Photo by Melody

Comments regarding High Country Gardens

Click here to return to High Country Gardens's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
499 positives
46 neutrals
75 negatives


« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | ... 16 Next »

Negative phdler
(22 reviews)
On Jul 25, 2011, phdler Homer, NY wrote:

Posted on July 14, 2010, updated July 25, 2011
We've been ordering from HCG for several years and were never disappointed until this year. Very sloppy packing caused many plants to arrive without dirt or labels. They were very good about replacing or crediting all of the ones that did not make it (which is why this is not a negative rating), and those were packed properly, but the overall quality of most their plants (including many of the replacements) is not as good as it has been in the past. Very disappointed. Maybe they've gotten too big or made some poor hiring decisions? Hope they get their act together soon. We miss the old HCG.

On July 25th, 2011, phdler changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

Last year HCG was very good about replacing plants so I changed my original negative to a neutral and decided to give them another chance this spring.

BIG mistake.

The plants were well packed but arrived in very poor condition and one was very small and yellowed. We planted them carefully, hoping they would pick up -- some were planted with the same plant ordered from elsewhere. ALL of the HCG plants from this year have died while the same ones from elsewhere are thriving. In addition, four of their plants from last year did not survive. I will no longer order plants from HCG as I am far happier with my other sources.
On Jul 25, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Jul 14, 2010 2:01 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We are glad you have already contacted customer service and have processed your claim. We appreciate your feedback and are looking into some of the process changes that took place this season. Most of our growing shipping crew has been with the company for multiple years and we take the same care as in the past. We strive to continue to be the leaders in plant quality, shipping and handling and offer the best customer service. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, comments or suggestions.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

On Jul 26, 2011 10:24 AM, High Country Gardens added:

Many of the plants High Country Gardens carries are for arid (dry) conditions. We mark these plants for folks in rainy areas so if they purchase them they do not plant them in the same beds as moisture loving plants. High Country Gardens does have plant specialists available to assist with any questions or concerns. We welcome the opportunity to speak with you, as there are a few things that could have caused the yellowing of plants and we would like to explore some solutions with you.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

Neutral stanlesmith
(12 reviews)
On Jul 21, 2011, stanlesmith Plover, WI wrote:

Posted on August 26, 2010, updated July 21, 2011
I placed my first order with HCG this past Spring, all plants arrived looking healthy. After planting everything still looked good, however, 1 plant did not make it. I e-mailed HCG for a replacement, they said it was just past their summer shipping deadline, they would replace it in the Fall, or add it to my next order. I asked for the plant to be replaced in the Fall. I didn't intend to order from them until next Spring, I wanted to see how everything came through the Winter. However, the Fall catalog came, and know how that goes...
Anyway, the replacement came today, looks great, and I'm anxious to see how all the plants fare this winter. I hope they do well, I had a great experience with HCG, and if all goes well with the plants, I WILL be ordering from them again.

On July 21st, 2011, stanlesmith changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

Although I still think highly of HCG, I would not recommend them for zone4 and colder. Some of the plants I ordered came back, but not enough to warrent ordering more. Living in WI; I knew it was a crapshoot...sigh...
Positive emuehlbauer
(2 reviews)
On Jul 20, 2011, emuehlbauer Rego Park, NY wrote:

Just got an order of 4 plants, a combination of agave's and yucca's. They came in 3 separate packages, and were all very healthy and large.

Positive kypat99
(3 reviews)
On Jun 29, 2011, kypat99 Moline, IL wrote:

Ordered a variety of plants. All were well rooted. All have grown well. In fact, they are doing better than the ones I bought locally. I am already planning to order more in the fall.

Negative joefalkner
(4 reviews)
On Jun 24, 2011, joefalkner Gisela, AZ wrote:

I am sorry to say it, but the refund process is so difficult with this company that even though I have used them for several years, I no longer will.

I sent in two orders and they got one entirely wrong. I complained about it but they said they had sent the right plants. They were not in good condition and finally died. However the refund process requires so much information, and you can't put but 2 plants on a page that it is very cumbersome.

If they can make some changes to their process I'd be glad to use them again because they specialize in the type of plants I need. My yard is full of them, but I no longer can recommend the company.

