Photo by Melody

Comments regarding American Meadows

Click here to return to American Meadows's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
170 positives
18 neutrals
26 negatives

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Negative karenmsmith7
(5 reviews)
On Sep 30, 2012, karenmsmith7 Chicago, IL (Zone 5b) wrote:

I recently received my first order from this company, and I will not order again. The order was for several "bare root" iris cristata plants. What I received was tiny sections of underground runners, 2 to 3 inches long, with one or two very small nodes on each. These little wisps were so small I at first thought they had forgotten to put any plants in the peat-filled plastic bags at all. I often plant bare root plants, and am used to dealing with small starts, but I am highly skeptical that these tiny fragments will produce usable plants.


On Sep 30, 2012, American Meadows responded with:

"On Oct 5, 2012 4:03 PM, American Meadows responded with:

Dear Karensmith7,

Thank you for your feedback. You purchased one of our woodland wildflower offerings. Some of these are rare, hard-to-find varieties that we offer for those seeking these specific species. The root systems that you received are 2-3 years old and although they may be small, they're 100% guaranteed.

These delicate root structures can sometimes take several seasons to establish themselves, but we have an excellent reputation for our woodland wildflowers.

Our customer service team has called and e-mailed so we look forward to discussing with you further.

Thanks again for choosing American Meadows as we appreciate your business!

Thank you,
Ethan Platt
President | American Meadows
"


Negative Kraeutertrulla
(1 review)
On Jul 24, 2012, Kraeutertrulla University Place, WA wrote:

I am very disappointed in American Meadow and I will never order anything from them again. First it took almost 4 weeks until the order arrived. I ordered one Forsythia, Hollyhocks and Lavender. The Forsythia was a joke. It was very tiny and half dead. I sent them a picture and told them I want the money back since the plant is way overpriced and it died finally after I planted it. (They wanted $21.42 for it). First they told me, I should wait a few month.They did not want to believe the plant was dead. After threatening them with the Better Business Bureau they finally gave me the money for the Forsythia back. Now, 3 month later, the Hollyhocks and the Lavender did not grow at all. They are still very small and it doesn't look like they ever will grow. It was a big waste of money.My advise: Stay away from this company.


On Jul 24, 2012, American Meadows responded with:

"On Jul 25, 2012 11:45 AM, American Meadows responded with:

Dear Kraeutertrulla, We're sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience with American Meadows. We work diligently every day to meet the needs of our customers and for over 30 years, we've been one of the most trusted names in mail-order gardening due to our quality products and dedication to our customers. In your case, we failed and I apologize.

We ask all of our customers who have concerns with the live plants they receive to plant them anyway, care for them, and give them several weeks. Many of the plants we ship arrive dormant, but we only sell products with proven success records via mail order. Per our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, we've refunded you for your order and wish you the best.

Sincerely,
Ethan Platt | President"


Positive WoodlandLisa
(2 reviews)
On Jul 10, 2012, WoodlandLisa KILLINGWORTH, CT wrote:

I've placed 2 orders with American Meadows. The first order was shipped promptly and all arrived in top condition.

My second order also was shipped promptly and all arrived in top condition. However, when one of my items started to bloom about a month after planting, it was clearly not the plant variety I had ordered. I emailed American Meadows with a detailed explanation (I didn't have the order number because a month had passed), they responded w/in 24 hours and apologized, asked if I could send a pic so they could see it. I emailed them the pic and they responded the same day admitting there was a mistake and again apologized. They offered to send a replacement or offer me a refund. I told them that as long as the plant I wanted was actually available that I would like it shipped to me. They did, at no charge. When I received the new shipment (again, very promptly and in good condition) the plant was already blooming and actually labelled -- but it was the wrong plant variety, again.

When I called them to let them know, they were very pleasant, very apologetic and said it was probably a warehouse issue and that the plant I wanted was no longer available. They refunded my money (credited my acct) the very next business day.

Was I disappointed? Yes. But the customer service I received in regard to the problem was EXCELLENT on all counts. And I cannot fault them. Things happen. So I would not hesitate to DEFINITELY buy from them again.

Positive marytopeka1964
(1 review)
On Jul 7, 2012, marytopeka1964 Topeka, KS wrote:

I have ordered bareroot hosta 3 times this season. Each time the plants leafed out quickly. One of the hosta was not the correct variety & was quickly replaced with another bag of 3, not just one. I was more than pleased. Also have ordered some plants in pots, they came in good condition and are thriving. I just wish they weren't sold out of many of their spring plants. I will know next year to order early.

Neutral yumabase
(4 reviews)
On Jun 20, 2012, yumabase Youngstown, NY wrote:

Over the past three years, I have ordered quite a few (potted) plants from American Meadows.
I have always found the plants were exactly as advertised, and arrived in good condition. You have to understand what your buying, starter plants.
On the other hand I have had no luck with there bulbs and bare root plants.
In my opinion, if that's what your going to buy, perhaps you might be better served looking els ware.


