Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Netherland Bulb Company

Click here to return to Netherland Bulb Company's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
25 positives
4 neutrals
10 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Negative buggycrazy
(23 reviews)
On Jul 10, 2013, buggycrazy Lebanon, OR (Zone 7b) wrote:

Posted on March 5, 2009, updated July 10, 2013
Having ordered many plants and bulbs from them in the past I have found them to be the best wholesaler to buy from. Yes there have been problems, that is expected when buying from importers, they do not grow the stuff, they import and resell it. They have always made good on the few items that were a problem and customer service has been excellent. Given a choice of ordering form them or doing without like I had to do this fall when they were out of what I wanted, I went without rather than order from VanBourgondien, who had a ridiculous shipping charge for a 1 lb package that probably would have been the wrong species or died from freezing in transit.


On July 10th, 2013, buggycrazy changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

put in an orfer for 2 items, since I am NOT allowed to order from their main catalog anymore since i have lost my nursery business I can only order form the clearance items. I asked to be sure that the items were still both available. I was assured they were. I was assured a confirmation email would be sent.
Wrong on both accounts and I paid way too much in S&H for the ONE item I got, which will have to be stored until next spring anyway. That is typical for that particular bulb since it requires different storage conditions than they use and 80% of the orders I got in the past would not sprout until the following year.
However in the future if they are going to short me I will be having my entire order canceled, I must keep costs down and prefer to order where I am not treated like a lower class citizen.
Negative suzie126
(3 reviews)
On May 21, 2011, suzie126 Merrill, WI wrote:

Every year I order a few hundred lily bulbs from Netherland Bulbs. In all yrs past their bulb have always been hughe ,big bulbs. Every year I would order more because they had great quality this year. I received 5 of the Tango lile's , I opened them, I was shocked they are tiny little bulbs, I called to tell them , but she said she would bring it up with them. That's all! Then I also received 30 of Distant Drums and 30 of the Wht Dbl, well after I opened them they were the same way. I guess I don't understand. Maybe I will have to try some one else next year. Did anyone else have this problem this year. Maybe they were in storage a long time?

Negative VegBurrito
(1 review)
On May 20, 2010, VegBurrito Apex, NC wrote:

I had dealt with one of their sales reps, and he consistently sent me more bulbs then I ever ordered and refused to take them back or issue a refund when confronted about it. I will NEVER buy bulbs from them again, very shady and dishonest. If you buy from them plan on spending at least 10% more then you initially requested.


On May 20, 2010, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

"On May 21, 2010 10:23 AM, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

We strive to have no one feeling like they have been cheated as this is not how we have built a successful business over the last 30 years, experiencing major growth and many, many repeat customers. We take these accusations very seriously and we would like to address the specific salesman with whom you might have dealt. We have salespeople across the country as well many customer who order direct through 1-800-78TULIP. We will also contact you through D-Mail as we would like to examine your account more closely and address the issue with the specific salesman in question.


On Jun 18, 2010 1:46 AM, Netherland Bulb Company added:

Dear VegBurrito, despite our post and personal email through DMail, we still have not heard from you. Please let us know how we can help resolve your ill feelings towards our company perhaps by dealing with us direct and not through a salesperson. That is always an option. Please contact us at your earliest convenience."


Negative Victoroia
(1 review)
On Oct 20, 2009, Victoroia Boonton, NJ wrote:

I purchased 2 Red Lion amaryllis from the local
A&P. I have amaryllis each year and plant them
properly.

Where it should sprout, the buds? are dry and shriveled.

Shall I deal with the store or you?

Thank you
A&P.

.


On Oct 20, 2009, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

"On Oct 26, 2009 8:19 AM, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

We are sorry that you are not completely satisfied with your purchase. Our company policy is to replace any unsatisfactory bulbs regardless of whether you post on this forum or not. Please email us at contactus@netherlandbulb.com with your home address and we will be happy to send you new Amaryllis kits. We look forward to making this right."