On Jun 24, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Jun 24, 2011 3:45 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We appreciate your feedback. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and will work to improve the online claim process in the near future. I see you did contact us for your claim and that it was processed today. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or additional feedback.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

On Jun 30, 2011 3:28 PM, High Country Gardens added:

Customer Service and exceptional plant quality is what we strive for each and every day. Here at High Country Gardens we have taken your concern to heart in regards to the online claim form and have been working hard at making improvements. We hope you take a moment to see the improvements: If you find these changes satisfactory enough to update your post, it would be greatly appreciated. We look forward to your serving you in the future!

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

Positive rosefinch
(1 review)
On Jun 20, 2011, rosefinch wrote:

My three orders were shipped complete in a timely fashion with all the plants arriving in good health without substitutions. Plants of interest but out of stock, are noted on their web site.

Positive Marilynbeth
(33 reviews)
On Jun 19, 2011, Marilynbeth wrote:

Posted on March 30, 2006, updated June 19, 2011
I love High Country Gardens; their plants, website and service! I received my first order Spring 2005 and everyone of the 8 plants were very healthy, nice and packed well. All the plants grew well and all but 1 (Penstemon pinifolius) bloomed last summer, and I'm sure I'll be seeing blooms on it this summer. I bought Salvias, Agastaches, a Penstemon, a Stachys and a Lavender. I already have another order coming soon and it won't be my last. Highly recommended!

On May 12th, 2006, Marilynbeth added the following:

I recieved my plants yesterday and they look great, if fact one of them (Agastache Orange Flare) was blooming in the box! I was able to get 4 of the 6 planted yesterday in a break from all the rainy days we are getting. Really nice healthy looking plants!

A great company to order from!
On March 13th, 2007, Marilynbeth added the following:

I've received 6 to 8 boxes of garden goods already this year, which included the following items........

Planters II (Natural Trace Mineral Fertilizer), Yum Yum Mix® 2-2-2 Organic Fertilizer, Soil Mender Humate, Saltwater Farms Sea Com-PGR Organic Seaweed Concentrate, Compost Tea, 10 to 12 bags of 10 Qt. Fertilome Potting Soil, Dramm Pattern Revolver Sprinkler, 2 in 1 English Sieve, English Steel Sieve with 1/2' Expanded Metal Mesh, 2 bags of Soil Moist™ Water Holding Crystals and a Paint Marking Pen by Faber.

Great company to order from! Next month, I'm looking forward to the 18 or more plants from them. This will be my 3rd year (but not my last) buying from them and planting their plants!

On June 19th, 2011, Marilynbeth added the following:

I've ordered every year since my first order in Spring of 2005. In fact, I've ordered several times or more each year. I'm always very happy with each order.

They're my first place I go to for plants each year. Since 2005, I've been mainly ordering Agastaches and Salvias and Xeric plants they offer.

I order more than just plants from HCG. I garden organically and have been ordering the organic garden goods they offer for the soil and plants.

They have a customer for life with me! I first found out about HCG when I read an article in a Fine Gardening magazine in the Spring of 2005 about them and the Agastaches they were growing and selling and I was instantly hooked! Highly recommended!

Negative ronmason
(4 reviews)
On Jun 15, 2011, ronmason Mason, TX wrote:

If this is their idea of customer service, I'll be moving on. I was trying to order a catalog for my niece, who has just moved to a new house in New Mexico and solicited my advice on landscaping. I immediately thought of High Country Gardens. Well, their site would not let me send the order because my email address was wrong. After three tries with three different emails, I gave up and called the catalog department. They don't deal with customers, so the call goes to a voice mail drop box. Then I tried customer service, with the same experience. Finally, I decided to call their store in Santa Fe. After making it through their mail tree, I was dropped into a voice mail box. I have better things to do with my time than play games.

Also there is something wrong with their website. All plants listed on the initial page are listed as $29.94, which is outrageous for what they are selling. When I went to the full description page for Echinacea purpurea Pow Wow 'Wild Berry', it is only $8.99.

Seems to be a once great company falling apart.

On Jun 15, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Jun 15, 2011 2:43 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

My apologies you were not able to place your order online. We are working on our website. Our call volume has been high today. Messages left with customer service are returned promptly. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to place an order or if you have any questions. Toll free 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens"

Positive bkm_trees
(2 reviews)
On Jun 12, 2011, bkm_trees Rigby, ID (Zone 4a) wrote:

Ordered 3 Bigtooth Maple. All arrived in perfect condition.

