I am definately a fan!


On April 30th, 2011, agastachegrl added the following:

Again I am DELIGHTED @ the quality of the
plants I just received! Very healthy & well packaged!
Zone 3-4 here in MN & haven't lost a High Country
Garden plant yet & it's been prob. 7 years of orders
from them. Shipping costs are still reasonable
and choices are great for any zone! Thank you
High Country Gardens, you are my fave!!
Positive ksjamison
(7 reviews)
On Apr 28, 2011, ksjamison Wilmington, DE wrote:

Love the informative website and kniphofia which arrived in great condition.

Negative flyingchange
(1 review)
On Apr 26, 2011, flyingchange Missoula, MT (Zone 4b) wrote:

I first placed my order with a requested ship date of the week of October 12, because I was going to be out of town the week before. My shrubs arrived at my door on October 8th. The shurb combo I ordered was listed as hardy to zone 4, which is where I live. One of the shrubs didn't make it through that first winter, and when I contacted them about an alternative, they refused to help because it had been more than a year. The shrub that died is only hardy to zone 5, even though they listed the combo as zone 4, and their web site STILL contains this incorrect info. Despite this error on THEIR part, they refuse to help. Must be nice to have enough customers that you can afford to lose one over an $8 plant.


On Apr 26, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Apr 27, 2011 9:37 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We guarantee that you will receive healthy, vigorous plants that transplant successfully and prosper. Within one year from shipment. If there is any questions or concerns we encourage our customers to contact us immediately.

I would be glad to get you a replacement for the one that didn't make it For your privacy Garden Watchdog does not forward your name or address information. Please contact me and I will personally make sure we select a shrub appropriate for your area.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive Hindernone
(4 reviews)
On Apr 22, 2011, Hindernone Broadway, NC (Zone 7b) wrote:

I received my first ever order from HCG two days ago. Impressive! Ordering was a breeze online, tracking was very easy and with 2nd day air shipping, the plants arrived with perfect timing. All the plants were healthy and very nice sizes for the prices. (agastache, kniphofia, liatris, lonicera, and sedum) Will be planting today and tomorrow... hopefully I can keep them living east of the Mississippi.

Positive k2cedarcity
(3 reviews)
On Apr 16, 2011, k2cedarcity Dayton, NV (Zone 5b) wrote:

My 1st order with HCG and I am extremely impressed with the entire ordering process at HCG. I was able to track my order, it arrived on time, all plant were well packed, great size, very healthy. I found the prices to be very, very, good. I live in high desert country (northern NV) and am delighted to find a company that fits my gardening needs. I will definitely be ordering from High Country Gardens again.







Positive Floridatampa
(1 review)
On Apr 7, 2011, Floridatampa Tampa, FL wrote:

This is the first time I ordered plants from HCG. I am thrilled with the product, the packing, the shipping, and the personel.
My plants are beautiful, healthly, perfect for my yard!
Thank you HCG!

Positive Blueblaze
(1 review)
On Apr 2, 2011, Blueblaze Pittsburgh, PA wrote:

Over the weekend, ordered several composting materials to aid my clay "foundation" dirt. All were received in very good order on Thursday and Saturday!
Very pleased with High Country Gardens ordering and shipping process.

Positive hairyjo
(19 reviews)
On Mar 27, 2011, hairyjo Danville, CA wrote:

I ordered two plants from them this year. One clematis and one linum. They look very healthy. They shipped when I asked them to ship. I would definitely order from this company again.

Positive Barreosunny
(1 review)
On Mar 25, 2011, Barreosunny Bernalillo, NM wrote:

High Country Gardens and Santa Fe Greens houses has been my wife and my number one place to shop and get the BEST gardening and lawn advice for over fifteen years.

Positive moosewood
(5 reviews)
On Mar 21, 2011, moosewood Dewitt, MI (Zone 5a) wrote:

The plants, etc. herein were lost in a divorce**, but as you will see, this expierience is still well worth the mention:

First: I live in a Zone 5 area. Winters are unkind "here", as is my Ex's** heart.

By 2002 or so, I had received a HGC catalog, and lusted after those beautiful and unique cacti and succulents. However, a lot of their palnts are marginal Zone 5 (might as well just say Zone 6!), or simply must must must be kept Winter-dry, to survive here.

