Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Comments regarding Bluestone Perennials

Click here to return to Bluestone Perennials's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
1055 positives
95 neutrals
76 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 ... 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | ... 31 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive LCROCKERC
(4 reviews)
On Jan 16, 2011, LCROCKERC Florence, MT wrote:

I ordered from this company for the first time last year and WOW was very impressed with the plants I ordered. I had ordered approximately 15 different daylilies and they were very big, healthy plants and most of them already had blooms. They arrived in good shape and were packed very well. All of them bloomed this past summer and did very well. I will definately order from this Co. again. Cost of the plants were reasonable and they were shipped to me in a timely manner.

Positive lovemyhouse
(4 reviews)
On Nov 6, 2010, lovemyhouse (Debra) Garland, TX wrote:

Posted on November 6, 2010, updated November 6, 2010
Posted on September 11, 2010, updated November 6, 2010
Posted on April 10, 2010, updated September 11, 2010
Reasonable prices for what you get, especially on those items not readily available in my area. Shipping rates comparable or better than other large mail order nurseries. Have always had well-packed healthy plants on arrival. Only one of several dozen over the years did not survive transplant and was immediately and cheerfully replaced without question. Highly recommended for service during and after the sale.


On September 11th, 2010, lovemyhouse added the following:

Also, I would suggest that new customers read the inside front page of the catalog or check the sizing information on their website before ordering. They clearly define what the sizes are that you would be getting for any particular plant. Some of them will be three-packs that are just a little bigger than plug size, some will be individual plants in larger pots. Which is why the pricing is set as it is for their customers. :-)

I am drooling over their latest catalog now :-D and will continue ordering from Bluestone, as I am completely satisfied with all aspects of doing business with this company.
On November 6th, 2010, lovemyhouse added the following:

Had my eye on a few bulbs that I wanted, but that had all been too expensive--from any outlet. Delighted to see them on Bluestone "specials" and ordered several items. Received package three days after payment tendered. I am very happy with every aspect of purchasing from this company.
On November 6th, 2010, lovemyhouse added the following:

Had my eye on a few bulbs that I wanted, but that had all been too expensive--from any outlet. Delighted to see them on Bluestone "specials" and ordered several items. Received package three days after payment tendered. I am very happy with every aspect of purchasing from this company. Good thing I don't live close to their nursery outlet...LOL
Positive DorisG
(4 reviews)
On Nov 6, 2010, DorisG wrote:

I bought some sale bulbs while fully aware that my planting season was about over. The bulbs were shipped out immediately, well-packed, and delivered within a few days. I'm impressed.

Positive evelyn_inthegarden
(16 reviews)
On Nov 1, 2010, evelyn_inthegarden Sierra Foothills, CA (Zone 8a) wrote:

Posted on July 8, 2008, updated November 1, 2010
I purchased more than one order on sale, as my gardens have been neglected due to 4 operations in these last 4 years. So the orders were quite large and mostly sale plants. When I received a few that were looking "not so good", I received a prompt replacement with no hassles whatsoever, after all, these were the ones on the last clearance sale. So, I would reccomend this company.
The service was excellent, and they even told me where I could recycle the other packing "peanuts", and from other companies as well. I hauled them off to my local UPS store and they were happy to get them. They did not pay me for them, but at least I recycled them.
So all of the plants are growing well now, even some that I have cut back (Thyme), as they were the ones that were replaced, and now all of them are looking nice now.
Yes, most of the plants are small, but if you need a lot of plants to fill in an area, their prices can't be beat! I have ordered from others as well, so I will list those ratings according to the names of the companies.

Thank you Bluestone Perennials!

Evelyn


On November 1st, 2010, evelyn_inthegarden added the following:

Again, I placed an order and received a nice assortment of plants. All were good but one. I waited a while to see if it would recover and then emailed them when I realized that it would not. They are sending me a new plant for a replacement.

I have ordered from this company for many years now, and have been happy with their prices, selection and prompt shipping. What more can I say?

Thank you, Bluestone Perennials!

Evelyn
On Nov 1, 2010, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Nov 2, 2010 11:07 AM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

You are welcome, Evelyn! And thank you for your loyalty."


Positive ericfloyd
(4 reviews)
On Oct 25, 2010, ericfloyd Weatherford, TX (Zone 8a) wrote:

Always very nice plants with quick reliable shipping and friendly customer service. Bluestone is go-to mail order company!

