Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Comments regarding Bluestone Perennials

Click here to return to Bluestone Perennials's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
1055 positives
95 neutrals
76 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | ... 31 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive bethjed
(1 review)
On Jun 8, 2013, bethjed Pittsburgh, PA wrote:

Posted on June 11, 2011, updated June 8, 2013
I wish there was a "splendid!" rating. I started gardening when I purchased my house 9 years ago and have been shopping with Bluestone since then. I LOVE that they grow their own plants.
In all these years and my many orders, only one plant in one threepack was unsatisfactory. I didn't request replacement because in that same order I received 2 free threepacks as premiums. I LOVE sales and coupons.
I'm sure they would've replaced it though, as the only two times I needed to contact customer service in 9 years I found the representatives to be professional, helpful and friendly.
Shipping is prompt and reasonable. In fact, last fall I took advantage of a bulb clearance sale and--I swear--I got up from the computer and walked to the front door and the box was on the porch already!
As long as I keep finding a square foot of free space, I will remain a happy loyal Bluestone customer.


On June 8th, 2013, bethjed added the following:

Another lovely spring thanks to Bluestone! I placed an order at the 50% off sale after seeing what did/didn't make it through the winter. Healthy plants, moist, arrived quickly and are thriving in their new spots. My previous bulb purchases showed up glorious again this spring. Love my Bluestone!!
Positive virginiarose
(56 reviews)
On Jun 8, 2013, virginiarose Southeast, VA (Zone 8a) wrote:

Posted on April 25, 2013, updated June 8, 2013
Posted on June 1, 2012, updated April 25, 2013
Posted on May 7, 2012, updated June 1, 2012
Posted on November 2, 2011, updated May 7, 2012
I ordered 4 plants on 10-31-11 and received them 11-02-11. Very fast shipping and plants are fairly small but not unusual prices for starter plants. I noticed the good packing and soil was still moist. I have never gotten Coconut fiber pots before. Hope they work out because it's good for the environment. Millions of these plastic pots end up on the landfills.
See pictures on the Hosta forum. ( Mail order experiences good or bad ) Thank You!


On May 7th, 2012, virginiarose added the following:

Just a warning,The Hosta Great Expectations, started off great. I planted the whole thing into a large pot and it thrived. Now suddenly it started going down hill while the other hosta's were thriving. It was the coco pot. It did not decompose, it was tuff as ever and the plant was root bound. Maybe we should at least rip off the bottom, I had the same problem with the peat pots, the plants just won't grow.
On June 1st, 2012, virginiarose added the following:

I do not know about the previous price list. A company does what it has to do to stay in business.
Compared to other web-nurseries I found them to be normal as far as prices go. I love the packing and not too keen on the Coco pots, but I just remove the pot and plant them.
I was really happy to get some shrubs at their 50% off sale, I've been waiting all year for these winterberries. Yes, winterberries for 7.77 each. They were ten times as big as some Caryopteris shrubs I bought from another popular company. I also got a huge Echinacea @ 4.47 it is by far the biggest and healthiest I have ever gotten. And best price, also got two baptisia that were both 12 inches tall at least and for all these plants the shipping was only 9.95.
I think this company is worth a second look, I will certainly keep ordering from them happily, and will recommend them to my friends.
I compare prices all the time and I have been happy with this company, even for small plants but sometimes they surprise me. :))
On April 25th, 2013, virginiarose added the following:

Received another wonderful order from BS. They twisted my arm with that 10% off and the free plant thing. I love this company, the website is very user friendly which means a lot to me. If I see something I like I can put it in my shopping cart or wish list and it stays there. Smart Company! :))
I love the sales and the selection of plants and the prices. They have a little of everything it seems. The Coconut fiber is good for the environment and there is no plastic on the landfill. I just re-pot to a bigger size anyway.
There was a little dirt missing in a few of the pots. 'This end up' means, let's play volleyball!!
On June 8th, 2013, virginiarose added the following:

I put in two orders this spring and got a lot of wonderful plants. There was a problem with UPS and my plants did not make it here on time, two shrubs died eventually. I notified Bluestone and sent a couple of pictures. They apologized right away and shipped out new plants they never made me feel like it was my fault. The replacement plants are even bigger than the first ones and my second order was beautiful too, I got a lot of things I would not have been able to afford other wise. Love the 50% off. :)
Once you register you will have a permanent shopping cart and you can add and delete stuff as you will. Also it is easy to create a wish list. Great Website!!
Positive heavenscape
(3 reviews)
On Jun 6, 2013, heavenscape TabacVille, NC (Zone 7a) wrote:

This is my second purchase, in 2013 with this company.The first was a gift, and the intended receiver was very happy with the plants.
For the second one, I am enjoying the same experience. The plants were well protected and made the transit in the Southern heat. ALL the plants were healthy.

Positive neohiogardener
(4 reviews)
On Jun 5, 2013, neohiogardener Struthers, OH wrote:

I placed my first order with this company recently. I was impressed with the size of the plants, however two of them were damaged in transit due to crammed packaging, etc. I notified customer service via email. After about a week they responded that they would send replacements. They kept their word and I received nice healthy replacements this week. Good communication and followup. I will order again.