O.K.:
My old house** had a wet basement. In 2002, I had a contractor come thru & waterproof it; one step of which was to trench down to the bottom of the foundation. The trench itself was 18" wide, and about 4 feet deep. The old drains were replaced, the trench backfilled with peastone.

As you likely know: Peastone = "perfect drainage".

Still hot for the cacti, and not wanting to waste the space (about 15 feet along a South-facing wall);
I decided to build a sort of Zone 6/alpine house over the trench.
I consructed a raised bed from landscape timbers, roughly 15 ft. long, 3 feet in width from house wall to bed-front, and 8" deep. I spiked the bed to the asphalt driveway.

I lined it with black gardening fabric, and filled it with a mix of ;
composted manure,
a good garden soil,
sharp sand,
crushed (pea-sized) stone,
smooth pea-stone,
chick grit (aka. "Stoneymo Granite)
a granular material (the name's escaped me) used to areate and loosten clay soils. There was no clay in the soil mix, this stuff was another dry-drainage item, plus it was red-orange and added color to the mix.
For more color, I threw in some crushed (sledge-hammered) red and black lava.

The whole bed was built it in front of 2 basically under-insulated basement windows.
Next came a 'hoop" or "frame" of a good, stiff, springy fence wire, strong enough to support a snow load.
I hooked one edge of the fencing under the house siding, the other edge flexed behind the back edge of the bed.
I used 3 or four pieces of thick, clear plastic sheeting, (the flexible kind, not the one that cracks if bent!) overlapping them by a couple inches, again the plastic went over the fencing, under the siding, and in back of the timbers, then roughly "sealed" each end with pieces of styrofoam;
und dot vas dot!
Oh, boy it was pretty !

I ordered 15 or so Xerics from HGC, mostly the cactus, Rabias, Titanopsis, a small Agave, etc., etc, .

What they show you in their catalog, about how their items are packed, is exactly what you will get!

That package from HCG was a real WOW!!! moment.
The plants were beautiful, healthy, and none were damaged.

HGC's service was as good as anyone's...they are on an "Elite Nursery" list.
Please do order from HGC, you will not be disappointed.

As for the ultimate fate of the raised bed:
I planted HGC's items, making sure to place extra chick grit around their collars, to wick away moisture.
I was surprised to find that the damp basement air leaking thru the windows and into the little greenhouse provided all the water the Xeric plants needed.
Everything overwintered spectacularly, and was beautiful in Spring of 2003 and again in 2004.
Even a Hebe and an Ephedra I got from a local grower.
Note:
(2004** divorce final, ** kept the house), I haven't the heart to go back & see if Ol' Roundup Thumbs** has trashed that lovely bed or not.

Positive agroff
(6 reviews)
On Mar 20, 2011, agroff Camp Hill, PA wrote:

HCG offers an excellent selection of rare plants and has a beautiful catalog. All plants arrived quickly and in excellent condition. Packaging was good and all plants were well-rooted and a nice size. The perennial pots were shipped with a tiny bag around each pot, loosely rubber-banded at the top to keep the soil in, and made the long trip to PA in nice shape. I will order from them again. Thanks!

Positive cecrophia
(2 reviews)
On Mar 16, 2011, cecrophia Casper, WY wrote:

I have bought several hundred dollars-worth of plants from HCG over the years. Some have done spectacularly well, others have been just as spectacular failures. I think the key to success with their plants is to understand that they are for western cultural conditions and some will not do well in soils that are, for instance, heavily augmented with compost. Gardeners here in central Wyoming have to practically re-invent our soils in order to get much of anything to grow, and yet some of the plants from HCG like our soil and will disappoint in kinder conditions. I am making a guess at this point to say that probably half of what I have bought from HCG has thrived and half have failed utterly. I blame three things--I am in a rural area with much harser conditions than in town, I am still a rank amateur after gardening all of my life, and because of that, I chose the wrong varieties for my location. I haven't shopped with HCG for a few years so I could allow some festuca to mature and give me a better idea what else to plant in a natives bed, but I did just place an order for some penstemon pinafolius and rhus aromatica--fairly foolproof plants. I anticipate success. If you order from them, ask questions about cultural requirements and research the varieties you want to try really well before spending the money. Their plants come in great packaging and they get up and running pretty quickly, that is if you've made the right choice. All-in-all they are a great resource for western gardeners.