Positive kacton
(7 reviews)
On Oct 25, 2010, kacton Hasbrouck Heights, NJ wrote:

Everything I have ordered from Bluestone Perennials came packaged safely and alive. All of the plants are thriving. One plant that died I emailed them about and they sent a replacement no questions asked.

Positive gladgrammy
(7 reviews)
On Oct 20, 2010, gladgrammy Saint Paris, OH wrote:

I order from Bluestones almost every year and have done so for 7 or 8 years now. I have always had a positive experience with them and their plants. Only one time did they accidently send the wrong plant [tag was marked wrong] and they immediately answered my e-mail and sent the correct plant and told me to keep the mistaken plant too. It was an August Moon hosta which I still have in my garden thriving! A happy mistake! Anyway, consider me a satisfied customer. I am already studying the Bluestone catalogue and figuring out what I want to order next year!

Positive kimberliw
(2 reviews)
On Oct 19, 2010, kimberliw Jensen, UT wrote:

I ordered from them for the first time last month. They were prompt. The lily bulbs I received were large and in good condition. I hope they perform well next summer.

Positive aponyclubmom
(2 reviews)
On Oct 7, 2010, aponyclubmom Dunkirk, MD wrote:

I was very impressed with my ordering experience with Bluestone Perennials. They were referred to me by members of a Yahoo gardening group I belong to and were highly recommended. My plants arrived in a timely manner and were well packed and secure. I'd ordered mostly from the Specials page and was impressed with the prices overall.

The plants were very healthy and I'm looking forward to them coming up in the spring! I will definetly order from them again and have my eye on several items in the new catalog that just arrived as well. Thank you for such a positive mail order experience!

Negative bjaquez
(3 reviews)
On Sep 27, 2010, bjaquez Loyalton, CA wrote:

Ordered some plants, based on the positive ratings here. When the plants arrived, they looked pretty bad. Drieds, yellowed leaves. I soaked them. Several came back to look okay.

I sent an email to the company. No response.


On Sep 27, 2010, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Sep 27, 2010 11:24 AM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

I see you got your order on this past Friday and emailed us that evening. We are working on the emails that came in over the weekend and will be sending you replacements at no charge. I am sorry the plants arrived in less that satisfactory condition. In the fall, we do not staff the office on the weekends - my apologies for the delay in responding."


Positive omasuziq
(8 reviews)
On Sep 26, 2010, omasuziq Greensboro, NC (Zone 7a) wrote:

I ordered two Mrs. Nelly Thompson clematis from Bluestone because they were the only Website I could find that still had stock available. I held my breath because I had never purchased from them before but the plants arrived in fine shape and on schedule last week. I knew they would be small (Bluestone were truthful in their advertising) but the roots were very well developed. I know I likely won't see blooms until 2012 (yikes!), but I wanted to get the clematis in the ground this Fall to give it a good headstart. I would order from Bluestone again.

Positive jbush
(6 reviews)
On Sep 26, 2010, jbush Bordentown, NJ (Zone 6a) wrote:

Posted on September 10, 2010, updated September 26, 2010
This past Spring, I ordered several perennials. one of which was a group of three silene plants, Having had prior positive experience with this company I was very surprised at the size of the plants9very small, almost seedling size. I emailed the company to advise them that I was not happy with the size of the plants and I received and I received no reply. I planted the plants and I was pretty sure the roots were not mature enough . Of course, given the brutally hot summer, all of the three silenes died. I recontacted the company by email about three weeks ago and again I have not received a response. I am quite disappointed as previous experiences have been positive.


On September 26th, 2010, jbush changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

As. directed, I contacted Customer service at Bluestone. They were very apologetic; it seems they had no record of either of my calls.
The order was immediately replaced and I received them yesterday. Much better looking plants than in the spring. Nice and healthy. I am changing my rating to positive.
On Sep 26, 2010, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Sep 10, 2010 3:20 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

We are so sorry your plants slipped through shipping before they were ready. We try very hard to avoid doing that. We would like to correct your situation immediately. Please be assured that we never ignore an email we have received. Unfortunately, we do not have any record of receiving either email from you, and I hope you will call us so that we can resolve this situation with a reshipment or a refund, whichever you prefer. Again, our apologies. 1-800-852-5243"


Positive akitalady
(3 reviews)
On Sep 24, 2010, akitalady Albany, NY (Zone 5a) wrote:

I've ordered from Bluestone Perrenials a number of times over the years; recently, I placed an order for some fall bulbs. The order arrived, and I discovered that I received a different allium variety than I'd ordered. I called Bluestone the next day, spoke to a very pleasant person who told me new bulbs would ship at no cost to me, and that I could keep the bulbs I received in error.

