Comments regarding High Country GardensClick here to return to High Country Gardens's listing.
You are viewing only negative comments
|On Apr 23, 2017, Alonza Charlottesville, VA wrote:
I purchased $367 of garden perennials...order 300100180 on April 9th.
|On Apr 20, 2017, joip Wheat Ridge, CO wrote:
What has happened to HCG?? Here's what I received
On Apr 20, 2017, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Apr 21, 2017 1:39 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
Dear Joip; I'm sorry that it's taken a few days to get back to you and that you were not happy with your order. I took a look at your account and am confused as the web order you're referring to did have the Apache Sunset on it. As for the varieties that we ship dormant, each plant is different - that's what makes our High Country selection so unique. Some wake up later than others and based on our experience, some transplant more successfully in one form or another. We do all that we can to make sure our customers are successful with our products and as always, guarantee your satisfaction. The credit we issued you that you used on this order is an example of how we stand behind our products. Please plant and care for your order and let us know how they turn out once they've acclimated to your garden and once ground temperatures in your area of Denver have warmed a bit more. As always, we want you to be happy. Best, Ethan Platt, President"
|On Oct 12, 2016, KDonovan Lyons, CO wrote:
I was very excited to have found High Country Gardens and ordered Dog Tuff grass plugs from them on Oct 6 for planting in zone 6. I was impressed by the website and its statement that they ship when it's appropriate for the zone being shipped to. The transaction posted in my account on 10/7. High Country Gardens called me to verify my shipping address within three days after placing my order. I called today (10/12) to check on the status of shipping and because one portion of their website stated the plugs could be planted in the fall while another states planting in the spring. I was told today that the plugs would be shipped to me next week ( 2 weeks after the order was placed and my account was charged). I asked about the fall/spring planting question and was told that they apologized and it was too late for planting this year. It was only because I phoned and raised the question about planting times that the shipment was stopped despite the website's statement that they ship when appropriate for the order. I've recently paid to have my existing lawn cleared in preparation for planting this fall, money I will now have to eat. My only experience with this company has been negative.
On Oct 12, 2016, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Oct 12, 2016 4:16 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On May 24, 2016, Adrienneny Staten Island, NY (Zone 6b) wrote:
I dislike writing a negative review but my experience with High Country Gardens was negative in multiple ways. I’m disheartened to read how they respond to some of the negative reviews here too.
On May 24, 2016, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 25, 2016 8:25 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On May 24, 2016, utahxericman Provo, UT wrote:
Posted on May 24, 2013, updated May 24, 2016
On May 24th, 2013, utahxericman added the following:
Well more time has passed, finally received an e-mail stating that a plant was missing and that they would ship soon (whatever that means) have waited again this week, still no plants, still no phone call or e-mail saying I would get my plants this week, still no idea when I will get my plants. I am thinking about asking for my money back, I initially asked to get High country gardens credit for the plants they didn\'t have and then plant replacements on the ones they did, but I think I am wasting my time, and that I may have to eat the 100 dollars worth of plants. Nothing seems to be going right for them and the customer service after all these complaints hasn\'t improved a bit.
On May 24th, 2016, utahxericman added the following:
It has been a while since I ordered from High Country Gardens, last time I ordered they were going through a change of ownership. So I decided to give them some time to work through the process. I had some store credit with them so I placed a small order 4 plants (2 of the plants I ordered I can't find locally, one of the plants is an HCG exclusive plant) the other two plants that I ordered I can find locally, I just wanted to use up my credit with them. I received an e-mail saying the HCG exclusive plant wasn't ready to ship and wouldn't be ready this year to ship, so they replaced it with another Agastache --bummer, I didn't want the other Agastache, that is why I ordered the other one..I can find the Agastache they sent me locally for 5.50-6.50 in a much bigger pot and plant. The gayfeather I ordered in a 2.5 inch pot again I could have found a much bigger plant for $5.50 locally, it really is a tiny plant about as much leaf growth on it as a .50 cent piece I would be embarrassed to send something out like that to my customers. The other two plants I received were small, but it is to be expected of the type and size of plants HCG sends out, maybe they sent me their crap plants because I used my store credit, who knows, it is too bad, this company has some neat xeric plants, but I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.
