Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Brighter Blooms Nursery

Click here to return to Brighter Blooms Nursery's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
55 positives
7 neutrals
49 negatives

Comments:

Page 1 | 2 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Negative tcampt
(1 review)
On May 5, 2014, tcampt New York, NY wrote:

Posted on May 3, 2014, updated May 5, 2014
My order was bungled and customer service was non-existent. I place an order by phone, asked them to hold off on delivery and scheduled a date to send and receive them at our business location. They did NOT wait to deliver and sent it the following day to arrive on a SATURDAY. I only found out b/c I called to confirm when the salesperson did not follow up with me as promised. Customer service was closed (at 4pm on Friday??!!) so had to ask a salesperson to research this. The new salesperson said he would email me a tracking number, but did not. I had to call a third time (customer service closed again -- they don't work on Saturdays, of course!) and as another salesperson to find the tracking number. Have been on the phone with fed ex all morning who have also bungled the delivery. I just hope the plants are worth it...


On May 5th, 2014, tcampt added the following:

It's two days later and my $300 plant order seems is still in limbo. I spoke with customer service several hours ago and while she apologized profusely could neither understand why the order was sent out when I expressly asked for it to be held, nor could she explain why FedEx was holding on to it and refusing to deliver it. FedEx says I should call the shipper; Brighter Blooms says they're not sure why this is happening. I feel utterly helpless. Still waiting for a return call from customer service, but my plants have now been waiting at FedEx for 4 days w/o a single delivery attempts. I imagine they will be in pretty sad condition. I had such high hopes based on other reviews on this page but this has now become a complete nightmare.
On May 5, 2014, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Jul 9, 2014 7:57 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

During this time we were in contact with the customer and Fed Ex trying to get the product to the customer and to understand why they were not delivered when they were suppose to. Our customer service manager spoke with the customer and assured her we would replace any product that arrived in poor condition due to being in transit for to long. We came to a amicable solution and the customer was satisfied with the outcome."


Negative mcig123
(1 review)
On May 17, 2013, mcig123 Woodstock, MD wrote:

I ordered two red Dogwood trees from Brighter Blooms before I read reviews here on Dave's Garden. Unfortunately, when my order arrived I discovered that I had received four Camellia bushes/trees! I called the company over the weekend and the lady who answered said she could not do anything to help me and suggested that I call back on Monday morning. So I called Brighter Blooms on Monday and spoke with Gina and told her that I wanted a full refund and also wanted to know when they would have Fed Ex pick up the Camellias. There were several back and forth phone calls but I finally received a full refund today (Friday) and Fed Ex did come on Wednesday to pickup the package.
I know this sounds positive but the whole experience feels negative. I spent a lot of personal time with phone calls and other related tasks plus the anxiety that they might try to refuse my demand for a full refund. I learned one important thing- always check reviews of on-line businesses BEFORE I place an order with them.


On May 17, 2013, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Jul 26, 2013 12:53 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

Our order initially shipped on May 9th and delivered on May 11th. Our customer contacted us over the weekend when our Customer Service Dept. is closed. Monday AM she called, and got in touch with a representative who let her know we would issue a full refund, as well work with Fed Ex to remove the packages from her home. We issued a full refund for the order back to her original form of payment on May 14th , as well as had Fed Ex remove the packages at our expense. Our Customer Service Manager reached out to her via phone to apologize for the inconvenience, and issued a store credit for 50% of her order value. Our hopes was that we would have another opportunity to prove ourselves with this customer.
She was very grateful for the follow up call, and seemed satisfied with the resolution to the issue.
"


Negative moosegarden
(1 review)
On Apr 28, 2013, moosegarden (Zone 5b) wrote:

We purchased a clematis and a rose tree from Brighter Blooms last year. The clematis was advertised as "1-gallon", but arrived in a 1-quart pot, which itself was oversized for the tiny shoot that was included. The plant only survived about a 6 weeks.

The initial reply of customer service was that pot sizes do not reflect actual volumes, but rather "equivalent nursery sizes". I tried calling to follow up but could not reach someone who could resolve the dispute. Beyond that, it wasn't worth the trouble.

Also, the rose tree (by definition a graft) was supposed to be deep red. What grew out were pink-ish flowers that were not nearly as full as the advertised product. It may be the root stock, or another breed. However, the tree did take very nicely and survived the winter, and I've become fond of it anyway.


