Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Eden Brothers Seed Company

Click here to return to Eden Brothers Seed Company's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
35 positives
4 neutrals
22 negatives


« Previous Page 1 | 2

Positive Karlorr
(1 review)
On Feb 6, 2012, Karlorr Phoenix, AZ wrote:

Much of what I learned from the customer service rep was new to me. I'll admit it - I'm a rookie. (but I'm learning quickly!) She took the time to carefully explain things in terms that I could grasp. I'm sure I wasn't a delight to deal with. I can't hear very well and I called back numerous times. I was extremely pleased with the customer service & the speed in which my order arrived. I'll let you know how good the firework show is when they bloom! Count me among the happy customers of Eden Brothers.

Positive DeepSouth1972
(1 review)
On Jan 14, 2012, DeepSouth1972 Dahlonega, GA wrote:

Nothing but good things to say about Eden Brothers. Great service and great results. Keep up the good work!

Neutral 4justice2
(1 review)
On Dec 29, 2011, 4justice2 Bullhead City, AZ (Zone 9b) wrote:

Posted on December 28, 2011, updated December 29, 2011
I received an email from Eden Brothers offering free shipping good for 24 hrs on any order no minimum. They also stated in the offer that it wasn't a gimmick. It was good on the 27th of Dec thru the 28th at noon. So on the 27th I went to their site and put together an order but when I went to check out it stated that the offer was expired. WHAT ? So I called customer service which was a joke. They directed me to send an email to customer service. Well, that was also a joke as 2 emails later and 2 days later I have yet to receive a reply. When a company will lie about special offers to consumers will they also lie about the quality of their products like "heirloom" ? You make the call. I for one will never order from this company and I will make sure I steer people away from them. I believe this company thinks it's a joke when they receive a customer complaint.

On December 29th, 2011, 4justice2 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Okay, finally received a reply from Eden Brothers from Laura in Cust Serv on the 29th. She apologised and said they had a glitch in their system and offered free shipping thru the 29th. This was the first time ordering from them so I am giving them the benefit of the doubt because those things happen but I am only changing my rating to Neutral because I am taking a wait and see attitude till I receive my order.
On Dec 29, 2011, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Dec 28, 2011 11:10 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Dear "4Justice2",
We apologize for the problem you encountered while trying to take advantage of our recent free shipping offer. Our system encountered a technical glitch which seems to have prevented our free shipping offer from working correctly on a small number of would-be customers like yourself.

This issue has been resolved and now the free shipping coupon is working properly. If you have sent an email to our customer service, you will receive an answer within 24 hours and be allowed to place an order with shipping free of charge as promised. Again, we apologize for the error.


Misty, Customer Service Specialist @ Eden Brothers

Positive steve_mass
(8 reviews)
On Dec 26, 2011, steve_mass Millbury, MA wrote:

Posted on October 6, 2011, updated December 26, 2011
I placed an order for 100 daffodil bulbs with this company last fall. They were shipped on time and arrived in good shape. I planted them and they emerged this spring looking good. Unfortunately, 50 of these bulbs turned out to be the wrong bulb. I emailed the company, sending them a picture of the bulbs that had emerged. They agreed that these were the incorrect bulbs and offered to either refund my money or replace the bulbs in the fall. I asked for them to replace the bulbs.

So in late Spring I removed the incorrect bulbs and replanted them elsewhere in my yard. As of October 6, I haven't heard from Eden Brothers about the reshipping of these bulbs. So I emailed them again. I'll let you know what happens.

I was annoyed to be sent the wrong bulbs in the first place as it has caused me a lot more work. But mistakes are made and thus far their customer service has been good.

On December 26th, 2011, steve_mass changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

I emailed the company on October 6th, as I wanted to be sure I wasn't forgotten. I received a reply from Laura asking that I be "patient" as this was the "height of the season" for them, and that they would contact me next Monday.

I waited two Mondays, then emailed Laura again, asking for the status of my replacement bulbs. I got another email response from Laura on the 19th of October, saying that they had been waiting for the bulbs to come in from their grower and that they would be sent out in the next available shipment.

Finally, I got a phone call from someone else in Customer Service asking me about my unfilled order. I explained my situation and she promised that the bulbs would be sent out right away and that they would include and additional 25 bulbs for my patience. Within two days the bulbs arrived in great condition, including 25 extra of the daffodils I had ordered and they went into the ground with plenty of time to spare before the ground froze.

Any company can make a mistake in an order, but Eden more than made good on this order.
On Dec 26, 2011, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Oct 10, 2011 10:36 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Thanks Steve. We apologize for the mistake, and we'll be sure to get you the proper bulbs. We appreciate your business.

-Don Logan, Eden Bros."

