Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Horizon Herbs, LLC

Click here to return to Horizon Herbs, LLC's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
143 positives
4 neutrals
14 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Negative rissole
(7 reviews)
On Apr 1, 2014, rissole Atlanta, GA wrote:

Posted on April 1, 2014, updated April 1, 2014
Posted on March 28, 2014, updated April 1, 2014
I placed an order for seeds on March 19. I got a confirmation of my order through e-mail, but nothing else since then. So, I just called them to find the status of my order. It *still* hasn't shipped. The woman said it should ship at the beginning of next week. She said that it's already at the "shipping house," and is just waiting to go out. That sounds a bit strange to me.

So, if the seeds finally go out next week, that will be nearly *2 weeks* after I placed the order. As for the "we're just really busy in spring excuse," most *other* companies do not take this long to ship in spring! Maybe Horizon Herbs needs to hire more people. If I don't get my seeds by the middle of next week, I will be changing this rating to a negative.

Either way, I don't think I will be ordering from Horizon Herbs again.


On March 31st, 2014, rissole added the following:

Thanks for your comment. Actually, I've moved, so I probably need to update my info on here, though I'm not exactly sure how to do that. Anyway, my new location is Hartwell, GA. I've also noticed that some folks on here have waited weeks for arrival of their orders even during January, etc. And I checked my e-mail today, and still nothing about the package being shipped. So, it had better ship tomorrow--otherwise, the shipping date won't meet the "beginning of next week" time frame that the woman on the phone promised me.
On April 1st, 2014, rissole changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:


On Apr 1, 2014, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Mar 29, 2014 9:42 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

I looked through 97 orders that came in on March 19th and was unable to find any from Atlanta, GA. If you'd like to make sure that your order goes out on Monday please e-mail me at herbseed (at) horizonherbs.com with your full name or order number. It will be my pleasure to make sure you get your seeds, and I do apologise for the wait. This is a reminder that anybody who wants next day service can pay the $10.00 rush fee. Otherwise order early. The response times are well enumerated on our website and we can get behind at this season--other times of year a 3-day turnaround is typical. Maybe other companies are shipping faster--my personal experience with this is mixed--but do other companies offer over 1,000 species of medicinals? no. I know it is hard to wait during the spring. I was just in the greenhouse weeding seedling flats and FINALLY saw the seedlings for the red celery coming up. I wanted to update the website in view of the EXTREMELY LONG germination period for these seeds, which took so much longer than everything else that got planted before last full moon. But when I did the math, it was 13 days, not nearly as long as I had thought. Its funny how patience is such a necessary part of being a good gardener and yet I get impatient in the spring. I wonder at myself, sometimes. "


Negative katiebear
(7 reviews)
On Feb 16, 2014, katiebear mulege
Mexico wrote:

Like other, I like the idea of the company. I have ordered numerous seeds and plants from them. The problem I had was with a large (and expensive) order for yacon plants. All the plants promptly died. I contacted them to ask for a least a partial refund/replacement. I got back a blunt "there is no guarantee on live plants" response. I noticed last time I was on their site that they no longer sell these plants.


On Feb 16, 2014, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Feb 16, 2014 9:05 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

To clarify, we do indeed guarantee receipt of live plants. The remainder is up to the gardener, to nourish them and keep them healthy. We do sell yacon, it is currently listed, it is a great plant, and frankly it is very easy to ship in live state and keep alive.
"


Negative Likalee30
(1 review)
On Jan 19, 2014, Likalee30 Cheney, WA wrote:

Posted on January 15, 2014, updated January 19, 2014
I ordered on Jan 2, 2014 and received a confirmation of the order. The funds were also electronically transferred that day.
On the morning of Jan 13th, I sent an inquiry since I had still not rec'd my order. No response. On the afternoon of the 14th, I sent another inquiry. I got the following response: "this order has shipped out to you and you should have it within this next week. Please let me know if you do not get it."
Today I got a message that it just shipped. In other words, they sat on their hind end and weren't going to do anything until I pestered them. It looks like they didn't even try to send it until after I started bugging them.
And just another note why this made me mad. On their site, they claim speedy shipping once your order is confirmed. From the site: "Please note: Once your order is confirmed, it is up for shipment--no additions, changes or cancellations are possible."
I have ordered from these guys more than once, but this has left a very sour taste in my mouth.