I like that you are also able to select the week of the shipment when you place an order.

Positive sunsign5
(21 reviews)
On Jun 3, 2011, sunsign5 Ipswich, MA wrote:

Ordered 3 plants on 5/25. Received them today 6/3. Perfect large healthy plants ready to go in the garden.

Super quick shipping. A wonderful company as far as I'm concerned. Never dissappointed with any plant I have purchased from this company.

Positive NHBabs
(6 reviews)
On Jun 3, 2011, NHBabs Concord, NH wrote:

I ordered about 30 plants at HCG's end of season sale, my first order with this company. Plants arrived quickly (I did expedited delivery as I am in the opposite corner of the country) in excellent condition. Small, but healthy and robust looking plants, well packed in a manner that is easy to unpack. I couldn't be more pleased. I mail order plants regularly, and will expect to use HCG again.

Positive fiwit
(3 reviews)
On Jun 2, 2011, fiwit Lebanon, GA wrote:

I have dealt with HCG many times in the past, and have never had a bad shopping experience. A couple weeks ago, I ordered a buddleia alternifolia, and never got a shipping notification. After about a week, I emailed asking for status and Maureen told me my order had somehow slipped through the cracks (that can happen - I ordered via website on a Sat, during a busy busy busy month). She said it would ship immediately with free expedited so I would get it as soon as possible.

When I explained that we are now in 90F days here in GA, she agreed to cancel and refund, instead. The refund hit my account the very next day. I'll be ordering my buddleia in the fall when our temps go back down - not just because HCG is the only reputable place I've ever found it for sale, but because I know this most recent snafu was an anomaly, not the norm. They are hands-down one of the best internet nurseries in the business, in my opinion.

Negative Cameronia
(1 review)
On Jun 2, 2011, Cameronia Milton, PA wrote:

My order was placed in April.. In late May, I inquired the status and learned it was "lost in hyperspace".. and that it would be shipped in June... That date has come and gone with no word and no response to two emails. In the meantime, I continue to get notices that I might buy the very items I paid for at 1/2 of the price.

Positive COgardener2675
(6 reviews)
On Jun 1, 2011, COgardener2675 Fort Collins, CO wrote:

Beautiful packaging. Plants arrive safely cocooned. Love the plants in the premium containers. The root systems are twice the size of regular containers. Very healthy plants. Love their on-line sales and catalog filled with tips.

Positive sagebird
(5 reviews)
On May 19, 2011, sagebird Laramie, WY wrote:

Very well packed, healthy good plants.
Good experience

Positive plympton
(11 reviews)
On May 17, 2011, plympton Plympton, MA wrote:

Posted on May 12, 2011, updated May 17, 2011
Although my communications and shipping "experience" shopping with HCG was positive---no problems there---for me, it's all about the plants. What I received was "almost" what I expect from a reputable mail-order source---well rooted young plants with healthy foliage.

With a little TLC, hopefully these plants will recover and go on to become robust, healthy plants. Hence, my "neutral" rating---the plant material could have been better.

On May 17th, 2011, plympton changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

Well---after planting the penstemon and gaura I purchased from HCG, I was so impressed with the abundance of roots in the premium containers that I thought I'd come back and upgrade my rating from a "neutral" to a "positive". I see that a company rep has beat me to it and has provided a good explanation for what I received :-)

The day I received my order from HCG, I also received two other orders---one from a Top 30 company and one from one that should be. Of the three orders, one had small plants with no roots---they were barely rooted cuttings in an oversized pot, the second, the plants from HCG in the condition as described above and the third were large, robust plants in excellent condition from another nursery.

As I evaluated them, I naturally felt a "negative" for the one order with small plants/no roots and a resounding "positive" for the order with the large plants. That left me with a "neutral" for the HCG order. However, upon planting them out, I found the root structure to be so well developed that I felt obliged to come back and upgrade my review.