This is perfect customer service. I can't wait to receive the Spring 2011 catalog.

Neutral NLaw
(4 reviews)
On Sep 23, 2010, NLaw Fort Worth , TX (Zone 8b) wrote:

I have been a customer of Bluestone for a few years now, and they had been a favorite, but now I am withholding my judgment because of the poor packaging. I'm having good success with other companies that pack the plants carefully with wet newspaper and plastic. Bluestone ships the plants in a box with styrofoam peanuts. Besides the fact that those peanuts are terribly annoying, this packaging doesn't preserve the plants during shipping well at all-- especially for the tiny 3-packs. If I can get the same plants from another company that packages them better, I will probably choose them over Bluestone in the future.

Neutral 7B_8A
(12 reviews)
On Sep 11, 2010, 7B_8A Fayetteville, GA wrote:

Have almost always received healthy, vigorous and well rooted plants. Will never complain about the size-that's why they're priced the way they are. My primary problem with this vendor is the packing. If they read through all of their negative feedback postings they may see a common theme. I don't think I've ever received a shipment that didn't have some broken branches or leaves from being jostled about and chafed by those pain in the box peanuts! Once I received a Leonard Messel magnolia that was completely defoliated by the time I got it. To Pat's credit it was promptly replaced (no pictures required, no questions asked) but it seems like a heck of a way to do business. If they they want some better ideas on how to pack mail order plants they only need to place an order with High Country Gardens (now that man knows how to pack a shipment), Brushwood Nurseries (for shipping vines) or Logee's who ships similar size perennials. Musser Forests even does a better job with just plain old newspaper!

Positive rivervalley
(1 review)
On Sep 11, 2010, rivervalley Oconto, WI wrote:

We have ordered from Bluestone for two years, and not just a little bit of plants we have ordered ALOT of plants. We have ordered atleast 4 Perennial border packs (roughly 350 plants altogether) and probably about 100 mis other plants including shrubs. I am very pleased of all the plants we ordered only about 5 have died, they were from a two year ago order...we contacted Bluestone and even though it was from two years ago they gave us a credit to order more shrubs next Spring. I beleive the Perennial Border packs are a good money saving way to get plants as we now buy them for our clients. Where else for under $100 dollars can you get 65 or so Perennial Plants?

Positive SerenaSYH
(4 reviews)
On Jul 28, 2010, SerenaSYH Overland Park-Kansas City, KS wrote:

I ordered 8 agastache, 2 different hybrids. All survived and are adding lots of color to my garden.

Neutral daisy96
(1 review)
On Jul 16, 2010, daisy96 Warwick, RI (Zone 6a) wrote:

Posted on July 16, 2010, updated July 16, 2010
Posted on June 17, 2008, updated July 16, 2010
I purchased plants from Bluestone for the 1st time during their 1/2 off sale. I bought daylilies, columbines, and a gaillardia fanfare. I have never purchased plants online before and decided to go with them because of all of the positive reviews I've read here. My plants arrived in great shape and were packaged very well. I waited 3 days to plant them to get them acclimated. So far my daylilies and gaillardia are holding their own. I'm not too sure about the columbines yet. If my plants survive and flourish I will definitely buy from them again. I have another "wish list" of plants in mind.


On July 16th, 2010, daisy96 changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

This is a follow-up to how my plants are doing 2 years later. The daylilies are doing just fine and the gaillardia fanfare is still small but blooming nicely. I would buy these plants again. I bought 3 different columbines at that time and one of them is barely hanging on. I will not buy their columbines again.
On July 16th, 2010, daisy96 added the following:

Last year I ordered their pre-planned Butterfly Garden and several other plants. This is a follow-up. Rabbits have totally destroyed my echinacea purpurea, coreopsis early sunrise, monarda raspberry wine, and stokesia color wheel. Several of the plants in the set came in packs of 3 but not all of them made it. I bought another columbine and again it didn't make it.
Positive paraselene
(1 review)
On Jul 5, 2010, paraselene Deerfield, WI (Zone 4b) wrote:

I ordered the perennial border and butterfly garden packages, which arrived in May, nicely packed and labeled. There were a few substitutions, but the plants were all healthy and good-sized for mail order, and every single one is now thriving in my garden. I will definitely order again next year.