On Jun 20, 2012, American Meadows responded with:

"On Jul 2, 2012 12:46 PM, American Meadows responded with:

Hello Yumabase,

Thanks for the post and we're happy to hear that the potted plants you received from us are thriving.

We’ve been working with gardeners across the country for over 30 years and all of the products we sell are 100% guaranteed. If you're not satisfied with anything you purchase from us, let us know and we'll fix it!

Thanks again and Jessica from our customer service team has reached out regarding your order.

Happy Gardening,
Mike Lizotte
"


Positive cherry_bloss
(2 reviews)
On Jun 20, 2012, cherry_bloss Dresden, OH wrote:

AMDG+
Since it's late in the season, I was a bit wary of ordering, knowing that the plants I would receive would probably be the last on the shelf. Further, it's been incredibly hot here and I was taking a chance that the plants might dry out in shipment. I was astounded when perfectly healthy plants arrived two days later, in pots that were still moist. The packaging was so secure that a truck could have been driven over the box without doing damage. What great service--this nursery goes right to the top of my list.

Negative virginiarose
(64 reviews)
On Jun 17, 2012, virginiarose Portsmouth, VA (Zone 8a) wrote:

Well, I will not go into a lot of detail just so I can be attacked by Lizotte. I have read comments over the past three years where the customer is always the blame, the customer is always mistaken, the customer is always dead wrong.
The point is that no one wants to take a chance on going through this if or when they have a problem. I email you a picture and you send me a refund or a new plant. Simple!
I do not expect to go back and forth with you for three or four weeks about what is a dead plant. I do not wish to be treated like I am stupid and do no recognize a dormant plant.
This whole ordeal was over 13.00. I wonder how you treat people who have a big problem. This should have been a slam dunk, just issue the refund. But this company wants to play the blame game and wants to win, this is more important than good customer service.
I will not do business with this company again, I was happy to finally get a refund but an apology in the beginning would have made all the difference, you do not have to run your customers down like you do here on watchdog, it's rude!!


On Jun 17, 2012, American Meadows responded with:

"On Jun 19, 2012 2:10 PM, American Meadows responded with:

Dear virginiarose,

I'm sorry that our hibiscus did not meet your expectations. It's one of the plants that's best shipped trimmed back close to the soil, but quickly thrives when transplanted. Here's one of our customer reviews on the Lady Baltimore that you ordered:

"When I got the plant, it was tiny. Only a few inches high. I was not impressed. However, when I transplanted it into a one gallon pot, I noticed that the root system was very large and dense. Incredibly, it grew to 24 inches high within four weeks, and I had to put it in a 6 gallon pot. Then it grew to 42 inches (about full size) at 7 weeks old and started to flower. I counted 35 flowers over the next 3 weeks or so! Then it rested for a few weeks. Now at 11 weeks old it is 45 inches high and has the start of about 30 more buds showing! (This is August 9.) I've never had a plant do this well so soon. And the blooms are huge. I call it my "plant from outer space." Highly recommended. "

As always, we fully guarantee our customer's satisfaction and our records indicate that we credited your PayPal account on June 14th.

Best Wishes, American Meadows
"


Negative suepap1
(1 review)
On Jun 13, 2012, suepap1 Montrose-Ghent, OH wrote:

Posted on June 13, 2012, updated June 13, 2012
My advice is DO NOT ORDER from American Meadows. I placed a large order on 5/3/12. They said they would ship in 4-5 business days. 2 weeks later no plants had arrived but I got a call from their company saying many of the plants I ordered were not available. They said they would credit my account and ship the rest that day. By 5/30/12 no credit and no plants so called them again and they said they would do both. By 6/12/12 no plants had arrived and my account had not been credited. I called them and talked to a representative who said that the people who I had talked to just had not put the credit through and did not ship the plants and that it was "human error." She offered to credit my acct. that day and express ship the few plants they did have, from my order but I asked her to credit my acct. for the whole order as I don't want or need to or have the time to have to work hard with a company to see if they are doing what they said they would do, call them back numerous times, etc. I don't know how they stay in business, but they were not reliable in any way, with my order.


On June 13th, 2012, suepap1 added the following:

Follow up to my post. I did receive an apology phone call from one of the owners. He was very nice. He said they would refund the amount of my order and sent me a confirmation e-mail to that effect. Sorry about the mix up in dates. That is because I was having a similar problem with another on-line plant company, too. The problem as listed with American Meadows was accurate, but they appear to be making it right. Will keep checking my on-line banking for the re-fund. I purchased items in good faith. I would love to buy plants on-line, but my recent experiences are leading me to only buy local. I saw that others had a positive experience and I'm glad. I wish I were one of them.

On Jun 13, 2012, American Meadows responded with:

"On Jun 13, 2012 2:07 PM, American Meadows responded with:

Dear Suepap1,

I dug into this situation and your account is in fact correct. There were items on your order that did not automatically shut-off when we ran out of inventory and and for some reason, our contact and refund systems broke down. Although I haven't been able to pin-point exactly where we went wrong, there's no excuse for not correcting this problem in a timely fashion.