Positive mc003
(7 reviews)
On Jun 4, 2013, mc003 Crown Point, IN (Zone 5a) wrote:

Posted on August 14, 2012, updated June 4, 2013
I'm not posting about a specific order but my overall experience. I have placed quite a few orders the last few years, both large and small and it has been nothing but a positive experience. I love the new coco pots. Do I miss the smaller plants that were priced in threes for the most part, yes. However, all the plants that I have ordered since they changed packaging and pricing structure have been far more robust then when they came in threes, plus they are still small enough and priced competitively that I'm still able to plant a whole bed at a time and not go broke. I just recently did five different shade gardens with plants purchased from several orders this past spring. All are doing fabulous even though we had the hottest July on record and abnormally dry conditions. I'm lucky enough to live in one of the parts of Indiana that hasn't been experiencing the extreme drought conditions. I hope this company thrives and lives just as well as the plants they sell! Thank you!


On June 4th, 2013, mc003 added the following:

I don't post alot on here but I needed to say I believe this is one of the few great companies to order plants from online. I know everyones experience with Bluestone is unique, but come on people...#1 I know everyone is used to getting things immediately in this day and age but give them time to respond to emails and other correspondance, #2 they are shipping live plants to you in a box that will probably get heated up quite a bit during shipping, especially if they are in transit for a few days, most plants will bounce back very well...if not, see #1. I have ordered many large orders this year and in years past and everything for the most part was great. When I did have an issue with a plant not being what it should or a plant that came out of the pot completely during shipping, I did the adult thing and contacted them via email and waited like a good girl for a response which always came within an appropriate time. I didn't immediately go into a huffypuffy whiney, omg this company should have known better, state of mind. Crap happens, people make mistakes. As to their coco pots, I still love them but I too have experienced that sometimes they were not breaking down quick enough to allow for new root growth, so I solved that by using small garden shears and making slits on the sides and bottom of the pot. I did that last fall and this spring and I'm not having any problems. I had first tried peeling them off but sometimes the roots were a little too attached to the inside of the pot and I was afraid of pulling at the roots too much. I'm a comparison shopper and there have been many a time that even though Bluestone's price might have been a little higher, I was more willing to invest my money on their plants because of the track record I have had with Bluestone and their plants these past 4 years. Yes some plants won't survive, that's a given, but you have to own up when you're part of the issue too. Dave's does a great service to those looking for reputable companies to order from and I wholey believe Bluestone should be right up there at the top. And for those of you that actually read this whole post, sorry for being so long winded!! lol
Neutral pblge
(1 review)
On May 31, 2013, pblge Buffalo, NY wrote:

I miss the old Bluestone. They used to be, in my experience, been the best mail-order company around. Good selection, healthy plants, and unbeatable prices. They changed all that a couple of years ago, and it's a much less appealing source now. First, they tripled their prices. Sure, they upped the size of their plants, but I think few of their regular customers appreciated the trade-off. Second, the put their plants in "biodegradable cocopots." I am not sure about how well these degrade, but I urge you to NEVER PLANT THEM DIRECTLY IN THE GROUND. Most of the plants I tried this with last year are still relegated to that little 4" x 4" space. A very few were able to grow through it, but I will never plant it directly again. Now I'm left with the choice of digging the plants up, thereby disturbing their growth, or watching them be small for however many years it takes for the cocopots to disappear. Sure, you can cut the pot and remove the plant, but this is much more likely to damage the roots than removal from a plastic pot.

In general their plants still come in decent shape, but some of this spring's shipment are a little questionable. Time will tell.

Why oh why did they have to make these unfortunate changes?????

Positive Patty57
(19 reviews)
On May 31, 2013, Patty57 Wake Forest, NC (Zone 7b) wrote:

I have been ordering from Bluestone for many years and have always been very well pleased with my orders. Will continue to do so in the future.

Positive LucasCatChow
(20 reviews)
On May 27, 2013, LucasCatChow Tulsa, OK wrote:

I had been reading some negative reviews on Bluestone last year which was surprising as I've been dealing with them for decades with no problems. I think the majority of complaints revolved around their new coir pot method of sending/growing plants. I was a little nervous to see what my order would look like using this "new" system, but in my case at least, they did a fine job. The quality of the plants was good, and after peeling off the coir wrapper, I plopped the well rooted plants in the ground once the weather warmed up. Thumbs Up from me.

Negative ferncrazy
(3 reviews)
On May 26, 2013, ferncrazy San Francisco, CA wrote:

I emailed them and to date have received no reply. I informed them that my Armeria rubrifolias arrived very dry, many buds, very dry, foliage next to the coir collar brown. I finally removed the coir collars, have watered them daily, they may or may not survive. The next order came shortly after. Planting mix bone dry.
I compared their geranium phaeum "Samobor" with another vendor's I received same time. Bluestone's is yellowed, small- leaved. Magic Garden Store's is large, green, gorgeous shape. I won't buy from Bluestone again.