On Apr 28, 2013, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Jun 6, 2013 3:42 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

Thank you for posting your concern. We have tried to reach out to you through through D-Mail, but unfortunately we've been unsuccessful. We also have not been able to find you in our database from the information you've provided. Please call us as soon as possible so that we can take care of your order and make sure your experience with Brighter Blooms Nursery is a positive one. Our number is 800-399-9514, and when you call, please ask for Josh. It is important to us that your expectations are not just met, but exceeded. Thanks!"


Negative gailchisholm
(1 review)
On Apr 28, 2013, gailchisholm wrote:

Terrible customer service !!!
I ordered knock -out roses for my local NYC community garden.
Unfortunately I received different plants than ordered. Weeks later I am still trying to get the correct plants. Dozens of emails and phone calls to no avail.
Their 'Log in for information" does not work , in fact 'log in' does not even exist on their web site.
Buying plants should be an informative pleasant and courteous process and should not waste hours of my time and energy .
I notice other members had similar problems but changed a negative review to a neutral or positive one after the problem was solved months later.
Months later is too late!! I assume Brighter Blooms gifted the plants to smooth the way. I have no interest in waiting months to have a simple issue resolved.
I do not want to waste any more of my time with an unprofessional and inconsiderate supplier Please avoid ordering from Brighter Blooms and try support a local nursery who needs your business and can solve any problems face to face!

Negative lapuca
(1 review)
On Apr 25, 2013, lapuca Moorestown-Lenola, NJ wrote:

I asked for Frost Proof Gardenias for Christmas. My sister in law, a fellow gardener, found them on line at Brighter Blooms and ordered 2 for me GAR-FRO3. Online during ordering it said they would ship during planting season. This is common in this situation and she and I thought nothing of it.
Unfortunately, the plants arrived two days later, Dec 21, which in NJ is NOT planting season.
I called them to let them know what would happen. On their paperwork it said to contact them within a week or so if a plant arrived in questionable condition. The plants were beautiful, however I wanted them to know if I could not keep them alive indoors during winter (they were large), then I would expect them to be replaced.
Well, similar to others, I emailed customer service and called twice. The phone calls were never answered. No matter when I called it said to call back between 9-5pm M-F, which I did to no avail. The emails would bring an error message = 'user error' screen.
I gave up, put the plants in the bathtub (dragging 3 gallon plants up the stairs) and tried to keep them alive.
They survived, but this situation kept me from using my bathtub all winter.
Terrible customer service.
I told my sister in law who buys a lot of plants, and anyone else who will listen, to stay away.
This company is too much hassle to deal with, unless you have lots of time to manage their mistakes and uncaring attitude.

Negative walky
(1 review)
On Apr 18, 2013, walky Lake Goodwin, WA wrote:

I purchased two Nules Clementine trees. I planted them the day they arrived. After a month nothing happened. I emailed them. They said to give it another month. Still nothing. I called them. They said to give it more time. I emailed them again at the end of the summer. One had 1 leaf on it and the other looked dead. They said to scrape the side. I did. They asked me to send a picture of them. I did. They were still alive but not growing. Over the winter they died. Now they won't answer any of my emails.


On Apr 18, 2013, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Jun 6, 2013 3:48 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

Thank you for posting your concern. We have tried to reach out to you through through D-Mail, but unfortunately we've been unsuccessful. We also have not been able to find you in our database from the information you've provided. Please call us as soon as possible so that we can take care of your order and make sure your experience with Brighter Blooms Nursery is a positive one. Our number is 800-399-9514, and when you call, please ask for Josh. It is important to us that your expectations are not just met, but exceeded. Thanks!"


Negative MeMaz
(1 review)
On Sep 18, 2012, MeMaz North Plainfield, NJ wrote:

In addition to the numerous issues I had prior to receiving my order, I received diseased plants.

I received diseased plants including the crape myrtle sent with the very damaging fungus cercospora lythracearum, the hydrangeas sent with the disease anthracnose, the lilacs with the plant disease powder mildew, and the roses sent with large amounts of insect damage. I requested my refund and took many pictures of the plants & send them documentation for my refunded.

Due to the plentiful issues had with Brighter Blooms and the literal lack of response from their customer service reps (their customer service is terrible, I may post more details on that later too) I contacted their company via email, multiple times. I received no response yet again.