I'm sorry for the inconvenience. I know that my business partner has reached out to you to apologize in person, but I wanted to also assure you that this was a very rare occurrence. We take great pride in making gardeners happy and I'm sorry that in your case, we failed.

Best wishes,
Ethan Platt, President, American Meadows


On Jun 13, 2012 2:39 PM, American Meadows added:

Suepap1, just a clarification - our records indicate that you placed your order on Sunday, May 27th (Memorial Day weekend) and not May 3rd, as you indicated. We reached out to you on the 31st (3 business days later) to discuss a course of action for the over sold items. (2 of the 12 items on your order sold out over Memorial Day weekend.)

Although there is still no excuse for your refund to have not been processed immediately, this issue was addressed in a significantly faster time period than you'd indicated in your post.

Best, Ethan "


Positive LD1234
(3 reviews)
On Jun 4, 2012, LD1234 Winsted, CT wrote:

I ordered the following for this spring and so far everything has taken and is growing rapidly. They sent free wildflower seeds which was a nice touch. I like their website and find it easy to navigate, their email notifications are accurate and prompt, their packaging was good. I have an order in for the fall and am looking forward to receiving it. Will order from them again for sure.

Dill Seeds (Packet)
Curled Parsley Seeds -
Sweet Basil Seeds - Packet (Packet)
Louisiana Iris Sinfonietta (Bag of 3)
Biltmore Estate Dahlia Jamaica (Bag of 2)

Negative paulng
(3 reviews)
On Jun 3, 2012, paulng Bothell, WA wrote:

Bought 3 Annabel Hydrangeas from the company. The plants were packed well. But within 2 weeks of planting, they are all brown. Not sure if they are truly dead yet. I used the recommended planting instructions that came with the plants.
I contacted the company a few days ago and I am not sure of getting an answer. I heard this method of posting a negative answer gets results.


On Jun 3, 2012, American Meadows responded with:

"On Jun 3, 2012 9:46 PM, American Meadows responded with:

Paulng, All of our products are guaranteed. I'm not sure how you contacted us, but during the spring busy season we strive to reply to all contacts within 2 business days.

As for your plants, please don't give up on them - keep watering them regularly - often plants will lose some foliage with the shock of transplanting. That said, we always stand behind our products and will be contacting you to discuss options.

Best,
American Meadows"


Positive Dave39
(5 reviews)
On Jun 3, 2012, Dave39 Mount Wolf, PA wrote:

Ordered clematis. Came as 2 for 1, so got 6 in total. Nicely packed in 3 inch pots well held within cardboard box designed for the pots and designed to hold in the planting soil. Very nice top growth and roots to the plants. Quick shipment. They tossed in some Siberian iris for a bonus.

Positive Lesa1961
(1 review)
On Jun 2, 2012, Lesa1961 Dunean, SC wrote:

I returned to their site to place a larger order yesterday, after receiving my first shipment. The plants were all very healthy and thriving. I loved the careful packaging, and was stunned at how quickly the order arrived.Their prices were very reasonable too. I'm impressed!

Positive Gootzie
(5 reviews)
On May 30, 2012, Gootzie Dover, TN wrote:

I received my first (small) order from American Meadows and the experience was not only a positive one, but all around, one of the best in years. Service was very, very fast and the plants arrived as fresh as if they were dug up this morning. I am very pleased. I not only recommend them, I will be ordering from them again.

Positive flowerscrazed
(4 reviews)
On May 19, 2012, flowerscrazed Davenport, IA wrote:

I put in an order for 2 peony roots (an itoh and a herbaceous variety ) in January. I received them in late April. They looked sort of small, but I soaked them in transplant solution for an hour and planted on the same day. After three weeks, they're about 8" tall now, and look really healthy. Overall, it was a good experience for me.

Negative catsumrs
(2 reviews)
On May 3, 2012, catsumrs Meriden, CT wrote:

Posted on April 29, 2012, updated May 3, 2012
I ordered from this company and when my hydrangeas arrived, I found them with brown leaves curled up and pretty much DOA.. I emailed the company twice and have yet to hear anything from them, surprised?, not really. I found them to be in great company with Cottage Farms. They promise you anything but if there is a problem, they don't care to know you.
A lesson well learned, buy local people.......


On May 3rd, 2012, catsumrs added the following:

Update: Heard from American Meadows, they did offer to refund or send 4 more plants. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I agreed to try again.. Shame on me this time... Wish I could show you what they sent. I even took pics this time so they could see the dead, brown sticks, with black curled leaves I opened..... They tried to tell me it was a natural thing for them to be this way,,,"they were waking up".. Then wished me "Happy Gardening".. Wish I could put pictures up.
Save your money people, buy local.......
On May 3, 2012, American Meadows responded with:

"On Apr 30, 2012 3:20 PM, American Meadows responded with:

Dear Catsumrs,

Thank you for your order with American Meadows.