On May 26, 2013, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On May 28, 2013 11:12 AM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

Hello ferncrazy, I have checked into this with our office manager and I am glad to hear you are in direct correspondence with us as we resolve the situation. I apologize that we were not able to answer emails over the holiday weekend."


Positive pghflowergirl
(3 reviews)
On May 23, 2013, pghflowergirl Arnold, PA wrote:

I have been ordering from Bluestone since 2009 and I have to admit that last year I was a bit disappointed with the size of the plants. All but 2 made it through the winter. I placed another order this year for some perennials I could not find locally and they arrived today. I was extremely happy. I ordered 16 plants and all 16 arrived in excellent condition. I think they were the largest plants I have ever received from Bluestone and everything looked healthy. I thankfully got all of them planted before the rain came and I look forward to them blooming later in the summer. I was so impressed by the high quality of Bluestones plants this year that I am placing another order tonight. Thank you Bluestone!

Positive jvw
(6 reviews)
On May 22, 2013, jvw Clinton Township, MI (Zone 6a) wrote:

I have ordered from Bluestone for at least 5 years now. Their customer service has always been top notch. Any time I had a problem with any order they rectified the situation immediately and pleasantly. I am sad they are not in the Top 30. For the most part I have been very happy with their plants. There are a few plants I had repeated trouble growing, but I wrote it off to my conditions. Also, I enjoy taking a road trip and going directly to the nursery to shop.

It took me a bit to adjust to the new coir pots/single plant system. I have learned I get better results if I remove the coir pot entirely immediately when I get the plants. Often I do not plant my gems right away and they would dry out too fast in the coir pots for me. And if I planted with the coir pot I found it did not break down fast enough and the plant suffered in the ground. Clearly though it works great for growing the plants as effidenced by the two orders I received from them this year. WOW! Gorgeous healthy plants. I am so very pleased!

Neutral mariaverderamo
(2 reviews)
On May 14, 2013, mariaverderamo Townsend, DE wrote:

Posted on December 19, 2007, updated May 14, 2013
Bluestone is fabulous! They sent me a replacement order this past September for cyclamen that did not grow; unfortunately I never received it (I think someone took it out of my mailbox), and they credited my account immediately. Awesome.


On May 14th, 2013, mariaverderamo changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

Bluestone sent me a refund check for the cost of the clematis, so I am changing my rating from negative to neutral.
Positive meere
(2 reviews)
On May 14, 2013, meere Chicago, IL wrote:

Ordered perennials this year. Bigger pots, which I like,and the plants look great. The achillea are huge. Like the fiber pots as I can put them straight in the ground. Have ordered from them before and will continue to do so. I've never had a problem with a plant from them.

Negative revclaus
(25 reviews)
On May 8, 2013, revclaus (Judith) Denver, CO (Zone 5b) wrote:

Posted on February 12, 2012, updated May 8, 2013
Posted on April 9, 2004, updated February 12, 2012
Last summer I ordered a couple of sale plants from Bluestone, and they arrived quickly and in great shape. Even though planted in June, they bloomed throughout the summer, and are getting ready to bloom now.

This year I ordered a few more things: daisies, ornamental grass, lobelia and a hosta, and they arrived exactly when I asked them to and in great shape. The plants promise to do as well as last year's sale plants. I would definitely order from Bluestone again.


On May 21st, 2009, revclaus added the following:

Nothing but glowing comments for my Bluestone orders this year. They've increased the size of some of their plants -- much appreciated -- and they're always packed extremely well. My newest plants are up and growing, beating out all the competition (except for Rosy Dawn coleus plants!).
On February 12th, 2012, revclaus changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

I loved Bluestone and was thrilled to see the new coir pots. But when I checked into the website earlier this year and discovered the pricing that went with the new pots I was crushed. I'm a widow on a small fixed income and can no longer afford to buy from Bluestone. As with many of the other negative comments about the price change, the value at Bluestone was the ability to buy three perennials at a low price even if I did have to wait a year for the plant to catch up to the pricier plants at other garden centers and online sources. So now I'll be shopping locally where I can still get smaller plants at a lower price.

I'm sure they've invested a lot of money in their new system, so I don't think they'll have any way of reversing course given the negative feedback from so many long-time users. It's a shame, because they filled a niche market need. But now only the well-off can purchase there.

Last year's plants were awesome and did very well. I'm sad that Bluestone can no longer serve my needs.
On May 8th, 2013, revclaus added the following:

I bought a clematis in 2011. When it arrived it was dry and falling out of the pot. Bluestone sent me another. It did not do well, so they replaced it again. They didn't have to do that so I was appreciative. But it was a much smaller pot like they used to send. It did all right last year but this year not so much. Weather related: we had two days of 9 degree weather and three blizzards in late April and early May. Everything on the vine died but there are some shoots coming up. I had also bought gaillardia plants which were awesome last year and the year before. Also some campanula which are doing well. Bluestone is the place where I will buy perennials, but that will always be smaller than if I buy them locally. The beauty of Bluestone is the variety available.
Positive mboutet
(12 reviews)
On May 7, 2013, mboutet Rochester, NY wrote:

I purchased several perennials. They were planted in coir pots that could just be planted, pot and all. The packaging was corrugated. Not a plastic pot or styrofoam packing peanut i sight. Thanks so much, Bluestone, for your environmentally sound materials.