I will definately be recommending against this company to those who are looking for healthy plants & no aggravation or refund issues. I have spent 2 hours on the phone it total with them & sent multiple emails. I even emailed them back & told them I'd like to work it out with them but if they continue to not address the issue I will have take the resolution efforts elsewhere. To date they still have not addressed my refund for which I have extensive documentation of the diseased plants sent.

Also, in my experience calling brighter blooms I have found that if you hit #1 "For a problem with an existing order" no one answers and you get put through to a machine & if you hit #2 "to place an existing order" a customer service rep will answer the phone but will not provide assistance regarding this problem! When I have gotten through I have asked for a manager & I have been told no one was available.

Negative Omen
(1 review)
On Jul 25, 2012, Omen Springfield, VA wrote:

This company (Brighter Blooms) is a terrible fraud. We can only imagine that people's good reviews are because they received a healthy plant. We have twice received damaged and diseased plants. If you have a problem, you will wait weeks for response, spend months trying to resolve, and from day one their inept customer service staff will demand they provide no refunds even if it is their fault, and not allow you to be escalated to management. The website may look nice, but shopping here is playing Russian Roulette. If you ever have a problem, you are screwed, and they will refuse you a refund! Just look at the reviews on here, and even their BBB rating and list of complaints!

Negative npollard
(1 review)
On Jun 20, 2012, npollard Norristown, PA wrote:

I purchased three 3 gallon double knock-out roses from BrigherBlooms and they arrived with dull yellow-green leaves with black spots and white fungus. There were blooms on the plants. I planted them and they have had no new growth and have not bloomed since planted. The leaves have more black spots and white fungus. About a month after planting I purchased two more 3 gallon double knock-out roses from Home Depot. Those plants are now double the size of the ones from BB and they have bloomed twice. I started emailing BB on May 6th about the issue. They take over a week to respond to each email and each time they did not answer my questions or call me back. I called customer service and they put me on hold for 1/2 hour and then I was automatically directed to voice mail. When I called back I got a message that they were closed. I finally received an email with a replacement code. I wanted my money back not a replacement however I went online and the amount credited was not enough to purchase replacement plants and the code did not work. They said wait one day for the code to be valid and I waited 8 days and it still doesn't work. My replacement number is 960654. I have never experienced such poor customer service. I didn't want to post a negative response until I gave them time to do the right thing but at this point it doesn't appear that it will happen.

Negative Susalinda
(1 review)
On May 15, 2012, Susalinda Ashland, MA wrote:

I have ordered 11 knock-out one-gallon rose bushes from this company. The order arrived promptly, but I was surprised that only one box arrived. After I opened the box, I found the 11 bushes squeezed together, with most of the soil spread in the box. Furthermore, the roses do not look healthy, with yellowish leaves and spots on them.

I called customer service and asked for a refund. After several email and phone conversations, I was asked to return the plants (but I have to pay for shipping) and I may receive a refund if the plants arrive in good health - AND after they deduct 25% restocking fees. How can these plants arrive in good health when I received them already in poor condition?
I will never buy from this company again and will adise my friends and colleagues to watch out as well. What a waste of my money and time!

Negative ippslee
(2 reviews)
On Apr 19, 2012, ippslee Grass Valley, CA (Zone 9a) wrote:

Posted on February 4, 2012, updated April 19, 2012
I ordered three Drift roses which arrived in very poor shape. There was a lot of dead growth on each spindly plant. I have contacted them several times. The first time they said I could receive a credit, but never explained the process. Since then I have received no responses to my inquiries.


On April 19th, 2012, ippslee added the following:

After 7 months I finally received an email asking for me to fill out a form and send pictures, which I did.
I purchased three roses and was credited for only one. Their customer service is very poor as far as acknowledgement and worse in resolving the problem.
On Apr 19, 2012, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Mar 1, 2012 12:56 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

Unfortunately I was unable to locate this customers order with the information above to offer personal assistance.
However, all of our items are covered under a One Year Warranty, and our replacement application is very short and easy.
We are very sorry that this customer feels he did not receive the service we pride ourselves in and are uncertain how he had tried to contact us.
We have phone representatives available Monday through Friday. In addition, emails are typically answered within 48 business hours.
We'd like to request that this customer call us at
800-399-9514 so we can be of assistance.
Thank you."