I apologize that your Hydrangea arrived to you in poor condition. It looks as though one of our gardening team members has responded to your emails that you sent on the 28th. As I’m sure you can imagine, April is our busiest month of the year and we strive to return every message within 48 hours.

We have been serving gardeners for over 30 years and pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and 100% customer satisfaction. As stated in the email that was just sent over, we are more than happy to honor our guarantee with healthy replacements or a full refund. Please write back to us at your convenience and we can work together to make sure you have healthy Hydrangeas to plant!

Thank you for your business and feedback. We really appreciate it.

Mike Lizotte
Managing Partner - http://www.AmericanMeadows.com



On May 3, 2012 4:16 PM, American Meadows added:

catsumrs,

I'm sorry that you are still not happy with replacement plants that we sent you. I've reviewed the photos that you emailed and those plants appear to be vibrant and ready for transplanting. It's not easy sending live plants through the mail, but we've been doing it for many years and have an outstanding reputation. Here are two blog entries that address this concern:

http://blog.americanmeadows.com/2011/08/30/adopt-the-pace-of...

http://blog.americanmeadows.com/2011/03/24/how-our-plants-ar...

As always, we're happy to stand by our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.

Sincerely,
Ethan Platt
President, American Meadows"


Positive Terry
(122 reviews)
On Apr 25, 2012, Terry Murfreesboro, TN (Zone 7a) wrote:

I placed a sizable order for several perennial plants and dahlias earlier this year. They arrived exactly when I was told they were and the plants were in snug in their packages and in very good condition; most were just coming out of dormancy and leafing out. Thanks, American Meadows - great job!

Positive citizenjosh
(1 review)
On Apr 22, 2012, citizenjosh D.C.,
United States wrote:

Responsive chat service helped me choose the best seeds and quickly got me to the checkout. This non-gardener appreciates it!

Positive RebeccaLynn
(18 reviews)
On Apr 16, 2012, RebeccaLynn Winston Salem, NC (Zone 7a) wrote:

Today I planted 12 tuberous begonias from American Meadows. Three each of scarlet, pink, yellow and white. The tubers were very large, firm, and healthy. Just beginning to show signs of life as I tucked them into the sun-warmed potting soil this afternoon. I know to be patient with begonia tubers, but I look forward to seeing their beautiful blooms this summer in my large front porch flower pots.

Positive woodxmn
(2 reviews)
On Apr 7, 2012, woodxmn Slanesville, WV wrote:

Having never ordered from American Meadows, I decided to try their services by taking advantage of a no shipping charge promotion they were offering. After placing my small order on their website, I received a prompt acknowledgement including a delivery time. At the appropriate time I received a second email advising me of shipment. The package arrived containing full, healthy plants with well established root systems in excellent, easy to open, secured packaging. As an unexpected bonus, the package also included several packets of wildflower seeds and a discount coupon for a future purchase. No company could possibly have provided better service or product. I will order from them again.

Positive scleghorn
(5 reviews)
On Apr 4, 2012, scleghorn Copperas Cove, TX wrote:

I've ordered from this company several times over the years, and I'd give them four out of five stars.

For seeds, they are the first people I go to. Great prices, seriously awesome results. Hands down, the best.

For live plants, my experience was a little mixed. Their shipping is fast, but their packaging could be better. Their prices are great, but their quality control could use some work (got slugs one memorable year). Some of the best plants in my garden came from here, but I've had to request replacement plants more than once. On one hand, they have the nicest and most helpful customer service people I've ever talked to. On the other hand, I've had to call them a couple times.

All things considered, I'll keep buying from them. They stand behind their guarantee.

Positive GardeningFun45
(1 review)
On Mar 26, 2012, GardeningFun45 Hightsville, NC wrote:

I ordered quite a few fall bulbs from American Meadows back in November. With the warm weather we have been having, they are starting to grow and bloom and I could not be happier with the wonderful spring display! Their customer service department is extremely helpful and I will be ordering from them again!

Positive Daveone
(1 review)
On Nov 2, 2011, Daveone Remus, MI wrote:

I ordered Hydrangeas and they arrived packed better than any plant material I have received from other companies. It is truly wonderful to know that your company cares enough to to the job of packaging plants properly. Thanks

Positive dartstar1
(1 review)
On Aug 2, 2011, dartstar1 Woodcrest, CA wrote:

Posted on July 19, 2011, updated August 2, 2011
Very nice and helpful customer service.
I recieved my order promptly and they were very well packaged ( Peonies and Begonias) Out of the 15 bulbs recieved , 1 begonia did not have any eyes and 1 peony no eyes ( I don't know the name since it was in the cotton candy mix) BUT I have planted and waiting to see if anything sprouts up.
I do plan to order more items this fall


On August 2nd, 2011, dartstar1 added the following:

I had recieved the root/tubers on 7-9 and planted on 7-11
all the peonies have grown and on one there is even a BUD as of today 8/2 am very pleased with their product
Positive wenreyn
(1 review)
On Jul 21, 2011, wenreyn Brookville, PA wrote:

Purchased many plants, bare roots, and seeds. Wonderful customer service, plants packaged perfectly every time, beautiful results. In spring I planted coneflowers, rudbeckia, yarrow, lavender, Russian sage, catmint, and sedum. They were in 3 in pots. They are now all to my knees and filled with blooms. I will always buy from this company. Smaller plants than from the nursery centers- cheaper too- but always perform just as good if not better than nursery grown plants in gallon pots.

