Photo by Melody

Comments regarding High Country Gardens

Click here to return to High Country Gardens's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
496 positives
46 neutrals
74 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | ... 16 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Negative 1345afge
(1 review)
On May 26, 2012, 1345afge Colorado Springs, CO wrote:

When I placed my order in March 2012, I requested 14 May 2012 shipment. I received confirmation in March, but I did not receive my order the week of 14 May. I sent two e-mails requesting status - no responses. I finally called a representative who indicated my shipment would be sent 28 May. I asked why I did not receive notification of the delay or responses to my two e-mails - the excuse was the company had implemented a new computer system (Why implement a new system during this time of year?). Also, many plants I ordered were not available. I requested cancellation of my order, and the representative said it would be done. However, I have not received an e-mail cancellation notice. I have been a customer for years and have placed many orders of $300+. Current customer service and communications are terrible. I want my order cancelled and a refund on my credit card. I also request a confirmation that my order will be cancelled. No more orders until you can win back my trust with timely responses, available plants, and much better customer service.


On May 26, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 26, 2012 12:07 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I understand your frustration in trying to get resolve. I apologize for any inconvenience. As you know this is not our norm and we are working to make sure the service you are use to with High County Gardens is restored. I would like to make sure your requests have been fulfilled. Please contact me by email or phone.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023"


Negative flowerblue36
(1 review)
On May 26, 2012, flowerblue36 White City, UT wrote:

I have emailed the company twice and called due to not having received my order. No response to either email. The person I talked too on the phone stated my order would be made "priority" and would be sent next week. I still have not received my order. I have ordered from HCG before and never a problem like this.


On May 26, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 26, 2012 12:04 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I regret to hear of your recent experience and apologize for any inconvenience. Please contact me so I can look into this personally.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023"


Negative sonias
(1 review)
On May 24, 2012, sonias Boulder, CO wrote:

I'm sorry to give this company a negative review, as I've used them for many years. Their plants are excellent, but their customer service is atrocious this year. I placed an order in January, assuming that would reserve the plants I wanted, especially since they charged my credit card right away. Come April, I only received 9 of the 14 plants I had ordered. Of the missing ones, 3 were listed as unavailable, but the other 2 had no explanation whatsoever. Since then, I have only recently been able to reach someone by phone, as I was always sent to a voicemail system that was full, and that representative said she needed to send my case to another dept. who would contact me (a week later, I've heard nothing). None of my emails (including to Victoria Peralta) has been answered. A credit has been issued to my account, but it is not the correct amount. Do I think this will all be straightened out in the end? Maybe. But I'll never get back the time and energy I've wasted on trying to figure this out and get an answer from them.


On May 24, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 24, 2012 3:46 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I am sorry to hear you have not had resolve in regards to your order questions. I do try and respond to all my emails and calls when I am in. I apologize if I did not respond to an email you sent. I would be glad to assist you. Seeing you have already emailed me can you please resend the email or it may be best to call me with your information.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023"


Positive gpaulon
(3 reviews)
On May 23, 2012, gpaulon Forest Park, IL wrote:

High Country Gardens is a great company to deal with. They are always friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Whenever I have had a problem with a shipment or an individual plant, they have always taken care of it with a smile. They're great!!

Negative sunnybordergirl
(1 review)
On May 21, 2012, sunnybordergirl Hawesville, KY wrote:

I recently placed an order and requested an immediate ship date in an effort to receive my plants before an upcoming holiday. I received a confirmation of my order indicating my order would ship the date I requested. I expected to receive my order at least by the following Friday, however, the website didn't indicate how my order would be shipping so I placed a call. I was told that my order did not ship and would not ship until the the following Monday. The person wasn't really sure what happened and told me that they were located in another facility, however my order would ship on the following Monday. Today I called to make sure my order shipped and was advised that it was not going to ship AT ALL. I asked them why that no one e-mailed me or phoned me to let me know there was a problem either with my initial ship date or subsequently when they determined that my order was not going to be shipped. When I placed my order I provided my e-mail address and a telephone number in the event they would need to contact me. It is unacceptable customer service to just simply not contact me in any way (either e-mail or by phone) to let me know the status of my order. I was concerned when I saw the other negative reviews, however, I have had good experiences with HCG in the past - so I took a chance. However, after this experience I will certainly consider carefully other reviews because this became my own bad experience. Really a shame because I previously did have good experiences. An e-mail or phone call only takes a moment and certainly makes a difference for customer goodwill.