On May 17, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 13, 2011 3:59 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We put great effort into growing plants that transplant well and take off in your garden. We are in zone 5, (it was -20degrees in February) and we grow our plants cold without a lot of heat so they are strong and flourish in your garden. The amount of leaves and stems on spring grown perennials is not a determining factor of plant quality, it’s the crown and roots that make a great perennial. Please note: many western native plants begin waking up much later than common perennials.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

On May 19, 2011 2:32 PM, High Country Gardens added:

Howdy, plympton! Thanks so much for your diligent feedback. Because we know there may be other customers out there who are a little surprised by the lack of showiness in their plants when they arrive in our High Country Gardens boxes, we thought we'd take the chance to build on your experience and comments and put together this short video explaining the different growing habits of various plants. Hopefully this will give customers the encouragement they need to give plants that look a little anemic upon arrival the chance to impress and wow them, just as you did.

Please view the short video here:

Blake Driver
Public Relations/Marketing Specialist
Santa Fe Greenhouses, Inc.
Home of High Country Gardens"

Neutral Get_growing
(8 reviews)
On May 16, 2011, Get_growing Dallas, TX wrote:

Ditto the comments from others regarding plant size and - I hate to say it - health of the plants. The plants I received about 6 weeks ago are still struggling to get established, and I fear I may lose a couple of them. I'll probably be able to check on the refund/replacement guarantee and will update if that happens. That said, they are certainly not the smallest or weakest plants I've ever received from a mail order nursery.

On the positive side, prices at HCG are some of the best. They offer many unusual, hard-to-find things. Especially love their focus on xeric and natives, something other nurseries should offer...considering the state of our planet. Will update status of plants in a couple of weeks.

Neutral ruesoleil52
(1 review)
On May 12, 2011, ruesoleil52 Salem, OR wrote:

I was generally satisfied with the processing of my on-line order with High Country Gardens a few weeks back - and they were prompt in the shipment of the order. My one complaint though (and I'd read this complaint from other customers) is the puny size and condition of the plants. It appears as if HCG is trying to maximize profits by minimizing plant size. One week after this shipment, I placed an order with Digging Dog Nursery in N. California for similar plants and pricing, and received plants that were easily twice the size of those from High Country Gardens.

On May 12, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 13, 2011 4:00 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We put great effort into growing plants that transplant well and take off in your garden. We are in zone 5, (it was -20degrees in February) and we grow our plants cold without a lot of heat so they are strong and flourish in your garden. The amount of leaves and stems on spring grown perennials is not a determining factor of plant quality, it’s the crown and roots that make a great perennial. Please note: many western native plants begin waking up much later than common perennials.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

Negative jsrider
(1 review)
On May 9, 2011, jsrider Cambridge, MA wrote:

I placed an order Friday morning. I paid extra for 2 day delivery. Day 1 = Saturday, Day 2 = Monday. I called today and found out that the store didn't receive the order until Saturday (even though the store is the website) and didn't send it out for delivery until today. So my 2 day delivery now becomes a 5 day delivery.

Explain this better so that people don't have an expectation of better service. It is unacceptable that an order isn't immediately forwarded to be filled after being placed online.

On May 9, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 9, 2011 4:04 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Thank you for placing your order. 2nd day means your plants are in transit two days. We received your order Friday, shipped out the very next business day which is Monday. UPS does not pick up or ship on weekends so we keep your plants fresh in our greenhouse rather than sit in a box over the weekend. All handled on schedule as we promised and your order will arrive Wednesday. Shipping information is available on our site under How we ship. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

Negative Bastgatto
(1 review)
On May 8, 2011, Bastgatto Carrollton, GA wrote:

I have been eyeing this companies beautiful catalogs for years now. This year I took the plunge and ordere myself something. I was SO excited. I ordered a Desert Willow. When it arrived it was broken in two. I did not see any evidence of postal mishandeling. I used the companies website to get a credit for this plant. I bought a replacement at a local plant sale for the Desert Willow. When I went to use the credit, I find that I can not get anything in the catalog or online for a credit of 9.99 due to the high shipping charges. I realize the company states this in their gaurantee but I was just so dissapointed :-(

On May 8, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 9, 2011 11:37 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

What customers most like about our company is how easy it is to work with customer service on replacements and refund. Online crdits are used for customers that order frequently and just want to try another plant on their next order. We cheerfully replace or refund any plant damaged in shipping. Please call or e-mail me personally 800-925-9387 or

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens"

Positive Astrogarden
(2 reviews)
On May 1, 2011, Astrogarden Bend, OR (Zone 5a) wrote:

I was reluctant to order a second time as I had ordered some plants a couple years ago and every one died. Since they have such a good selection of Hyssop and also Munro's Mallow which grows great here (semi-native), I gave them one more try. Plants were great and all are now in larger pots in our greenhouse awaiting warmer weather for transplant. Most have doubled in size since we got them!