On May 24, 2016, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 17, 2013 11:38 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
On May 25, 2016 8:34 AM, High Country Gardens added:
|On May 14, 2016, donsch Random Lake, WI wrote:
The plants that I received were small and not worth the price that I paid for them. I contacted the company and mentioned that one of the items received was pretty small and probably would not survive if planted and requested a bigger replacement and/or refund. Two days later I still have not received an email response to my inquiry. It appears that their customer service is not very prompt when it comes to answering emails.
On May 14, 2016, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 14, 2016 9:06 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
Dear Don, I'm sorry that you were not pleased with the size of your plants. We work very hard to set customer expectations through our product details, "how your plants will ship" photos and our videos. As always, everything we sell comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee and we always want to see our customers happy.
|On Jul 11, 2015, tomato2 Placitas, NM wrote:
I have done thousands of dollars worth of business from HCG over the past 10 years & their greenhouses are not 5 miles from my house (yet I cannot go there & select the plants - they ship them to you at significant cost). I bought 5 plants from them in 2014 & was appalled by the tiny size. I called them & the rep said "if they are alive, that's all we promise". HCG was bought out last year by an outfit from New England I will not do business with them ever again.
On Jul 11, 2015, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jul 13, 2015 9:36 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
Dear tomato2, I'm sorry that you were not happy with your plants. Our 100% satisfaction guarantee is just that - if you're not satisfied, we make it right. "If they are alive, that's all we promise" simply is not our philosophy - we wouldn't stay in business long with that attitude! We looked in our records and can't find a record of anyone from Placitas calling to talk about quality or request a resolution. Feel free to call and ask for me directly if you don't feel that this is accurate.
|On May 27, 2015, chwagn11 Ulysses, KS wrote:
The plants are expensive for the tiny size. The local nurseries have same plants only much bigger and not an high shipping charge. I have ordered every year and seem to get much smaller plants every year. The shipping is very slow. The last order was two weeks delayed because of internal computer problems, this order of seed I have not even got a tracking number yet. I have emailed them but they do not respond. I have decided to not use them anymore for the size of plants, price, and service it just is not worth it in my opinion.
On May 27, 2015, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 27, 2015 3:44 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
Dear Chris, We're sorry you were not happy with your order - you've been a great customer for multiple years and we'd hate to lose you.
|On May 24, 2015, palindromeami Saint Paul, MN wrote:
I am an experienced gardener with an extensive mail order history. This is my first negative review. I ordered from High Country Gardens for the 2014 season. One of the plants they sent was the wrong cultivar, one that will not grow in my region. They were not able to replace it with the correct plant. I requested a refund. Instead I got a credit. The remainder of the plants went into the garden. Only one has established well. All the others are slow, more so than anything else I planted that season. One of them I also ordered from another company by mistake. The other company's plant put on twice the growth and came through the winter better. This spring I decided to use my credit and be done forever with this company. The plant arrived last week, snapped off about two inches above the base, probably because the plant had been grown in uneven light and was shaped like an S, and then packed poorly. I request a refund, NOT a credit. Guess who got a credit instead? I so want to be done with this company!
On May 24, 2015, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 26, 2015 11:10 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On Jun 2, 2014, cmartell Spokane, WA wrote:
I've used HCG for a year now. It started off as overpriced but decent. It has steadily declined to overpriced with low quality plants, nonexistent customer service, and slow shipping.