Positive Terry
(122 reviews)
On May 7, 2013, Terry Murfreesboro, TN (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on November 26, 2001, updated May 7, 2013
Plants are rather small, but very vigorous growers, and great prices. Nice selection of perennial plants.


On May 2nd, 2002, go_vols added the following:

The three-pack of Lamium that I ordered last year has become two very large clumps, filled with beautiful flowers - lots of compliments on them, and surprise when I tell people they started out as three little plants. Ditto for the Sedum 'Matrona'; the only disappointment is one of the Clethra I ordered isn't showing any signs of life :(

Overall, I would still order from them again in a heartbeat..
On April 10th, 2003, go_vols added the following:

I placed another order with Bluestone this year, and once again, was very pleased. This time my order was for shrubs and a clematis, and the size and vigor of the plants compare favorably to other mail-order sources for similar plants (for example, I ordered two deciduous Magnolias, one from Bluestone the other from a different nursery. They are comparable in terms of size, fullness and leafing out, and the Bluestone plant was significantly less expensive.) Way to go Bluestone!.
On September 18th, 2004, go_vols added the following:

I just wanted to say thanks - my order arrived right on time yesterday (despite Hurricane Ivan) and was in great shape - as usual.
On June 7th, 2007, Terry added the following:

Another great order - I took advantage of their spring sale to pick up several three-packs of perennials and a Clematis. Everything arrived looking fresh and perky. A couple of the plants weren't *quite* as well-rooted as I would have liked, but I think a little extra TLC (necessary anyway due to the high temps and dry conditions we're experiencing) will help them settle in and do well, as their plants normally do.

New since my last order - they used a box that was exactly the size to snugly hold a standard plant flat, which they included with my plants, making it easy to carry everything outside to the border bed Thanks!!!!
On May 7th, 2013, Terry added the following:

I haven't ordered from Bluestone in a few years, but now that we're settled in our new home and my gardens are taking shape, I took advantage of a recent offer for a free plant with $75 purchase. I'm glad I did! Love the new coir planting containers, and as always, the plants arrived well-packed and ready to go in the ground.
Positive Vashur
(9 reviews)
On Apr 26, 2013, Vashur Wichita, KS (Zone 6b) wrote:

Posted on May 12, 2005, updated April 26, 2013
Nice plants that all arrived in good shape... I HATE peanuts but I guess they do what they gotta do to keep the dirt in the pots at least. :)


On April 26th, 2013, Vashur added the following:

I received an order today with the new packing. I really really like this packaging. These are the best packed plants I have ever received. Thanks. :)
Positive dmshrike
(6 reviews)
On Apr 25, 2013, dmshrike Salem, NH wrote:

I needed many plants this year, ordered from Totally Tomato, Bluestone perennials, NH hostas, American Meadows, Classy Groundcovers, & Dans Dahlias. I will comment on each site as the orders come in.
My largest order, I ordered 56 perennials in 2 orders from bluestone.(first time ordering with Bluestone)
start with I found their website and catalog to be better than average. packaging is outstanding, some plants did dry a bit in the 3 Days shipping, coco pots i find a plus, plants for the most part came in good condition, my Pulmonaria i need to keep an eye on right now (transplant shock maybe?). orders over $75 you receive a free plant but this can be missed on their website and they will not inform you that you missed it. after missing it the first order i e-mailed about this and a quick responds and my free plant was in the order, some time later i put in a second order
and watched to where i put in for the free plant. ordered the plant
but i didnt feel it recorded on the website and when the order came in i found that to be true. i found this to be minor and didnt bother bluestone about it but it may be an issue with others at Dave's garden.
all in all a good experience with Bluestone.

Positive sunny70
(1 review)
On Apr 24, 2013, sunny70 Ringwood, NJ (Zone 6b) wrote:

I've had 2 seasons and over 50 plants now from Bluestone, and my experiences have all been positive. In fact, I have come to prefer them over any other online vendor. The coco pots are genius, especially for some of the more fragile perennials. For the first time, I was able to successfully grow lupines and delphiniums - and they came back this spring in zone 6. I planted several perennials in the fall, and they too returned. Customer service is excellent - friendly, prompt and helpful. I wanted to add some plants to my order after placing it and although it was too late, they offered to send me the plants with no extra shipping costs. Selection is also excellent. I highly recommend.

Positive zipitydodah
(1 review)
On Apr 14, 2013, zipitydodah Sun Valley, NV wrote:

I ordered 18 plants. They all arrived healthy and well rooted. Their pots are larger and deeper that standard. I highly recommend this company.

Negative pupgirl
(2 reviews)
On Apr 8, 2013, pupgirl Townsend, DE wrote:

I ordered a clematis "Royalty" a year and a half ago, and it died. Bluestone sent me a replacement last spring, and the poor thing is struggling so badly, I almost want to put it out of its misery. It is still less than 6 inches tall. Meanwhile, the clematis I ordered from Brushwood Nursery grows like a weed every year. I am done with Bluestone - their quality is just not as good as it used to be.