On January 19th, 2014, Likalee30 added the following:

Normal flow? It was approved for shipping on the 3rd. Do you normally wait that long to ship? AND I only got half of my order. No email or anything to tell me part of it was backordered. And no expected date to receive the other portion. You can talk all nice on here, but your customer service stinks-because there isn't any.
On Jan 19, 2014, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Jan 16, 2014 9:54 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

All of the above seems to be in the normal flow of seed shipping. Orders are received and paid for, paperwork goes from office to shippers, shippers ship orders in the same order as received. When the order ships, the shipping confirmation is sent to the customer. My hope is that Likalee will plant the seeds with love and patience. Richo


On Jan 16, 2014 10:06 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

All of the above seems to be in the normal flow of seed shipping. Orders are received and paid for, paperwork goes from office to shippers, shippers ship orders in the same order as received. When the order ships, the shipping confirmation is sent to the customer. Inquiries are respected with the best information we can give, but they do not speed the process. My hope is that Likalee will plant the seeds with love and patience. Richo


On Jan 20, 2014 8:04 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

We can't help answer your questions because we don't know who you are. Please e-mail me at herbseed(at)budget.net and I'll be happy to look up your order and let you know what's going on. "


Negative qw
(1 review)
On Aug 30, 2013, qw Carlsborg, WA wrote:

Ordered a packet of seeds from this company over two weeks ago and have not received anything. Got email "confirmation" day of order but all the links in the email for customer support, company contact or order tracking are broken and no good. Fear this company is not legitimate and while I would prefer my money refunded, I fear that I will neither see it or my seeds. Here is the email:
Thank you for your order. We are proud to be at your service!
We pride ourselves on delivering the best possible shopping experience on the Internet. That means that from the moment you enter http://horizon.scarabmedia.com/ to the moment your order is delivered to you - we are dedicated to your satisfaction.
In order to better serve you, you may access this order and view its status at any time here:
http://horizon.scarabmedia.com/receipt.asp?Deleted (link was broken)
Please feel free to contact us at anytime if you have any questions regarding this or any other order by visiting customer support located at:
http://horizon.scarabmedia.com/support/
If you have selected a manual payment method, your order status will be set to "Awaiting Payment" until payment has been processed. Please remember the following:
-We respect your privacy! We will not share any information about you with any other organization at any time. Ever. See our Privacy Policy and Refunds/Returns page here:
http://horizon.scarabmedia.com/privacy/
For your convenience, you may track your order, edit your account, or view any of your past orders through our Customer Gateway here:
http://horizon.scarabmedia.com/gateway/
Once again, thank you for placing your order with us. We value your business and will continue to offer the best experience we can.
Sincerely,
Horizon Herbs, LLC
http://horizon.scarabmedia.com/
All the links were broken or pointed to a non-related site. This was my first order with this company, based on my experience I would strongly caution anyone from doing business with them. I have not received my product, they took my money and I have not been successful contacting them or tracking my order.


On Aug 30, 2013, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Aug 30, 2013 6:42 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

This fellow managed to get into our old website which is not functional. Many happy customers use our real website at horizonherbs.com. this person should simply e-mail me at herbseed@budget.net and I'll get them their goods right away.
"


Negative Dbai
(1 review)
On May 21, 2013, Dbai Washington D.C.
United States wrote:

I wish I'd seen some of the other reviews here before ordering from Horizon!

They do have a great catalog but my experience with them has been terrible! I ordered 5 or 6 seed packets (so, a very simple order - no live plants or anything). I didn't receive any communication after the initial order confirmation.

Almost two weeks went by and the 'order status' link they send you is a joke. It's just a receipt for your order and tells you it's been processed/completed. Anyway, I waited and finally wrote them a friendly but concerned e-mail after almost two weeks just asking the status and stating that I was worried because I'd never received any further communications and my seeds hadn't arrived yet.

I got back a one-line response (literally one line) saying : 'This order shipped today'. No salutation, no sign-off. No apology for the delay. No explanation. It was the rudest e-mail I've ever received from a company!

Then, to add insult to injury, this unnamed horizon rep (that's right - they didn't even sign their name, no signature line either), lied about the shipping date. My order actually only shipped two business days later!

You'd think, after they obviously misplaced or forgot about my order, that they could at least send it priority mail or something. Oh no. USPS first class. Took another week to get to me so total time from order to arrival? Almost a month!

I've written to them with a description of the above and haven't heard back. No doubt the rude, lying person who responded to me the first time (sort of) opened my second e-mail and threw it away!