Positive twinmom12054
(1 review)
On Jul 11, 2011, twinmom12054 Delmar, NY wrote:

I ordered the Fall Wildflower and Spring Wildflower seeds for my new wildflower bed, and the results have been fantastic. I couldn't be happier. At my SO's house, fewer annuals appeared than he had expected from the Spring Mix he bought, and the Customer Service rep couldn't have been nicer or more helpful when I contacted them. They are sending a replacement pound of seeds, and I'm left with a very positive impression of this company. I will certainly order from them again.

Positive OceansofGreen
(2 reviews)
On Jul 5, 2011, OceansofGreen North Ogden, UT wrote:

This company is awesome! Many items that I've ordered through them immediately took to and thrived in our garden and what didn't, they either replaced or refunded promptly. I've e-mailed them questions which they thoughtfully and promptly answered. I will continue to buy from American Meadows with confidence.

Positive CTYankeegirl
(12 reviews)
On Jun 25, 2011, CTYankeegirl Mystic, CT wrote:

I can't speak for most of their items, but I bought several iris rhizomes from them and they are doing well. I placed two orders and both arrived just fine. The prices were excellent as well; the plants were on sale.

Positive sdube60
(9 reviews)
On Jun 20, 2011, sdube60 Charlton, MA wrote:

I ordered several bare-root astilbes, monkshood and lilies from American Meadows as a first time customer. The astilbes are growing well as are the monkshood. I have yet to plant the lily bulbs but all had new growth on arrival and are "thriving" in a shallow container of water anticipating planting. I was very pleased with the quality of the bare-root plants and the quick service.

Positive morgen
(8 reviews)
On Jun 14, 2011, morgen San Luis Obispo, CA wrote:

Posted on July 30, 2007, updated June 14, 2011
I ordered two bags of white glads, two bags of Biltmore Estate glads and 4 Akita dahlias.

All are up and doing well. I tracked my shipment all the way from VT to CA via UPS website.

All items were shipped the day after I ordered them. I can only say good things about American Meadows- + they gave me some bonus seed packets!


On October 6th, 2007, morgen added the following:

My 4 Akita dahlias are blooming and they are simply stunning! I never knew anything could be so beautiful.

I am hooked on dahlias now and can't wait to get some more in the ground.

100% of the glads are ready to start opening. I can't wait!
On June 14th, 2011, morgen added the following:

This year I ordered kniphofia, dahlias, crocosmia and gladioli. The 3 kniphofia looked a little puny and pale coming out of the plastic bags, but they have been in the ground now for about a month and are doing great! I just planted the crocosmia finally this weekend, so don't know-no prior experience with those. The dahlias and gladiola came up in record time! I have tried dahlias from Home Depot in the past with little or no luck but American Meadows dahlias just pop right up. I have very heavy clay soil and they have never come back the following spring, so this year I will pull them before the rains start in November because I think they have been rotting over the winter. The other thing I have found is that as soon as they start to break through the soil, the snails eat them up. This year I am using Deadline around each one and they seem to be doing great. Super happy with my purchases again this year. Thanks!
Positive purplekayak
(4 reviews)
On May 28, 2011, purplekayak Bemidji, MN wrote:

I have ordered frpm American Meadows for several years. I have always been happy with what I recieved .I mostly order their lillies & some perenials. Last fall I ordered some bearded iris. None of them survived the winter. I have been growing iris for a long time, so I don't think it was me or my beds. American Meadows was happy replace them. The oriental lillies I buy from the are of very high quality. I also orderd some columbine & foxglove. The live plants mad it to me happy & healthy.I will continue to order from American Meadows. They stand behind what they sell.

Positive kattrox
(20 reviews)
On May 13, 2011, kattrox Floyds Knobs, IN (Zone 6b) wrote:

Fantastic company for both bulbs and for seeds! I took advantage of the bulb sale recently and was amazed at how healthy and size wise the lily bulbs were. They are coming up nicely. The seeds I ordered were the midwest wildflower mix, all perennial mix and purple conflowers all 1/4 lb all seeds with no fillers! Also ordered hummingbird and butterfly mix, daisies and veggie seeds (for the fall season) as well. I planted the single flower species and flower mixes then came all the rain. I was skepical and had some wash into the grass. A few days later half of them had germinated (some of the seedlings are bunched up and I will have to divide sometime later) and now almost all have germinated even the coneflowers! I did have to cover the seeds with bridal illusion because I caught some sneaky birds eating them. For value and quality you can't beat American Meadows even scored free shipping for orders over $50.00 and used a coupon and saved more. Thanks guys!