I would suggest ordering in spring as the first time was in summer and I suspect I got leftovers.

Positive agastachegrl
(5 reviews)
On Apr 30, 2011, agastachegrl Eden Prairie, MN wrote:

Posted on June 4, 2007, updated April 30, 2011
Love this company! This is about the fifth order I've placed and the plants are always beautifully packaged. The plants all flowered the first season and are very healthy and gorgeous. I live in a colder zone, but bring them in to over winter. Agastache plants are phenomenal, many hummingbirds and butterflies. Thank you High Country Gardens, I am definately a fan!

On April 30th, 2011, agastachegrl added the following:

Again I am DELIGHTED @ the quality of the
plants I just received! Very healthy & well packaged!
Zone 3-4 here in MN & haven't lost a High Country
Garden plant yet & it's been prob. 7 years of orders
from them. Shipping costs are still reasonable
and choices are great for any zone! Thank you
High Country Gardens, you are my fave!!
Positive ksjamison
(7 reviews)
On Apr 28, 2011, ksjamison Wilmington, DE wrote:

Love the informative website and kniphofia which arrived in great condition.

Negative flyingchange
(1 review)
On Apr 26, 2011, flyingchange Missoula, MT (Zone 4b) wrote:

I first placed my order with a requested ship date of the week of October 12, because I was going to be out of town the week before. My shrubs arrived at my door on October 8th. The shurb combo I ordered was listed as hardy to zone 4, which is where I live. One of the shrubs didn't make it through that first winter, and when I contacted them about an alternative, they refused to help because it had been more than a year. The shrub that died is only hardy to zone 5, even though they listed the combo as zone 4, and their web site STILL contains this incorrect info. Despite this error on THEIR part, they refuse to help. Must be nice to have enough customers that you can afford to lose one over an $8 plant.

On Apr 26, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Apr 27, 2011 9:37 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We guarantee that you will receive healthy, vigorous plants that transplant successfully and prosper. Within one year from shipment. If there is any questions or concerns we encourage our customers to contact us immediately.

I would be glad to get you a replacement for the one that didn't make it For your privacy Garden Watchdog does not forward your name or address information. Please contact me and I will personally make sure we select a shrub appropriate for your area.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

Positive Hindernone
(4 reviews)
On Apr 22, 2011, Hindernone Broadway, NC (Zone 7b) wrote:

I received my first ever order from HCG two days ago. Impressive! Ordering was a breeze online, tracking was very easy and with 2nd day air shipping, the plants arrived with perfect timing. All the plants were healthy and very nice sizes for the prices. (agastache, kniphofia, liatris, lonicera, and sedum) Will be planting today and tomorrow... hopefully I can keep them living east of the Mississippi.

Positive k2cedarcity
(3 reviews)
On Apr 16, 2011, k2cedarcity Dayton, NV (Zone 5b) wrote:

My 1st order with HCG and I am extremely impressed with the entire ordering process at HCG. I was able to track my order, it arrived on time, all plant were well packed, great size, very healthy. I found the prices to be very, very, good. I live in high desert country (northern NV) and am delighted to find a company that fits my gardening needs. I will definitely be ordering from High Country Gardens again.

Positive Floridatampa
(1 review)
On Apr 7, 2011, Floridatampa Tampa, FL wrote:

This is the first time I ordered plants from HCG. I am thrilled with the product, the packing, the shipping, and the personel.
My plants are beautiful, healthly, perfect for my yard!
Thank you HCG!

Positive Blueblaze
(1 review)
On Apr 2, 2011, Blueblaze Pittsburgh, PA wrote:

Over the weekend, ordered several composting materials to aid my clay "foundation" dirt. All were received in very good order on Thursday and Saturday!
Very pleased with High Country Gardens ordering and shipping process.