On Apr 8, 2013, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Apr 9, 2013 9:29 AM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

We are so sorry to hear that neither of the Clematis Royalty that we sent did well for you. If you would be in touch directly, we can refund your money, or send any other plant selection of your choice. We would like the opportunity to regain your trust. Please give us the chance to do so? 1-800-852-5243 or helpdesk@bluestoneperennials.com


On Apr 16, 2013 4:10 PM, Bluestone Perennials added:

Thank you for being in touch and allowing us to resolve this per your wishes."


Positive Patt52
(9 reviews)
On Apr 7, 2013, Patt52 Rydal, GA (Zone 7b) wrote:

Posted on June 21, 2012, updated April 7, 2013
Posted on May 2, 2012, updated June 21, 2012
Posted on April 4, 2009, updated May 2, 2012
Received my first order from BSP and was very happy with
the plants and the way they were packaged. I will be ordering
again soon!


On June 7th, 2009, Patt52 added the following:

Just received another order from BSP. This time ordered by phone and the lady in Customer Service was very polite and helpful. My order came very fast and the plants were still moist and fresh. Thanks Bluestone for providing us with great plants and service! Looking forward to ordering again soon.

On June 7th, 2009, Patt52 added the following:

Just received another order from BSP. This time ordered by phone and the lady in Customer Service was very polite and helpful. My order came very fast and the plants were still moist and fresh. Thanks Bluestone for providing us with great plants and service! Looking forward to ordering again soon.

On May 2nd, 2012, Patt52 added the following:

Ordered 3 plants and received them a few days ago! They are smaller than what I get from other companies but seem to still do very well. When I opened the box a lot of dirt had fallen out of 1 of them, but I think it will be fine. I planted all 3 yesterday and can't wait to see them in full bloom! Thanks Bluestone!!
On June 21st, 2012, Patt52 added the following:

Ordered 3 more plants from BSP Spring Sale. Received in good condition except for the Blue Paradise Phlox, which was too tall for the box and broke upon taking it out. Got in touch with them and they quickly send a replacement! Thanks so much, it's nice to know when you order plants through the mail that you can rest assure that this company has great service!!!
On April 7th, 2013, Patt52 added the following:

Just received my first order of this year from BSP and everything was great, from the service to the plants. Even got a free plant because I ordered the max amount required. Thanks again Bluestone!!!
Positive Summerr
(3 reviews)
On Apr 6, 2013, Summerr Seattle, WA wrote:

I ordered three plants: 1 Clematis & 2 Hydrangias. They arrived healthy & well-packed. The pots might have been a bit small (maybe 3" size) but each plant was tall & had strong stems. I liked that the pots were obviously bio-degradable - I can plant the pot & all - a nice touch. They have a beautiful catalogue which is a little confusing to use at first, but the plants that arrived matched the healthy look of their pictures. One additional note: the clematis I ordered is one for which I had been searching for over 15 years! The costs were reasonable. I will buy from them again & recommend this nursery to others.

Positive gdpmgary
(2 reviews)
On Apr 6, 2013, gdpmgary Highland Acres, DE (Zone 7a) wrote:

I recently purchased a number of perennials from Bluestone Perennials. The plants received were meticulously packed with excellent usage of green materials. The coco pots are not only green + functional but they ensure the consumer never receives rootbound plants from Bluestone as the Coco pots are so highly biodegradeable that the likelihood they will last for any appreciable amount of time is almost impossible. Having a fairly new property, the time savings in being able to simply dig a small hole and plant - pot and all is a real consumer pleaser. I give Bluestone Perennials two enthusiastic thumbs up. Everything about the company oozes quality! Gary from Lewes, Delaware

Positive LandscapeDAWG
(3 reviews)
On Apr 4, 2013, LandscapeDAWG Vicksburg, MS wrote:

I am giving them a positive review because:
1. Plants came in ahead of schedule.
2. Plants were in great shape.
3. Potting was excellent with the new packaging they use.

The only thing that could have been better was the size of the plants. There was lots of headspace in the boxes so I was thinking the plants would have had plenty of room to be bigger. That being said, I realize that it is April and the plants have not had that much time to mature.

All in all a great mail order experience and would order from them anytime.

Positive curlyjoe1967
(8 reviews)
On Mar 24, 2013, curlyjoe1967 Marshfield, WI wrote:

Posted on June 3, 2008, updated March 24, 2013
I have ordered from this company three times now. I have always been satisfied with their plants. They've all grown well and most have bloomed the first year. None of their plants have ever died on me either, except for the one that the cute little chipmunk chewed off. Oh well!!! This is good company. I will certainly order from them again.


On March 24th, 2013, curlyjoe1967 added the following:

It's about time they make it back on the Top 30. They deserve it. They have great plants, good prices, and excellent customer service.
Positive RiverFarm
(2 reviews)
On Feb 8, 2013, RiverFarm Manchester, MO wrote:

I have ordered from Bluestone Perennials since 2008. I would estimate that a third of their plants would die, especially those from the 3 packs. I quit ordering for a year because of my disappointment. But I went back to them in 2012 due to the new coconut pots. Just in case, I ordered sale items in order to keep the price lower. By the end of the summer everything I had ordered in 2012 was still alive! That was never my experience with Bluestone in previous years. I can't wait to see if the 2012 plants made it through the winter and if they will thrive in 2013. In any case, I placed another order last week. If you gave up on Bluestone, try again.