Positive RedMechanic
(3 reviews)
On Jul 5, 2010, RedMechanic Allentown, PA wrote:

My first experience with Bluestone was a pleasant one. Their lilies are the ONLY thing thriving in my beds right now, during a record-breaking heatwave and drought. I think their plants are secretly part cactus. :p

When I need plants for less-than-ideal locations and poor soil quality, I will seek out Bluestone in the future.

Positive emart
(3 reviews)
On Jun 30, 2010, emart Souderton, PA wrote:

I ordered in May, and now my plants are huge and everything is in bloom! The only exception are the aquilegia's, but they are still growing. I knew to expect small plants, because in the past I have ordered from Spring Hill (which I will NEVER waste my money with that company again). However, these plants were very healthy, and have really taken off. The perennial sunflower which is supposed to be 4-6 feet tall is already over a foot. This is wonderful for a mail order company, after only a month or so. The daylilly actually bloomed before the ones from Oakes Daylillies. I will order again, this time I will wait until the end of May for the half price sale. (I missed it by a few weeks..) I will also be ordering fall bulbs, hopefully they will be great also!

Thanks Bluestone!

Negative gennyga
(6 reviews)
On Jun 25, 2010, gennyga Decatur, GA wrote:

I was not impressed with my plants I received from Bluestone. I ordered 11 Lavender plants and only 3 have survived. A few were okay looking when received but for the most part they were scrawny, dried up and dead or dying. The Campanula were also anemic and are trying to hold on but we'll see.
I contacted Bluestone and they have promised to replace them but I have as yet to get anything from them. I hope the replacements are in better standing than the original.
To member Shriver in Boston - check out Santa Rosa Gardens. Outstanding plants, shipping practices, and service.


On Jun 25, 2010, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Jun 25, 2010 1:14 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

I am sorry that your Lavender plants arrived in such poor condition. I understand our office manager has been in email contact with you over the past weeks and we are holding your replacement plants for Fall shipping (due to the heat) as we mutually agreed. You should expect them in September. I have every faith that you will find them to be the vigorous healthy plants you expected originally. Again, our apologies for the condition of your plants upon arrival. We will make every effort to regain your trust."


Positive Massgirl
(2 reviews)
On Jun 24, 2010, Massgirl Franklin, MA wrote:

I've ordered from Bluestone many many times, and I have always been pleased! I especially like that I can send back my packing peanuts for cheap, and they issue a "free shipping" voucher for your next order! I must have three of those vouchers hanging around for next time. So for the $2 it costs to send back the box with just peanuts, I get almost $8+ on free shipping on my next order - can't beat that!! I almost always buy the plants on "Special". And they always arrive in decent shape and do very well after planting. Only once or twice I've had to contact them about something that didn't survive, and they are always right on top of sending out a replacement. After spending hundreds of dollars at local nurseries, Home Depot, and Lowe's, I love that it's a Lifetime Guarantee at Bluestone. Can't get my money back at the other places! I am very very pleased with this company, and will continue to shop with them!

Positive angiev
(2 reviews)
On Jun 18, 2010, angiev Collierville, TN wrote:

Would recommend this company. My order was as expected and plants did well. Prefer their smaller plants to bareroot stock from some other companies. My astibilles especially look even prettier the 2nd year.

Positive jwasson
(2 reviews)
On Jun 14, 2010, jwasson Cedar Rapids, IA wrote:

Posted on April 24, 2010, updated June 14, 2010
I ordered plants both last spring and in the fall. The plants appear small when they arrive but given a year (or winter) I am pleased with all of them. Everything I planted last spring is the size of what I'd get at my local nursery or bigger, best of all I get varieties that I can't find find locally.

The plants I planted last fall survived the Iowa winter and all all doing great. I'm anxious to see how these newer plants bloom this fall.

I am awaiting my plants I ordered this winter, but have no doubt they will flourish as well. Bluestone Perinials is my FAVORITE mail order company.


On June 14th, 2010, jwasson added the following:

Update - June 13
I received my spring order and planted everything. The plants I ordered last fall are thriving. My saliva, rudibeckia look at if they are on steriods. When I received my spring plants I did have 2 plants that died after planting. I called customer servie and they immediately said they would reship new plants to me. I also learned about their late spring clearance sale so I order 4 different dianthus plants. Again all plants arrived and after planting have taken off. I will continue to order from Bluestone.
Positive don_12465
(2 reviews)
On Jun 14, 2010, don_12465 Pittsburgh, PA wrote:

Bluestone has for many years sent me excellent plants promptly. I will be buying from them as long as I garden. Wonderful company.