On May 21, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 22, 2012 4:48 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I appreciate you giving me the time to speak with you yesterday. We are working on making adjustments to make sure this does not occur again. My apologies for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023"


Positive JonSchneider
(12 reviews)
On May 21, 2012, JonSchneider Fleming Island, FL (Zone 9b) wrote:

Posted on May 19, 2012, updated May 21, 2012
After several years of wonderful experiences with this company, I have to rate them with one big negative. I have tried contacting them 6 times via e-mail, their internet claim form, etc. with no response. Finally, I called and spoke to a customer service representative who "had no authority" to replace 6 dead plants and promised me she would have someone call me. that did not occur either. The bottom line is that I am out 6 plants with no mechanism to resolve the issue. As good as my previous orders have been in the past, I would not order from them again nor advise other gardeners to do so. My guess is that this letter may result in a response, but this is just plain bad customer service


On May 21st, 2012, JonSchneider changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

As expected, High Country Gardens appropriately responded to my evaluation. They are apparently experiencing "growing pains" with new software that has impaired their ability to respond to customers in a timely fashion. I am pleased to say, though, I have been in contact with both Sam and Victoria and we came up with a very fair resolution to my issue that will result in me being able to obtain new plants that will be sent to me overnight. This is exactly the kind of customer service that i would anticipate from this company. It would be hard to add enough superlative to the plants I have previously ordered from them. The packing is always superb and the deep pots with excellent root systems guarantees easy transplants with hardy growth. I will be back to order from them in the future. Anyone can make a mistake and they certainly are forgiven and deserve another chance.
On May 21, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 20, 2012 10:36 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I am sorry to hear of your recent experience. As you know this is not the norm for High Country Gardens. I am glad you gave us the opportunity to contact you and to satisfy your request of replacements.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023"


Positive sandgarden
(11 reviews)
On May 18, 2012, sandgarden Millsboro, DE wrote:

I was a little surprised at the small size of the plants...a first for me, but they've been transplanted and are doing fine.
Arrived in good condition. A first order for me, so I'll have to see how the plants do.


On May 18, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 20, 2012 10:40 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Glad to hear your plants arrived safely and are planted in their new home! Happy Gardening!

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com"


Neutral texasgardner69
(2 reviews)
On May 8, 2012, texasgardner69 Amarillo, TX wrote:

Posted on May 4, 2012, updated May 8, 2012
I believe High Country Gardens is having growing pains. We have ordered from them many times and have always had a wonderful experience each time. We have visited their retail store in Santa Fe and was very impressed. This Spring has been very different and do not know why unless they have grown too big too soon and not able to take care of their customers. I placed an order back in February calling for May 1st shipment. I was surprised they ran my credit card through immediately and when I asked them they said they were a small company and had to do this to "reserve" my plants. We have had a warm Spring so have tried to contact the company to request an earlier shipping date by e-mails, all went unanswered, many, many phone calls to regular number and 1-800 number with both going straight to voice box which was always full and finally going to the chat line. One operator said they had experienced 3X the normal activity in customer service and were behind. I asked when my order was due to ship and she told me it would ship no later than May 1st. On May 2nd I called again on the chat line and asked if my order had been shipped for I had not received a shipping confirmation e-mail. That operator said it was in the shipping department but did not know when it would actually go out for it will remain in the shipping department until the entire order is ready for shipping. She also said they do not send shipping conformation e-mails but I have always received them in the past. I also had a question on the size of container for a yucca I was interested in purchasing. One chat operator would only guess but did not know for sure, when I called back I received a different operator and she said it was a 5" premium pot and a third operator said it was a gallon container. The only reason I kept asking was due to the high price. You cannot get through to actually talk to anyone, your e-mails will go un-answered, no one seems to care or know what is going on and the consistency is non-existant. I have recommended HCG many, many times but may have to take back all the good things I have said about them until they can get their act together. They are such a unique company I really hope they can get through their growing pains.
Here it is Friday May 4th. My last contact with HCG was May 2nd and was told by the chat operator they only ship out on Mondays, yet a previous operator had promised my order was to be shipped no later than Wednesday, May 2nd. I have no idea when my order will be shipped or will arrive so everything is on hold waiting for HCG.


On May 8th, 2012, texasgardner69 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

I am changing my rating to neutral due to the speed and efficiency Victoria Peralta handled the complaint. The plant order arrived today in excellent condition and were all good size plants. I will be doing business with HCG again.
On May 8, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 5, 2012 4:03 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. High Country Gardens spring 2012 season took off quickly and with that we have been receiving a high volume of calls and emails. We have made some recent changes these past few days in hopes of improving wait time. I am sorry to hear your questions were not resolved. Please do contact me directly and I will look into your order for you. Toll free 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023 or email vperalta@highcountrygardens.com.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
High Country Gardens
Customer Service Supervisor"


Negative Dekoffer
(1 review)
On Apr 28, 2012, Dekoffer Tuscola, TX wrote:

Two of my last three orders have been problematic. In my previous order, I ordered two 1 gallon plants that had obviously been transferred from 2 inch pots to gallon pots just prior to shipping. The root structure was just pitiful. In my most recent order, I decided to forgo gallon plants for 5 inch pots, but 2 of the plants had obviously just been transplanted to 5 inch pots from two inch pots. Plus, they left out two of my plants that I ordered and paid for. It was a large order and they did not include a packing list, so I can only assume they were hoping I wouldn't notice. Packing has also become increasingly shoddy over the past couple of months. Customer service has been helpful, but I expect them to get things right the first time. Make sure to take pics of plants if you have a problem. I wasn't offered a refund for one of the gallon plants because I went ahead and planted it without taking a pic. I wasn't asking for a full refund just the price difference between the gallon and 5 inch pots.