Negative szetshe
(1 review)
On Apr 12, 2012, szetshe wrote:

4/6 ordered 2 dwarf trees. Immediately emailed back cancelling order. Dwarfs wouldnt work for my situation. That evening email again cancelling order. Two calls the following week didnt get through. 4/20 Sunday get an email from fedx telling me BB was shipping Monday. Emailed again Sunday night cancelling order. After all this they shipped in the pm anyway. Refused shipment. Called them and they want to charge me 60 bucks. I believe they did this on purpose. This is not fair business dealings. I wish I would have seen this site before my order. With a preponderance of negative reviews...gotta wonder about these folks scruples.

Negative Youngtreegenius
(3 reviews)
On Aug 27, 2011, Youngtreegenius Yellow Springs, OH wrote:

I got two clematis Niobe and two jackmanii and they are in terrible shape really. Stock looks like the garbage clematis tied to a shady tress u would see out side of walmart or kmart.they are broken held to the support with twist ties u would see on your loaf of bread. My plants are badly wounded they are terrible Containers where stapled to the box, leaving holes in the bottom of the pots. Never buy from this place ever ever ever 3 months after I ordered I received my stock. Unacceptable

Negative Jodynmike
(1 review)
On Jul 8, 2011, Jodynmike Denver, CO wrote:

I only ordered because my other favorites did not carry the product I wanted. After 3 weeks with no shipping notice, I followed up and they said that they would ship in another 1-2 weeks. Plants I had ordered the same day had already been in the ground and growing. We have a short growing season and a 5 week turn around was unacceptable and frankly unheard of for ordering plants unless they are not available.
I cancelled my order before they were even planning on shipping and was assessed a $10 charge. That is 1/3 the price of my order. My suspicion is that this is the the business model for the company in that they live off the cash flow of billing without incurring costs and the cancellation charges. Quite a racket.

Sure wish I had reviewed this site before I placed the order. Terrible, disreputable company.

Negative greenthumbdude
(1 review)
On Jun 29, 2011, greenthumbdude Holtsville, NY wrote:

Hey Charlie Brown! I found Linus' Christmas tree! No wait, it's my just delivered apple trees from Brighter Blooms Nursery. They are more like two twigs with some brown,withered leaves. I spent $300 and could've gotten a better looking plant pulling a weed from my driveway. Do not but from this company! Boy my wife is gonna kill me!

Negative awb_1
(9 reviews)
On Jun 10, 2011, awb_1 Pahrump, NV wrote:

I wish I had known about Dave's web site a couple of weeks ago. I have lost about $300 in plants and trees purchased from both Brighter Blooms and their sister company Fast-Growing Trees. Dead on Arrival was a razzle-dazzle crape myrtle accompanied by two walking wounded rose bushes. This company does not mind selling the runts of the litters. I too called and complained with a response that their 'expert' would help me bring the plants back to life. I will never buy a plant from them again. They also sent a Japanese Maple with no branches on one side ( a complete180 degree arc) of the trunk. It looks like it had been leaning against a wall from germination until now. And I pray for the rest.

Negative Claudia4
(1 review)
On Jun 10, 2011, Claudia4 South Hamilton, MA wrote:

I ordered a gift for mothers day. When not received after 2 weeks I called. I are on hold forever then must leave a message and they do not call you back. They do not answer e mails. Finally after days of calling I got a rude live person. I was told the lemon tree I ordered would ship May 30th! I could not request for credit because they have 30 days to ship. They were rude and uncaring. It is now June 10th and no lemon tree. Time to call credit card company to put in a challenge, better business bureau.

I do not recommend anyone to use this company, just read all of the bad reviews!

Negative abqgardner
(1 review)
On Jun 3, 2011, abqgardner Albuquerque, NM wrote:

I am an experienced gardener. The local nurseries did not carry a "Whiteout" rose. I ordered two, 1-gallon sized roses and some other plants from Brighter Blooms Nursery. The instructions were to let the plants rest a few days before planting them. After a few days, I planted the roses and discovered that one of the rose bushes had all but one of its canes broken. The plant will probably live, but it will be very small this year. I wanted a partial credit, but no, only consideration I would receive was an extension in the amount of time to report a dead plant.

Should have read the blog posts here first. I won't purchase from this company again.

