Photo by Melody

Comments regarding One Green World (Northwoods Nursery)

Click here to return to One Green World (Northwoods Nursery)'s listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
75 positives
16 neutrals
29 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive greenman115
(6 reviews)
On Apr 10, 2011, greenman115 Ringtown, PA wrote:

I am new to ordering from this company, and quite honestly was slightly concerned due to some of the negative posts placed here (and due to the distance of shipping cross country to PA). I kept my order light for a first time experience and ordered currants, sea berries, vines, and hardy bananas.

To my delight the items shipped exactly when they were supposed to and arrived in some of the best condition I have ever seen mail order plants arrive in (and I order a lot!). All plants were very well rooted, damp, budded or leafed out, and even secured down with rope inside the box to prevent shifting! Based upon this trial run, I will definately order again!

Neutral gardeningana
(2 reviews)
On Nov 12, 2010, gardeningana Beaverton, OR wrote:

My advice: Buy OneGreenWorld plants from good local nurseries. A reputable nursery will add a layer of quality control and probably provide a refund or replacement should there be issues with the plant/tree. Many have a one year guarantee. Your local nursery can probably special order any plant for you if they don't carry it.

The variety of plants OGW offers is great. In the past they have replaced 2 of 3 problem plants I oredered from them, however getting a good plant in the first place is much better. I shop at almost all the local nurseries and know which ones have given me the best success rates. These nurseries have no problem returning or not accepting shipments with diseased plants from any source including OGW. Best wishes for your unusual/rare fruit growing!

Negative shroomdaddy
(3 reviews)
On Aug 22, 2010, shroomdaddy Junction City, WI wrote:

I wish that I had checked with this Watchdog page before being suckered into their beautiful webpage that has seems to offer tremendous variety and potential. Despite their high prices for most varieties I splurged in 2009 and placed an $800+ order with high hopes to expand the varieties in both my nursery and orchards in WI. At the same time I also placed orders with 5 other mailorder nurseries and staggered their deliveries over two weeks so they'd all get planted promptly. What arrived for the most part looked very good except for some of the smallest bareroots ie.kiwis but usually I've had good luck with even the smallest if given enough attention. Bottomline only one of 8 apples survived the summer despite plentiful rain, weedmat and woodchip mulching. and plenty of supplimental watering by my college workers, and a very good growing season for everything else i planted or had already in place. 3 of 6 honeyberries are flourishing this year at 3-4' tall but the other 3 never leafed out just like the apples the first growing season. Only 3 of 9 kiwis grew. Aian pears, persimmon, and 1/2 of the mountain ash had a few leaves the first summer but dead this spring. I called last September to report my concern and then this April (to keep it under 1 year) and they gave me the old scratch and look for green which I did on those brown trunks off the apples and went back and forth on the phone until they stopped calling. So I called to ask what their head horticulturalist (the owner)had decided and I was blown away when told that Wisconsin has too harsh of a climate for their plants and that they were winterkilled. BS as all ordered were rated for my zone and the fact of the matter was that most just NEVER LEAFED OUT while at the very same time Stark brothers, Oikos, Woodstock, St. Lawrence Nursery, Hartmans,etc orders did very well. An e-mail to them in which I made my final rebuttal to the owner herself was unanswered two months ago. The only worse customer service which I've come across is from Direct Gardening mailorder which I next write about. For the amount of $ and time lost I should have contacted my credit card company for a partial refund but didn't.

Negative frejaman
(1 review)
On Jun 22, 2010, frejaman Hillsboro, OR wrote:

This company does not stand behind their product. Often their stock are too small for field trans-planting and die. I lost hundreds of dollars of stock dying the first year after a cold winter. I figured at least they would replace a paw paw tree that is supposed to be hardy. When you call in they ask you lots of questions to find that one excuse why they will not replace your stock. I will never buy again!