Positive hummengberd
(1 review)
On Mar 11, 2011, hummengberd San Bernardino, CA wrote:

I first heard about HCG from a Hummingbird group on Facebook. It received very high recommendations, so I decided to give them a try. I just received my first order last night and followed their directions for the plants' immediate care. I ordered 11 plants, and every single one was healthy and well packed. I was amazed really as I've never ordered plants online before. I have to say they're all out on the deck now, enjoying some morning sun; to me, they look like they're spreading their little leaves and enjoying their freedom from the packing box. Thank you, HCG. . . I'll definitely be ordering from you again (and soon).

Positive smarkham
(12 reviews)
On Mar 10, 2011, smarkham Adams Run, SC wrote:

I had never heard of this company before until I recieved their catalog in the mail.They had a good rating so I gave them a try. I was very satisfied with my order. The plants were very well packed and arrived healthy. I was happy with the size of the plants and they all had a healthy root system. Their customer service is also outstanding. I would definately order from them again.

Positive CurtisGans
(1 review)
On Mar 10, 2011, CurtisGans Lovettsville, VA wrote:

Order done easily, processed easily and delivered when HCG said it would be. Only problem is that the non-working hour phone support has no one knowledgeable about plants and their care. So had to call again and e-mail. But once I did do the second, response was quick and thoughtful;


On Mar 10, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Mar 10, 2011 3:18 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We appreciate your feedback. We have a 24 hour order line that handles orders and catalog requests. Customer service is available M-F 9am-5pm MT. We strive to respond to all customer correspondence as promptly as possible. Please contact me with any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Negative EagleLady2
(1 review)
On Mar 9, 2011, EagleLady2 Alamogordo, NM wrote:

I have been a catalog & store customer for over 10 years, unfortunately my most recent experience was negative. It is not about the quality of their plants, but their lack of customer service. I needed to adjust my plant order, and I never got a call back from the customer line; always received a voice message & never a person; plus never received the follow-up e-mail that even gave me my order number. I finally e-mailed them and hope someone will respond or at least acknowledge the change to my order.


On Mar 9, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Mar 9, 2011 4:56 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I am sorry to hear you were having trouble contacting us. We have checked our call logs and could not locate any messages from you by phone. We did respond to your email within an hour of the time it was sent. You may want to check your spam folder for order emails which are sent from admin@highcountrygardens.com and plants@highcountrygardens.com. Please contact me if I can be of any assistance now or in the future.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive ladypamelamary
(1 review)
On Mar 8, 2011, ladypamelamary Philadelphia
United States wrote:

I have the Hummingbird Garden at the Horticultural Center in Philadelphia, and I have ordered from High Country Gardens for the last four years. Their plant material has always arrived healthy, vibrant, and packed with care. I have found their customer service to be outstanding. Also, I have never lost a plant from them, and many of the plants have exceeded my expectations for growth in one season.

Positive ereeder27
(2 reviews)
On Feb 4, 2011, ereeder27 Sacramento, CA wrote:

Love this nursery! I have ordered from them for years and have always been happy with the customer service, and the plants. I live in Northern California and have several xeric beds that look fantastic thanks to HCG.

Neutral jpgreen
(5 reviews)
On Feb 4, 2011, jpgreen Roswell, NM (Zone 7a) wrote:

They seem a bit expensive but plants have always arrived in excellent health, done as good or better than advertised, and they have the best packing system i've seen yet


On Feb 4, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Feb 4, 2011 4:52 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Thank you for complementing our plants and packaging. Here at High Country Gardens we grow the majority of our plants in our specially designed 5" deep premium pots. We focus on developing hardy, healthy plants that we care for till the right shipping time for your area. We appreciate you recognizing the extra care we take in developing and shipping our plants.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
plants@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive Silverdare
(3 reviews)
On Jan 31, 2011, Silverdare Cincinnati, OH wrote:

Last year, I ordered a number of plants, many in premium (5") pots, from High Country Gardens. While the plants appeared small, their root systems were very well developed, and they took off like a house afire. By mid-summer, they were a riot of color and texture, a lovely sight indeed. Many were planted in the front yard, and I got so many compliments from neighbors and passersby. I could not be more pleased and have just ordered some more for spring delivery, to be planted in the "inferno strip" between sidewalk and curb next to my store. Thank you, High country Gardens!


