Photo by Melody

Comments regarding One Green World (Northwoods Nursery)

Click here to return to One Green World (Northwoods Nursery)'s listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
69 positives
16 neutrals
23 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive dirtygum
(3 reviews)
On Jan 31, 2010, dirtygum High Bridge, WI wrote:

I had placed an order in 2009 and had just the absolutely best mail order experience ever. I ordered 400$ worth of Apple, pear, cherry, and plum trees. All trees arrived larger than expected, in excellent packaging, and thrived beautifully once planted. I have nothing but good reviews for one green world. I will definitely order from them again!!

Positive cramsey1
(24 reviews)
On Jan 30, 2010, cramsey1 Salt Lake City, UT (Zone 6b) wrote:

I am really sorry to see some of the negative remarks made about this company. I have bought plants from One Green World (OGW) several times in the past few years and only have had very positive experiences with them. The plants have always been very health, well packed and arrived in good condition. I have bought Blueberry plants, Goumi and Kiwi plants from them. The blueberry plants were larger then expected 2 to 3 feet tall and were very healthy. In fact I had to take the blossoms of them in the summer so they did not bare fruit the same year I planted them. The kiwi was a very nice size and appears health. I am hoping that this one makes it through the winter this year, but if it doesn’t it will not be OGW fault. Whenever I have had a question about a plant I wanted to order or one I had already purchased, their customer service has always had an answer for me and offered suggestions. Their prices are competitive and the quality has been very good. I have not been disappointed with them or their service. They send me plants that I would have picked out for myself if I had been at the nursery. I recommend them to my friends and family. I realize that not everyone has had the same excellent experience with them that I have, but I also know that any online nursery company can make mistakes or have a bad day. Just so long as it is not a pattern. From my perspective it does not appear to be a pattern with this company.

Positive gardensgonewild
(2 reviews)
On Jan 9, 2010, gardensgonewild Vancouver, WA wrote:

I love One Green World. They have a great selection, they are local and "salmon safe". So far, I have purchased from them: a duke blueberry, a royal empress tree, a negronne fig, plus a few strawberries and crocus. Everything has done really well, the plants were healthy on arrival and well packaged. Great value. I Plan to order more this spring.

Positive MollymDG
(9 reviews)
On Jan 4, 2010, MollymDG Manteca, CA (Zone 9b) wrote:

I hate to review a company on my first order, but I was very hesitant to try One Green World because of the mixed reviews here, and the plants I tried were very well grown and arrived in great condition, so perhaps some detail will help others.

I ordered two plants online: a European elderberry and one of the two San Sho (or Sansho) species offered. (Array of species offered: a positive.)

I could find nothing in the online or print catalogue that said what size containers the plants would be in (a negative).

I received no acknowledgement of the order (a negative).
I received no shipping notice (a negative).

The time between ordering and shipping was short -- I ordered on December 26th, a Saturday, they shipped Fed Ex on the 28th, and I got them before New Years' Day. Pretty good. (a positive, or two)

The plants were very well packed and secured in their box. The soil in the containers was wet but not soggy, in a well-designed medium -- with some coarse bark chips included-- which kept the roots in good shape. (Big positive)

The plants were in deep 4" pots and had sturdy stems and very good root systems without being at all rootbound (a HUGE positive that overcomes all negatives!)

The plants were both a bit tall for the root systems --that's pretty standard, though regrettable. (neutral)

The prices -- $16.95 for each plant -- were in line with other nurseries' prices for European Elderberry (nothing to compare the Zanthoxylum with). The Zanthoxylum was a bit pale but it's usually described as deciduous so maybe it shouldn't have leaves at all in January. The elderberry was dormant (and better be, for January planting). (neutral/ positive)

One glitch, which may not have been OGW's doing: there are two kinds of Zanthoxylum, the kind that produces Szechuan Pepper and one whose leaves are used as an edible garnish, San Sho (or Sansho) in Japanese cooking. OGW listed the variety I ordered as San Sho (Z. piperatum). It seems to me to be Z. simulans, the Szechuan pepper variety. It doesn't taste at all like the San Sho I've had in Japanese restaurants (and once grew). The leaves have the taste and tongue-numbing quality of Szichuan pepper. OGW could be printing what they were told, or possibly mixed them up (It's not possible *I* could be mistaken, of course!).

(Note: San Sho is notoriously resentful of transplanting, according to a Japanese source. I'm not expecting a lot despite the excellent condition of the plant.)