Negative jeeziebell
(2 reviews)
On May 23, 2011, jeeziebell Wading River, NY wrote:

last fall I bought over $700 worth of plants/shrubs from this company to refinish my front walkway,had them professionally installed by a local landscape company with a new walkway .....EVERYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY DIED!!!!!
I wouldnt buy from them, I contacted the company by phone and by email and no response.No customer service at all heed my words dont buy from them. Please Please

Negative beachguru
(2 reviews)
On May 18, 2011, beachguru Delray Beach, FL (Zone 9a) wrote:

I my plants had lived I would not be complaining right now. I called and informed the office that my plants were dead and not sprouting this spring and I was instructed I couldnt get a replacement. I

Negative james75
(1 review)
On May 18, 2011, james75 Waynesburg, PA wrote:

Ordered plants and paid for them and I did not even get a confirmation or plants been waiting for something from them nothing I will either get the plants or my money back I will pay them a visit when we go to North Caroling in July for vacation.,

Negative pattirn813
(1 review)
On May 14, 2011, pattirn813 Columbus, OH wrote:

I spent another 24 minutes on the phone yesterday with this company trying to reach Customer Service. This brings my total time to 77 minutes. At the end of 24 minutes an automated message came on saying they had high call volume, and I would need to email them. This is my third such attempt at reaching this company. I ordered 4 different kinds of plants. I received 1 Rutgers tomato, not the quantity of 3, I ordered--no note, no "this is all we have," nothing. I have yet to receive anything else from them, and no communication from them either. I would like to respond to the person answering for the company : It becomes difficult to resolve issues, when you cannot speak to someone on the phone. I will try to email once. If I do not hear from them, I will dispute the charge on my credit card. Don't waste your time ordering from this company!! You will spend lots of time trying to reach them!!!

Negative emily1939
(1 review)
On May 12, 2011, emily1939 Woodbridge, VA wrote:

Let me join the other negative respondents concerning Brighter Blooms. My prior orders for Knock out roses and azaleas were acceptable. Plants a little smaller than I anticipated but healthy and arrived in secure packages. However my order for three rhodos and a frost tolerant gardenia was a totally different story. The plants arrived in February, zone 7, freezing temps and snow on the ground. The company prompting picked the plants up and promised to ship at the "proper" time. Didn't happen. Phone calls were made promises were made but not kept. Gardenia finally arrived, smaller than I anticipated and didn't look too bad. A week of TLC and the little guy is coming around. Now, the rhodo's still had not arrive and when they did the packaging was fine but the plants were very small. At best seven inches tall, supposed to be one gallon plants, but there is no way they are one gallon size. Planted them the next day and noticed one rhodo was looking rather peaked. It is now black. I called BB and was told I hadn't called within the 48 hour window so their was nothing they could do. I could down load a form and take pictures but that was my only recourse. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was advised that she was training and I could leave a voice mail, which I did. Tuesday evening, no call back so I used the web sit "contact us" feature. Still no response. Now Thursday, ten minute wait to speak to a human being, also known as a customer service rep. To rub salt in the wound, I visited Home Depot this morning and they have beautiful three gallon rhodos for $24.98. Three dollars more than I paid BB for small one quart plants sold as gallon plants. Will I ever learn??

Negative jessica_nj_17
(1 review)
On May 12, 2011, jessica_nj_17 Cream Ridge, NJ wrote:

STAY AWAY! I'm wondering if I'll ever get my plants. Backordered plants never arrived, two emails and a phone call to customer service completely ignored for weeks. Finally received lame email below weeks later with no commitment still to send the plants I've already paid for. Worst customer service I'm ever experienced from a gardening company. I wish I had googled them before I bought from them and found this website, there are lots of other good companies out there who work hard to get you what you've ordered and I would so much prefer to give them my money rather than these jokers.

Details:
I ordered 18 azaleas/hydrangeas and after the order arrived only partially shipped, I used their "email us" customer service form to inquire on the ship date for my backordered plants. A week went by, no response. I emailed again. Another week, no reply! So I tried calling the 800 number--after holding for 15 minutes I spoke to a seriously disinterested woman, gave her my order number and asked how long the backorder delay would be. Didn't even get a chance to tell her that I had already emailed inquiries twice. Without so much as a word, or a "hold on" I was flipped on hold again and left there for 28 minutes! I finally hung up and of course she never called back even though she had my order number and therefore my contact information. Today, another week later (so it's been about 6 weeks now since I ordered my plants) I got this note:


From: Denise at Brighter Blooms
Date: Thu, 12 May 2011 11:35:40 -0400
Subject: Order#1023281