On Jan 31, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Feb 4, 2011 4:51 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We appreciate you for your feedback. High Country Gardens specially designed the 5" deep containers used in shipping the majority of the plants we grow. These premium pots are the depth of a #1 Gallon and with their well developed root systems are ready for planting in your garden upon arrival. If you are able to we would love to see pictures! You can email them to vperalta@highcountrygardens.com or post on our Facebook pagehttp://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/hcg4fans for all to enjoy!

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
plants@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive billyet
(2 reviews)
On Jan 16, 2011, billyet Portland, OR (Zone 8a) wrote:

Very prompt service, they were cooperative and helpfully agreed to send part of my order right away and the rest in the spring; there was 1 mistake and they replaced the bulb immediately & let me keep the mis-sent one as well.

Negative Jonus
(1 review)
On Nov 19, 2010, Jonus Corinth, TX wrote:

Posted on November 19, 2010, updated November 19, 2010
Posted on November 17, 2010, updated November 19, 2010
High Country Gardens sent an invoice with a statement that my items would ship the week of November 11 and arrive within 2-3 business days. Nothing has arrived and it is already November 17. Considering they're located in New Mexico, this shouldn't be a difficult transaction to accomplish. After viewing these other negative comments, I now dread opening the box should it ever arrive!


On November 19th, 2010, Jonus added the following:

I received the High Country Garden Scilla bulbs yesterday (11-18-2010) and carefully removed and inspected them, separating the bulbs according to their condition.

The Scilla bulbs were shipped in a new brown bag that had two rows of 3 holes on both sides of the paper bag, located 4 inches above the base of the paper bag. It looks like double row paper punch device was used. The bag was double folded at the top and secured with two staples. The bag was folded over inside of the box with pamphlets located on top of the brown bag. By the condition of the brown bag, it appears that an attendant collected the individual bulbs and placed them recently into that bag, just prior to shipment. The attendant either did not inspect or had limited selection left to provide to this customer.

Of the 50 bulbs shipped, 3 have visible disease (bluish green mold on two, the other botrytis), 16 are dried out with noticeable soft spots. Of the thirty-two remaining bulbs, 11 are marginal with dings in them. That leaves 21 healthy looking bulbs, 42% of the 50 ordered.


On November 19th, 2010, Jonus added the following:

You may attempt to negate this feedback, Victoria, or improve your standards to match other companies' high standards. This was the first time in all of my experiences with mail order garden companies, that I have written any comment on the internet. Other internet companies have set my expectations by providing detailed invoices, prompt service and quality items. You need to improve.
On Nov 19, 2010, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Nov 17, 2010 12:00 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

This customer contacted HCG Customer Service with concern of the order only after posting a negative.

We received this in our system on Friday November 12th. We do not ship during the weekend nor does UPS pick up or deliver. This order shipped early this week with a delivery date of tomorrow November 18th. This order was placed with standard delivery and shipped within two business days of receipt.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387


On Nov 19, 2010 2:45 PM, High Country Gardens added:

We shipped within 2 business days, arrival was 48 hours later and we immediately responded to any concerns about this order. Our bulbs are in excellent shape when shipped and ready to plant. Due to customers concern another bag has been shipped. We are dedicated to our customers and stand behind our products.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Neutral Surfer7
(2 reviews)
On Oct 29, 2010, Surfer7 (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered three plants from High Country Gardens this fall. They arrived in OK shape. They looked somewhat healthy but they were dry and on the smaller side compared to plants I had ordered from other companies for around the same price. The package they arrived in wasn't the best. Dry dirt was all over the inside of the box and there was hardly any dirt left surrounding the plant. The plants are doing well in the ground, but the reason I chose neutral was because of the way that the plants were packaged. I will consider ordering from this company again because my plants are doing well since being planted, but they should consider a more efficient way of packaging them.