Neutral RadicleGirl
(3 reviews)
On Nov 20, 2009, RadicleGirl Williams, OR wrote:

The owners have provided a unique array of woody perennial fruit-bearing bushes and trees. An impressive selection, but I prefer to buy organic, which these folks are not. As for pricing, I found the rare and unusual plants (e.g. honeyberry) to be reasonably priced, while a smattering of common plants (e.g. cinnamon vine, horseradish) were distinctly overpriced. Knowing all this, I decided to give them a try, but when my bilberry plants came they were very weak and only a couple of them made it through to the first season. The ones that did make it prospered, though, and were correctly identified, which was great. I'd have to rate my overall experience as neutral.

Positive Breyn94
(1 review)
On Sep 16, 2009, Breyn94 Willow Spring, NC wrote:

What a nice surprise I had waiting for me when I arrived home from work! My two Shropshire Damson Plum trees were on my front porch and I couldn't wait to open the box to greet them. I am still amazed at the condition these two trees arrived in! These two trees are in pristine condition - not a sign of root damage and every leaf on both trees were healthy and happy. I couldn't be happier with this order from One Green World. If these trees never bear or die on me, it will be NO fault of this mail order nursery. I can't help but shake my head when I read a post that complains that 5 years later no fruit. Folks! Instead of blaming the nursery (which is the easy way out) why not spend that energy investigating what is going on culturally in your own back yard!

Positive Grow4fun
(2 reviews)
On Sep 4, 2009, Grow4fun Victoria, IL wrote:

This was my first time ordering from one green world. I was very impressed with the nice shipping and the size of the 4 foot tall apple tree I recieved from them. After getting the tree this spring I planted it in a large pot and it leafed out in only one week after planting. The tree came with such a perfect 3 pronged top that when it leafed out it had such a nice shape that I planted it in my brothers front yard. I been scamed so many tmes by other online nurseys with 5 inch tall trees, so made this review to let people know they are not one of them. I am very happy with my order and will be ordering again this spring.

Negative safetyjoe
(2 reviews)
On Aug 10, 2009, safetyjoe Eugene, OR wrote:

I ordered a wolfberry plant five years ago from One Green World, and it has never flowered or fruited. I recently asked for a replacement, since a friend's plant had berries the second year. OGW informed me that I bought a seedling which takes 3-6 years to fruit. I told them I did not buy a seedling, that it was a cultivar. No way were they to accept responsibility. I live within an hour or so from their nursery and I have bought kiwis and guavas from local plant fairs and local nurseries that stock their plants. None of their kiwis have fruited, although the Chilean Guavas will fruit this fall. I've had some good conversations with Jim, owner and president, and he strikes me as very rigid and he doesn't flex an inch over a plant issue that is his nursery's responsibility.

I am a nursery owner and have been a horticulturist for almost 40 years. I know how to grow plants, and I know about good customer service. I treat my customers with utmost respect, .even though I don't always give them what they want. However, I treat them fairly, and if their loss is a fault of mine, I make it right. I rarely, rarely have a customer complain about their plant purchase because I sell healthy, disease and pest-free plants.

As nursery owners we need to look at the big picture. I am self-employed by my customers, the people who buy plants from me. That's just how it is!

Kenan Rowlett
Artistic Gardener Nursery & Design

Negative sfeldman2005
(6 reviews)
On Aug 6, 2009, sfeldman2005 Santa Cruz, CA wrote:

I ordered a gojiberry last spring and was worried when I opened the box. The leaves were covered with white spots and they said not to worry. And their website doesn't offer any information on possible disease for this plant. Now this shrub is completely covered with mildew--I've never seen a plant so susceptible. I'll probably have to remove it and would never have bought it if I'd been told about this possibility in the first place. Apparently this is a very common problem for gojiberry plants, and who wants to use a fungicide on a fruiting plant you're growing for its health benefits? Very frustrating to grow a plant that could infect the entire garden with mildew, and to not be told of that possibility.