Negative ecofarmer1
(1 review)
On Jun 11, 2010, ecofarmer1 Beaverton, OR wrote:

STAY AWAY!! I am good friends with a former higher management employee, and I bought a European Pear from this company and I Constantly had problems with it - season after season it would lose its leaves and the pears would rot before ever ripening - my friend finally admitted that OGW's "mother block" (where they get all their cuttings/starts from) has been knowingly infected with Pear Blister Disease. AND that's not all, the Figs they propagate and sell are known to have Mosaic Virus, which can ruin an entire fig farm if infected. This employee also told me that he had been ordered by THE OWNERS (!!!) that if someone wanted a particular variety and it was out of stock to simply take a different variety and change the tag on it because "only about a quarter of people will ever even figure out they have the wrong one". He told me there was a lot of other circumstances but wouldn't elaborate. I can't even imagine a company purposely swindling their own customers. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!

Negative collinsm65
(2 reviews)
On Jun 5, 2010, collinsm65 Smithsburg, MD wrote:

I placed an order for three items. One Gogi plant, one Chinese Haw tree and one Asian Pear. The Gogi was in a small pot...a bit smaller than expected but in good shape otherwise.

For the two trees, I expected bare root and dormant, but what I got were bare root STICKS. Not one branch. Cliped entirely down to the stick. The web page says pruned to fit. This wasn't pruned, it was MAULED!!!

I tried to work something out with them, but they are uncooperative. Additionally, FedX left it in front of the house on a 95 degree day in full sun against brick, where temperatures soar to 110 easily. They said there was nothing they could do and it's my problem with FedX.

Not knowing yet what to do, I kept them indoors where it was cool, waiting on someone to call me back. They said "no manager was available. Yeah...3pm their time. Sure. They said the supervisor "just stepped out" when I asked for that. Complete B.S.. I asked for a call-back. So far still waiting. While the trees were indoors, I discovered also that the stuff they sent them in was loaded with ants. WTF?

Um...well...I worked in the catalog industry too, and can tell you it's the shipper's responsibility to get an order to you in satisfactory condition. This was anything but satisfactory, and I will also be filing a BBB complaint as well as one on http://www.ripoffreport.com as well.

This company should be avoided like the plauge!!!

Positive magnaastra
(46 reviews)
On May 12, 2010, magnaastra Charleston, IL (Zone 6a) wrote:

Only placed a very small "wait and see" order to check them out, and I am ever glad that I did! I was really blown away by the size of the lingonberries and the blueberry, and one of the best parts was hearing my plant-neutral husband oohing and ahhing over their packaging (he NEVER gets excited about anything horticultural, so that really is a big thing). Will definitely be ordering again.

Positive sages1
(2 reviews)
On May 4, 2010, sages1 Harmony, PA wrote:

They did again! Exceeded expectation! Wanted to receive by lemon tree by 5/6 received it today! And it's gorgeous - thank you!

Positive girlbug2
(10 reviews)
On May 3, 2010, girlbug2 Westminster, CA wrote:

I am a new customer to One Green World, and so far my experience has been very good. Their selection of hard-to-find trees and plants is impressive. Most importantly, the items I ordered (feijoas, goumis and a flowering quince, all in nursery pots) were perfectly packaged and arrived healthy, in excellent condition. The quince even had two tiny little fruits started on it.

I have ordered twice online from One Green World; once this past fall, and once this spring. On both occasions the company called me to alert me to a potential problem, and they were very professional and courteous. I appreciated their care of me as their customer.

If I had one complaint about OGW, it would be that my spring order took three weeks to ship, which is a tad longer than I am used to from mail order nurseries; but then again, April is their busy season, and I usually order in January because that's bareroot season in Zone 9.

I will definitely give OGW more of my business next January when I will be shopping for trees.

Positive joefrank
(1 review)
On Apr 16, 2010, joefrank Santa Fe, NM wrote:

4/17/2010

A few weeks ago I ordered a Seville Orange from One Green World, it came in excellent condition. The tree was loaded with citrus flowers and fruit. I couldn't believe such a company took such care of it's orders. Two weeks later I ordered a Chinotto Orange Tree, same deal great packaging, the tree was excellent, full of fruit and flowers. They know how to package their plants so they arrive in great condition. The one draw back is they never answer their e mails or send you a tracking number for Fed Ex. I would still order from them again, this is one company I would rate very highly.
Joe Baraba
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Neutral oosa
(5 reviews)
On Apr 5, 2010, oosa Northbrook, IL (Zone 5a) wrote:

My plants were much SMALLER than I could ever expect, when they arrived in the mail last year ($40 for an 11 inch tall "tree"?). And they had many MILDEW/MOLD/FUNGUS related issues (they probably overwintered in some dark and wet storage place before getting shipped out).