Positive nitzi1944
(10 reviews)
On May 5, 2011, nitzi1944 Kings Park, NY (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on February 4, 2010, updated May 5, 2011
I ordered Amarylis bulbs fromm this company last week on clearance. They just arrived and I am so pleased. Well packed. They are huge! And, I got a coupon for 10% off a future order. I will use them again. Great value and great service!


On May 5th, 2011, nitzi1944 added the following:

I ordered some Mt. Dragon Biltmore Estate Tulips and Tet a Tet daffodils. They all came up but weren't as spectacular as those ordered from Brent and Becky or Colorblends. But, they came up and I enjoyed them.
Negative reeve1
(46 reviews)
On Apr 27, 2011, reeve1 Plano, TX (Zone 8b) wrote:

Posted on April 12, 2011, updated April 27, 2011
Unfortunately, my experience is beginning just as a carbon copy of that from "tucume66" below. Although the top of the box was also not labeled properly and the box was inverted during shipping, I feel that with proper packing the plants should withstand this and arrive in reasonably good condition. All of my Leucanthemum lost most to all of their soil and some were completely out of their containers and lying in the bottom of the box. They were all dry and shriveled and it is certain that 2 of them won't survive while the jury is still out on the others, despite my immediate emergency care. The fact that they were very small, 3-4 inch plants (bottom of roots to top) makes it more difficult for them to recover from such poor handling. How basic is it that plants be packaged so they don't lose their soil during shipping? This just amazes me. I also emailed the company and have yet to receive a response, which is usually not a good clue. A good company responds immediately to customers, even to problems. I also will have no problem reversing the credit card charges if they fail to make this right. Meanwhile, I suggest you avoid these people. There are too many others who offer better service, better plant stock, and most importantly, understand that a good packing system insures that their plants will get to you so that customers don't have to deal with things like this when trying to prepare for a nice garden year. Now I have a big hole in my gardening design to deal with while other plants are already here and planted and will surely have a head start... while I wait...


On April 27th, 2011, reeve1 added the following:

Thank you for the response Mike. Since you were kind enough to respond to each comment, I'll do the same.

As for the plants being outside of their containers, my particular package had none of these specially designed cardboard inserts used in the packing of any of the plants. These were left out completely. So, rather than look at the logistics of the placement or displacement of the cardboard inserts, I suggest that you do periodic checks on the person(s) packing the plants to insure whether these are being included at all.

I think whether the box is marked "this side up" or not was offered as an after thought in case you intended to continue shipping in the manner in which I received my plants. If the plants are going to continue to be packaged in a way that dirt falls out of them when the box is overturned, then it might be a good idea to mark the box so that it is not inverted and the dirt doesn't fall out. This is obviously a moot point if the first issue is resolved. The main point being here, I don't have this problem with other suppliers of seeing the dirt in the bottom of the box and the plants floating loose, all dried out when I open their boxes. Most people that use these cardboard inserts also include couple rubber bands to hold them in place. These were also not used in either shipment. Nonetheless, you said this was resolved. Hopefully, it is now. Because it appears to be a repeating complaint from other customers from years past, and mine was not the first complaint of this.

Next, when I was referring to plants being small, I wasn't speaking in general terms, but speaking in terms of plants of the same Genus, species and variant. These Leucanthemum Fiona Coghill plants that I received from you are approximately half (or less) of the size of oher Leucanthemum Fiona Coghill plants that I purchased from Wayside Gardens and another supplier this year and the year before, and were in the same price range ($6.50 or less). The other supplier's plants were well beyond the boundary of whether or not the plants would be capable of surviving shipment. You are right that these are tough plants. These plants are herbaceous and they take a while to show decline. They also take some time to grow and respond to care as well, so size makes a big difference on getting a head start for the season. It is clear to me that even before they were packed, the ones I first received from you were sent without leaves, they were sparse, they were not good specimens, and they were not previously well watered, if at all. This is obvious from inspecting the ones that did not loose their dirt when I received them. Of course, keeping the dirt in the container is a big help, but I believe that if your plants had been more mature, they would have likely survived this mishap. Either way, when a person makes a side by side comparison of the plants I received from you and the exact same plants I received from another supplier, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out where the best value lies. I tried to share this concept with you in my letter for your future benefit. Again, mine is not the first and only complaint of this.

Lastly, my first response to you was on the evening of the 10th, not the afternoon of the 11th. My email was sent to you on Sunday evening, as can be seen from the dating on the email. So, it would have been there first thing Monday morning. Not a big deal, but this follows the general lack of attention to detail that I experienced with my first order. It wasn't until I posted on Dave's that I got a response from you. I understand that you are busy, but it would be a good idea to have someone dedicated to issues and watching emails as well, especially in busy times. 3 days is not terrible for a response, but I feel like it might have been longer had I not posted a negative message on Dave's, which would have triggered an alert to you to respond rather than someone being more proactive.