Positive hairyjo
(19 reviews)
On Mar 27, 2011, hairyjo Danville, CA wrote:

I ordered two plants from them this year. One clematis and one linum. They look very healthy. They shipped when I asked them to ship. I would definitely order from this company again.

Positive Barreosunny
(1 review)
On Mar 25, 2011, Barreosunny Bernalillo, NM wrote:

High Country Gardens and Santa Fe Greens houses has been my wife and my number one place to shop and get the BEST gardening and lawn advice for over fifteen years.

Positive moosewood
(5 reviews)
On Mar 21, 2011, moosewood Dewitt, MI (Zone 5a) wrote:

The plants, etc. herein were lost in a divorce**, but as you will see, this expierience is still well worth the mention:

First: I live in a Zone 5 area. Winters are unkind "here", as is my Ex's** heart.

By 2002 or so, I had received a HGC catalog, and lusted after those beautiful and unique cacti and succulents. However, a lot of their palnts are marginal Zone 5 (might as well just say Zone 6!), or simply must must must be kept Winter-dry, to survive here.

My old house** had a wet basement. In 2002, I had a contractor come thru & waterproof it; one step of which was to trench down to the bottom of the foundation. The trench itself was 18" wide, and about 4 feet deep. The old drains were replaced, the trench backfilled with peastone.

As you likely know: Peastone = "perfect drainage".

Still hot for the cacti, and not wanting to waste the space (about 15 feet along a South-facing wall);
I decided to build a sort of Zone 6/alpine house over the trench.
I consructed a raised bed from landscape timbers, roughly 15 ft. long, 3 feet in width from house wall to bed-front, and 8" deep. I spiked the bed to the asphalt driveway.

I lined it with black gardening fabric, and filled it with a mix of ;
composted manure,
a good garden soil,
sharp sand,
crushed (pea-sized) stone,
smooth pea-stone,
chick grit (aka. "Stoneymo Granite)
a granular material (the name's escaped me) used to areate and loosten clay soils. There was no clay in the soil mix, this stuff was another dry-drainage item, plus it was red-orange and added color to the mix.
For more color, I threw in some crushed (sledge-hammered) red and black lava.

The whole bed was built it in front of 2 basically under-insulated basement windows.
Next came a 'hoop" or "frame" of a good, stiff, springy fence wire, strong enough to support a snow load.
I hooked one edge of the fencing under the house siding, the other edge flexed behind the back edge of the bed.
I used 3 or four pieces of thick, clear plastic sheeting, (the flexible kind, not the one that cracks if bent!) overlapping them by a couple inches, again the plastic went over the fencing, under the siding, and in back of the timbers, then roughly "sealed" each end with pieces of styrofoam;
und dot vas dot!
Oh, boy it was pretty !

I ordered 15 or so Xerics from HGC, mostly the cactus, Rabias, Titanopsis, a small Agave, etc., etc, .

What they show you in their catalog, about how their items are packed, is exactly what you will get!

That package from HCG was a real WOW!!! moment.
The plants were beautiful, healthy, and none were damaged.

HGC's service was as good as anyone's...they are on an "Elite Nursery" list.
Please do order from HGC, you will not be disappointed.

As for the ultimate fate of the raised bed:
I planted HGC's items, making sure to place extra chick grit around their collars, to wick away moisture.
I was surprised to find that the damp basement air leaking thru the windows and into the little greenhouse provided all the water the Xeric plants needed.
Everything overwintered spectacularly, and was beautiful in Spring of 2003 and again in 2004.
Even a Hebe and an Ephedra I got from a local grower.
(2004** divorce final, ** kept the house), I haven't the heart to go back & see if Ol' Roundup Thumbs** has trashed that lovely bed or not.

Positive agroff
(6 reviews)
On Mar 20, 2011, agroff Camp Hill, PA wrote:

HCG offers an excellent selection of rare plants and has a beautiful catalog. All plants arrived quickly and in excellent condition. Packaging was good and all plants were well-rooted and a nice size. The perennial pots were shipped with a tiny bag around each pot, loosely rubber-banded at the top to keep the soil in, and made the long trip to PA in nice shape. I will order from them again. Thanks!