Positive redviolet_0
(4 reviews)
On Jun 11, 2010, redviolet_0 Texarkana, TX wrote:

This was my first purchase with Bluestone Perennials. I bought some plants during their recent spring sale. I am IMPRESSED with the plants I rec'd! They literally looked better than the plants I would have gotten from my local nursery. They are large and healthy. The packing was done with much care. A couple of leaves were broken, but nothing major that would make me hesitate to order from them again. I give this company an A+++!

Neutral immigrant_punk
(5 reviews)
On Jun 10, 2010, immigrant_punk Pittsburgh, PA wrote:

I ordered from the end-of-season special offers, so I knew that the plants would probably have deadheaded stems, a few browning leaves and so on; I also expected them to be quite small. But I thought the prices were very good and there were some interesting plants I fancied so I ordered. I received an acknowledgment, an order number and the information that they would email me when the plants were shipped. Just over a week later I got an email stating they were being shipped, but with a different order number, which was confusing. They arrived when scheduled - several of the stems were broken, quite possibly by me when I was trying to find them and get them out of those damn packing peanuts (which my puppy loved cos they got everywhere). However the plants seemed OK for the money and as I'd expected.
Then I realised that the set of dianthus I ordered was missing. They didn't send a packing note, so I emailed to find out why and got an email back saying they were out of stock and I hadn't been billed. I checked, and that was correct, but I would have expected them to notify me that they were not able to fulfil my order. I'd even got the place for them all ready...

Not the world's worst experience, but far from the best. I'd expected better.

Positive woods787
(4 reviews)
On Jun 9, 2010, woods787 East Aurora, NY (Zone 5a) wrote:

I was certainly very pleased with my order from Bluestone and have ordered more plants from them. Healthy and very well packed for shipping the plants arrived healthly, not broken, and their soil still damp. They are all planted in my garden and are doing fantastic. I will shop them again.

Positive bbrookrd
(36 reviews)
On Jun 7, 2010, bbrookrd Nantucket, MA (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on June 9, 2006, updated June 7, 2010
Yesterday I received two very well packed boxes of especially nice perennials that I had ordered during Bluestone's sale. The plants were much larger and healthier than many ordered for mid May shipment from their competitors. I was greatly impressed and will certainly order again from Bluestone. Plus they included all sorts of discount coupons for future orders. Thanks, Patti


On April 11th, 2009, bbrookrd added the following:

I placed an order on Jan 14, 2009 , using my many coupons thus saving lots of money and this week I recieved as requested a fine big boxes of well grown, healthy plants. Including was a nice bonus of six very good plants that I am thrilled with as I had none of them in my garden. Well done Bluestone people, as always. Thanks, Patti
On May 2nd, 2009, bbrookrd added the following:

I received a half price sale order yesterday that was beyond expectations. I am happy to be a customer of this fine company. Patti
On June 7th, 2010, bbrookrd added the following:

I decided to place rather late half price sale order again in May I received the order yesterday and was greatly surprised that the quality was even better than ever. Didn't think that possible. The big box was filled with very healthy and happy plants packed in peanuts which I don't like, but the plants were all in great shape, so the peanuts did the job. Patti
Positive Junkie4Plants
(2 reviews)
On Jun 2, 2010, Junkie4Plants Statesville, NC wrote:

Ordered 3 complete kits (butterfly garden, perennial starter garden etc.) Plants were not huge but all were healthy and arrived in great shape. I don't think any haven't survived and almost all are flourishing. I sent the company an email thanking them for the great service and mentioned what I assumed had been a substitution (2 of a certain cultivar sent instead of 1 each of different cultivars) and they immediately sent me the missing original. What a refreshing change from most of today's customer 'service' departments. I will definitely use this company again!

Positive shinesign
(1 review)
On May 31, 2010, shinesign Asheville, NC wrote:

I placed a large order with Bluestone and the box arrived half smashed. I opened the box and many plants were broken into bits. I called Bluestone and they were great. Everything that hadn't survived the UPS truck ride was replaced, no questions asked, didn't need photos etc.
I am also very appreciative of a company that reuses there packing supplies. Send back the box. peanuts and even the plastic packs the plants came in, with the label they include and receive shipping incentive for your next order.

Positive MiniPonyFarmer
(10 reviews)
On May 30, 2010, MiniPonyFarmer Gilmer, TX (Zone 8b) wrote:

WOW. This is an awesome company. They are fast, friendly and carry first rate products. I could not be more pleased with each and every order I have placed. The only minor aggravation is diggin through all those packing peanuts just because they fly all over creation. But that is well worth the treasure that lies at the bottom of the box. Way to go, Bluestone! You guys are the best!