Negative woof12
(16 reviews)
On Dec 14, 2012, woof12 Philadelphia, PA wrote:

Posted on April 26, 2011, updated December 14, 2012
Posted on April 28, 2006, updated April 26, 2011
They used to be better. I've gotten stuff from them for years and the last two have been the worst. It used to be buy 2 get 1 free. Then it was changed from that to 25%.and this year it's 20%. On top of that that the plants they sent last spring were all out of their pots & everthing was all over & dried out. They sent replacements but this year the same thing happened. dried out plants out of their pots & dirt all over. On top of that the replacements that they sent were even worse. The replacements were in worse condition that the original ones this spring. I'm waiting to see if I'll get a refund for all this trouble as I was told, but Bluestone's not as reliable as they used to be.


On May 4th, 2006, woof12 added the following:

On May 2nd. Bluestone replied to this rating & my comment of April 28th., but for now I'm keeping it as is. I've contacted the company and now I'm just waiting for the refund. But I still don't see it as being the carrier's fault as they suggested. I've gotten other plants thru various mail order places & never had problems like these. I still think Bluestone has a problem with the way their plants are packed and shipped. The plants arrived totally bone dry & all over the carton out of their pots. That's not the carrier. That's how they were probably packed up in shipping.
On May 9th, 2006, woof12 added the following:

The refund from Bluestone finally came thru but I I still stand with the original rating & I see I'm not the only one with this problem. Also, since Bluestone will see this it would be nice if they did something about their shipping & handling department. There's no excuse for what happened!
On April 25th, 2007, woof12 added the following:

Geez! Another so-so order. A few plants were okay but some were too small and got weighed down by all those stupid peanuts. One was so small it shouldn't been shipped, at least not yet & not at those prices. Also, some of the plant pots/cells were broken. in shipping.
On April 26th, 2011, woof12 added the following:

Another loser of an order. Out of everything ordered ony 3 plants were any good. The rest were either dead or dried up. They replaced the dead & dried up ones, but some replacements had the same problem.
On December 14th, 2012, woof12 added the following:

Just got their spring 2013 catalog & don't like anything about the new system they have forsing their catalog. now they sell just one plant in a plantable pot for double what the old way cost. I still think the old way was better.
On Dec 14, 2012, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"


On May 2, 2006 3:09 PM, Bluestone Perennials added:

Bluestone here: Sorry to hear that your order is not surviving transit. If once carrier is more gentle in your area than another, we can assign a method of shipping to your order of your choice. We can't tell who you are from this site, but we hope you have contacted us directly for a full refund. Our apologies.


On Apr 28, 2011 10:25 AM, Bluestone Perennials added:

We are glad that you have been in touch regarding a refund on your order, as this is always an option with our 100% guarantee. We are as disappointed as you are that your plants arrived in poor condition."


Positive kazen
(1 review)
On Oct 20, 2012, kazen Cherokee, KS wrote:

Posted on February 4, 2012, updated October 20, 2012
Just made an order of 6 Hardy Sugar Cane. Pricing was exceptional! $7.50 per plant with the 3+ discount. This is the first order I have placed with them so I dont know what the pricing was last year. Considering that the other company offering them is Plant Delights Nursery- they are selling for $20.00 a plant! They are both highly recommened so for me it was a no brainer. With shipping my order was $55.00 vs. $120.00 from Plant Delights. Will post updates with my order.


On October 20th, 2012, kazen added the following:

Well since my last post my Hardy sugar cane arrived in the coco pots looking fantasic and healthy. When I recieved them they were about 12" high, in one growing season they are now with flower and 6' tall!!! I was concerned about the coco pots not allowing for root growth but now looking at my huge and still growing grass,I'd say they did well. This company has been phenomenal and I will be ordering much more from them in the future!!
Positive daffodil_lover
(2 reviews)
On Oct 5, 2012, daffodil_lover Nova, OH (Zone 5a) wrote:

I found Bluestone last year only because of also finding Dave's Garden. Many people had great things to say about Bluestone. I ordered some plants last year and they were great. I am writing today because I ordered some end of season specials this fall. In just two days these 5 lovely plants were on my doorstep. Nice plants and fantastic service. They also have a wonderful selection of plants. I will definitely buy plants from them in the future.

Positive Randy98745
(4 reviews)
On Oct 4, 2012, Randy98745 Bloomfield, NJ wrote:

I ordered from them a few years ago and was happy with the quality of the plants. I ordered some hens and chicks, bulbs and oriental poppies. I moved and had to leave the plants behind. Since I moved, I've been ordering from a few companies this spring and fall to stock my new place. I commend this company for their awesome shipping/FedEx notification policies and the great plant material I received. I ordered from the other companies before I placed my 2 orders with Bluestone this fall and I am still waiting for the other companies shipments. I called the other companies and they tell me they cannot even give me an estimate for delivery. It's a little hard to plan planting without any info. The Bluestone material is already planted and looks ready to take off. These guys are the best I've seen in years, that is why I am taking the time to recommend them.