On Apr 28, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On May 1, 2012 1:59 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We appreciate your feedback and are looking into the issues you've brought up. We have a 100% guarantee and do not require photos for replacements or refunds. Please contact me directly to process a claim if this was not resolved. Toll free 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023 or via email vperalta@highcountrygardens.com.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
High Country Gardens
Customer Service Supervisor"


Negative CEH208
(1 review)
On Apr 24, 2012, CEH208 Eldorado at Santa Fe, NM wrote:

Plants received were poorly shipped/packaged. Several stems were broken but have been trying to salvage them. Plants did not have well developed root systems and were too young to be shipped out. I now have two plants that have completely died. Have emailed customer service for replacement 3 times with no response. Waited a week and tried calling customer service which went to a recording saying please leave a message, but the mail box is full. Sadly, I still have more plants ordered to be shipped this week, wishing it could be cancelled. I think the retail locations are fine, and I know problems occur in shipping, but the lack of prompt customer service means I won't be ordering again.


On Apr 24, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Apr 24, 2012 12:34 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I am sorry to hear of your recent experience. We take great pride in our plants and customer service and want to fix this for you, as well as use your feedback to improve our service. Please contact me at your earliest convenience by email vperalta@highcountrygardens.com or direct at 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
High Country Gardens
Customer Service Supervisor"


Positive FlowerDiva
(5 reviews)
On Apr 22, 2012, FlowerDiva Raleigh, NC wrote:

I ordered 5 Agastache 'Ava' , 5 Agastache cana 'Rosita' and 1 Buddleia alternifolia in early March. I was able to select my week of shipping, which is wonderful! I received an email that my plants were shipping the 2nd week of April, just as I had selected. They came right on time and were packaged secure and safe! HCG has a wonderful packing method! Every plant looks wonderful and healthy!! I've ordered from them 2 years ago and had the same great experience. They have the best selection of Agastache!

Positive Ispahan
(55 reviews)
On Mar 30, 2012, Ispahan Chicago, IL (Zone 6a) wrote:

This is a marvelous company. Customer service is efficient and helpful (Sam is the greatest), plants are great quality, selection is wonderful and the packing is more environmentally friendly than most nurseries with very little extraneous material involved.

I just received a large order to start populating my new garden with bountiful perennials. I am very pleased.

I always look forward to learning about the new HCG plant introductions each year. At such reasonable prices, it is hard to resist temptation!

I will definitely be a repeat customer in the future.

By the way, I am surprised at some of the negative reviews below. The customer service of this nursery is one of the best and easiest to deal with...

Negative Idiopath
(4 reviews)
On Mar 23, 2012, Idiopath Austin, TX wrote:

Posted on April 30, 2006, updated March 23, 2012
My plants arrived exactly when they were supposed to. They were safely packed, and arrived healthy. They were very small but all with healthy root systems. I planted them 4 days ago, and so far so good, despite having been alternately rained on and sun-scorched immediately after being transplanted. Only the healthiest and most tenacious of plants can survive springtime in Austin.


On March 23rd, 2012, Idiopath changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

Update: I ordered from them again last year (2011) and most of my plants arrived in terrible condition. They were so mushy and yellow I just threw them away. I contacted customer service, and received an email stating that a credit for those plants had been applied to my account. I was told that it would not expire, and I could use it at any time by simply mentioning it to the representative who took my order. I attempted to do this this past weekend. The rep was unable to find the credit.

Since then I've attempted to contact customer service several times, and have gotten zero response. I won't be ordering from HCG anymore. It's not worth risking my money and my time. I'm now out almost $50, plus the time I spent on hold, plus the time it took me to write all of those emails that have gone unanswered.
On Mar 23, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Mar 23, 2012 9:14 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

I regret to hear you were not able to get resolve. HCG credits do not expire. For your privacy I am not able to obtain your contact information through your post. Please contact me and I will be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023
"


Positive avsjen
(1 review)
On Mar 19, 2012, avsjen Castle Rock, CO wrote:

I've ordered from HCG for at least 5 years now and have always been very satisfied. In all those orders, I've only had one plant not make it; took a picture, sent it to HCG, and promptly received a replacement, healthy and still going strong in my garden. I'm a fan!