Negative beckyham
(1 review)
On Jul 16, 2009, beckyham Houston, TX wrote:

one big green negative.I ordered over 300.00 worth of plants half died.( the ones i wanted were honey berries) order 8 plants -6 died and were delivered under 3 inches.i read honeyberrys that are small usually do not make it ,contacted company.told them 2 of he plants were over 12 inches on delivery,and the small ones died and i had read that was not uncommon.also told them it has been hot i planted in shade as instructed, and the large ones survied.all i wanted was one more plant for excellent pollenation and was told all the plants were 18 inches and they died from heat.well i told them it was hot and some are still alive-called me a lier and would not honor sending out ONE measelly plant after all i had spent $329.07 i have gardened for over 30 yrs made me go out and scratch a dead 2 inch stem just to insult me and say the head gardener said they were all sent out over 12 inches.i should of spent the 329.07 on him some new glasses!

Positive doctrtim
(15 reviews)
On Jun 15, 2009, doctrtim Salisbury, VT wrote:

I just received a seaberry and two gooseberry plants packed well and appearing in reasonably good health. It was a late summer order and so the gooseberries were already leafing out (not ideal). One gooseberry did have some yellowing leaves with signs of mildew (common). The plants were potted and of good size.

Positive stewartvh
(6 reviews)
On May 18, 2009, stewartvh Loretto, PA wrote:

Based on some of the feedback recorded here, I started with a small order (a couple of asian pears, a couple of gooseberries, and a jostaberry). I had no problems. The plants arrived near their target date and all had leafed out. Will likely continue to order hard-to-find plants from OGW. Thanks.

Positive artemiss
(11 reviews)
On May 2, 2009, artemiss Toledo, OH (Zone 5b) wrote:

Wow..I ordered a currant and a gooseberry from these guys this spring, and although they were sold out of one of the currants I wanted, I got a voicemail within a day or two of the order, so I was able to locate a replacement in ample time.

The plants I received were just stunning..even the dormant bareroot currant was HUGE, and the gooseberry had a few gooseberries already.

Nothing but good things to say about my experience!

Positive DarkEarth
(6 reviews)
On Apr 13, 2009, DarkEarth Hillsboro, OR wrote:

I've purchased plants from One Green World several times in the past year. They have an impressive selection of hard-to-find plants, including ones not carried at the local nurseries.

They don't offer bearing-sized plants, but their prices are also a bit lower than most other places. So far the newest trees and shrubs are leafing out nicely, and all of them arrived with a nice, well-branched root system.

Negative permaculturejo
(1 review)
On Apr 5, 2009, permaculturejo Portland, OR wrote:

I am a new customer to one green world and since I lived about 12 miles away, I chose to pick up the plant locally. I spent a little over three hundred dollars on my puchase and visited them twice. Though their customer service was great, I am very dissappointed by the quality of their trees and plant I have purchased. Since you don't get to pick the best looking plant like you would at a garden centre. You pretty much have to accept what was given to you by their staff at time of purchase. Most of my trees were small and one of my akebia vine looks so sick that I am just speechless. Especially when I visited a local nursery garden a day later and saw what a healthy selection they have.
I went back a second time for some almond trees and filbert trees and again was given stick that were barely 18 inches tall.
I decided to visit the the local nursery center the next day and bought some almond tree and fibert trees from them with almost the same price but are much bigger and healthy trees that stand aleast 6 feet tall. It was then become clear that I have make a mistake by shopping at one green world.
When I got home , I throw the one green world cataloge in the recycle bin and deleted their website from my favorite list. I do not think I will buy from them again.

Negative gardener_galore
(2 reviews)
On Apr 1, 2009, gardener_galore Pleasant Hill, OR wrote:

I was very excited about ordering from One Green World as they have a wonderful selection of plants, were local, and I liked their environmental practices. This year alone I have spent around $500 at their business and a couple other businesses on trees. I had planned on spending around $300 to $600 exclusively at One Green World next year but will not because of how they mishandled my order.

Their customer service agent took down my order wrong by phone for two of my trees. I did not notice this until after their two week return guarantee (4 weeks total). Trying to get this resolved resulted in much run-around on my part. Despite the fact that the error started with them (and one would think this was clear .. the order date was also entered as 10 months in the future), I was repeatedly told there was nothing they would do. I wasn't trying to be unreasonable or cheat them. A partial refund and returning the trees .. anything would have balanced things out.

I was told on the phone when I made my order that if my fruit trees didn't bloom out they would replace them. However, in a later discussion with a manager I was told that once I had the trees two weeks there was nothing they would do. Period. Since One Green World ships out trees in late winter/early spring well before any of them will bud out, the "guarantee" they provide is apparently worthless.

If they had just fixed their mistake in the first place I would have been one of their biggest fans.