On Oct 29, 2010, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Oct 29, 2010 1:18 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. This is very helpful information for our shipping department. I have sent this information to our shipping supervisor for quality control on packing. Please contact me so we can further investigate what may have occurred. I am glad to hear the plants are thriving and hope you will continue to let us serve you.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive kacton
(7 reviews)
On Oct 25, 2010, kacton Hasbrouck Heights, NJ wrote:

I love High Country Gardens. Their website is informative, I love that they show pictures of the plants that give perspective of how they will look planted. I do not live in the high country, I live in New Jersey but I order plants often from HCG and they are always alive and shipped safely. Overall a great website and solid plants.

Positive BlossumGirl
(3 reviews)
On Oct 22, 2010, BlossumGirl Arroyo Hondo, NM wrote:

I haved placed several orders with High Country Gardens Catalog and received high quality/ healthy plants. I have also purchased plants/shrubs/soil products at Santa Fe Greenhouse.

Customer service has been quite helpful in answering any and all questions regarding planting, pruning. etc.

Thank you HCG for quality gardening plants and products.

Hats off to all at HCG ~~~~

BlossumGirl

Positive dorothy128
(1 review)
On Oct 8, 2010, dorothy128 Visalia, CA (Zone 8b) wrote:

Excellent Customer Service! When I didn't receive the last part of my order, my e-mail inquiry was answered in less time it took me to write the inquiry. At first I was told the ordered had been delivered, which I assured them it had not. Further correspondence uncovered a problem with the drop shippers and the order would be shipped the following week. This was a problem for me since I am leaving on vacation. They agreed to delay shipment for a week, which will be absolutely perfect. Superior response time to my inquiries. All was resolved by e-mail in less than 45 minutes. I couldn't be happier with the resolution and the customer service.

Neutral soraya
(1 review)
On Sep 25, 2010, soraya Richardson, TX wrote:

Ordered 6 plants in the late spring to try out this company. I was surprised when they arrived that the plants were so small. The roots and stems were only about inch long on either end. All but 2 died. Called about a replacement and was told that shipping had stopped for the season and they would send out in September - so much for flowers this summer.Replaced 3 with something different as I hoped to have better luck and originals were no longer available. These were a nice size when they arrived - about 6 inches. If the original shipment had been the same size they might have survived I think. Was surprised that I only received 2 of the 3 replacements and was told they were a slightly different price so they only sent 2 plants. the 4th plant to be replaced would come the following week. Enquired about adding to that shipment to fill in the empty spot in my yard. Did not respond to email when asked about the small credit left on my account. Bottom line - replaced plants seem to be OK as they were bigger - not just 1 inch roots in a 5 inch pot.. Would I order from them again? Not if I can get the plants elsewhere.


On Sep 25, 2010, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Oct 1, 2010 8:44 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I am sorry to hear your first shipment of plants was not the usual quality of High Country Gardens. I am glad the replacements were nice and healthy. We do not ship plants late in the heat of the summer (June-mid August) which may have been one reason we could not ship to you immediately.

Our customer service is dedicated to responding to emails within 4 hours. I apologize if you did not receive a response. I know some of our responses have ended up in the spam or junk files. To prevent this from happening you may want to add us as a friend or known email. I would be glad to assist you if you want to contact me. I hope to be of future service to you!

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive gardenchik
(3 reviews)
On Sep 24, 2010, gardenchik Robbinsville, NJ (Zone 6b) wrote:

I received my very first order from HCG today. The plants were packaged perfectly. All 17 plants (3 varieties) look healthy and are a good size. I will order from this company again come spring. I would order more now for fall planting, but I'm already beat-up from the hot summer. I'm ready to just take it easy and dream of next spring. Thanks HCG!

Positive kat81002
(3 reviews)
On Sep 15, 2010, kat81002 denver
United States wrote:

great products i love them, i just want to say thank you guys.

Positive reader76
(2 reviews)
On Sep 8, 2010, reader76 Rochester, MN wrote:


vshade - Rochester, MN

Again I am very satisfied with my last plant order from HCG.
The plants arrived healthy and ready to plant. I will continue to order frfom this company.

Positive SeasonedWarrior
(1 review)
On Sep 6, 2010, SeasonedWarrior Fort Bragg, CA wrote:

Fast and excellent shipping. Great customer service even long after the transaction was completed

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | ... 16 Next »


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2015 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America