Positive virginiarose
(64 reviews)
On Mar 19, 2012, virginiarose Portsmouth, VA (Zone 8a) wrote:

Well this is my first order with HCG, I was a little disapointed with the size of a plant I ordered. I sent a picture and they offered me my money back or a bigger shrub in April, so I took the new shrub. I do like the selection of plants on this website and plan to do more business. I appreciate the prompt way they handled the problem and the customer service is terrific.

Positive echinaceamaniac
(15 reviews)
On Mar 17, 2012, echinaceamaniac (Clint) Medina, TN (Zone 7b) wrote:

Posted on February 20, 2012, updated March 17, 2012
Posted on May 28, 2010, updated February 20, 2012
Posted on March 13, 2009, updated May 28, 2010
I ordered a Hesperaloe parviflora 'Yellow' and it was shipped exactly when I requested it to be shipped. The plant is very healthy and in a larger pot than expected. It also already has offshoots at the base. It looks as good as a plant I bought locally last year (the red variety of the same plant) and the price is very competitive, including the shipping costs!

I would very highly recommend this company. I'm impressed. Thanks for the good service!


On April 3rd, 2009, echinaceamaniac added the following:

I just received another order and they did it again! They ship it when promised. Thanks again!
On May 28th, 2010, echinaceamaniac added the following:

I received my plants yesterday. Both Echinacea "Pica Bella" had buds on them already. Sure, the shipping caused the plants to not be perfect, but that is understandable. I have ordered from High Country Gardens several times now and all my orders with them have been positive experiences.
On February 20th, 2012, echinaceamaniac added the following:

I received my latest order of Delosperma 'Fire Spinner' and Red Yucca 'Brake Lights.' Both look great. High Country Gardens is top notch in my book!
On March 17th, 2012, echinaceamaniac added the following:

I ordered a Delosperma collection and it came in perfect condition. Their packaging is among the best I've ever seen. I just hope they don't switch to coco pots like Bluestone did. Thanks for the great service!
Positive marktrot1
(3 reviews)
On Mar 1, 2012, marktrot1 Flagstaff, AZ wrote:

I have visited their nursery/greenhouses in Santa Fe and ordered plants from them. Their demonstration garden is gorgeous.

Last summer (2011), I ordered Silver Buffalo Berry bushes and only lost one due to neglect. The plants came with soil and were very healthy. Shipping was fast. Luckily their climate is similar to our climate in Flagstaff, in fact we get more moisture, so growing here is a little easier.

I highly recommend this company to all my neighbors and people I work with. They are a great company to get hard-to-find natives.

Positive Crinum
(1 review)
On Feb 21, 2012, Crinum Abilene, TX wrote:

I just found HCG this year and placed my first order for 3 Amaryllis bulbs that were discounted. I was told the bulbs would be small because they were discounted but I have been trying for 2 years to get this particular variety so I agreed and expected 3 small bulbs. They arrived within the week and were the biggest bulbs I have ever received. I was thrilled and I'm anxiously waiting for them to bloom.
I will order from them again when I find something I am looking for.
A very satisfied customer in Abilene Texas.

Positive kkirschbaum
(26 reviews)
On Feb 7, 2012, kkirschbaum Yonkers, NY (Zone 6b) wrote:

I was surprised to see that HCG gets somewhat mixed reviews on here, and then I realized that though I have ordered from them several times a year since 2007 I had yet to contribute a review. I am a fan of this nursery. I've never visited them, but I like the ethos of their catalogue. Westchester County NY would hardly be considered a xeric place, but I garden on a hilly site facing south and east (and never water once a plant is established so everything in my garden needs to survive on rainwater). Their selection of water thrifty plants is very useful for my site. I've been happy with the success rate of most things I ordered from HCG. Have plants died? Yes -- but unless the plant dies shortly after arrival (or arrives in bad shape) I find it hard to blame the nursery. Plants are living things and by their very nature this means they all die eventually. Part of my flexibility on this point is that I've experimented with plants from HCG that are offered with the caveat that the plants are better for the arid West, and when those don't make it I especially feel it unfair to complain. Amazingly an impressive number of these Western plants have survived (Chamaebatiera millifolium, Hesperaloe parviflora) or even thrived (Tagetes lemmonii, Philadelphus lewisii) for me. In general I find HCG's service is very good -- I always select my ship date, and have never had a problem with plants not arriving as expected. The packaging is usually great, so I haven't had problems with plants arriving in bad shape. In fact, this year I ordered another round of Agastache rupestris and was pleased that HCG changed their policy and didn't cut the plants back before shipping. I had a 100% success rate getting those established whereas in the past I always lost some. I always look forward to seeing what's new at HCG. I find their catalogues inspiring, and I like that they are unafraid to offer unusual varieties. I think many complaints on this board are from people whose expectations are a bit unrealistic. If price is really a big issue for you or if you get ruffled if a mailorder plant arrives looking jostled, then maybe you are the kind of customer better served by shopping at a local garden center or the big box stores. I've had plenty of bad mailorder plant experiences with other companies -- plants arriving dead, plants arriving bare root without that having been clear in the sales pitch, wrong plants, shipments gone awol without any tracking -- but I can heartily say that HCG is not among the bad mailorder companies.