On Jun 2, 2014, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jun 3, 2014 10:04 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On Apr 26, 2014, xuling Windsor, CA (Zone 9b) wrote:
Posted on October 24, 2012, updated April 26, 2014
On October 24th, 2012, xuling changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:
The mailing service has gone down hill. Three plants were ok but very small and the dirt was flying all over the box. The two cactus were a joke they were so small. I didn't even know one was in its containter because it was so small and the dirt was so loose that it covered the plant up. I replanted them immediately and cleaned them up. I am not ordering from HCG anymore. Xuling
On April 26th, 2014, xuling added the following:
Of the plants that I ordered in the above, ALL have died but the two cactus. The cactus actually are a little larger than my thumb now. They are going to live but are so small that I will never see them bloom. If it were possible I would give the company a Double Negative.
On Apr 26, 2014, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Oct 25, 2012 9:24 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I am sorry to hear of your recent order. Please contact customer Service to process a claim. We do have a 100% guarantee and would like to rectify this for you.
On Apr 26, 2014 9:00 PM, High Country Gardens added:
|On Apr 22, 2014, corirusson Alpine, UT wrote:
Posted on December 20, 2007, updated April 22, 2014
On April 22nd, 2014, corirusson added the following:
I ordered one of the pre-planned gardens. One of the plants was missing and also the map for planting.
I called customer service and they offered to email me the plan. Great ...but they only sent me the first page; still no planting instructions.
I called again and another rep told me they would email the second page right away.
Still no planting instructions. Still waiting and plants have been sitting for a week, waiting to be planted.
On Apr 22, 2014, High Country Gardens responded with:
"We apologize for any miscommunication. We immediately contacted with corirusson and processed a refund for the 2 additional vases including shipping and handling.
On Apr 23, 2014 11:21 AM, High Country Gardens added:
Corirusson, Sorry for the issues with your order. The 2nd page of the map was sent to you this morning - the rep didn't realize that it was 2 separated files. The replacement for your missing plant has been entered and will ship within the next few days.
|On Oct 5, 2013, muckles13 Ault, CO wrote:
Received my bulb order last week. Four of the 12 of the one variety were unplantable: desiccated, broken. Not only that, they were in a very hard to open plastic bag. I had to hunt down scissors to open it. No plant labels with any of them either. I contacted the company the same day. They were to send out new bulbs that day "or the next." That was a week ago and I find out that they haven't even shipped. Plus when they do ship, it's coming from Vermont--clear on the other side of the country, while I live in Colorado. I do know they company was sold, but New Mexico is a bordering state, so to have things shipping from Vermont is stupid, plus I'm looking at a two week wait now. The order was supposed to come FedX, but they went to the post office, so that was yet another delay
On Oct 5, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Oct 5, 2013 1:23 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On Jul 25, 2013, Hypatiacat Bisbee, AZ wrote:
I place a large order with this company sometime around March. I wanted time to get my plants in, and I needed to plant early. I was misled as to how soon they could or would ship my plants, and never quite given an exact answer as to when they would ship.
On Jul 25, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jul 25, 2013 4:12 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On Jul 9, 2013, Ever_Blooming Camden, ME wrote:
I am a professional fine gardener who has been in business for 18 years with 10 employees. I've designed over 200 gardens and written a best-selling garden design book. I ordered 8 varieties of plants on May 2, 2013. I finally received half of the varieties on June 24, 2013, and most of the plants I did receive were dead. They had been frying in a hot box in transit for days without moisture, and they were crisp. I sent the company photos and suggestions about how better to pack the plants. They dithered (said the plants in the photos looked fine, for example) and justified their packaging system (no moist paper towels, no plastic bags, nothing substantial to even hold the soil in the pots, dry newsprint wadded around the plants in the box), and finally agreed to resend the worst ones. I received the new plants, which were also totally fried and packaged badly like the first ones. In addition, one of the plants had spider mites. I sent photos and they again justified their packaging system (they do not understand customer service, these people) and said they will refund part of what I paid. I will definitely never order from these people again. All that time I wasted taking and sending photos, plus they didn't even tell me they didn't have half the varieties I wanted until six weeks after I placed my order. Maybe the problem has to do with the company changing hands last February?