Positive veggielady999
(1 review)
On Nov 20, 2011, veggielady999 Fallbrook, CA wrote:

I have ordered vegetable seeds for my summer garden for 2 years now through Eden Brothers and have been happy with my results. Large selection to choose from, great germination rates which has resulted in a big, bountiful garden - so I couldnt be happier. I just ordered seeds for my fall/winter garden (I can garden year-round where I live) and received them within days of ordering. I've never planted a winter garden, so wish me luck, I cant wait! My experience with Eden Brothers has been very positive and I will continue to use them as my vegetable seed source.

Positive Scooty
(8 reviews)
On Nov 15, 2011, Scooty Peterborough
United States wrote:

I ordered 1/4 lbs each of two types of penstemon and seeded them in August.
The germination has been fantastic!

Positive Zinnia123
(1 review)
On Oct 24, 2011, Zinnia123 Athens, GA wrote:

Very happy with this company so far! Price has been right (free shipping was the cherry on the cake) and I just received the beautiful bulbs! Nice size and very healthy looking!! I just planted them and will write back in the spring to report on the results. But so far so good...

Negative bottlegreen
(5 reviews)
On Oct 14, 2011, bottlegreen Saint Paul, MN wrote:

If there were a "mixed" category, I'd have chosen that. The order I'd placed last May finally arrived (35 daffodils, 100 crocuses) and the bulbs all looked healthy and were a good size. The problem? I did not receive the 50 'Cream Beauty' I'd ordered, receiving instead 50 'Snow Bunting.' I was never contacted by the company to ask if I wanted a replacement or a refund.

On Oct 14, 2011, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Oct 24, 2011 2:07 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hi there,

We apologize for the mixup. Have you planted the bulbs that were incorrectly labeled? If not, please forward them back to us and we'll be happy to double your order. "

Positive DrShigo
(1 review)
On Oct 10, 2011, DrShigo Fall City, WA wrote:

I ordered a substantial quantity of both seeds and various bulbs. I received them promptly and they are absolutely the gems of my landscaping. Thank you!

Negative rubykate
(1 review)
On Sep 20, 2011, rubykate Richmond, VA wrote:

I called for clarification on an order I was submitting on line during regular office hours and no one has returned my call. This is not the reason for my negative review.
The customer service rep response to the unhappy wildflower seed customer (8/23/11) was enough to convince me NEVER to purchase anything from Eden Brothers. Regardless, of the fairness of the customer's criticism, the matter was handled by Eden Brothers in a rude and unprofessional manner. Attacking a customer personally has convinced me to take my business elsewhere and to steer my fellow gardeners away from Eden Brothers. I can only hope the company sees this review and seeks to rectify the damage done.

Negative bigskyseeker
(1 review)
On Aug 19, 2011, bigskyseeker Turlock, CA wrote:

I ordered well over $100 of wild flower seed mixture from Eden Brothers Seed Company in the summer of 2010. Come Fall 2010, I sowed them as directed in 3 out of the 4 locations that they were planted. The seeds were both annual and perennial mix and were planted in Montana, Ohio and Tennesee respectively. To date, August of 2011, little has sprouted or bloomed with exception to a few small blue flowers.

When bringing the situation and my concerns to Eden Brothers attention, they seemed baffled and I felt like they did not believe me, almost like I was making it up. They said they could not do anything about it money wise and offered me a gift card ( a small fraction of what I actually paid for the seed) toward product in their store. I asked them for seed replacement and was denied.

After this very negative experience, I will not do business with the company again. In my opinion, any company today which does not stand behind its product is living in the Dark Ages. Eden Brothers Seed Company's customer service in my opinion, is horrible if even existent. Other seed companies will now receive my business.....any recommendations?

On Aug 19, 2011, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Aug 23, 2011 12:16 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

As this "customer" states, he purchased a total of 3 pounds of seed from on July 23, 2010. It was shipped immediately. The order consisted of: 1 LB "Burst of Bloom" Wildflower Mix, 1 LB "North American Natives" Mix, and 1 LB "California Dreaming" Mix. This order totaled $109.00.

These are all wildflower seed mixes - and many, if not most - of the species are perennials, which any real gardener understands will not bloom until the following year (2012). As for the annuals, emails to our company (responded to in rapid fashion) and his own admission above, indicate he had some annual growth. It's unfortunate that this "customer" has not seen the growth he envisioned, but obviously he has seen some bloom as of August 2011, and will no doubt see much more in the ensuing months and years.

Eden Brothers maintains a loyal customer base of over 50,000+ satisfied seed customers that is growing rapidly. We are honest people, and we stand by our products and we treasure our true customers. "

Positive treehugger8619
(1 review)
On Jul 15, 2011, treehugger8619 Tustin, CA wrote:

I ordered Seeds and Bulbs from Eden Brothers. The seeds shipped the same day and the bulbs 2 days after I ordered. The packaging on the seeds was very appealing, and when they bloomed I was just thrilled! I got the All Annual Wildflowers, and they are so much better than the picture. I ordered Gladiolus Bulbs, the Border Mix and I am so very pleased! The Bulbs were large and in great condition upon arrival and again the bloom was so much better than I could have every expected. I will order many more times and I tell all my friends to try them out! WAY TO GO BROTHERS!