Positive louis1933
(1 review)
On Jan 28, 2012, louis1933 Colorado Springs, CO wrote:

I have been buying from High Country Garden ever since they started. IN FACT MY ORIGINAL CUSTOMER WAS IN THE LOW TWO DIGITS. I have only praise for their plant selection and plant quality; also their soil amendments are very good. This is the ideal place to find plants and fertilizers for the front range of Colorado. Here in Colorado Springs these garden essentials are hard to find LOCAL NURSERIES ARE FEW AND MOST STOCK PLANTS NOT ARE SUITABLE FOR THIS PLANT HARDINESS ZONE AND SOIL TYPES FOIND AROUND COLORADO SPRINGS; MAKING HIGH COUNTRY GARDENS A VERY VALUABLE ASSET.

Positive oldCTgardener
(3 reviews)
On Jan 15, 2012, oldCTgardener Glastonbury, CT wrote:

On several occasions I have ordered plants from High Country Gardens.. The ones that I ordered in spite of their recommendations to the contrary (suited for only western gardens) did eventually die (as I expected, I like to push the envelope) but the others did well, and are doing well. I will continue to order from them. Their plants are vigorous and well-packaged. They have always arrived in top condition.

Positive Sandwichkatexan
(11 reviews)
On Dec 6, 2011, Sandwichkatexan Copperas Cove, TX wrote:

I love these people , This is my third year ordering from them and I have never had a problem . They offer gallon sized plants on a lot of their yuccas and agaves , Love that ! Everything I have ordered from them is now huge in my garden and thriving , Even the little 5 in premium pot items . Just placed my order for two brakelight hesperaloes and one agave all gallon sized and the fact they let you choose your delivery date is simply unheard of in mail order nurseries I recommend them to anyone .

Positive jerrytate
(11 reviews)
On Nov 10, 2011, jerrytate Lake Charles, LA wrote:

agaves were my interest with this company. i placed my first order last week and received it today. that's good. i ordered 10 agave parryi that were on sale for $3.50. that's real good. i called to place an order by phone with a credit card and it took a bit of time as the sale prices were not what they had on their end. the plants arrived and i could here movement when i tilted the box. not good. upon opening the overly complicated packing the plants were in excellent condition with only 2 damaged leaves. very good for shipping agave. i think the packaging was overkill. for a small rootbound agave (which is OK) i see no reason to use rubberbands to keep a piece of foam to cover the top of the soil. more should have been done to keep the plants from moving in the box. i've received many agave from other on-line nurseries that use newspaper. the plants were very well grown and for $3.50 a great value. i will order from this nursery again, and other than the packaging techniques, i give it a positive rating.

Positive channelite
(1 review)
On Nov 3, 2011, channelite Henderson, NV wrote:

The plants are usually seedlings, so they will take years to grow like the pictures. I was disappointed last year when I got my first yucca rostrata. This year, it's growing and I now like getting small plants and watching them grow. I wish they could all be premium or one gallon size. I've ordered about five times, and I usually moderately pleased.

I would recommend HCG, but realize the plants are small.

Positive rinomanfroni
(2 reviews)
On Oct 20, 2011, rinomanfroni Arlington, TX (Zone 8a) wrote:

Posted on October 12, 2011, updated October 20, 2011
I am very happy with this company!

Because the plants HCG ships are very tiny, I really suggest anybody (especially if you live in Texas) to buy plants from High Country Garden in the Fall because they will be able to create a good root system during fall and winter before the summer heat begins. Plus the plants are so tiny that you better buy them early if you want them to become something during the next growing season!

I ordered the following plants in three orders:

Escobaria (Coryphantha) vivipara (Cacti Pot)
Escobaria minima (Cacti Pot)
Helianthemum nummularium 'Burgundy Dazzler' (Standard Pot)
Hymenoxys scaposa (Standard Pot)
Nananthus aff. broomii
Nananthus transvaalensis (Standard Pot)
Osteospermum 'Avalanche' PPAF (Premium Pot)
Phemeranthus (Talinum) calycinum 'Judith's Favorite' (Standard pot)
Ruschia pulvinaris (Standard Pot)
Rabia albipuncta (Standard Pot)
Stomatium mustilinum (Standard Pot)
Zinnia grandiflora 'Yellow Cushion' (Standard Pot)
Yucca Nana (Standard Pot)
Callirhoe involucrata (Standard Pot)
Dalea purpureum (Standard Pot)
Lavandula stoechas 'Madrid Blue' PP# 12,573 (Premium Pot)
Penstemon pinifolius 'Compactum' (Premium Pot)
Armeria maritima 'Compacta' (Premium Pot)
Aloinopsis spathulata (Standard Pot)
Aloinopsis 'Karoo Red Mix' (Cacti Pot)
Hymenoxys acaulis (Standard Pot)
Nierembergia gracilis (Standard Pot)
Achillea serbica (Premium Pot)
Cold Hardy Cacti Sampler (Cactus Pots)
Dianthus gratianopolitanus ‘Firewitch’ (Premium Pot)