On Jul 9, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jul 11, 2013 9:50 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On Jun 7, 2013, ROSES_R_RED Mount Bethel, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:
Posted on June 7, 2013, updated June 7, 2013
On June 7th, 2013, ROSES_R_RED added the following:
I had no responses or information about my order until I posted here at Dave's Garden and only then did I get any attention or information. You never contacted me to tell me that you had no inventory on this plant until I posted HERE!
On Jun 7, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jun 7, 2013 8:24 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On Jun 6, 2013, megs419 Buda, TX wrote:
Posted on June 4, 2013, updated June 6, 2013
On June 6th, 2013, megs419 added the following:
I really appreciate the effort you are making to reach out to the people on this review site, and I appreciate you taking a look into my issue.
On Jun 6, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jun 5, 2013 10:31 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
megs419, There's no excuse for why your order has yet to ship. All I can tell you is that we've really struggled with the systems that we inherited when we took over High Country on Feb 1. I can see your order in the system, but I cannot explain why it doesn't print when we pull orders ready to ship.
|On Jun 4, 2013, streeterpl Washington, IL wrote:
I placed an order May 12th and still have not recv'd my plants. They took my money right away though! I emailed them and got the response of it will ship next week, well I still have not recv'd my plants and my emails go unanswered. Very frustrated with this company! Not happy at all!!!
On Jun 4, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jun 5, 2013 9:44 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
streeterpl, I'm sorry to see that your order was voided. After a very difficult transition this spring, we're going to be caught up on our order shipping by Tuesday. I hope that as we get High Country back up and running, we have a chance to re-earn your business in the future.
|On Jun 3, 2013, nmcclain Denver, CO wrote:
Posted on May 24, 2013, updated June 3, 2013
On June 3rd, 2013, nmcclain added the following:
In light of president's response, I was hopeful of receiving my order last week as promised. No such luck. Still waiting. Maybe this week?
On Jun 3, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 24, 2013 2:21 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
Mr. McClain, sorry for your frustration. As you can see below, we're madly trying to stay on top of our orders, having taken over High Country on Feb 1. We're shipping hundreds of orders per day, but got behind partially due to the difficult weather you had in April and early May in Denver as well as issues with the inventory and order processing system we inherited.
|On May 30, 2013, cbroas1 Highfill, AR wrote:
I too am having problems with High Country Gardens. I placed an order (my first) in early May and still have not received it. I have sent 3 emails and left 2 voice mails. The first email was
On May 30, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 30, 2013 6:32 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
Please contact me and I will gladly assist you. We have been receiving a high volume of calls and emails and apologize it has been difficult reaching us.
|On May 30, 2013, Doanechilcoat Clive, IA wrote:
Since 2006 I've purchased from HCG 1-3 times a year. I've always been delighted in all respects. Plant quality, plant variety, service. A few years ago I was in Santa Fe and visited in person and was also impressed.
On May 30, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 30, 2013 6:25 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I do apologize you have not been able to reach us. We have been working to fill orders as quickly as possible but have run into some inventory issues along the way. As you know this is not the norm for HCG and we are working around the clock to get caught up. I would be more than glad to assist you with your order. Please do email me and I will resolve this for you.
|On May 29, 2013, katoom Aurora, CO wrote:
Tried contacting them about an issue with an order. They refused to answer several e-mails. Customer service never answers the phone. They used to be a good company but I will never buy from them again.
On May 29, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 29, 2013 3:22 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
Katoom, I just sent you a d-mail seeking further information.
|On May 25, 2013, rugbycrumpet Sharon, MA (Zone 6a) wrote:
Posted on February 28, 2013, updated May 25, 2013
On May 25th, 2013, rugbycrumpet changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:
Obviously, I am seeing a trend here. This company is experience some serious issues with their fulfillment and shipping logistics as a result of the recent sale to American Meadows.
I purchased $200 worth of plants back in February with an expected shipment date of late-April. I did not receive anything by mid-May even though I received a shipping confirmation from their at end of April. Customer service took a week to respond to their emails. Online chat does not work.