Positive cecrophia
(2 reviews)
On Mar 16, 2011, cecrophia Casper, WY wrote:

I have bought several hundred dollars-worth of plants from HCG over the years. Some have done spectacularly well, others have been just as spectacular failures. I think the key to success with their plants is to understand that they are for western cultural conditions and some will not do well in soils that are, for instance, heavily augmented with compost. Gardeners here in central Wyoming have to practically re-invent our soils in order to get much of anything to grow, and yet some of the plants from HCG like our soil and will disappoint in kinder conditions. I am making a guess at this point to say that probably half of what I have bought from HCG has thrived and half have failed utterly. I blame three things--I am in a rural area with much harser conditions than in town, I am still a rank amateur after gardening all of my life, and because of that, I chose the wrong varieties for my location. I haven't shopped with HCG for a few years so I could allow some festuca to mature and give me a better idea what else to plant in a natives bed, but I did just place an order for some penstemon pinafolius and rhus aromatica--fairly foolproof plants. I anticipate success. If you order from them, ask questions about cultural requirements and research the varieties you want to try really well before spending the money. Their plants come in great packaging and they get up and running pretty quickly, that is if you've made the right choice. All-in-all they are a great resource for western gardeners.

Positive hummengberd
(1 review)
On Mar 11, 2011, hummengberd San Bernardino, CA wrote:

I first heard about HCG from a Hummingbird group on Facebook. It received very high recommendations, so I decided to give them a try. I just received my first order last night and followed their directions for the plants' immediate care. I ordered 11 plants, and every single one was healthy and well packed. I was amazed really as I've never ordered plants online before. I have to say they're all out on the deck now, enjoying some morning sun; to me, they look like they're spreading their little leaves and enjoying their freedom from the packing box. Thank you, HCG. . . I'll definitely be ordering from you again (and soon).

Positive smarkham
(12 reviews)
On Mar 10, 2011, smarkham Adams Run, SC wrote:

I had never heard of this company before until I recieved their catalog in the mail.They had a good rating so I gave them a try. I was very satisfied with my order. The plants were very well packed and arrived healthy. I was happy with the size of the plants and they all had a healthy root system. Their customer service is also outstanding. I would definately order from them again.

Positive CurtisGans
(1 review)
On Mar 10, 2011, CurtisGans Lovettsville, VA wrote:

Order done easily, processed easily and delivered when HCG said it would be. Only problem is that the non-working hour phone support has no one knowledgeable about plants and their care. So had to call again and e-mail. But once I did do the second, response was quick and thoughtful;

On Mar 10, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Mar 10, 2011 3:18 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We appreciate your feedback. We have a 24 hour order line that handles orders and catalog requests. Customer service is available M-F 9am-5pm MT. We strive to respond to all customer correspondence as promptly as possible. Please contact me with any questions or concerns.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

Negative EagleLady2
(1 review)
On Mar 9, 2011, EagleLady2 Alamogordo, NM wrote:

I have been a catalog & store customer for over 10 years, unfortunately my most recent experience was negative. It is not about the quality of their plants, but their lack of customer service. I needed to adjust my plant order, and I never got a call back from the customer line; always received a voice message & never a person; plus never received the follow-up e-mail that even gave me my order number. I finally e-mailed them and hope someone will respond or at least acknowledge the change to my order.

On Mar 9, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Mar 9, 2011 4:56 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I am sorry to hear you were having trouble contacting us. We have checked our call logs and could not locate any messages from you by phone. We did respond to your email within an hour of the time it was sent. You may want to check your spam folder for order emails which are sent from and Please contact me if I can be of any assistance now or in the future.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens

Positive ladypamelamary
(1 review)
On Mar 8, 2011, ladypamelamary Philadelphia,
United States wrote:

I have the Hummingbird Garden at the Horticultural Center in Philadelphia, and I have ordered from High Country Gardens for the last four years. Their plant material has always arrived healthy, vibrant, and packed with care. I have found their customer service to be outstanding. Also, I have never lost a plant from them, and many of the plants have exceeded my expectations for growth in one season.

Positive ereeder27
(2 reviews)
On Feb 4, 2011, ereeder27 Sacramento, CA wrote:

Love this nursery! I have ordered from them for years and have always been happy with the customer service, and the plants. I live in Northern California and have several xeric beds that look fantastic thanks to HCG.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | ... 16 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America