Or maybe I am just spoiled by what other local nurseries have to offer...

I think OGW mails out plants they can't sell in their storefront. You end up waiting extra years for the stuff to produce any fruit, when you start with such tiny, covered in green fungus, mildew, peeling bark, asymmetrical little bareroot sticks.

On the other hand, I am glad there is someone like them, offering such a variety. OGW is good for plants you CAN'T really get from your local nurseries.

If you have gardening experience, you can make (most) their plants work. It may take more work, and longer than you expect though...

Negative Vestia
(4 reviews)
On Mar 11, 2010, Vestia San Francisco, CA wrote:

I have ordered from this nursery in the past, both as a retail and wholesale customer, and had been satisfied. Last week I ordered about $200 of fruit trees, the plants arrived today. All but one were beautiful, big and clearly healthy. All were well-packed and arrived promptly and in good condition, except the one. All were potted, or had been recently unpotted, and had good roots, except that darn one. The one was a rooted cutting, where all the others were potted plants that were well-established. The wood of the one was dried out and had no live buds. Weird. All the other plants were great; big and promising with swelling buds or healthy leaves.

I called immediately, and asked what they might do to rectify the situation. I was told to plant it and that they "stand behind their plants" and they were sure it would make good growth. I can tell you, after growing plants and fruit trees for 40-some years, this plant was not going to make good growth. Still, they gave me the company patter about their "love of plants", and said wait and see. After going around a few times and realizing I was not going to get a replacement or a refund. I decided to take it up with my credit card company. This prompted a return call from a supervisor who at first said they did not guarantee their plants, and then, finally, gave me a refund. What an ordeal. I had offered to return the plant, more than once, BTW. Wacky company; use at your own risk.

Positive dirtygum
(3 reviews)
On Jan 31, 2010, dirtygum High Bridge, WI wrote:

I had placed an order in 2009 and had just the absolutely best mail order experience ever. I ordered 400$ worth of Apple, pear, cherry, and plum trees. All trees arrived larger than expected, in excellent packaging, and thrived beautifully once planted. I have nothing but good reviews for one green world. I will definitely order from them again!!

Positive cramsey1
(24 reviews)
On Jan 30, 2010, cramsey1 Salt Lake City, UT (Zone 6b) wrote:

I am really sorry to see some of the negative remarks made about this company. I have bought plants from One Green World (OGW) several times in the past few years and only have had very positive experiences with them. The plants have always been very health, well packed and arrived in good condition. I have bought Blueberry plants, Goumi and Kiwi plants from them. The blueberry plants were larger then expected 2 to 3 feet tall and were very healthy. In fact I had to take the blossoms of them in the summer so they did not bare fruit the same year I planted them. The kiwi was a very nice size and appears health. I am hoping that this one makes it through the winter this year, but if it doesn’t it will not be OGW fault. Whenever I have had a question about a plant I wanted to order or one I had already purchased, their customer service has always had an answer for me and offered suggestions. Their prices are competitive and the quality has been very good. I have not been disappointed with them or their service. They send me plants that I would have picked out for myself if I had been at the nursery. I recommend them to my friends and family. I realize that not everyone has had the same excellent experience with them that I have, but I also know that any online nursery company can make mistakes or have a bad day. Just so long as it is not a pattern. From my perspective it does not appear to be a pattern with this company.

Positive gardensgonewild
(2 reviews)
On Jan 9, 2010, gardensgonewild Vancouver, WA wrote:

I love One Green World. They have a great selection, they are local and "salmon safe". So far, I have purchased from them: a duke blueberry, a royal empress tree, a negronne fig, plus a few strawberries and crocus. Everything has done really well, the plants were healthy on arrival and well packaged. Great value. I Plan to order more this spring.