I finally cancelled the order.
I am extremely disappointed with this transaction as High Country Gardens was one of, if not my favorite online nurseries in the past.
On May 25, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 25, 2013 12:46 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On May 23, 2013, ElsbethL wrote:
I placed my order with High Country Gardens in March. The plants didn't arrive when they were scheduled to. Then I received messages saying the order was held up by some plants. Then I got a couple of small refunds.
On May 23, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 23, 2013 8:05 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I do apologize for the delay with your order. Per my voice message this evening I have canceled your order per request and refunded you. Please feel free to contact me.
|On May 22, 2013, pyperrose Arlington, TN wrote:
I have been a long time customer of High Country Gardens and in the past received excellent service. This expereince has been the worst I have ever had with any company. I placed an order of numerous plants to be shipped the week of 4/22/2013. When it did not arrive I called the next week and received word that 1 plant was holding the order up but it would ship within the week. I have been trying numerous times since then by calling and sending emails and have yet to get hold of anyone or gotten a response to my emails. I feel that my money has been stolen and I will never see the plants I so wanted. I would not recommend anyone use this company
On May 22, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 22, 2013 1:09 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I am sorry to hear of your frustration. I would be glad to look into this for you. Please contact me and I will assist you with your order! I apologize for any inconvenience.
|On May 22, 2013, dogdoc San Diego, CA wrote:
In past years I have ordered from HCG and always been thrilled by the speed of shipping and quality of plants. Here is how it went down this year:
On May 22, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 22, 2013 10:48 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On May 18, 2013, joimack6953 Wheat Ridge, CO wrote:
Posted on May 10, 2013, updated May 18, 2013
On May 10th, 2013, joimack6953 changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:
Well now it's May 2013. I ordered my plants early so the things I wanted would be available - about 80 plants. My shipment was supposed to arrive in April but due to the weather in Denver shipments were postponed. I was very happy about that. But now I am wondering if the plants I ordered and paid for are ever going to arrive. I was promised my plants would ship last week and when they didn't arrive was promised again they would definitely be here today. No, not today either. I've chatted live, left messages, received apologies through e-mail, waited on hold for customer service only to be transferred to a voice mail after 15 minutes and as a matter of fact I'm on a live chat right now with Locky and have not received any response from him for a good ten minutes. I was very sorry to hear HCG went bankrupt and joyful when I heard they had been acquired by American Meadows and would continue to offer plants that thrive in Colorado. But now I wonder if I will ever receive my plants and am very frustrated with the lack of customer service I am receiving.
On May 18th, 2013, joimack6953 added the following:
May 18, 2013 and still haven't received any of my plants. The entire front area of my home which was supposed to be transformed from grass to a prairie/native type garden is brown - full of the grass we allowed to die back to plant our new water wise garden. My neighbors are not amused nor am I. My order status on the HCG website is "in shipping", the president of the American Meadows replied my plants were at the Denver greenhouse preparing to be shipped. Maybe next week....
On May 18, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 10, 2013 4:38 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On May 17, 2013, magnolia92 Greenville, NC wrote:
Posted on May 16, 2013, updated May 17, 2013
On May 17th, 2013, magnolia92 added the following:
TO: Ethan Platt, President, American Meadows / High Country Gardens
Thank you for your response to my complaint regarding High Country Gardens. I was indeed aware that American Meadows purchased High Country Gardens and I am empathetic to the problems your company is having with the inventory and ordering systems. However, as a customer, these issues mean relatively little to me and when I order from a company I expect to be treated honestly, fairly and not be placated with excuses. As for your Customer Service Reps doing the best they can, I am a CSR as well and CSR’s do not tell customers that they will do something and then not do it. It comes across as being unscrupulous and produces very unhappy customers.
Again, thank you for your response. I have emailed High Country that I will accept your offer to receive the replacement Agastache Ava this fall, although I have little hope that the plant will arrive and be in good health.