It's a shame, but I'll only order from them in the future if I absolutely cannot find what I want elsewhere. HORRIBLE service. So disappointing. Not surprising though, considering many of the other comments on here.

ps: I'm going to laugh so hard if the response to my experience is that Richo is going to 'pray for me'- ahahaha! Please. Save it.


On May 21, 2013, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On May 21, 2013 8:03 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Hello there Dbai,
I'm sorry that you perceive our service as per the above. Spring is always a busy time for gardeners and seed shippers, so early ordering and a little patience in receiving your goods really helps. I will keep you in my prayers and hope that your seeds work out well for you.
Best regards,
Richo"


Negative lemurianne
(15 reviews)
On May 3, 2013, lemurianne Ida Grove, IA (Zone 5a) wrote:

Posted on May 2, 2013, updated May 3, 2013
I really want to like Horizon Herbs. I love the IDEA of the company. I have been happy with their selection and quality of most of their seeds. But the people behind the company sure seem like jerks. I will probably continue to order seeds from them, but I will never again order plants, and here is why..

I placed an order for six plants recently and received them today. One of the plants that I ordered was completely dislodged from it's pot during transit, which I understand does happen, but it is clearly not a plant that should have been sold, at least not for the price I paid, IMO. They obviously tucked a tiny plug into a deep pot just before shipment. Two more of the six are also unbelievably small for the price. They look like barely rooted seedlings! Horizon Herbs may be all about treating nature ethically, but they are not at all interested in treating their customers with the same respect. On their website they state that they do not want to be contacted or sent a photo if plants are damaged in transit. And in the note included with the plants (but not included in the catalog or on the website so far as I can tell) they freely admit that these plants will need to be further nursed in their pots to develop a good root system before being transplanted!!! What is the point?!! Don't most people order plants because they don't want to go to the trouble of nursing seedlings? Arrgh. So I haven't contacted them. I am simply leaving appropriate feedback here. Horizon Herbs is guilty of deceptive business practices. Don't order plants from them and expect to receive actual plants that can be transplanted to your garden this season!

I will accept and nurse these "plants" along because I happen to have the time and facilities to do so. But I feel like a sucker. I wish I'd not been impatient and just started these from seed on my own or purchased them from another, albeit non-organic, plant retailer. What a disappointment.


On May 3rd, 2013, lemurianne added the following:

In response, I will add the the aforementioned "plants" that arrived as tiny seedlings or plugs placed in deep pots just before shipment are quite easily started from seed: echinacea angustifolia, stachys officinalis and scutellaria barbata. I placed the order for plants simply out of impatience. I truly appreciate what Horizon Herbs does, but their opinion of what a "plant" is differs tremendously from virtually every other plant retailer I've dealt with. I do not need anyone to send me newly germinated seeds or plugs in deep pots. That does not qualify as a PLANT in my opinion.
On May 3, 2013, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On May 2, 2013 8:09 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Many rare plants are hard to start from seed and/or grow slowly--those are a couple of the reasons they are rare. Ashitaba is hard to start from seed, as is Wasabi--we are charging what we think is a fair price for species that are hard to find elsewhere. Try growing 370 species organically and keeping them all in stock with strong demand coming in from every direction--not easy! A Gentiana lutea may look like a seedling and yet its 3 years old. Can't really give any more useful feedback without knowing what the customer ordered.


On May 3, 2013 10:07 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

OK, this makes sense to me now. I'm sorry that the stock was smaller than you expected. We always ship our largest plants first and always ship plants that we think will work for the gardener. No mention was made of the size of other plants in your order. If you'd like some kind of reparation from us then feel free to e-mail me at herbseed@budget.net."


Negative randltrs
(1 review)
On Mar 18, 2013, randltrs wrote:

Posted on March 13, 2013, updated March 18, 2013
Posted on March 6, 2013, updated March 13, 2013
Not happy about communication.

I placed an order on the weekend of 2/23-24 for 2 packets of ephedra seeds. I received an email thanking me for the order, and that was it. I decided to wait a week at least to receive the shipment, but after a week had passed, I have nothing.

I checked my order and it says status is "Complete". There is no tracking information or carrier information shown, so I have no idea how to expect it, or even if it has shipped.

I contacted Horizon via their contact form to inquire about the order, but received no response. I followed up again by email earlier today, and still have received no response.

Based on the statement by Richo in another negative review, it would appear that my order has not shipped yet. That's fine - but it would have been nice to have gotten a response when I asked what was up, instead of having to come here.

I can understand a small operation getting really busy, but I feel that failing to respond to a customer's inquiries about their order is unacceptable under any circumstances. This is not a good experience for a new customer.