Positive UKtransplant
(3 reviews)
On Jun 20, 2008, UKtransplant Riverside, IL wrote:

I read most of the positive and negative commentary in Dave's Garden before ordering from One Green World. Decided to jump in and order quite a few plants. They arrived recently in great shape after a long journey. Root systems are strong and deep with no evidence of disease. All the plants have leafed out, and added new growth quickly. The strawberry bundles are a great value, and doing beautifully here, even though they were planted in less than optimal soil in a 12-hour sun location. In summary, my experience with One Green World was a very positive one, and I will definitely do business with them again.

Positive tawnaRae
(2 reviews)
On Jun 5, 2008, tawnaRae Snohomish, WA wrote:

They followed up my internet order with a phone call to confirm and also let me know that one of the things I'd ordered was no longer in stock. They filled the order promptly and it arrived on my doorstep about 3 days later. The plants were in great shape. The were very friendly and helpful. I will order from them again for sure!!!

Positive chatnoir
(5 reviews)
On Apr 29, 2008, chatnoir Downers Grove, IL (Zone 5a) wrote:

This was my first order with One Green World. I was very pleased with the packing and shipping. They called me to tell me what day they would be mailed so I would be certain to watch for them. The plants were packed well and arrived without any apparent damage. I was equally impressed with the size of the apple trees and quince.

The trees are still dormant. I'll update this review once they've woken up and started growing. Judging from the roots, I don't expect anything but healthy, happy trees.


On July 9th, 2008, chatnoir added the following:

We're well into the growing season and all trees have done beautifully! They are quite healthy, disease free and growing strongly. Will order from this company again next spring!
Positive DrDoolotz
(7 reviews)
On Apr 27, 2008, DrDoolotz Oxford, NS (Zone 5b) wrote:

I ordered from One Green World this year and received my plants by FedEx. The plants are in excellent condition. I ordered two honeyberry plants and several unusual species of currants. I was very impressed with the solid packaging so that the plants wouldn't shake around in transit. The roots are strong and the plants are beginning to leaf out. One honeyberry is fully leafed out and in a pot that is properly taped so that the soil wouldn't come out of it. Just fabulous looking plants and a very positive experience for me. I fully expect them all to do well in my garden. I would not hesitate to order from OGW again.

Positive IanB
(3 reviews)
On Apr 26, 2008, IanB Boulder, CO wrote:

I've just received three bare-root plum trees from OGW. All are european plums on St Julian rootstock. All are 3 to 3 1/2' tall, >1/2" in diameter, well branched and with plenty of buds. All seem to have arrived healthy. Very satisfied!

Positive Loligo
(6 reviews)
On Apr 21, 2008, Loligo Murphysboro, IL (Zone 6b) wrote:

I just got a goumi and a clove currant in the mail from them -- beautiful, healthy, and in bloom, shipped exactly when they said they would.

Positive riceke
(4 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2008, riceke Snellville, GA (Zone 7b) wrote:

Ordered an Arbequina Olive tree. It arrived in very good condition, healthy, and was packed well. The 1qt size was about 28" tall w/some blossoming. I'm very satisfied with this order.

Positive urbanhick
(5 reviews)
On Mar 28, 2008, urbanhick Beverly Hills, CA wrote:

I've placed substantial wholesale orders with Northwoods (aka one Green World) for the past two years, covering a wide variety of species. With a very few exceptions, the stock has been of exceptional quality: a certain number of losses are to be expected with bare root stock, however from a total of around 1200 plants, I have only had issues with 6 plants. Each of these were refunded without hassle. Customer service has been superb, and the species selection is unsurpassed.

Positive portland_rian
(1 review)
On Mar 20, 2008, portland_rian Portland, OR wrote:

I can see the frustration that people have had with OGW, but they've been nothing but great in my experience (incidentally, I'm a will-call type customer and haven't had them mail me anything). They carry a nice selection of harder to find stuff and have always been very friendly when I've shown up at their offices in the off-season or unannounced. I couldn't begin to list all the stuff that I've purchased from them, and all of it has been top-notch, healthy stock.

Positive MuddyClogs
(1 review)
On Jan 18, 2008, MuddyClogs Portland, OR wrote:

Last year I made two separate trips to buy large plants orders for fruit trees and shrubs. Luckily everything made it through the season! Typically when I install so many plants in a season, I expect a few to not transplant well - but they all did great. I am going back for the third round of plants this February.