Hello,
We apologize for the delayed response. This item is on backorder, and hopefully it will be in next week. Once it is in stock you will receive notification from FedEx as to when it will be shipped. Thanks
Denise
Brighter Blooms Nursery

T: 800-399-9514
E: Denise@BrighterBlooms.com
http://www.BrighterBlooms.com

Negative T_W_J
(1 review)
On May 11, 2011, T_W_J WESTPORT
United States wrote:

I ordered 5 flowering trees last autumn from Brighter Blooms / Fast Growing Trees. None survived the winter. I am currently in the process of applying for a replacement or refund / store credit.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE COMPANY'S CLAIM OF A 1 YEAR GUARANTEE IS FALSE. Read the fine print (the credit is only for 50% of the purchase price): "Fast Growing Trees Nursery offers a full one-year replacement guarantee. If your tree dies within 90 days of delivery, we offer a 75% store-issued credit that can be redeemed on any future purchase. If your tree dies after 90 days, but before one year, we offer a 50% store-issued credit that can be redeemed on any future purchase. Store credits do not cover the cost of shipping."

My rating will remain "Negative" unless the company provides an actual full one-year replacement guarantee (a full refund or a full replacement with no additional charges).



Negative mburnz
(2 reviews)
On May 9, 2011, mburnz Cincinnati, OH wrote:

I ordered 5 plants. I received three promptly. the other two I waited three weeks and then called. It continued to hang up on me due to too many callers. i tried email help page and no response. I finally got through. Woman said they didn't have my item, and they don't call or contact to tell you that information. She said she canceled the order and I would get a full refund. 3 weeks later, still did not have my refund. Called again today to find out that it had not been canceled. Now, I guess, it has been canceled again....maybe. Both times, the operators were rude. I will not order from here again. Too much hassle!

Negative D3VNT
(3 reviews)
On May 4, 2011, D3VNT Round Rock, TX wrote:

I gave up on this company. You should stay away...

I ordered several Boston Ivy plants, then waited the 3 weeks they require before contacted them. (see my final comments below). Was told my plants were on back-order but "a shipment came in this week", "check back next week."

I checked back the next week, and was told to check back Monday. Same run-around. I AM CERTAIN THEY LIED TO ME. Then I checked their website and noted they had listed Boston Ivy as "sold out". Ya think they could tell me that??

Finally after 5 weeks I contacted them and asked them to fill my order that week or cancel it. For ONCE they were prompt and cancelled my order. But I'm STILL WAITING FOR MY $51.90 REFUND.

>> Meanwhile, I ordered from Hirt's and Forestfarm on Friday, and BOTH orders shipped over the weekend. Any company that tells you to wait 3 weeks before inquiring isn't worth the trouble.

Negative Kariyak
(1 review)
On Apr 21, 2011, Kariyak Summerville, SC wrote:

I ordered six snowball bush and they all arrived in horrible condition. They were also overpriced for the size. I contacted the company and they would not refund the money. I would not recommend them to anyone and will never use them again.

Negative jwmarko
(1 review)
On Apr 8, 2011, jwmarko Ellicott City, MD wrote:

Should have read the other reviews.
I ordered a Heritage Raspberry and received a Snowball bush Viburnum instead. The plant was sure packed well - I still haven't
been able to get it out of the stapled box but at least did find the plant label finally. Don't want to go through their rigamarole of taking a photo of the plant then arranging to return it and then wait for my correct plant (maybe) so will get my raspberry somewhere else and find some place for this.

Negative Havaplant
(1 review)
On Apr 8, 2011, Havaplant Springfield, MO wrote:

They e-mailled an offer for shrubs but failed to warn they were not for my area. They also shipped them way too early to plant so they were already failing when I did get them planted. They will not refund or credit me back. I will never use them again!

Negative Tinajb
(1 review)
On Mar 31, 2011, Tinajb Martinsville, IN wrote:

I will never order from them again....I ordered six knock out rose plants in Oct 2010...thought they would ship out when safe to plant in Indiana...but they shipped them out...I planted them in planters kept them in my home in full sun but all six died. I contacted the company requesting them to be replaced and I was told I would have to send them pictures of the plants! I was never informed of this at time of order...they claim they offer full one-year replacement but this is obviously not true. Most places will provide all the information with the order or time of order or will not ship until its safe to plant. Now I am out over $100.00. I will NEVER order from them again!! I should have done my research on them more before placing an order. An expensive lesson learned!! Because I was done so unfairly by the company I contacted the Better Business Bureau and filed a compliant with them....people need to know...if I can prevent someone else from losing money like I did...I have succeeded!!