On March 13th, 2013, randltrs changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

After posting here, I received a follow-up email shortly afterward along with an apology for the missed response. I had some additional questions answered, too. I got the notice on Monday that the seeds were being shipped and they were waiting for me when I got home today.

Horizon fixed the problem. I appreciate that, and am now willing (and intending) on placing another order in the future. Thank you.
On March 18th, 2013, randltrs changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

I'm afraid I have to change my position yet again.

After opening my package, I found that I had only received one pack of seeds. I had ordered two. Once again, I sent an email, and again, received no response. A second email was sent the following day, and again, nothing.

Yes, I realize you have a phone number. Have you considered that I might have good reasons for not using the phone? In the end, my problem is simple: If you are going to offer email based customer support, you really need to take care of your customers when they email you. If you are unable to do so, then perhaps you should remove the email support from the website.

Nevermind about the missing pack of seeds - it's not worth the effort to me at this point. But you have lost a customer - I don't get the impression that my business is really that important.
On Mar 18, 2013, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Mar 6, 2013 7:53 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Hi there,
We're currently sold out of Ma-huang seed and all orders are on backorder and will be shipped as soon as we have the seed. If for some reason an e-mail doesn't work, a phone call is a great option and our number is (541) 846-6704. Ma-huang grows best after the spring equinox in very warm soils and there will still be plenty of time to plant the seeds and get good results. We also have Ma-huang plants available for anyone who wants to go that route. I would like to thank this person for pointing out our faults and will try my best to keep the good seeds flowing to good gardeners. I would also like to say that keeping a positive attitude really helps seeds come up and helps gardens and gardeners be beautiful.
Richo


On Mar 8, 2013 8:21 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

As of MArch 8, Ma-huang seed in stock. All backorders will be shipped within the next 3 days. Richo


On Mar 13, 2013 5:19 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

Thank you for this, it is a pleasure.


On Mar 18, 2013 1:34 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

the two packets are together in a single cellophane baggie"


Negative lovefromsun
(1 review)
On Mar 8, 2013, lovefromsun Bentleyville, OH wrote:

Posted on March 8, 2013, updated March 8, 2013
First, let me preface this response by acknowledging the fact that I signed up just now to Dave's Garden to inform and help other buyers and present my experience and hopefully help plant lovers and enthusiasts to make more informed decisions based upon the information I am presenting. I have read most of the responses from Richo of Horizon Herbs and noticed a fairly disturbing passive aggressive trend and the last thing someone wants to hear when helping other fellow gardeners is excuse after excuse and an inability to take ownership and responsibility of the shortcomings of their company. You can only grow if you are open to criticism. Shutting your customers off does not help improve business standards. Nevertheless, here is my experience: I have yet to plant these seeds so this review will not include the viability...yet. I placed a substantial order online (over $350) and called to ensure that the shipping cost of just seeds was correct as the algorithm they use to calculate shipping is not based on weight but on cost of items ordered. I was assured that the $26 for shipping was correct and that if when they went the ship the item and weighed it out, it came up under the weight, they would refund the amount. I called again a few days later to check on my order and they said that they did indeed weigh the package and the cost was $26. After waiting two weeks for the seeds to arrive (you would think $26 would have bought me overnight shipping with white glove assistance planting them) I inspected and weighed the package. It was sent USPS Flat rate box and cost them $5.25 to send to our zipcode. I immediately called and was told that someone would call me back in a few minutes. No one called so I called back and was told that a manager would have to evaluate the situation as there may have been a handling charge imposed. I asked where in their website does it say shipping AND handling. There is no such wording. Further, I received a COUPON for an out of stock item instead of a refund to my CC. I was not notified that the item was out of stock, simply forced to shop again and most likely pay an inflated shipping fee. I waited for the call back from a manager and here we are a week later, $20 disparity/overcharge and no response, thus the review. I realize that charging an extra $20 isn't that much when you are spending $350 on seeds but this is clearly deceptive and fraudulent. Even if its a dollar or two your company slips onto the total, at least be honest and upfront with the people that are supporting your company. 4 emails and 4 calls and no resolution or response? Ignoring paying customers and refusing to answer emails or call back says alot about the integrity of this company. I guess my next step is my credit card company. Richo, if you have as much love for the plant-world as your proclaim in your responses to others, don't you think that that same attitude should transfer to the human kingdom as well? After all, humans are paying you to do what you love. Further, after speaking to several of their employees I noticed a smug attitude that was not welcoming to a customer. It felt as if we should be grateful to them for supplying seeds, instead of a mutual gratefulness for the customer as well. If you are looking for reliability, honesty or gratitude in your seed company, my experience would suggest to look elsewhere.