On May 17, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 16, 2013 8:43 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On May 17, 2013, dserrano77 Chapel Hill, NC wrote:
Posted on May 17, 2013, updated May 17, 2013
On May 17th, 2013, dserrano77 added the following:
In response to Ethan: Ethan, thanks for the note. I understand that that is the current line on why this is happening. What I don't understand is that if this is true, how come I didn't have problems in the past but have since the acquisition. This claim rings somewhat hollow. Thanks for bailing out HCG, and it may be a coordination issue, but HCG was fine before and a problem now -- so it can't be the system only.
On May 17, 2013, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 17, 2013 1:15 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
|On Jul 6, 2012, spicetail Mansfield, OH wrote:
plants i received this year either struggled or died, very little root system on them
On Jul 6, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jul 6, 2012 1:42 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
High Country Gardens has a 100% guarantee. Please contact customer service and we will gladly process a claim for you!
|On Jun 8, 2012, MBX5 Arvada, CO wrote:
I had the WORST experience with mail order ever! It all started with my order on 3/19/12 for the Sizzling Colors' Inferno Strip, Penstemon mexicali and Cold Hardy Mediterranean Garden. Not a huge order but still 360.00 worth of product. The ship date was In April and that's when it all went downhill! First the order showed up missing more than 20 plants and many looking bad. When I tried to call all you get is voice mail so I left a message and filled out the form with no response for a week and many more calls and emails. The lady on the phone said they would send the missing plants but not on my schedule which was kind of ok since I wanted them. Well I finally got the plants and then another order of inferno strip shows up. Not sure what to do I called again and filled out many many forms for 2 weeks with no call back. When I did get a support call I told them I gave the plants away as I had no room and they just sat around. I was told that was ok and they still had a few DOA plant to ship when stock came back in. Another week goes by and I come home to 5 more boxes on my porch! Another inferno stip and a few other plants. Back to calls and emails a week latter I get a person on the phone and she tells me they have charged me for 3 inferno strips along with a few other plants. Now I'm pissed and tell the lady to have a manager call me as she was the after hours call center. So again many calls,emails and weeks later still no response so I start calling the garden center not mail order store And got a cell phone number of a person high up at Highcountry. Even she couldn't get anyone to answer her. Finally 1.5 weeks latter she called back and said no charges are made for the extra flowers. I was also informed I would receive the DOA plants none of which to this day I received! This is an abbreviated version of all that took place but it doesn't seem that way. I will never order with them again or recommend any other people place orders with them.
On Jun 8, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Jun 8, 2012 2:53 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I regret to hear you had difficulty reaching us in regards to your order. We have made changes to improve response time. I would like to look into what plants you are still missing. If you can please contact me directly toll free 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023 or via email firstname.lastname@example.org.
|On May 30, 2012, cscheids Colorado Springs, CO wrote:
Posted on May 25, 2012, updated May 30, 2012
On May 25th, 2012, cscheids added the following:
Interesting…..I get no response from the company via all their advertised means of contact (voice, email, online chat), yet the same day I complain in this forum I get a response. To follow up, I finally got a voicemail message from a gentleman representing the company on the day the order shipped, saying that they would return the order and resend it to be received on May 19th. Nothing arrived. I contacted the company on Monday morning the 21st to see what had happened, the person I spoke to was not able to help and said a supervisor would be in contact with me within ONE TO TWO WEEKS…. ridiculous. I called again on the 24th and left another message and later in the day got a call from the same gentleman assuring me that the order was going to be shipped for arrival at the end of the day Friday the 25th. It's after 7pm and nothing has arrived. Don't waste your time or money with this company. I'll be doing everything I can to get the charges on my credit card reversed.
On May 30th, 2012, cscheids added the following:
I was contacted by a customer service rep over the weekend who assured me my order would arrive by Weds the 30th….and it did! But, while I was expecting healthy, thriving plants, instead I got two medium sized boxes with things in it that I would scarcely call such, more like seedlings, if that. Two leaves on a stem does not make a plant and the grasses I bought are about 3 inches tall and dead already. If this were my product I would be totally embarrassed by the quality. I really wish I would have spent my money on plants from Home Depot or Lowe's, for the same price or cheaper I would have gotten things that I can actually use. Ah well, lesson learned.