Negative seashoregarden
(2 reviews)
On Jan 31, 2011, seashoregarden Round Pond, ME wrote:

I ordered a Gardenia through the website to be sent to Florida as a Christmas present on 12/16/10 - thought it would be close to ship. My mistake. After Christmas I phoned and learned their standard shipping time is 2 to 3 weeks. After the 3 week wait I reached customer service and was told the Gardenias would be in January 17th or 18th ( they were not listed as out of stock when ordered) and mine would ship "next". Well it's January 31st and I'm wondering which "next" I'm waiting for....

Negative oldalchemist
(1 review)
On Dec 25, 2010, oldalchemist Garland, TX wrote:

Disappointed. Dissatisfied. I ordered 3 of the Frost-Proof gardenias. The specimens in the video on the Brighter Blooms sight showed the plants as, oh I'd say 20"-24" and covered with tiny blossoms. What I received was 3 plants in a 7-foot long box with foliage trimmed to about 12" and no trace of buds! I wish I had come here first to see the reviews of this vendor! You won't find any negative comments on the Brighter Blooms website. The gardenias were unboxed, fertilized and watered within minutes of arriving on my doorstep. After 2 days one of the plants' leaves literally dried up and were crumbly to the touch. They said these gardenias "thrive on neglect". Well they got TLC from me. We'll see if the one plant survives but I'm not hopeful. I am dissapointed and frustrated with the purchase, though because the photographs of the plants on their website were so beautiful and what arrived was so ugly.


On Dec 25, 2010, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Dec 27, 2010 11:39 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

Because this is an anoymous review I cannot contact this customer and it doesn't sound as though this customer has contacted us.
Certainly if an item arrives damaged we will replace it.
In addition, all of our items are covered under our One Year Warranty.
Please contact us so we can assist you, as we do stand behind our products and expect them to be of high quality."


Negative cjparker
(11 reviews)
On Oct 13, 2010, cjparker Kennewick, WA (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on August 7, 2008, updated October 13, 2010
Warning: If you get their email about the "bizarre nursery mishap" that "Mischeivious Grandchildren turn $11.95 Daylilies into 1.99 ones."

The daylilies that they say "Many are Premium grade, collector quality plants that easily sell for $11.95 or more." will show up in a box that weighs a total of 9 pounds.....for one hundred so-called daylilies. That's because the box will contain a couple of cups of slimy mold and a few pieces of green stuff. The "daylilies" are about the size of a blade of grass, if that, and look like this year's sprouts. All of this mess will be in one plastic bag. Nothing else, just the slimy stuff that is supposedly a hundred daylilies.

I got a refund in a timely manner, but that does not change the fact that they are advertising slimy blades of grass as daylilies comparable to ones that would be worth $11.95. Nor does it change the fact that my husband and I spent two full days preparing a site for these so-called plants before they arrived.

My first order was my last with Brighter Blooms.


On October 13th, 2010, cjparker added the following:

Here we are, two years later, and apparently those mischeivious grandkids are still at it! I just got an email that said this:

"Last year a friend and local farmer was overrun with more than 60,000 daylilies. His grandchildren removed all his plant signs and his buyers cancelled their orders since he could no longer tell what varieties they were."

This is the same story I got in 2008. And I'm guessing they are still selling the same blades of grass and calling them daylilies worth $11.99 each. NO THANKS
On Oct 13, 2010, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Dec 27, 2010 10:53 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

I am sorry that this customer had a bad first experience with us.
I am glad that she said we handled the problem immediately, although I wish the fact that we stand behind our products and have great customer service people would have had a more positive impact and that perhaps this customer would have felt comfortable to try again.
We do strive to make every customer a repeat customer by offering high quality items combined with knowledgeable and friendly sales and customer service people.
As for the story about the grandkids...
We do not label our daylily plantings in order to offer a true mixed lot. It is just a fun story for our customers; most customers seem to enjoy it. "


Negative unhappyinnyc
(1 review)
On Jul 30, 2010, unhappyinnyc New York, NY wrote:

I was shocked at the box of dead Knock Out Roses that arrived in via FedEx ground yesterday. These plants were ordered on 7/23/10, shipped several days later and arrived on 7/29. I can only conclude that they were shipped that way. You would expect to see blooms on the bottom of the box, but no blooms. You would think maybe there are buds, no buds. Dead, dead, dead and by the way these are 3 varieties of Knock Out Roses, yet all 3 arrived dried out and with half naked branches. Too bad that I can't post the picture here. In addition one of the plants if backordered with no info about delivery date.