They carry a wide range of plant specifies. With some of the less common plants, I was confused about which specific variety to purchase. They were really helpful when I was at the nursery to help me decide which variety would suit my needs and location the best.

I have emailed them with questions before and their response time has been prompt and very helpful. They are great people!

Negative ovocny
(1 review)
On Nov 9, 2007, ovocny Tacoma, WA wrote:

This is the request I sent to OGW-
(I have not had the apple tree for more than one growing season, and the grafts have failed.)

"Last year I got a 3 way apple. It looked fine through the summer, no disease, grew well.
Then within 2 months - first one, then another, leader fell off at the graft union.
There was no mechanical damage. The grafts were not good. The defect was inherent in the plant. I have lost a year of growth towards having a productive tree.
I would like a replacement with a single variety disease resistant apple."

This is OGW exact response-
"We do apologize though we do not offer free replacements this far out. Our policy covers items that are damaged upon arrival and those that fail to come out of dormancy and we do ask that you contact us in regards to these matters right away."

One Green World did not admit that the graft failure was their problem. Just because the tree took some time to fall apart does not change that fact that it was defective. I am completely dissatisfied and will not order from them again.

Negative chediak
(1 review)
On Jul 15, 2007, chediak Portland, OR wrote:

I used to be a real fan of One Green World for both their selection and environmental practices, but now I don't know.

This yearI received item #8416 Early Cordifolia hardy kiwi with no buds on it at the time of delivery, along with another kiwi that looked great. I immediately reported this to customer support and was told to scratch the bark and see if it was green underneath. It was. I was then asked to simply plant it and be patient.

I waited for a month or two and nothing happened to the Early Cordifolia while the other kiwi sent at the same time was thriving. I called again and was told the same thing. It's now mid-July and the plant never did bud in any way, shape or form, and the scratch test is no longer green. The plant is as dead as a doornail.

I'd like a refund on this plant or a replacement, but their website appears not to be up any longer and the office is closed for the season. What really bothers me is that I repeatedly called and told the staff that this plant really seemed unusually poor at the time of delivery. I've gotten dozens of bare-root plants and this one really looked sick, but now I'm reading on the packing slip that they can no longer offer free replacements? What sort of quality control is that?

Call me frustrated.

Positive darcyclare
(3 reviews)
On Jun 2, 2007, darcyclare Brooklyn, NY wrote:

I have nothing to but excellent things to say about One Green World. Their catalog is so interesting that it is as good as a novel. They offer fantastic and unusual trees and plants from all sorts of exotic locations. I have a four year old contorted Mulberry and a Shipova that are doing magnificently. I ordered a Quince and a Fig this year - the Quince was so perfect on its arrival that it actually broke dormancy and BLOOMED - I might even get some fruit this year if I am lucky. The fig had been damaged in transit ( just one of those things because both trees were packaged beautifully). I called OGW and explained the situation and a very nice woman said that she would report this and someone would get back to me. OGW called me back and sent a replacement Latarulla Fig - which is covered in healthy leaves now. I applaud their interest in the environment and in plant diversity and I think very fondly of this company every time I look at my backyard. OGW (in a tie with The Lily Garden) has to be my favorite nursery. I like to support the smaller companies that are driven by an owner's passion. I highly recommend this company.

Positive nc_marie
(2 reviews)
On Apr 28, 2007, nc_marie Wake Forest, NC (Zone 7b) wrote:

Placed a order for two feijoa plants, a hops plant, a 3-pak of wintergreen, and a Evergreen Huckleberry on Sunday, 15 Apr 2007. I received an acknowledgement immediately. My order had a status of Processing.

On Friday, the order still stood at processing and I was concerned it was lost. I emailed customer service and left a message on the company's answering machine. I received replies to both messages within 24 hours and was told that the order would ship on Monday or Tuesday. It did, and customer service followed up by sending me the tracking number for my order.

Delivery was scheduled for Monday 4/30, but I received the plants today (4/28) - we have a really good FedEX home delivery agent.

Plants were well packed and well hydrated for the journey. They would have been ok for another 2 days in transit.

I was able to obtain plants that are not available locally in a timely manner. My expectations were met.