Positive MollymDG
(9 reviews)
On Jan 4, 2010, MollymDG Manteca, CA (Zone 9b) wrote:

I hate to review a company on my first order, but I was very hesitant to try One Green World because of the mixed reviews here, and the plants I tried were very well grown and arrived in great condition, so perhaps some detail will help others.

I ordered two plants online: a European elderberry and one of the two San Sho (or Sansho) species offered. (Array of species offered: a positive.)

I could find nothing in the online or print catalogue that said what size containers the plants would be in (a negative).

I received no acknowledgement of the order (a negative).
I received no shipping notice (a negative).

The time between ordering and shipping was short -- I ordered on December 26th, a Saturday, they shipped Fed Ex on the 28th, and I got them before New Years' Day. Pretty good. (a positive, or two)

The plants were very well packed and secured in their box. The soil in the containers was wet but not soggy, in a well-designed medium -- with some coarse bark chips included-- which kept the roots in good shape. (Big positive)

The plants were in deep 4" pots and had sturdy stems and very good root systems without being at all rootbound (a HUGE positive that overcomes all negatives!)

The plants were both a bit tall for the root systems --that's pretty standard, though regrettable. (neutral)

The prices -- $16.95 for each plant -- were in line with other nurseries' prices for European Elderberry (nothing to compare the Zanthoxylum with). The Zanthoxylum was a bit pale but it's usually described as deciduous so maybe it shouldn't have leaves at all in January. The elderberry was dormant (and better be, for January planting). (neutral/ positive)

One glitch, which may not have been OGW's doing: there are two kinds of Zanthoxylum, the kind that produces Szechuan Pepper and one whose leaves are used as an edible garnish, San Sho (or Sansho) in Japanese cooking. OGW listed the variety I ordered as San Sho (Z. piperatum). It seems to me to be Z. simulans, the Szechuan pepper variety. It doesn't taste at all like the San Sho I've had in Japanese restaurants (and once grew). The leaves have the taste and tongue-numbing quality of Szichuan pepper. OGW could be printing what they were told, or possibly mixed them up (It's not possible *I* could be mistaken, of course!).

(Note: San Sho is notoriously resentful of transplanting, according to a Japanese source. I'm not expecting a lot despite the excellent condition of the plant.)

Neutral RadicleGirl
(3 reviews)
On Nov 20, 2009, RadicleGirl Williams, OR wrote:

The owners have provided a unique array of woody perennial fruit-bearing bushes and trees. An impressive selection, but I prefer to buy organic, which these folks are not. As for pricing, I found the rare and unusual plants (e.g. honeyberry) to be reasonably priced, while a smattering of common plants (e.g. cinnamon vine, horseradish) were distinctly overpriced. Knowing all this, I decided to give them a try, but when my bilberry plants came they were very weak and only a couple of them made it through to the first season. The ones that did make it prospered, though, and were correctly identified, which was great. I'd have to rate my overall experience as neutral.

Positive Breyn94
(1 review)
On Sep 16, 2009, Breyn94 Willow Spring, NC wrote:

What a nice surprise I had waiting for me when I arrived home from work! My two Shropshire Damson Plum trees were on my front porch and I couldn't wait to open the box to greet them. I am still amazed at the condition these two trees arrived in! These two trees are in pristine condition - not a sign of root damage and every leaf on both trees were healthy and happy. I couldn't be happier with this order from One Green World. If these trees never bear or die on me, it will be NO fault of this mail order nursery. I can't help but shake my head when I read a post that complains that 5 years later no fruit. Folks! Instead of blaming the nursery (which is the easy way out) why not spend that energy investigating what is going on culturally in your own back yard!

Positive Grow4fun
(2 reviews)
On Sep 4, 2009, Grow4fun Victoria, IL wrote:

This was my first time ordering from one green world. I was very impressed with the nice shipping and the size of the 4 foot tall apple tree I recieved from them. After getting the tree this spring I planted it in a large pot and it leafed out in only one week after planting. The tree came with such a perfect 3 pronged top that when it leafed out it had such a nice shape that I planted it in my brothers front yard. I been scamed so many tmes by other online nurseys with 5 inch tall trees, so made this review to let people know they are not one of them. I am very happy with my order and will be ordering again this spring.