On March 8th, 2013, lovefromsun added the following:

I did call and ask if the charges were correct and was put off numerous times and told to call back when it was closer to shipment. I was explicitly told by your representatives that your shipping costs were over $25 and that the price quoted was correct. LIttle did you expect that I would check the cost of the flat rate envelope over at USPS to catch you inflating your shipping charges to put a little extra in your pocket. You paid $5.50 to ship these seeds but charged over $25 to the customer. How is this not a problem for you? Just refund the money that you initially said you would if the shipping did not cost what was charged.If you are comfortable stealing from people than please do take the $20 overage from me because that is on your conscious not mine. Please Richo, spare me your prayers, save them for yourself. A prayer that comes not from the heart is no prayer at all. I prefer to have honest men send over prayers. Pray for honesty and integrity as a business person and stop using that ploy to dupe people into believing you are a man of honor. Please accept that $20 as a gift to you from me.
On Mar 8, 2013, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Mar 8, 2013 5:58 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

I do not understand why this person is so irritated. The shipping charge is clearly given before the online order is finalized, and if someone doesn't like the shipping charge then they are free to opt out at that time. Credit cards are automatically charged by Authorize.net for exactly the amount that is given on the order. We do not see the order before charges go through, and we never see the credit card number at all. Sometimes shipping charges do end up costing the customer more than the actual cost of sending the package, and sometimes they end up costing the customer less. We have set up the shipping cost module as fairly as possible under the constraints of the software (and talk to any online seller, this part is hard to do fairly, especially when a great diversity of things is being shipped domestically and internationally via several different shipping methods). We are focusing on seed quality, and we offer some of the best prices (base price $2.45 for an organically certified vegetable seed packet, $2.95 base price for perennials and trees, etc.) that you can find anywhere. I'd like to advise everyone to review the shipping charge before making the order and if it seems unacceptable, then they should not order online, but instead call us up with the order and negotiate at that time. This is Richo. About the "passive aggressive" claims and other angry language, let me just say that us gardeners really need to stick together better then that and I am holding this person in my prayers and hoping that they settle down and get on with good work. Jeesh!"


Negative scbentz
(1 review)
On Mar 2, 2013, scbentz Cold Spring, KY wrote:

I ordered jiaoulan seeds along with 1lb of clover seeds. WHAT I LIKED was the nice vacuum pack for the clover seeds. What I didn't like was the fact that my other seeds weren't padded or otherwise protected from the 1lb brick of clover seeds. My jiaogulan seeds were crushed. WHAT I LIKED was the response from Richo-- he sent a replacement post haste. What surprised me about this episode was that it could have been prevented; Mayche Cech said in an email that "you are the second person to get ground up jiao gu lan, apparently they are pretty breakable". Well, if you knew about the problem, why not do something about it before sending someone ground-up seeds? Also, about this order of seeds- the shipping amount for up to $15 of seeds is supposed to be $2.90, and $3.90 for over $15 worth of seeds. Well, I got a call from Horizon one night informing me that my shipping was going to be somewhat more than what they indicated on their website, due to the weight of teh package. Ok, fine, if that's what it takes, then so be it... BUT MAKE THAT TOTALLY CLEAR ON YOUR WEBSITE!! I CAN'T READ YOUR MIND! I'm looking at your "Ordering Information" page and although it does say that "Shipping charges go up from there...", that's not nearly clear enough to pass muster on this account.

More recently (19 February, to be precise) I placed an order and have yet to receive it (mailman just came by, but with nothing from Horizon) as of today, 2 March. This is longer than I usually have to wait for shipments from seed suppliers (including Horizon). An email inquiry regarding the missing (?) shipment has gone unanswered. And yes: that email was just a day ago... should I have waited longer? Maybe. Should a business not leave its customers wondering where their stuff is? Definitely.

Sorry, I really want to like Horizon Herbs, but things are just a little spotty my last couple of orders. I just don't know what I'm going to get or even IF I'll get what I ordered.


On Mar 2, 2013, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Mar 2, 2013 12:04 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Yes, I'm sorry too. I do remember sending the replacement jiao gu lan seeds and also kissing the packet to give it good luck on its journey. Jiao gu lan is quite delicate!