Positive dlewisny
(2 reviews)
On Oct 1, 2012, dlewisny Hazlet, NJ wrote:

Posted on June 7, 2009, updated October 1, 2012
I have been using this company for several years now and am quite happy with them. Once in a while in the order a plant may arrive in bad shape and all you have to do is call and it is quickly replaced no questions asked. Yes, the plant arrives smaller then most of the other mail orders, but they mature to beautiful plants. Sometimes something you order may not thrive, but that is more because of the zone, the soil or something else not pertaining to Bluestone.


On October 1st, 2012, dlewisny added the following:

Since my last posting, Bluestone started using new potting which makes planting so much easier, and now they do not seem to send a pack of 3 small plants in lieu of one nice sized one. Selections include plants that you sometimes are hard to find elsewhere.

I only utilize 2 mail order companies and they are one of the two. I have used them for years and always look forward to their mail order catalogue.

Should a plant be DOA, they will replace happily. Surprised they are not part of the top 30 in Garden Watchdog.


Positive JonSchneider
(12 reviews)
On Sep 26, 2012, JonSchneider Fleming Island, FL (Zone 9b) wrote:

Posted on September 26, 2012, updated September 26, 2012
Posted on October 26, 2007, updated September 26, 2012
One of the very BEST internet garden sites I have ever dealt with... great plants with excellent packaging. Customer service goes the extra mile in working with you if there is any problem with any of the plants. They deserve to be in the top tier!


On September 26th, 2012, JonSchneider added the following:

Once again, I have ordered from Bluestone and have received excellent quality plants in their new coir pots. The customer service as always is excellent and they saved me shipping costs by combining several orders that were (ordered) months apart.
I am surprised to not see them in the top 30... from my experience over many years with internet gardening sites, they surely deserve to be in the top tier!
On September 26th, 2012, JonSchneider added the following:

Once again, I have ordered from Bluestone and have received excellent quality plants in their new coir pots. The customer service as always is excellent and they saved me shipping costs by combining several orders that were (ordered) months apart.
I am surprised to not see them in the top 30... from my experience over many years with internet gardening sites, they surely deserve to be in the top tier!
Positive wantlotsofflowers
(1 review)
On Sep 8, 2012, wantlotsofflowers Middlefield, MA wrote:

This company is fantastic. I ordered from their winter sales (you get cheaper plants, they get money in the winter, a win-win) several times last winter & all orders were combined with combined shipping charges & shipped together in the spring. I ordered close to 100 plants. The office staff is extraordinarily helpful & friendly. With so many plants there were a very few problems which were solved instantly. Their packing is wonderful, the plants were healthy. I had heard from others not to plant compostable pots because the plants got root bound before the pot decomposed. Not these pots - the coconut fibers allow the roots to grow out through it. Now in fall, all the plants are still doing beautifully. Also, I had never ordered plants by mail before & I love it! Cheaper plants and you eliminate most of the impulse buying which is so tempting in a nursery. I give Bluestone 5 out of 5 stars!

Positive Old_Gardener
(38 reviews)
On Sep 3, 2012, Old_Gardener Calabasas, CA wrote:

Posted on June 29, 2012, updated September 3, 2012
Posted on June 9, 2012, updated June 29, 2012
Posted on June 5, 2012, updated June 9, 2012
After seeing Bluestone reviewed here multiple times, I decided to place a "test order". Due to the large selection and the end of season sale, my little test order grew! After submitting my initial order of 47 plants, I realized that I had omitted 9 evergreens. I emailed Bluestone and they updated my order (thank you, Pat, you're fantastic!!!). I received my 56 plants yesterday - some traveled well, some arrived dry and wilted, and one is basically DOA. I have emailed Bluestone and I am comfortable that they will address the DOA Callicarpa. Although I did not receive a shipping notification (fortunately I was home when the boxes arrived) and despite the fact that a few of the plants are rather bedraggled (plus the issue with the Callicarpa), I am giving them a positive review as

- customer service is fantastic (again, thank you, Pat!!)
- the plants were shipped securely (great inserts)
- my order arrived in a timely manner
- they have a wonderful selection and, with the sale prices, everything is attractively priced
- every plant is good-sized, well-branched with full root systems
- I believe that they will respond to my email.

At this point, I would definitely order again.