Negative safetyjoe
(2 reviews)
On Aug 10, 2009, safetyjoe Eugene, OR wrote:

I ordered a wolfberry plant five years ago from One Green World, and it has never flowered or fruited. I recently asked for a replacement, since a friend's plant had berries the second year. OGW informed me that I bought a seedling which takes 3-6 years to fruit. I told them I did not buy a seedling, that it was a cultivar. No way were they to accept responsibility. I live within an hour or so from their nursery and I have bought kiwis and guavas from local plant fairs and local nurseries that stock their plants. None of their kiwis have fruited, although the Chilean Guavas will fruit this fall. I've had some good conversations with Jim, owner and president, and he strikes me as very rigid and he doesn't flex an inch over a plant issue that is his nursery's responsibility.

I am a nursery owner and have been a horticulturist for almost 40 years. I know how to grow plants, and I know about good customer service. I treat my customers with utmost respect, .even though I don't always give them what they want. However, I treat them fairly, and if their loss is a fault of mine, I make it right. I rarely, rarely have a customer complain about their plant purchase because I sell healthy, disease and pest-free plants.

As nursery owners we need to look at the big picture. I am self-employed by my customers, the people who buy plants from me. That's just how it is!

Kenan Rowlett
Artistic Gardener Nursery & Design

Negative sfeldman2005
(6 reviews)
On Aug 6, 2009, sfeldman2005 Santa Cruz, CA wrote:

I ordered a gojiberry last spring and was worried when I opened the box. The leaves were covered with white spots and they said not to worry. And their website doesn't offer any information on possible disease for this plant. Now this shrub is completely covered with mildew--I've never seen a plant so susceptible. I'll probably have to remove it and would never have bought it if I'd been told about this possibility in the first place. Apparently this is a very common problem for gojiberry plants, and who wants to use a fungicide on a fruiting plant you're growing for its health benefits? Very frustrating to grow a plant that could infect the entire garden with mildew, and to not be told of that possibility.

Negative beckyham
(1 review)
On Jul 16, 2009, beckyham Houston, TX wrote:

one big green negative.I ordered over 300.00 worth of plants half died.( the ones i wanted were honey berries) order 8 plants -6 died and were delivered under 3 inches.i read honeyberrys that are small usually do not make it ,contacted company.told them 2 of he plants were over 12 inches on delivery,and the small ones died and i had read that was not uncommon.also told them it has been hot i planted in shade as instructed, and the large ones survied.all i wanted was one more plant for excellent pollenation and was told all the plants were 18 inches and they died from heat.well i told them it was hot and some are still alive-called me a lier and would not honor sending out ONE measelly plant after all i had spent $329.07 i have gardened for over 30 yrs made me go out and scratch a dead 2 inch stem just to insult me and say the head gardener said they were all sent out over 12 inches.i should of spent the 329.07 on him some new glasses!

Positive doctrtim
(15 reviews)
On Jun 15, 2009, doctrtim Salisbury, VT wrote:

I just received a seaberry and two gooseberry plants packed well and appearing in reasonably good health. It was a late summer order and so the gooseberries were already leafing out (not ideal). One gooseberry did have some yellowing leaves with signs of mildew (common). The plants were potted and of good size.

Positive stewartvh
(6 reviews)
On May 18, 2009, stewartvh Loretto, PA wrote:

Based on some of the feedback recorded here, I started with a small order (a couple of asian pears, a couple of gooseberries, and a jostaberry). I had no problems. The plants arrived near their target date and all had leafed out. Will likely continue to order hard-to-find plants from OGW. Thanks.

Positive artemiss
(12 reviews)
On May 2, 2009, artemiss Toledo, OH (Zone 5b) wrote:

Wow..I ordered a currant and a gooseberry from these guys this spring, and although they were sold out of one of the currants I wanted, I got a voicemail within a day or two of the order, so I was able to locate a replacement in ample time.

The plants I received were just stunning..even the dormant bareroot currant was HUGE, and the gooseberry had a few gooseberries already.

Nothing but good things to say about my experience!