As for shipping prices, we assess each shipment and if for some reason the amount of money that was given for shipping is insufficient we may contact the customer for more funds. We can't do business if shipping dollars don't stretch.

As for slowness in delivery, the time period from when the new catalog comes out (mid Feb) and on into spring is going to mean slower delivery than at other times of year. Please count on that and order early! We are working day and night to send out orders and we are a family not a machine. By the way, there's no reason to wonder about the delivery--everyone who gives us their e-mail address when ordering gets an e-mail when we ship that gives full tracking info.

Again, I'm sorry for the evident frustration and I do hope this person has a great gardening year.

Richo


"


Negative maineherbs
(2 reviews)
On Jun 11, 2012, maineherbs Corinth, ME wrote:

Posted on June 13, 2010, updated June 11, 2012
I am a professional grower of medicinal plants. Horizon Herbs has been my seed provider for more years than I recall. The variety, availablity, quality, and customer service is, and always has been top shelf. I order unusual plants and Maishe (one of the owners), has saved me a lot of money by combining orders, shipping as cheaply as possible. I have had questions and emails answered promptly and have been very pleased with the seeds, plants, books, and myriad gardening products. I recommend this company highly and often to friends, and other herbalists. Go Horizon, Richo and Maishe and all the kids. Thank you for your wonderful seeds, which I have never had a problem germinating. Maybe those folks who complained should read the directions. Some seeds are hard to propigate and take a very long time to germinate. Some seeds need extensive care to germinate. If you read and follow Horizon's directions, you will be as successful as I am. My plants and seeds from Horizon are flourishing.


On June 11th, 2012, maineherbs changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

I have ordered many thousands of dollars in plants, seeds, expensive tools, books,CD's etc., from this company over the years. Prior to the above "positive" critique I was asked by Richo (owner of Horizon Herbs) to give a good review to offset some of the negatives. At the time I was happy with him, his company, and the service, and so I did as he had asked. In 2012 I placed several orders, most recently for trees and plants with very expensive shipping. One of the trees was in very poor condition. When I called to inquire about a replacement the receptionist didn't know what to do so she connected me to her supervisor. He was rude, crude, nasty! He insinuated that I was a thief and a liar, trying to get a free Ginkgo tree. He said it was impossible to kill the tree so I must be trying to get something for nothing, a free Ginkgo tree! He did say he would replace the tree with my new order. The order arrived, and there was no replacement tree. He said he would send the replacement with my order to avoid the shipping charge. If he had looked over his files he would have noticed there had not been one complaint previously and that they had benefitted not only from my large purchases but also from my good will in recommending their company. I was irate to say the least. To be accused of being a thief and a liar after all these years of loyalty, on my part, and the many thousands of dollars spent at horizon. I contacted Richo directly. He was no longer Mr. Nice Guy. He was more interested in defending his employee. Richo did offer to replace the tree. I wanted an apology from his employee. That however was denied me and I was told to take my business elsewhere. Well you can bet that I have and I will never recommend his company again. I am a professional herbalist and do many seminars on medicinal herbs. I am always asked "where do I get my seeds, plants, etc.". You can bet that Horizon Herbs will never ever be recommended again. When Richo defends a surly rude employee over his loyal, reliable, customers, he has become too big for his britches.
On Jun 11, 2012, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Jun 27, 2012 2:02 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

I send my prayers out to this person. May she be healed in the garden. Richo"


Negative drono
(2 reviews)
On Jul 19, 2010, drono Oregon City, OR wrote:

Posted on June 6, 2010, updated July 19, 2010
I won't buy from Horizon again due to extremely poor germination rates. Seeds from difficult to grow herbs I'll cut some slack on, but Burdock? Sorry, It should be better than 30%. And this year was the worst, Winter Squash? I was surprised to see they had the variety I wanted so I bought some. Horrible germination! On the same propagation table next to Melons from Johnnys, in the same mix, all the melons came up extremely well and hardly any winter squash. Please don't try to tell me that squash is difficult to germinate inside. The seed pack said 96% germ rate. My thought is that their seed storage must be poor.
I'm done with them. Plenty of other sources out there. Sorry.


On July 19th, 2010, drono added the following:

My Negative comment here IS worth more than the $6 you would have returned to me. However, the benefit is not mine but to the other market growers that rely on seeds to germinate at reasonable rates when planted. The seed cost does not cover the lost time in waiting for them to sprout (or not), and then order seeds from elsewhere and then wait once again.
Poor germination in this case set me back a month easily.
Luckily the seed I replaced it with came up very well (in pretty much the EXACT CONDITIONS that your's Richo, did not).