The extras arrived without too much dirt out of them and the cardboard inserts were present and in place. I appreciate your sending these without reservation and as soon as you were able to respond. But, these plants were smaller than the ones sent before. These did have leaves on them, which appeared to make them look larger and they looked a bit healthier, although still babies. I also appreciate the effort you made to contact me at home and that you have made to try to make this right. But, the fact remains that I can get plants from other suppliers that are generally healthier, larger and better able to withstand travel and the elements without special initial care to insure their survival. Even after comparing those plants that I received the second time, after dealing with your customer service, at which time you could hand pick your best replacements, they just don't compare. If I use the first ones I received, the ones that did not lose their dirt, there is no comparison.

I thank you, but I believe I will be getting my plants elsewhere from here forward. Good luck to you and your company and may you take these complaints as constructive criticism. If you look at many of them, they are repeating, and not first time complaints.
On Apr 27, 2011, American Meadows responded with:

"On Apr 13, 2011 8:59 PM, American Meadows responded with:

Dear Mr. Lewis,

We’re sorry for your negative experience with our plug perennials. I wanted to personally address a few points in your email:

The status of your plants: As both you and tucume66 have unfortunately discovered, we had some acknowledged issues with a few of our plug perennial shipments. It was a problem on our packing line and not an issue with the packaging itself. The specially-designed tabs that hold the dirt in where coming loose in shipping. We fixed this problem shortly after your order shipped and have had no subsequent complaints. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and as always, stand behind everything we sell.

Marking boxes: Ahh, the age-old question, to mark ‘This Side Up’ or not? In the past we did this, but unfortunately, multiple studies have shown this to be counter-productive. From Popular Mechanics, Nov, ’10: ““One disheartening result was that our package received more abuse when marked "Fragile" or "This Side Up." The carriers flipped the package more, and it registered above-average acceleration spikes during trips for which we requested careful treatment.” You’re correct – when packaged properly, this doesn’t matter.

Plant Sizes: All of our products are different, so it’s not easy to generalize, but we ship plants that our experience has shown are at the optimal phase of growth to withstand transporting and transplanting. At the bottom of every page on our website is a link to our How Are Plants Are Shipped guide and the plants stage of growth is listed in the product details.

Email Response: I apologize that we did not respond to your email faster. Our records indicate that you emailed us on Monday afternoon and we replied on Wednesday afternoon. As I’m sure you can imagine, April is our busiest month of the year and we strive to return every message within 48 hours.

As you are aware, we promptly sent you replacements for the damaged plants and again, we’re sorry for the inconvenience.

Thank you for your business.

Mike Lizotte
Managing Partner - http://www.AmericanMeadows.com
"


Positive dirthound
(19 reviews)
On Apr 23, 2011, dirthound Cohocton, NY wrote:

Posted on May 24, 2009, updated April 23, 2011
Have been ordering seeds for about 6 years, always great product and service.Northeast mix produces wonderful field of color, beats mowing on difficult terrain.


On April 23rd, 2011, dirthound added the following:

Received another order of wildflower seeds. Always prompt
service, excellent seeds. Had problem with hollyhocks last year, received 1/4 lb free to replace,these are germinating great.They are unending excellent resourse for common wildflowers, and no fillers,just seed. Thanks AM
Negative tucume66
(1 review)
On Apr 23, 2011, tucume66 Kingman, AZ wrote:

Posted on April 15, 2011, updated April 23, 2011
Posted on April 10, 2011, updated April 15, 2011
Posted on April 8, 2011, updated April 10, 2011
I received two boxes from this company and they were not marked "this side UP" and were shipped on their sides. A lot of soil in the bottom of the box. I ordered Sedums and Asclepias. To be fair the bare root cuttings were fine but small for the price. The Asclepias were tiny and the soil for each of them was severely dried out, the root ball had loosened and the tiny plants were wilted. Even the sedums had lost too much water and much of the foliage was either wilted or broken. I planted everything within one hour of receipt and watered everything carefully twice a day for the first two days, but it made no difference. All of the Asclepias were toast. Everything above ground is dead. Some of the dragon's blood Sedum that I received were about two inches in length. Compare that to an entire flat that can be purchased from Home Depot for $12.00!

I emailed this company but so far have heard nothing back from them. Having spent $135.00 on all this C**P you can understand that I am very upset. In all fairness to the customer, the entire order needs to be replaced with larger, viable specimens or a total refund needs to be issued. I will be filing a complaint with consumer agencies about this company, as I am convinced that they are total RIP-OFFS!!!!!


On April 10th, 2011, tucume66 added the following:

American Meadows did contact me on Saturday via email and contrary to the comment they posted above, I was NOT offered a COMPLETE REFUND. Instead, their representative Hannah told me that the Asclepias would be replaced and I would be given a tracking number when they were sent. She also said photos would be great.