Here are the problems I found with the following plants:

1) Helianthemum nummularium 'Burgundy Dazzler' (Standard Pot)
It was out of stock and I received a refund very promptly without even asking anything about it.

2) Hymenoxys scaposa (Standard Pot)
This one died when I planted it in the ground. I believe it was too small (in fact it was a tiny little seedling). I already made a replacement request through their online form 2 days ago. I did not receive a confirmation email about the submission of the replacement request, but I hope they will send me a replacement soon.

3) Lavandula stoechas 'Madrid Blue' PP# 12,573 (Premium Pot)
I hoped this one was going to survive, instead it died just like all the other lavanders I bought at other stores such as Home Depot and Lowes. I really discourage people from buying lavender plants in North Texas because it seems like they do not like the humidity in the air here. Once a lavender feels stressed even a little bit, there is no return, it is doomed to die and there is nothing that can be done. So, I consider this as simply an experiment and I did not ask for a replacement plant. The best lavender plants to buy in Texas are those they sell in your local stores in 2-gallon pots or bigger. They are better prepared for standing our climate.

All the other plants are doing fabulously, and I can't wait for next Spring to see them bloom!


On October 20th, 2011, rinomanfroni added the following:

Wow! Today I not only received the replacement plant for the Hymenoxys scaposa, but I also received another Hymenoxys acaulis! They thought about making sure that I ended up at least with a Hymenoxys alive if ever the scaposa will not make it again!

Thank you so much High Country Garden! The other plants are still doing super great! Let's see how they are going to tolerate the upcoming unpredictable Texas Winter season!
Positive Delightful_Dawn
(2 reviews)
On Oct 18, 2011, Delightful_Dawn Altus, OK (Zone 7a) wrote:

I ordered some Kniphofia Caulescens last spring. They arrived as promised in Oct. They were in wonderful shape and larger than I expected them to be. This was a good shopping experience. I will buy from them again.

Positive JanRed2
(1 review)
On Oct 14, 2011, JanRed2 Brookmont, MD wrote:

I've purchased plants from High Country Gardens several times and always been happy with the results. The resources and information available on their website are extensive and the time or two that I've needed additional help, it has been easy to reach a knowledgeable person. I'm a very happy customer, in Maryland.

Positive OldCrank
(1 review)
On Oct 10, 2011, OldCrank Noonday, TX wrote:

I purchased two Agastche from High Country Gardens. I have purchased from them many times over the years and have Always been satisfied with the plants that arrived. They have always been good sized plants and in good condition.
This time I ran into a problem. One of the plants that arrived was already shriveled up and drooping badly. The other plant was fine. I went ahead and watered both plants and kept them in the garage for a day. The second day I put them out in a shady area and kept them watered. The plant that was shrivled still looked bad, the other one was great. The next day I planted both of them. What I found was that the shrivled plant didn't have any soil in the bottom half of the pot. This is why it was doing so bad. It didn't have any root system to speak of due to the air space in the pot. I contacted HCG and they have sent me a new plant to replace the other one. That's the way a vendor should answer a problem and that's why I still think HCG is the number one vendor for plants. Overall good product and standing behind what they sell makes them A+ in my book.

Neutral hep7sa23
(1 review)
On Sep 24, 2011, hep7sa23 New York, NY wrote:

This is the first time I bought from HCG that I was not satisfied. Two of my 8 plants arrived with the soil spewed out into the box, and one of them has half of the young stems completely dead. Also, I had ordered root stimulator to help with planting and it was not in the shipping box. Not sure if it was sent separately as no communication indicated that. I have a feeling they forgot it.
YET ... the 6 other plants in the box [lavenders] all look full, healthy and robust.
Living in NY, I think I probably will stick to more local growers in the future.


On Sep 24, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Sep 27, 2011 11:08 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

So sorry that some of your plants arrived in less than optimal condition and that a product was missing from the box. We are happy to replace them for you at no charge. You are correct the Root Stimulator Combo Pack should have arrived with your plants. I would like the opportunity to rectify this situation and make sure that you are satisfied. I would like to make sure you get your root stimulator and new plants. Please contact me directly, by phone or email with your order number, at your convenience so I can take care of this for you. Thank you for your business, our goal is your gardening success!