On Jul 19, 2010, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Jul 1, 2010 9:43 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

We store seeds at 60 degrees F and 40% humidity in a dedicated seed storage room that is super insulated and very well organized and clean. If our packet says 96% germ that means that the seed was tested within the past 6 months to 96% germ. We do have a no questions asked replacement policy for zero germ, but perhaps a negative vote here was more satisfying. Richo


On Jul 22, 2010 9:08 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

OK, whoever you are, may all your future seed plantings give completely satisfactory results! Richo"


Negative machete
(1 review)
On Jun 6, 2010, machete Westport, MA wrote:

I came here (Garden Watchdog) to look for a new place to order herb seeds because horizon herb seeds don't grow. They promise everything in the catalog but if nothing comes up? I ordered over a $100 worth of seeds and getting a good crop of spinach and a couple others just does not cover it. I have called and emailed the company and never got any response from them.


On Jun 6, 2010, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Jul 1, 2010 9:39 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

That's pretty shocking that anyone would e-mail and call us and not get a response--we have a dedicated group of customer service folks who are on the phone and computer all day answering questions, taking orders, etc. Good results with easy germinators and poor results with complex germinators means more effort needs to be put into finding the exact requirements of difficult germinators. Like my teacher always told me when I failed, "keep going." Richo"


Negative Decius
(1 review)
On Aug 14, 2009, Decius N/A
Canada wrote:

I have ordered from Horizon Herbs for about two years. The products I receive are very good quality, sealed, and there are very few problems with the goods themselves as far as I can tell.

However, I am no longer ever going to order from them again due to a horrific customer service experience that is not a unique event.

Upon receiving my package the USPS postage clearly said "$1" on it, and that is how much USPS charges if that is what is listed on the postage. Upon checking I realized that I had paid over 9 dollars for shipping and politely contacted horizon for an explanation, and was open to this being an error on the part of USPS, myself, or horizon.

I did not get a response.

I queried again 2 weeks later.

I got a one lined response telling me that they are sending a coupon in the mail.

At this point I was irate and asked for a manager.

No manager was provided. They then proceeded to try to explain why the cost was what it was, and to inform me that they don't care if they keep me as a customer because they have other "honest" customers.

I know lots of people embelish stories to make themselves sound more righteous than they are, but in truth this is exactly what happened. I will never order from them again - they were completely unapologetic for ignoring my first email, not answering my question, and then being rude to top if off, as if I am trying to steal from them. My focus is and always is clarity and honesty - I don't care about the shipping cost, I paid it without thinking twice. It's this completely unapologetic and insulting customer service. Even if they offered me a full refund on the whole product I wouldn't take it at this point. It's not about money.

Horrible, horrible customer service. I never heard from a manager and only dealt with one person who deals with online orders. Switching to a new company for my herbs.


On August 15th, 2009, Decius added the following:

"Decius claimed that a package that weighed 2 lbs sent airmail from the US to Canada only cost a dollar to ship. Actually, anyone who is familiar with airmail costs to Canada knows that this is impossible."

Case in point - The founder of the company is publically calling me a liar and opportunist, chasing 8 dollars. It is indicative of my rating that a customer has to scan and upload an image to be taken seriously:

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/4381/img9931.jpg

"However, Decius was upset, so upon hearing his complaint, we sent him a $5.00 coupon."

No you did not - you ignored me for two weeks. It was after my second complaint that you sent a coupon without addressing my concern which is WHY I was charged the difference.

"After further complaint, we refunded his card for the shipping cost minus the $1.00 that he felt was a fair charge."

No you did not. This was what your customer service representative sent me, after consulting you:

"You will not get a refund and if this is your last order that's ok. We do
not need your custom. We like our positive, honest customers who value our
service and company. Please refrain from contacting us again with further
negativity."

"After further complaint, we refunded his card for the shipping cost minus the $1.00 that he felt was a fair charge."

No, you didn't. You sent me an email about the refund and issued the refund shortly after I posted this complaint, not before.

"Decius, I personally apologise for any rudeness you received from us, and I hope you will find it in your heart to nullify this negative vote on Dave's."

How can you apologize to me when you've lied 3 times, called me a liar and opportunist yet again, and to top it all off now have proof that from the start you charged me 5 times the shipping cost of the item? You ignored my statement that I no longer want a refund and issued one anyways.

Does it take a customer becomming so irate that they have to go and make a public complaint about you for you to stop calling them liars and thieves? The attitude of your company seems to have changed dramatically after this post of mine.