Positive DarkEarth
(6 reviews)
On Apr 13, 2009, DarkEarth Hillsboro, OR wrote:

I've purchased plants from One Green World several times in the past year. They have an impressive selection of hard-to-find plants, including ones not carried at the local nurseries.

They don't offer bearing-sized plants, but their prices are also a bit lower than most other places. So far the newest trees and shrubs are leafing out nicely, and all of them arrived with a nice, well-branched root system.

Negative permaculturejo
(1 review)
On Apr 5, 2009, permaculturejo Portland, OR wrote:

I am a new customer to one green world and since I lived about 12 miles away, I chose to pick up the plant locally. I spent a little over three hundred dollars on my puchase and visited them twice. Though their customer service was great, I am very dissappointed by the quality of their trees and plant I have purchased. Since you don't get to pick the best looking plant like you would at a garden centre. You pretty much have to accept what was given to you by their staff at time of purchase. Most of my trees were small and one of my akebia vine looks so sick that I am just speechless. Especially when I visited a local nursery garden a day later and saw what a healthy selection they have.
I went back a second time for some almond trees and filbert trees and again was given stick that were barely 18 inches tall.
I decided to visit the the local nursery center the next day and bought some almond tree and fibert trees from them with almost the same price but are much bigger and healthy trees that stand aleast 6 feet tall. It was then become clear that I have make a mistake by shopping at one green world.
When I got home , I throw the one green world cataloge in the recycle bin and deleted their website from my favorite list. I do not think I will buy from them again.

Negative gardener_galore
(2 reviews)
On Apr 1, 2009, gardener_galore Pleasant Hill, OR wrote:

I was very excited about ordering from One Green World as they have a wonderful selection of plants, were local, and I liked their environmental practices. This year alone I have spent around $500 at their business and a couple other businesses on trees. I had planned on spending around $300 to $600 exclusively at One Green World next year but will not because of how they mishandled my order.

Their customer service agent took down my order wrong by phone for two of my trees. I did not notice this until after their two week return guarantee (4 weeks total). Trying to get this resolved resulted in much run-around on my part. Despite the fact that the error started with them (and one would think this was clear .. the order date was also entered as 10 months in the future), I was repeatedly told there was nothing they would do. I wasn't trying to be unreasonable or cheat them. A partial refund and returning the trees .. anything would have balanced things out.

I was told on the phone when I made my order that if my fruit trees didn't bloom out they would replace them. However, in a later discussion with a manager I was told that once I had the trees two weeks there was nothing they would do. Period. Since One Green World ships out trees in late winter/early spring well before any of them will bud out, the "guarantee" they provide is apparently worthless.

If they had just fixed their mistake in the first place I would have been one of their biggest fans.

Positive UKtransplant
(3 reviews)
On Jun 20, 2008, UKtransplant Riverside, IL wrote:

I read most of the positive and negative commentary in Dave's Garden before ordering from One Green World. Decided to jump in and order quite a few plants. They arrived recently in great shape after a long journey. Root systems are strong and deep with no evidence of disease. All the plants have leafed out, and added new growth quickly. The strawberry bundles are a great value, and doing beautifully here, even though they were planted in less than optimal soil in a 12-hour sun location. In summary, my experience with One Green World was a very positive one, and I will definitely do business with them again.

Positive tawnaRae
(2 reviews)
On Jun 5, 2008, tawnaRae Snohomish, WA wrote:

They followed up my internet order with a phone call to confirm and also let me know that one of the things I'd ordered was no longer in stock. They filled the order promptly and it arrived on my doorstep about 3 days later. The plants were in great shape. The were very friendly and helpful. I will order from them again for sure!!!

Positive chatnoir
(5 reviews)
On Apr 29, 2008, chatnoir Downers Grove, IL (Zone 5a) wrote:

This was my first order with One Green World. I was very pleased with the packing and shipping. They called me to tell me what day they would be mailed so I would be certain to watch for them. The plants were packed well and arrived without any apparent damage. I was equally impressed with the size of the apple trees and quince.

The trees are still dormant. I'll update this review once they've woken up and started growing. Judging from the roots, I don't expect anything but healthy, happy trees.