Ruben Vasquez, Operations and Fulfillment Manager
High Country Gardens
rvasquez@highcountrygardens.com
505-428-7381
800-925-9387
"


Negative XeriGardener
(1 review)
On Sep 20, 2011, XeriGardener Plano, TX wrote:

I was majorly disappointed with High Country Gardens after getting a personal referral on them from a local gardening friend.
I ordered $40 of plant stock and $10 of seed. High Country said they would pic the dates for shipping, this is always a bit of a problem as it requires you to be ready to receive the plants and get them situated the day they come in. But at least their order processing web site gives expected ship dates which seemed pretty cool.

The plants were shipped per their production and fullfillment dates, in the worst heat in the summer, via UPS, no doubt in trailers running 150 degrees inside or more. Three of 4 plants came in green but lost their leaves within 2 days of receipt while being kept inside in filtered light at a warm but not hot window location. The 4th plant came in August and it was still record breaking heat, and met with a slightly protracted fate as it took 5 days for it to expire. I can not for the life of me figure out why they sell plants to ship to Texas in the summer, and it humbles me for being so stupid as to do business with anyone who thinks that shipping plants via motorcarrier across west TX in June and August is a good idea. I guess I was sucked in by them knowing what ship dates were best.

I sent an email to customer service regarding my dissatisfaction with the fried plants, and it was returned by Rocque Ranaldi a Customer Service Representative of High Country Gardens with instructions on how I could drop my email on further receipt of catalogs by clicking on unsubscribe at the bottom of the message.

I have a suspicion that customer service is contracted out into India, based on a conversation I had on the phone, and terse the email response which did not seem to have a clue of the nature of the request and smacks of a poor linguistic connection.
I felt that a xeriscape supplier in NM was worth dealing with for my TX xeriscape settings as they had taken the time to categorize plants that would be good for my area, and I guess I just expected too much.

Even though the plants were listed for summer shipment, I was aghast that they would ship in this weather versus at least give me an option to take them later in the summer after the heat wave. To a large extent I can live with the lack of control on this kind of thing, and take it as a lesson learned. However, I feel that the customer service connection here is substandard, and I do not wish to participate with it. The good news is that while I am entering into the Xeriscape area I continue to be interested and that I am now seeking out a local company to do business with and set that as my standard. I don't care what it costs, its getting viable plants that I want, not to have my time and money wasted, borderline rudeness, not to mention frustration and disappointment. The later is not why I garden, and quite frankly, I am not used to experiencing it.

While I am VERY saddened to have seen the passing of Wayside Gardens and Park Seed. My experience here does nothing for the source company nor the industry, and really should not be tolerated.

I AM happy that they included this link in their customer response and I AM thankful for that as it gives me a wonderful community to exchange seeds and growing knowledge, so that alone may well have been worth the 50 bucks spent and lost on this order with High Country Gardens.


On Sep 20, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Sep 20, 2011 1:26 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

One of the things so many of our customers love is that we do give you the option to select your own ship week. Ship weeks can be changed if needed.

I would appreciate the opportunity to get a new order sent to you when the time is right for you.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive WilsonCWW
(1 review)
On Sep 15, 2011, WilsonCWW North Las Vegas, NV (Zone 9a) wrote:

Ordered a few plants from them during summer of '11. They delivered them towards the end of summer as stated. All plants but one arrived in good condition. One of the plants was wilted and pretty much dead. I contacted the company and within a week I already had a replacement for it. Overall I'm satisfied. It's been a few weeks and the plants seem to be doing well so far. I'd order from them again.

Negative anitamacey
(2 reviews)
On Aug 31, 2011, anitamacey Atascadero, CA (Zone 8a) wrote:

Posted on July 26, 2011, updated August 31, 2011
Seems that High Country gardens has gotten way TOO BIG. They did not ship my plants as advised on my order. I finally managed to contact them by live chat and my plants are shipping a week late.
All phone lines are always busy for hours on end.
I have been a customer since they first opened to mail order back in the early 90's and I am VERY DISAPPOINTED.


On August 31st, 2011, anitamacey added the following:

One of my plants was to ship on Aug 22 2011. As yet I have not heard about the plant now has it been delivered.
They have wonderful plants but I will be ordering elsewhere.
On Aug 31, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Aug 5, 2011 10:46 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to work with you and address your concerns. As a result of your comment we have made positive changes in our customer service phone. I am glad we were able to immediately ship your plant order. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387


On Aug 31, 2011 12:31 PM, High Country Gardens added:


Please contact customer service at your earliest convenience as I see a package was delivered to you on August 24th.

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive Patmisty1
(2 reviews)
On Aug 24, 2011, Patmisty1 College Park, MD wrote:

I love this company. Had nothing but positive experience. Plants arrive health. If planted promptly and nurtured the first year they thrive.
Just placed my third order with them. I live in a relatively wet part of the country. Maryland, and look for plants that will do well here and have used plants for areas that are hot and dry.