I run two retail companies, and let me tell you - even if the customer is wrong, you find a way to make it right. You never, ever call the customer a liar, even if you think they are one. And in this case, you've called an honest loyal customer a liar and a thief, and run with your adamant unapologetic behaviour to this nasty point.
On August 15th, 2009, Decius added the following:

"real or imagined" - I need not further my complaints as in plain view we see the arrogance of this horrible company and its employees.
On Aug 14, 2009, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"On Aug 14, 2009 1:05 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Decius claimed that a package that weighed 2 lbs sent airmail from the US to Canada only cost a dollar to ship. Actually, anyone who is familiar with airmail costs to Canada knows that this is impossible. However, Decius was upset, so upon hearing his complaint, we sent him a $5.00 coupon. After further complaint, we refunded his card for the shipping cost minus the $1.00 that he felt was a fair charge. Decius, I personally apologise for any rudeness you received from us, and I hope you will find it in your heart to nullify this negative vote on Dave's.
Best regards,
Richo (founder)


On Aug 14, 2009 7:41 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

Actually, all coupons and refunds were issued prior to Decius's comments on Dave's. In addition, we have tendered our public apology for all transgressions, real or imagined.
Richo"


Negative Natural001
(1 review)
On Mar 21, 2007, Natural001 Idaho Falls, ID wrote:

I ordered some books and seeds from this company last year. I was impressed by the selection of products that they had and that they were a family company. I wanted to have my own herb garden and wanted to grow several of the plants from seeds, even though I knew this to be difficult at times. I ordered several different seeds and was meticulous in planting them to the careful specifications to assure the most optimal plants that I could grow. Unfortunately only one of the seed packets that I purchased ever grew. I was quite disappointed in this. I thought that perhaps I had done something wrong, but even in contacting my local county agent, it didn't sound like I had, but I knew that sometimes seeds won't germintate for whatever reason, however so many varieties, and none of them to even germinate? That seemed odd to me. I contacted the company about my experience but never heard back from them, so I don't believe I will order any seeds from them again. I still believe they have excellent products as others have said, but I was very disappointed in the lack of help as I had requested for my poor luck with the seeds I purchased. The books I got from them were excellent. I received my products in good time and the transaction was good. Perhaps mine is a rare case, but they do happen. I have since purchased seeds from another company and they did germinate and I had a good variety that grew. I would hope that in the future if I order from them again I'll have a better experience.


On Mar 21, 2007, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

"


On Mar 21, 2007 8:55 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

Hello everybody,
In my work with seeds, I always find that, even with my best efforts, some things that I expect to do well simply fizzle. This the reality of starting plants from seed, especially wild-derived medicinal herbs that can be naturally loaded with germination inhibitors and often require extended periods of time before germination is even remotely possible--there are so many variables--from moss in the pots, to drainage aspects of the potting soil to hungry little birds--I've seen it all. Since Natural 001 has not specifically identified the seeds that he/she had trouble with, I can't give any specific advice right here in this venue. What I do know is, I treat people as I would like to be treated, and I'm dedicated to distributing LIVE seeds. Once those live seeds arrive at the customer's door, then its up to THEM to make it work! I do sometimes send people free seeds so they can try again. Bottom line, my best advice for how and when to plant the seeds is all in one or the other of my seasonal catalogues (fall planted seeds in the fall catalog, spring planted seeds in the spring catalog). And, if the seeds don't do the job, I often have the plants available. Sometimes self-described "beginning medicinal herb gardeners" go through the catalog and choose, from among the 800 or so species offered, the most challenging germinators, things like Gentian, Rhodiola, Goldenseal--even relatively robust plants like Black Cohosh can be quite challenging to start from seed. When I see orders like this, I really wonder if they will result in much success at all, and knowing humans as I do, I realize that some of these gardeners at least will blame me specifically for their failure, instead of using the failure as a learning experience, and trying again, with modifications. Try planting some in outdoor conditions, and some in indoor conditions, some well-watered, some with watering on the shy side--this kind of thing--to gain more information--little garden-derived experiments--fine tuning the skill of gardening. Sometimes I get orders for poppy seeds in June, and I think, wow, this person is planting poppies just about when my poppies are in full bloom--how can they possibly expect to get results? So, sorry to Natural 001, you can e-mail me at herbseed@horizonherbs.com and we can try to work together in a positive way to make sure you get those plants in your garden. This is an open invitation.
Best regards,
Richo"



We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America