On July 9th, 2008, chatnoir added the following:

We're well into the growing season and all trees have done beautifully! They are quite healthy, disease free and growing strongly. Will order from this company again next spring!
Positive DrDoolotz
(7 reviews)
On Apr 27, 2008, DrDoolotz Oxford, NS (Zone 5b) wrote:

I ordered from One Green World this year and received my plants by FedEx. The plants are in excellent condition. I ordered two honeyberry plants and several unusual species of currants. I was very impressed with the solid packaging so that the plants wouldn't shake around in transit. The roots are strong and the plants are beginning to leaf out. One honeyberry is fully leafed out and in a pot that is properly taped so that the soil wouldn't come out of it. Just fabulous looking plants and a very positive experience for me. I fully expect them all to do well in my garden. I would not hesitate to order from OGW again.

Positive IanB
(3 reviews)
On Apr 26, 2008, IanB Boulder, CO wrote:

I've just received three bare-root plum trees from OGW. All are european plums on St Julian rootstock. All are 3 to 3 1/2' tall, >1/2" in diameter, well branched and with plenty of buds. All seem to have arrived healthy. Very satisfied!

Positive Loligo
(6 reviews)
On Apr 21, 2008, Loligo Murphysboro, IL (Zone 6b) wrote:

I just got a goumi and a clove currant in the mail from them -- beautiful, healthy, and in bloom, shipped exactly when they said they would.

Positive riceke
(4 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2008, riceke Snellville, GA (Zone 7b) wrote:

Ordered an Arbequina Olive tree. It arrived in very good condition, healthy, and was packed well. The 1qt size was about 28" tall w/some blossoming. I'm very satisfied with this order.

Positive urbanhick
(5 reviews)
On Mar 28, 2008, urbanhick Beverly Hills, CA wrote:

I've placed substantial wholesale orders with Northwoods (aka one Green World) for the past two years, covering a wide variety of species. With a very few exceptions, the stock has been of exceptional quality: a certain number of losses are to be expected with bare root stock, however from a total of around 1200 plants, I have only had issues with 6 plants. Each of these were refunded without hassle. Customer service has been superb, and the species selection is unsurpassed.

Positive portland_rian
(1 review)
On Mar 20, 2008, portland_rian Portland, OR wrote:

I can see the frustration that people have had with OGW, but they've been nothing but great in my experience (incidentally, I'm a will-call type customer and haven't had them mail me anything). They carry a nice selection of harder to find stuff and have always been very friendly when I've shown up at their offices in the off-season or unannounced. I couldn't begin to list all the stuff that I've purchased from them, and all of it has been top-notch, healthy stock.

Positive MuddyClogs
(1 review)
On Jan 18, 2008, MuddyClogs Portland, OR wrote:

Last year I made two separate trips to buy large plants orders for fruit trees and shrubs. Luckily everything made it through the season! Typically when I install so many plants in a season, I expect a few to not transplant well - but they all did great. I am going back for the third round of plants this February.

They carry a wide range of plant specifies. With some of the less common plants, I was confused about which specific variety to purchase. They were really helpful when I was at the nursery to help me decide which variety would suit my needs and location the best.

I have emailed them with questions before and their response time has been prompt and very helpful. They are great people!

Negative ovocny
(1 review)
On Nov 9, 2007, ovocny Tacoma, WA wrote:

This is the request I sent to OGW-
(I have not had the apple tree for more than one growing season, and the grafts have failed.)

"Last year I got a 3 way apple. It looked fine through the summer, no disease, grew well.
Then within 2 months - first one, then another, leader fell off at the graft union.
There was no mechanical damage. The grafts were not good. The defect was inherent in the plant. I have lost a year of growth towards having a productive tree.
I would like a replacement with a single variety disease resistant apple."

This is OGW exact response-
"We do apologize though we do not offer free replacements this far out. Our policy covers items that are damaged upon arrival and those that fail to come out of dormancy and we do ask that you contact us in regards to these matters right away."

One Green World did not admit that the graft failure was their problem. Just because the tree took some time to fall apart does not change that fact that it was defective. I am completely dissatisfied and will not order from them again.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2016 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America