Negative vivvar
(5 reviews)
On Nov 6, 2008, vivvar Centralia, WA wrote:

I ordered and received this fall 100 daffodil bulbs, 50 (2bags of 25) of Fortissimo and 50 (2 bags of 25)of Las Vegas.
Unfortunately, when received, 20 total of the Las Vegas had rotted and 3 of the Fortissimo.
I called and complained about the condition of the bulbs and the service person said she would send another bag of 25 of Las Vegas, but she would not send 3 additional of the Fortissimo..She said I would be getting 5 extras Las Vegas!
I told her to be sure that the 25 replacement Las Vegas were checked for rotting-quality control.
When I received the 25 replacement Las Vegas, 11 were soft (rotted). Obviously they were not checked for quality before being sent. The order form I received with these bulbs did state "must inspect for quality-received mushy bulbs on previous order". Obviously the packers did not check for quality. I cannot recommend this company.


On Nov 6, 2008, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

"On Oct 26, 2009 8:15 AM, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your first experience with us. We hope that you received our 50 replacement bulbs in good condition."


Negative badweed
(2 reviews)
On Jul 4, 2006, badweed Sheldon, MO wrote:

Netherland Bulb Company are a nest of thieves. Last spring I received a shipment of nearly $2,000 worth of plants in very bad shape. Lots of them were entirely rotten. I called the company and let them convince me to keep them all and see how many I could salvage. You guessed it! 3 weeks later I had no recourse and no help from them! What a rip-off.


On Jul 4, 2006, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

"


On Aug 16, 2006 5:56 PM, Netherland Bulb Company added:

We are in contacting with this customer regarding the refund that was charged back to her credit card on August 8, 2005, so I think it is far to say that the statements made by badweed are not entirely true."


Negative djballington
(3 reviews)
On Jul 15, 2005, djballington Reidsville, NC wrote:

I purchased a Blue Bell dahlia from the Netherland Bulb Company because of the lovely color illustrated. While the dahlia is healthy, the color isn't even close. I wrote them over three weeks ago and included a photograph of the actual dahlia comparing it with the color advertised and have yet to hear from them.


On Jul 15, 2005, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

"


On Aug 16, 2006 5:43 PM, Netherland Bulb Company added:

We have sent djballington a new package of bulbs and the bulbs are doing well. The customer was pleased with the package and the progress of the flowers to date."


Negative indigowells2
(2 reviews)
On May 18, 2005, indigowells2 Carbondale, IL wrote:

Just received over 300 bareroot plants that were on sale through their website for 30% off their original price. All plants were in good condition, though the potted meadow rue is a tiny little plant.

I was charged the normal 12.5% shipping of purchase price for an order over $250. What wasn't mentioned on their website is that the shipping charge is done on the ORIGINAL price of the plant regardless of what your discount price might total. So be aware that when you order $300 worth of plants your shipping won't be $37.50, it will actually be $48.75. Illegal...probably not. Good business practice....sure isn't!!!


On May 18, 2005, Netherland Bulb Company responded with:

"


On Aug 16, 2006 5:47 PM, Netherland Bulb Company added:

As a result of this posting we have changed our policy on shipping charges for web specials. We have clearly explained how shipping is charged and capped the shipping charged at 9.5% on the pre-discounted subtotal. Unfortunately, the bulbs and perennials still weigh the same discounted or not. We have not raised our shipping rates in many years despite the mounting fuel charges assessed by every trucking and parcel delivery company. We try to be as fair as possible and we appreciate the honest posting and hope that you better understand our position."


Negative russellmarsella
(1 review)
On Apr 1, 1996, russellmarsella wrote:

I ordered two varieties from them last fall, and they either shipped the wrong bulbs, or they don't look the LEAST bit like their photos or descriptions. I am very disappointed.

Negative catewilliams
(1 review)
On Aug 1, 1995, catewilliams wrote:

Netherlands Bulbs is HORRIBLE! I got suckered by the prices, and ended up with a bunch of seriously diseased tulips - so sick that I can't plant any more in that bed for two years.


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America