Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Swan Island Dahlias

Click here to return to Swan Island Dahlias's listing.

You are viewing only neutral comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
50 positives
3 neutrals
4 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Neutral Chuck1933
(4 reviews)
On Oct 31, 2010, Chuck1933 Springfield, MO wrote:

Posted on August 28, 2010, updated October 31, 2010
I ordered two collections during the early winter of 2009, and then I received a note that they had suffered some freeze damage and would be making some substitutions when my order shipped in the spring of 2010. The bulbs looked good and all of them sprouted.

As these 25+ dalihas began to bloom, the bloom size was 2-3 inches in diameter, occasionally 4 inches, mainly orange and purple, which were supposed to be 4-7 inch blooms. We are now at the end of the summer and this has not changed, although some of the plants have reached 4-5 feet in height.

As best I can tell, these varieties would be rejects anywhere else. I am giving them a negative based on the quality of blooms and the lack of variety in collections that were supposed to all be different.


On October 31st, 2010, Chuck1933 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

The dalihas sprang to life with the cooler weather in late September and October up until a killing frost 10/29/2010.
I just dug the bulbs and found all had multiplied profusely. Although I am going to stick to ordering bulbs closer to home from now on so that they are more acclimated to Missouri weather - and the bloom size on most was smaller than I had anticipated - since they all lived and multiplied a negative rating is probaly too harsh.
On Oct 31, 2010, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

"On Aug 28, 2010 5:28 PM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

Dear Chuck1933,

I am so sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your dahlias that you purchased from us for spring 2010. We are truly disappointed that you have a posted a negative feedback regarding this matter before contacting us and giving us the opportunity to help you with these dahlias. We absolutely guarantee them to grow and be beautiful for you. There are many growing conditions or reasons that could cause the results you are seeing. And would have loved to have helped you with your dahlias...

There is still plenty of growing time left for us to help you with them if you would like - please contact us at 1-800-410-6540.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Gitts-Eubanks
The Gitts Family
Swan Island Dahlias "


Neutral veryzer
(4 reviews)
On Mar 6, 2010, veryzer Sycamore, IL wrote:

Posted on March 5, 2010, updated March 6, 2010
I initially ordered three dahlias, all of which arrived in great shape. I tried, however, to add a fourth to my order, and was told it would be no problem so long as I confirmed the addition. I did so, but the shipment was sent without said addition. When I sent an email questioning the shipment, I never received a reply. So, in short, what I received was as promised but I hoped for better communication (and action) on the subsequent addition.

Neutral SueMacyszyn
(6 reviews)
On Apr 1, 1998, SueMacyszyn wrote:

I received a mailer pack with free catalog cards. They say buy direct from the grower.


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America