Neutral wardwell5
(1 review)
On Apr 26, 2007, wardwell5 East Greenwich, RI wrote:

I've ordered from OGW for the last three years and find this company very frustrating to deal with. The reason I continue to order from them is their selection. I want very much to support a company working to find sources of rare and unusual plants, but the bottom line is this - I can never predict what I'll get - from customer service to planting info to quality of the plants. Two years ago, I placed a large order and explained that I would be on vacation in Europe, and gave them very specific dates that I would be away. I live in RI, so this was a long ship for the plants. I suggested air freight, but the person I spoke with said it would not be necessary and would only take 4 days to get here. I agreed and returned from vacation to find that my plants had arrived 4 days before I returned from vacation and were left in the hot sun in 80F weather. And while the plants were very well packaged, their health was in question. I asked for all the plants to be re-shipped -some had broken branches, others seemed to have leafed out in the box and wilted. They suggested I plant them and keep them well-watered. I agreed then, and now wish I had persisted. I was told the person I spoke with was fired and made many mistakes with my order related to shipping. Now, most of the smaller plants I ordered (seaberries, lingonberries, honeyberries, blueberries, winterberries) have died. I will say though, the larger trees/bushes I ordered rebounded after one year in the ground and have recovered. Having read the comments on this site about others with similar problems, I doubt I'd be able to get credit for them now, given their diminishing guarantees. I went through many calls back and forth with their customer service people and just barely got a few of the plants replaced that were dead or very damaged. This year, I was pleased to find that they have finally started to build their website. When I emailed to ask why they did not have Site and Soil info, and many of the plants do not have pictures yet, I was told to read the website where the information was provided. Apparently customer service doesn't pay attention to their own website. Once I asked the woman to please go to her website, she discovered her error. I also asked for a catalog, but never received one (2nd year in a row they had trouble getting me a catalog). I'm ready to place a good size order again this year, but will look into other nurseries. OGW has great selection ,but I can't afford to be out another $300+ in plants and another year behind in plant growth if I have more quality or shipping problems.

Positive Glenn9643
(3 reviews)
On Apr 25, 2007, Glenn9643 Monroe, LA wrote:

Ordered four fig varieties on 21 April (Saturday) with express shipping, and received the shipment 25 April. Good prompt processing and excellent packaging helps to make for happy customers!
All of the figs are relatively small but to be fair their prices are somewhat less than other nurseries. Everything was still dormant when received and appears to be in great condition. My only complaint: it's raining cats and dogs today and I can't get them in the ground immediately!

Positive Intriguing1
(20 reviews)
On Apr 25, 2007, Intriguing1 Tulsa, OK (Zone 6b) wrote:

I have ordered several unusual items from this company that I couldn't find elsewhere (thimbleberry, Russian quince, etc.), and I've always been very impressed by their plant quality and vigor.

The staff is very willing to talk to you about the differences in their varieties so you can choose the plant that's right for you, and they're very good about explaining culture and growing requirements as well. I highly recommend One Green World!

Positive Moshe
(1 review)
On Apr 19, 2007, Moshe Bishop, GA wrote:

I am starting an organic orchard, and for the last several years I have placed fairly large orders with both Raintree and One Green World. Honestly, Raintree has always provided superior plants, but I continued to order from One Green World because they offered some unique plants not offered by Raintree Nursery. No more. I am done with One Green World. First, it is becoming very difficult to even contact anyone at One Green World, and second, they seem to have an ever diminishing commitment to their own increasingly limited guarantees. Last year it was small and dead plants that they replaced only after multiple calls. The year before molded plants (which they did replace but not cheerfully to say the least). This year two of the trees I received were simply not acceptable (credit where credit is due; the potted plants were alright and the Stone Pine was very nice). But one of the trees this year was so damaged it's bark was gone to the core of the tree on one side, and the other was barely 14 inches tall and has yet to bud out. I am wondering now whether I should even bother to contact them, or if I even can contact them. Either way. I'm ordering from Raintree next year. Hope you have better luck, but it seems like the quality of service is declining fast at One Green World. Hope it improves. They offer many interesting plants, but if they are dead or dying, what's the point. The shrinking guarantee is a real red flag also, and a troubling reflection of their own faith in what they sell.