Positive johnnygalt
(3 reviews)
On Aug 22, 2011, johnnygalt Rockford, IL wrote:

I have just put my third order with High Country Gardens. In the past I have ordered thir Legacy buffalo grass plugs to be installed in a side yard as well as some perennials. Today I ordered 2 flats of the Bella plugs for my small front yard. In the past I have been most impressed with the packaging, prompt delivery as well as the detailed instructions for successful planting results. I am very pleased with their xeric efforts and especially impressed with the ability of their turf to easily adapt to the climate in northern Illinois.

Positive tomlwaters
(9 reviews)
On Aug 5, 2011, tomlwaters Santa Fe, NM wrote:

My order shipped on the date requested, and the plants were all very healthy and meticulously packaged. I have no reservation about recommending them.


On Aug 5, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Aug 5, 2011 10:55 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Our shipping department works hard to get these orders packed and shipped securely. We appreciate your feedback and Thank You for recommending us to others!

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Positive greenneck
(1 review)
On Aug 1, 2011, greenneck Paoli, IN wrote:

several past shipments were most satisfactory. i just ordered from them again; that about says it all, eh?


On Aug 1, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Aug 5, 2011 10:49 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:

Thank you for sharing about the arrival of your past shipments. We are glad to be of continued service to you!

Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Negative phdler
(22 reviews)
On Jul 25, 2011, phdler Homer, NY wrote:

Posted on July 14, 2010, updated July 25, 2011
We've been ordering from HCG for several years and were never disappointed until this year. Very sloppy packing caused many plants to arrive without dirt or labels. They were very good about replacing or crediting all of the ones that did not make it (which is why this is not a negative rating), and those were packed properly, but the overall quality of most their plants (including many of the replacements) is not as good as it has been in the past. Very disappointed. Maybe they've gotten too big or made some poor hiring decisions? Hope they get their act together soon. We miss the old HCG.


On July 25th, 2011, phdler changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

Last year HCG was very good about replacing plants so I changed my original negative to a neutral and decided to give them another chance this spring.

BIG mistake.

The plants were well packed but arrived in very poor condition and one was very small and yellowed. We planted them carefully, hoping they would pick up -- some were planted with the same plant ordered from elsewhere. ALL of the HCG plants from this year have died while the same ones from elsewhere are thriving. In addition, four of their plants from last year did not survive. I will no longer order plants from HCG as I am far happier with my other sources.
On Jul 25, 2011, High Country Gardens responded with:

"On Jul 14, 2010 2:01 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:

We are glad you have already contacted customer service and have processed your claim. We appreciate your feedback and are looking into some of the process changes that took place this season. Most of our growing shipping crew has been with the company for multiple years and we take the same care as in the past. We strive to continue to be the leaders in plant quality, shipping and handling and offer the best customer service. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, comments or suggestions.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com


On Jul 26, 2011 10:24 AM, High Country Gardens added:

Many of the plants High Country Gardens carries are for arid (dry) conditions. We mark these plants for folks in rainy areas so if they purchase them they do not plant them in the same beds as moisture loving plants. High Country Gardens does have plant specialists available to assist with any questions or concerns. We welcome the opportunity to speak with you, as there are a few things that could have caused the yellowing of plants and we would like to explore some solutions with you.

Sincerely,
Victoria Peralta
Customer Service Supervisor
High Country Gardens
vperalta@highcountrygardens.com
1-800-925-9387"


Neutral stanlesmith
(12 reviews)
On Jul 21, 2011, stanlesmith Plover, WI wrote:

Posted on August 26, 2010, updated July 21, 2011
I placed my first order with HCG this past Spring, all plants arrived looking healthy. After planting everything still looked good, however, 1 plant did not make it. I e-mailed HCG for a replacement, they said it was just past their summer shipping deadline, they would replace it in the Fall, or add it to my next order. I asked for the plant to be replaced in the Fall. I didn't intend to order from them until next Spring, I wanted to see how everything came through the Winter. However, the Fall catalog came, and well....you know how that goes...
Anyway, the replacement came today, looks great, and I'm anxious to see how all the plants fare this winter. I hope they do well, I had a great experience with HCG, and if all goes well with the plants, I WILL be ordering from them again.


On July 21st, 2011, stanlesmith changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

Although I still think highly of HCG, I would not recommend them for zone4 and colder. Some of the plants I ordered came back, but not enough to warrent ordering more. Living in WI; I knew it was a crapshoot...sigh...
Positive emuehlbauer
(2 reviews)
On Jul 20, 2011, emuehlbauer Rego Park, NY wrote:

Just got an order of 4 plants, a combination of agave's and yucca's. They came in 3 separate packages, and were all very healthy and large.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | ... 16 Next »


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2016 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America