Positive purplekayak
(4 reviews)
On Mar 23, 2011, purplekayak Bemidji, MN wrote:

I am thinking of ordering some lilly bulbs from this company. I was confused because the address for Eden Brothers listed on Watch Dog is in Florida and the site that I found on Google is in Georgia. They have the same phone # , so they must be the same company. Their web site is great & rhe lady I talked to in customer service was helpfull, friendly & knowlegable. I think I may give them I try.

Neutral tervuren
(1 review)
On Feb 2, 2011, tervuren Jacksonville Beach, FL wrote:

Is Eden Brothers still operating?

I tried ordering online but could not complete the transaction as their d/b saw a conflict between paypal's zip code for me and the one I entered for shipping. There was no difference I could see. A phone call to customer service led to a voice mail box. My voice mail was not returned.

Neutral gardengirl827
(3 reviews)
On Nov 9, 2010, gardengirl827 Drayden, MD wrote:

I bought a new home and have been doing a lot of research for flowers and some seed to plant in my gardens. After reading the reviews on DG I chose three companies to order from based on what they offer and the reviews I found here on DG. I love Daves garden communities and all of the information! :-*
I ordered some seeds and some flower bulbs. The ordering process took a long time because I had a lot of questions but the lady I talked to in there customer service department was really helpful and friendly. I never received an email that they promised with my tracking number so I started getting nervous. I was going home after work and was planning on calling them back but when I pulled in my driveway there was a box next to my door.
Everything looked really nice but the bulbs were smaller then I thought they would be. I am sure they will grow but I am wondering if they will be as nice as some of the other bulbs I bought from other companies.
I will be buying from them again.

Negative sjweld
(1 review)
On Jun 15, 2010, sjweld Reedsburg, WI (Zone 4b) wrote:

This spring I ordered Sweet William, Dianthus and Marigold seeds from this company. I started a number of other seeds under the same conditions as I started these. With my other seeds I had very good germination rates. Well over 90% on each of them. With the seeds I got from Eden Brother's, I had VERY poor germination. I'd be lucky if it was 10%. I'm not at all happy with the seeds I got from them and only hope the bulbs I am suppose to be getting shipped in the fall are better than the seeds.

Positive NBT
(1 review)
On Apr 30, 2010, NBT Clearwater, FL wrote:

I must say that Eden Brothers has been an excellent company to deal with. I ordered some Canna bulbs last year, and understood that this was a spring shipment. I pretty much forgot about the order, and after the first of the year inquired by e-mail the status, and asked about a general time frame of when "spring shipment" was.
My e-mail was promptly answered, and answered appropriately.
On April 14th, I received a confirmation e-mail that my order had shipped, and a tracking number was provided. My canna bulbs arrived on time.
When I opened the box, I was amazed to see extremely well packaged bulbs, they were huge, moist, and had growth coming from every bulb. It looked like each bulb was hand picked and just pulled out of the best black, moist, dirt I have ever seen.
The next day my Dad and I planted the Canna bulbs ...and within 3 day's the shoots from the bulbs began to reveal themselves.
Not one bulb was "lost", every one is hardy, and growing like crazy.
The bulbs have been in 8 day's and every shoot is about 6 - 8" out of the ground.

If your looking for a great company to deal with, that provides quality plants...look no further than Eden Brothers.

Thank You Eden Brothers...for the GREAT customer service, and quality plants.
I can't wait to see the blooms from my Yellow King Humbert's and Ambassador (Black Knight) Canna's.



Positive diggingdaisy
(1 review)
On Apr 26, 2010, diggingdaisy Charlottesville, VA wrote:

I ordered seeds and bulbs. They arrived quickly, as ordered, and appear quite healthy. I will order from them again.

Positive DGRich53
(10 reviews)
On Apr 6, 2010, DGRich53 Janeville, WI wrote:

Eden Brothers is truly one of the internet garden's hidden gems. I ordered several flower seeds from them. They arrived fast and the price was about a 1/3 of that for one of the biggest sellers of seeds. I set up several trays and have over 95% success. Pretty darn good. My only issue would be that the seed package often contains little or no "basic" plant information. You have to go back to the website for the basic info. Something I hope they will fix in the future. Eden Brothers is now my 1st seed site when I'm looking for something.

Positive tempoper59
(4 reviews)
On Oct 8, 2009, tempoper59 Farmdale, OH wrote:

Very pleased with this company! I placed a few orders with them and received top notch tulip bulbs and daffodils. I would recommend them very highly! They also shipped in a timely manner which I appreciated.

Positive BarnBull
(1 review)
On Aug 13, 2009, BarnBull Milan, OH wrote:

From my experience dealing with this company, I was very happy. I purchased wild flower seeds and zinnias. There prices are great and the ship time was very fast. I definitely reccommend eden brothers and will order from them again.

« Previous Page 1 | 2

We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2015 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.

Hope for America