On April 20th, 2007, Moshe changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

P.S. I just measured the tree, and I want to be completely fair, despite some frustration when I wrote the prior message. The tree was 14 inches tall from the graft and counting a 4 inch graft it is 18 inches tall. Still a very disappointing tree, but I want to be fair. I really hope that One Green World improves their service, their guarantee, and their willingness to step up willingly and back up their guarantee, as they offer a tremendous selection of plants, I love reading the catalog, etc. If anyone from One Green World gets a chance to read this, here is the message: You need to improve your customer service and back up the quality of your products. Hope you will. You offer a great selection of plants. I will try again to contact One Green World, and hope I have a better experience this time.
On April 20th, 2007, Moshe changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

UPDATE: Wow! After writing my last post here, I wrote a letter to mail to One Green World (I have had trouble getting them on the phone), and before I could mail it, I just received an e-mail from One Green World saying that they had read my post here and stating the following: "We read your recent posting on Dave's Garden and we're writing to follow up directly with you. Which plant(s) specifically had problems? We appreciate your feedback and look forward to helping you resolve any problems you may have with your recent order. Thank you for your order. Please contact me if I can be of further assistance." I will take this as a sign that whatever caused the difficulties I experienced has been either atypical or resolved, and look forward to a positive future experience shopping with One Green World. If this is not the case, I will let you know, but I see this as a very good sign. I am very pleased, because One Green World truly does have an outstanding selection of plants. Thanks also to Dave's Garden for providing such a great forum for gardeners. Best wishes to all.
Positive lezurk
(8 reviews)
On Apr 19, 2007, lezurk Toledo, IL wrote:

I received an order last week and was very impressed by the condition and packing of the plants. This company offers some unique plants that are difficult to find elsewhere. I will order from them again.


On June 20th, 2008, lezurk added the following:

I received another two orders from One Green World this year and was not disappointed. Their packaging has to be one of the best in the business. All the trees were in marvelous shape and are growing fine. I recommend this company to my friends.
Neutral ckrembs
(4 reviews)
On Mar 10, 2007, ckrembs Seattle, WA wrote:

I very much like the varieties they offer but was a little disapointed about the small size of plants e.g fig tree. Compared to Raintree nursery their plants are smalles but healthy. Their packing system could be improoved but if plants break they really make an effort to replace them with a really nice plant.

Positive daedelus902
(12 reviews)
On Nov 24, 2006, daedelus902 Charlotte, NC (Zone 7b) wrote:

I ordered two specialty seedless grape cultivars from One Green World. They came in larger and healthier than expected. One was over 2 feet in height already. They have since leafed out beautifully. I will order from them again. I do know that sometimes with large nurseries like Raintree, Stark, and OGW we are sometimes at the mercy of the field pickers. Use diplomacy, be polite, watch the ego, and you will be fine if you need replacement(s). Cheers!


On February 19th, 2007, daedelus902 added the following:

After receiving an exceptional quality heirloom grape vine order, I decided to follow-up with a tree order pre-Spring 2007. We ordered two asian pears, a Sweet Ann cherry, and a few Marrianna rootstocks to do some Shiro & Kirkes Blue grafting. Our orchard has over 16 species and 22 variouos cultivars, (we have 82 trees total).

The trees from OGW were the finest from any nursery we have received to date, (no kidding). The packing was superb, the trees were 3/4" caliper with supple healthy bark covered with dormant buds. They came in moist and carefully packed with moisture seal AND moisture gel around the roots to make sure they arrived healthy. This company cares about their trees. These were all planted within the same hour they arrived in my orchard and are already showing good response.

The customer service personnel was superb. They were always helpful and knowledgeable. One Green World is now my #1 nursery and I will consider them first when supplying my orchard in the seasons to come.
On April 8th, 2008, daedelus902 added the following:

Just received my latest OGW order...jujubes. They are healthy with good roost systems. Got them in the ground with 1 hours of receipt and soaked the roots in my trusty bucket before planting, (thus the 1 hr delay). Should grow well here...will keep you posted.

So far so good OGW...far and away better quality than Raintree or Stark Bros. over the last two shipping seasons.
Positive svn2004
(1 review)
On Sep 12, 2006, svn2004 Nevada, OH wrote:

I have purchased several times from OGW and their stock is of superior quality. I would recommend OGW to anyone looking for unusual fruit varieties. Make sure to order early since they often sell out quickly as I have found. I have experience with nursery stock and everything I have ordered has been very well cared for.

Positive gaika
(5 reviews)
On Jul 15, 2006, gaika Palo Alto, CA wrote:

I have had very positive experiences on 2 large orders from One Green World. Their plants in 3 trials grew better than the plants I obtained from Raintree. I will be using One Green World over Raintree whenever possible
Gaika

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America