On Jul 30, 2010, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Aug 3, 2010 11:23 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

I truly wish this customer had allowed us an opportunity to correct this before posting a negative review.
If an item arrives dead our policy is to replace it.
That said, we have arranged to ship 3 new roses out immediately.
Also, the fourth rose that was not ready to go at the time of the order was shipped via FedEx yesterday.
I hope that this customer will be comfortable ordering from us in the future as we do stand behind our products and we are very sorry if this has caused any inconvenience."


Negative calinocar
(2 reviews)
On Jul 29, 2010, calinocar Forestville, CA wrote:

I purchased four Emerald Green Thuja trees advertised as "5'-7' tall". I measured the trees after arrival and the heights varied between 48" to 52". Eventually, I filed a complaint with the BBB. Better Blooms Nursery manager Alyson Smith requested that I upload photos of the trees to her, and I did. The trees were photographed with a ruler next to them. After viewing the photos, Alyson concluded that the trees were of the advertised height because they also calculate the container size in the height of the tree. I visited several local nurseries to shop for and measure new trees (all of their trees were advertised with accurate height information) and questioned the merchants about the practice of adding the container size to the trees, and the common response was that although unethical, its just something that some nurseries do. Mmm.....Brighter Blooms Nursery refused to replace or pay the difference relating to appropriate tree height. Their final offer was to offer me 10% off for future purchases! My advice is if all possible, go to a local nursery. Do business with these people at your own risk.


On Jul 29, 2010, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

"On Aug 3, 2010 10:18 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

First I'd like to say that this customer never contacted us directly. Her first course of action was a complaint with the BBB. After at least three separate responses and rebuttals the BBB closed this complaint stating "Your company has made a good faith effort in an attempt to resolve this issue; therefore we are closing the case at this time."
This customer never wanted to return her trees, in fact they had been planted upon arrival. When I received the pictures they did appear to be of the correct height, but we still offered her a 10% discount on a future purchase as a courtesy.
I am sorry this customer is unhappy, and after getting no satisfaction from the BBB she has continued to post bad reviews.
Certainly if she had been this disappointed in her trees she could have returned them rather than plant them.
On a positive note, our trees are very healthy, and these are very hardy, fast growers. We wish her our best. "


Negative bigglesworth
(1 review)
On Jun 21, 2010, bigglesworth Seattle, WA wrote:

I paid for a 3 Gallon but it was not nearly the size of the brighter blooms video where the woman says "look at the size of our giant 3 gallon roses." What arrived was something 10 inches tall and similar to the 1 Quart size she pooh poohed as being too small. I emailed customer service with a picture of the 7 inch high rose bush when I paid for a 3 Gallon size and they didn't offer to credit me for the difference.

Negative driftwood858
(1 review)
On Jul 27, 2009, driftwood858 Edmond, OK wrote:

I have made several orders with Brighter Blooms - bought 4 bazoo bannana trees and not one came up. 2 bushes that have died (may have been the oklahoma heat) but we followed all the planting and water instructions.

Decided to give them one last chance - ordered a empress tree and have not recieved any info on the delievery date. We did send an email enquiring about any other problems with people that order the bannana trees, have not gotten any reply.

My hopes are that Brighter Blooms will respond to this post and make right the problems we have had. Then we can change our experience to positive.

Negative DeeAnne
(1 review)
On Jul 12, 2009, DeeAnne Nashville, TN wrote:

I ordered 3 Annabelle Hydrangeas from BRIGHTER BLOOMS. They arrived, more than 4 feet tall, spindley, few blooms, broken, damaged leaves, and the poorest example of a hydrangea I had ever seen. I promptly contacted the company, and they agreed to replace the sick and broken plants, and now 2 and a half weeks later, I received replacement plants that are in WORSE shape than the original plants they shipped me. I have contacted the company again, and will change my negative experience to a positive if they FULLY rectify the problem.

D.Proctor
Nashville, TN

Page 1 | 2 Next »


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America