On June 9th, 2012, Old_Gardener added the following:

Pat at Bluestone has been great. I did send pictures (Bluestone did not request them - I sent them as it was easier for me to show them the plants in question rather than trying to describe their condition) and replacements are on the way. As another reviewer said, problems occur - it is the response that counts and, in this area (as well as others), Bluestone has excelled. I would definitely order from them again.
On June 29th, 2012, Old_Gardener added the following:

I did receive the replacements quickly and they looked wonderful. As of today, all of the Bluestone plants are actively growing and doing exceptionally well. I would definitely recommend Bluestone.
On September 3rd, 2012, Old_Gardener added the following:

Last spring, I ordered a lot of plants. Unfortunately, one did not recover from shipping and I was told it would be replaced this fall. I was happily surprised when I received a ship notice last week from Bluestone letting me know that they had not forgotten and my plant was on the way. I received it Friday - well packed and good-sized. Thank you, Bluestone, for such great service!
Positive asdragon
(2 reviews)
On Aug 31, 2012, asdragon Brooklyn Heights, MO (Zone 6a) wrote:

I just received an order of several fine, healthy plants. As usual it was extremely well packaged and the plants arrived in excellent shape. Among them was a replacement for a plant that arrived in next-to-dead condition. Although the damage appeared to be the result of negligence by the shipping service, Bluestone replaced it for free.
Since I tend to order on a sporadic basis, I like that they combine orders so that the plants arrive in a single lot at the appropriate planting time.

Positive aaflyr
(1 review)
On Jul 21, 2012, aaflyr wrote:

Posted on July 17, 2012, updated July 21, 2012
placed a large order,recieved damp pots with soft mushy leaves.Husband planted them,none grew even with babying them.Not wanting to admit defeat Ilet them struggle with fertilizer.and water.I lost my packing slip;by this time hubby was very upset.I sent Emailexplaing situationand saidI would be willing to buy from them again if they could check my order recordand offer a csecond chance discount. Of course no response.All I wanted was to let them know half dead plants in wet pots wrapped in plastic do not grow;at least free shipping?


On July 21st, 2012, aaflyr changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I easily change my rating to Positive! After speaking with rep.Pat,she helped understand my confusion as to how Bluestone shipsetc.She made right with the plants that didnot bloom.I will contiue to reccomend and purchase from thi top quality grower;Don't miss a chance to plant the best.Buy Bluestone
On Jul 21, 2012, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Jul 18, 2012 9:04 AM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

Could you please give us a call at your earliest convenience? We reply to every email we receive, and would have offered you a reshipment or a refund without question. I am puzzled - Our plants are not wrapped in plastic (with the exception of a 3/4" removable band at the top of the coconut fiber pot) and they are shipped in a cardboard carrier (again, no plastic). Is it possible they came from another nursery? Let's get to the bottom of this. Call 800-852-5243 or email me directly helpdesk@bluestoneperennials.com We look forward to hearing from you and resolving the situation.
"


Neutral WoodlandLisa
(2 reviews)
On Jul 13, 2012, WoodlandLisa KILLINGWORTH, CT wrote:

Posted on July 10, 2012, updated July 13, 2012
I had made 3 purchases from Bluestone Perennials and up until the 3rd order, I had been satisfied. It was upon receipt of my 3rd order when I opened the box to find 1/2 of my plants (barely seedlings) sickly looking and half dead. I took pictures of them all along with the plant ID cards, and then I emailed Bluestone Perennials the pictures, complete with the order number and advised them of the plants' conditions upon arrival, expressed my severe dissatisfaction and asked them to kindly respond. I never heard a single word back from them in response... not by email, phone or USPS mail. I understand things go wrong in shipping -- anything can happen. But when a customer reports a valid complaint and the company ignores it? Unacceptable. I got no apology, no explanation, no acknowledgement, no attempt to make things right. Of the order, there were 3 of each of following: foxglove, sweet woodruff, zing rose dianthus, and 3 different types of campanula. After planting all 18, only 10 survived. After this, I have never and will never order from them again. I still get the catalogs and merely use them for reference... when I find something I like, I spend my hard earned money elsewhere.


On July 13th, 2012, WoodlandLisa changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Addendum/update: Bluestone Perennials responded to my post w/ apologies and explanation for why they never received my original email. While I never received any kind of system notification indicating that my email was returned and/or undeliverable to Bluestone, I have since spoken w/ Bluestone and they were extremely pleasant, apologetic and willing to remediate the problem to my satisfaction - either by refunding my money or shipping new plants.

I have elected to have new plants to replace those that died sent to me in the fall. For now, I am keeping my status for this company as neutal until I receive the new plants and see the condition that they are in. As I indicated in my original post, all my plants in that order were not healthy looking and for this reason, I am not fully confident giving a postive status. I will gladly update this post in the fall once I receive new plants.
On Jul 13, 2012, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Jul 12, 2012 3:05 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

Sorry to hear that your email was lost in transit. Our server will refuse emails with large pictures or many images, so that may have happened. Please be in touch by phone, or try sending your images individually. We answer every email we receive within 2 days. Let's get this resolved right away to your satisfaction. We can reship or refund at your discretion. Please be in touch, and never hesitate to call if you have not heard from us - we are standing by to help!"


Positive Sam1999
(3 reviews)
On Jul 7, 2012, Sam1999 Ann Arbor, MI wrote:

I have ordered from Bluestone the past 2 years. I love their selection and quality of information on their website. I am new to gardening and don't really like the coco pots, but my experience could very well be a product of my inexperience--ended up removing the majority of them from the pots because they seemed to get dry so fast, when I did everything did much better.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | ... 31 Next »


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America