On May 30, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 2, 2012 1:37 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I am sorry to hear of your recent experience and would like to look into your order for you personally. Please send me your order information so assist you. Toll free 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023 or email email@example.com.
On May 26, 2012 12:03 PM, High Country Gardens added:
Thank you for giving me the time to work with you today. I will follow up with you on Tuesday! I appreciate your patience and apologize for any inconvenience.
|On May 27, 2012, grjunc Fruita, CO wrote:
I have ordered from this company for years, as they sell plants that do well in my part of the country, and I generally have been very pleased with the plants and the customer service. This year has been an entirely different experience. On February 7, 2012, I ordered over $300 worth of plants from them. I received a portion of the plants shipped on the agreed ship date, April 24, 2012. Half of the shipment was in fine condition, the other plants included were barely breaking dormancy and were tentative at best. On the enclosed packing slip I was then advised another portion of my order had been cancelled and another part of the order had been delayed to ship May 7. May 7 came and went without notification of shipment, and after emailing and calling several times, I finally connected with a live person who told me this portion of my order had been cancelled as well. In the meantime, the plants in the received order that were barely alive had died. Essentially, I received one quarter of my order. In short, this had been my go to source for plants for my area; however, I'm not sure I will order from them again.
On May 27, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 28, 2012 10:11 AM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I am sorry to hear of your recent order experience. We have made some changes this season which we are trying to iron out. Please contact me directly to resolve the shipment received.
|On May 26, 2012, 1345afge Colorado Springs, CO wrote:
When I placed my order in March 2012, I requested 14 May 2012 shipment. I received confirmation in March, but I did not receive my order the week of 14 May. I sent two e-mails requesting status - no responses. I finally called a representative who indicated my shipment would be sent 28 May. I asked why I did not receive notification of the delay or responses to my two e-mails - the excuse was the company had implemented a new computer system (Why implement a new system during this time of year?). Also, many plants I ordered were not available. I requested cancellation of my order, and the representative said it would be done. However, I have not received an e-mail cancellation notice. I have been a customer for years and have placed many orders of $300+. Current customer service and communications are terrible. I want my order cancelled and a refund on my credit card. I also request a confirmation that my order will be cancelled. No more orders until you can win back my trust with timely responses, available plants, and much better customer service.
On May 26, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 26, 2012 12:07 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I understand your frustration in trying to get resolve. I apologize for any inconvenience. As you know this is not our norm and we are working to make sure the service you are use to with High County Gardens is restored. I would like to make sure your requests have been fulfilled. Please contact me by email or phone.
|On May 26, 2012, flowerblue36 White City, UT wrote:
I have emailed the company twice and called due to not having received my order. No response to either email. The person I talked too on the phone stated my order would be made "priority" and would be sent next week. I still have not received my order. I have ordered from HCG before and never a problem like this.
On May 26, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 26, 2012 12:04 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I regret to hear of your recent experience and apologize for any inconvenience. Please contact me so I can look into this personally.
|On May 24, 2012, sonias Boulder, CO wrote:
I'm sorry to give this company a negative review, as I've used them for many years. Their plants are excellent, but their customer service is atrocious this year. I placed an order in January, assuming that would reserve the plants I wanted, especially since they charged my credit card right away. Come April, I only received 9 of the 14 plants I had ordered. Of the missing ones, 3 were listed as unavailable, but the other 2 had no explanation whatsoever. Since then, I have only recently been able to reach someone by phone, as I was always sent to a voicemail system that was full, and that representative said she needed to send my case to another dept. who would contact me (a week later, I've heard nothing). None of my emails (including to Victoria Peralta) has been answered. A credit has been issued to my account, but it is not the correct amount. Do I think this will all be straightened out in the end? Maybe. But I'll never get back the time and energy I've wasted on trying to figure this out and get an answer from them.