Positive Blues_Garden
(3 reviews)
On May 30, 2010, Blues_Garden Pembroke, MA wrote:

This year, for the first time, I purchased plants and seeds by mail rather than waiting for my local garden centers to get their stock. I ordered from 3 companies: Bluestone, White Flower Farm, and Burpee. I've reviewed all three.

I ordered several plants on-line from Bluestone: two clematis and three packs each of Gaillardia, Coreopsis, and Echinacea. When I called the company about my order and the rep learned that I'd hoped to receive the plants in time to plant them before I left on vacation, she made a special effort to rush my order (during a very hectic shipping time) which I greatly appreciated. (White Flower Farm did the same thing.- Burpee was another story. See that review.)

The plants arrived quickly, were well-packaged and in good shape. The plants are small but the prices are good, so they are still a good value, and they arrived in mostly good condition. The Gaillardia was a little wilted but revived quickly in the ground. I planted everything about three weeks ago and the Gaillardia already has buds on it.

My rating for this company is positive. Prompt shipping, good customer service, and plants that are a good value. I would definitely order again.

Positive jnataraj
(1 review)
On May 28, 2010, jnataraj Plainsboro, NJ wrote:

I have been ordering from Bluestone Perennials for 14 years and have always had excellent results. Their customer service is awesome. Plants arrive in excellent condition and thrive once in the ground. Plant sizes are small, but quality great. My 1/2 acre garden is made up mostly of plants from them. If for whatever reason the plants dont make it despite your best care, a simple email always results in a no questions asked money back/replacement guarantee. I have shopped with other online nurseries before, but this is the only one I use and recommend to all my gardening friends. Highly recommended.

Positive gianetta
(5 reviews)
On May 25, 2010, gianetta Charlottesville, VA (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on April 8, 2010, updated May 25, 2010
I ordered 20+ perennials from Bluestone a couple of weeks ago and requested that they send them at their earliest mailing date for my region. They arrived as scheduled, with emails sent ahead of time letting me know when to expect them and letting me track the package so I could ask my husband to go directly home from work to unpack them on the day they were to arrive.

I didn't see the packaging because my husband unpacked them, but he said that it was very good and that only 1 plant was a little dry, even though we had temps in the 80s for most of that week (highly abnormal for this part of VA this time of year). All of the plants arrived in good shape, and those that have been planted are doing fine, even though we had record-breaking (93+) temps this past week. I'd been worried that such little plants wouldn't stand a chance in this heat so soon after being planted, but I've been watering them every day and they're looking great.

Note that the plants were extremely healthy, but SMALL compared to what I usually would buy at a local garden store. I ordered because they carried varieties that I had never seen locally. They are a good value (so far) for that type of purchase, but for more common varieties, I'll stick with the local garden store.

I'll definitely order again.


On May 25th, 2010, gianetta added the following:

6 weeks update: All perennials are thriving (except for the two eaten by critters...) and have grown at an incredible rate - you wouldn't believe that these are the same plants that arrived in tiny pots 6 weeks ago. The violets have been blooming on and off since they arrived, and the obedient plants have flower buds on them. The Siberian irises probably are too small to bloom this summer, but they're looking very healthy and are growing well. The sea holly is small, but blooming beautifully.

As I said in my original post, the value is not there IF you are buying COMMON varieties that you can get locally - you'll get bigger plants for the same price at a good local nursery, but for things like sweet violets that they just don't carry at my local nurseries, Bluestone's plants are small, but extraordinarily healthy. I definitely will order again.
Positive dodges7
(7 reviews)
On May 23, 2010, dodges7 Alna, ME (Zone 5b) wrote:

The easiest gardening website I found to use with complete information and unbelievably large and clear photos of every plant. Plants are very good quality and well packed. In half a dozen orders, I have never been disappointed.

Positive mountaingranny
(1 review)
On May 23, 2010, mountaingranny Delaplane, VA wrote:

I have been buying from Bluestone for about 18 years and have always been extremely pleased . The few times I have had a problem with a plant they have been quick to replace it with no hassles. I only wish they also dealt in seeds and other garden plants as their service and quality is tip-top.

Positive jasonsfury
(2 reviews)
On May 23, 2010, jasonsfury wrote:

Awesome plants-awesome service-fast shipping-beautiful catalog-thank you!

« Previous Page 1 ... 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | ... 31 Next »


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America