I stopped my projects, switched to my 90mm macro lens and did take photos of all the Asclepias as well as the Sedums that were along my back patio. I sent them with email message that not only were the Asclepias toast, but also the majority of the Sedums in back and front. I could not take photos of the plants in the front of the house as I had a covey of Quail sleeping under the bushes at that very moment.

They say that they have a "Happy Gardener Guarantee" well...let's see if they will honor that as I am extremely un-happy over this entire situation and now am escalating this to a demand for an entire refund to my credit card to be issued no later than April 13th. This gives them 3 working days from now to complete the refund process. I will be checking with my Credit Card company and if this transaction is not pending, I will at that time file a complaint of fraud against American Meadows. I will also be filing complaints with their local Better Business Bureau and other State and Federal Consumer Protection Agencies.
On April 15th, 2011, tucume66 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

I did reach Mike Lizotte by phone and he assured me that a full refund would be issued. This he did accomplish as promised and I have confirmed with my credit card company that all is in order and actually has been posted to my account already. I told Mike that I would remove the negative and replace with a NEUTRAL. Unfortunately as all of you know who have worked in any of the service industries (I used to work as a Cat Scan Technologist in a Hospital setting) once the customer has a bad experience, they are convinced that they will not use that service again (unless they are dying and have no further recourse) So it will be with my experience with American Meadows. I lost a full 75% of my order due to mis-handling by shipper and improper packaging as well as extremely small and vulnerable plants to begin with. I stated it before and I will say it again...you can buy FAR SUPERIOR garden specimens at your local Wal-Mart or Home Depot or other Gardening Centers, so why bother with a mail order company for anthing else other than bulbs?
On April 23rd, 2011, tucume66 changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

In the continuing saga...not only did I get the refund promised, but they also sent more Ascfepias to replace the ones that died. These also arrived wilted, dirt totally out of one of the containers with the root ball entirely exposed and dried beyond salvaging. However, I did plant everything within one hour of receipt of package and one week later, only one shows signs of having survived the transplant. I am thoroughly disgusted with this company. They don't have their problems solved in regards to packing items for long distance shipping. They need to get out of the mail order business anywhere outside of their own state. In short...THIS COMPANY IS NOT ONE YOU SHOULD EVER BUY LIVE PLANTS FROM UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES EVER!!!
On Apr 23, 2011, American Meadows responded with:

"On Apr 8, 2011 8:19 PM, American Meadows responded with:


Hello Tucume66,

I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment with your recent order you received from us. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction with all products and services. We’ve been working with gardeners all across the country for over 25 years. All our products come with our “Happy Gardener Guarantee” so if you’re not satisfied we’d be more than happy to send you a replacement order or refund your money in full. I’ll personally make sure a customer service representative contacts you immediately to resolve your problems.

Sincerely,

Mike Lizotte

Managing Partner – http://www.AmericanMeadows.com
“Where Confidence Grows!"


On Apr 10, 2011 10:06 PM, American Meadows added:

Hello Tucume66,

I will make sure that you are refunded for your entire purchase first thing Monday morning and I will personally call you to confirm and give you the refund transaction number.

As you can see from our 113 positive ratings to 13 negatives along with being selected as a “Top 5” Garden Watchdog, we take great pride in providing our customers with the best possible experience when shopping at American Meadows.

We’re certainly sorry we couldn’t live up to your expectations.

We wish you the best with all your future gardening endeavors!

Sincerely,

Mike Lizotte
Managing Partner – http://www.AmericanMeadows.com
"


Positive JAMIESMITH
(6 reviews)
On Apr 11, 2011, JAMIESMITH Decatur, MS (Zone 7b) wrote:

I ordered several varieties of lily bulbs as part of a pre-season special. I planted the bulbs a week ago and they are all growing "like weeds". I accidently deleted the e-mail I received with my invoice. A very nice girl sent it to me again within the hour. A pleasure to buy from.

Positive ksjamison
(7 reviews)
On Apr 7, 2011, ksjamison Wilmington, DE wrote:

Once again, American Meadows is a pleasure to do business with. Not only competitive prices but this company leads in outstanding customer service. Kudos!

Positive shstreet
(1 review)
On Mar 25, 2011, shstreet Greensboro, NC wrote:

I own a catering business & work form an antebellum home/banquet facility in NC. When I moved in to the facility, the flower beds were completely empty. I have purchased over $1000 worth of bulbs (tulips, daylillies, grape hyacinth, daffodils, etc.) from American Meadows over the last 3 years. I have had a WONDERFUL experience both with the company and the flowers. People continue to comment each season on the beauty of the flowers. Thank you, American Meadows, for making me look good!

Positive testher
(1 review)
On Mar 14, 2011, testher Hernando, MS (Zone 7b) wrote:

Ordered wild flower seeds and was amazed at how nice they look and how quick I received them.
Have already placed a second order for perrinials and bulbs.
Can't wait to start planting

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next »


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2016 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America