On May 24, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 24, 2012 3:46 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I am sorry to hear you have not had resolve in regards to your order questions. I do try and respond to all my emails and calls when I am in. I apologize if I did not respond to an email you sent. I would be glad to assist you. Seeing you have already emailed me can you please resend the email or it may be best to call me with your information.
|On May 21, 2012, sunnybordergirl Hawesville, KY wrote:
I recently placed an order and requested an immediate ship date in an effort to receive my plants before an upcoming holiday. I received a confirmation of my order indicating my order would ship the date I requested. I expected to receive my order at least by the following Friday, however, the website didn't indicate how my order would be shipping so I placed a call. I was told that my order did not ship and would not ship until the the following Monday. The person wasn't really sure what happened and told me that they were located in another facility, however my order would ship on the following Monday. Today I called to make sure my order shipped and was advised that it was not going to ship AT ALL. I asked them why that no one e-mailed me or phoned me to let me know there was a problem either with my initial ship date or subsequently when they determined that my order was not going to be shipped. When I placed my order I provided my e-mail address and a telephone number in the event they would need to contact me. It is unacceptable customer service to just simply not contact me in any way (either e-mail or by phone) to let me know the status of my order. I was concerned when I saw the other negative reviews, however, I have had good experiences with HCG in the past - so I took a chance. However, after this experience I will certainly consider carefully other reviews because this became my own bad experience. Really a shame because I previously did have good experiences. An e-mail or phone call only takes a moment and certainly makes a difference for customer goodwill.
On May 21, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 22, 2012 4:48 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I appreciate you giving me the time to speak with you yesterday. We are working on making adjustments to make sure this does not occur again. My apologies for any inconvenience.
|On Apr 28, 2012, Dekoffer Tuscola, TX wrote:
Two of my last three orders have been problematic. In my previous order, I ordered two 1 gallon plants that had obviously been transferred from 2 inch pots to gallon pots just prior to shipping. The root structure was just pitiful. In my most recent order, I decided to forgo gallon plants for 5 inch pots, but 2 of the plants had obviously just been transplanted to 5 inch pots from two inch pots. Plus, they left out two of my plants that I ordered and paid for. It was a large order and they did not include a packing list, so I can only assume they were hoping I wouldn't notice. Packing has also become increasingly shoddy over the past couple of months. Customer service has been helpful, but I expect them to get things right the first time. Make sure to take pics of plants if you have a problem. I wasn't offered a refund for one of the gallon plants because I went ahead and planted it without taking a pic. I wasn't asking for a full refund just the price difference between the gallon and 5 inch pots.
On Apr 28, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On May 1, 2012 1:59 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
We appreciate your feedback and are looking into the issues you've brought up. We have a 100% guarantee and do not require photos for replacements or refunds. Please contact me directly to process a claim if this was not resolved. Toll free 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023 or via email firstname.lastname@example.org.
|On Apr 24, 2012, CEH208 Eldorado at Santa Fe, NM wrote:
Plants received were poorly shipped/packaged. Several stems were broken but have been trying to salvage them. Plants did not have well developed root systems and were too young to be shipped out. I now have two plants that have completely died. Have emailed customer service for replacement 3 times with no response. Waited a week and tried calling customer service which went to a recording saying please leave a message, but the mail box is full. Sadly, I still have more plants ordered to be shipped this week, wishing it could be cancelled. I think the retail locations are fine, and I know problems occur in shipping, but the lack of prompt customer service means I won't be ordering again.
On Apr 24, 2012, High Country Gardens responded with:
"On Apr 24, 2012 12:34 PM, High Country Gardens responded with:
I am sorry to hear of your recent experience. We take great pride in our plants and customer service and want to fix this for you, as well as use your feedback to improve our service. Please contact me at your earliest convenience by email email@example.com or direct at 1-877-811-2700 ext. 3023.