Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Eden Brothers Seed Company

Click here to return to Eden Brothers Seed Company's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
27 positives
4 neutrals
15 negatives


Negative BillGreenLawns
(1 review)
On Mar 4, 2014, BillGreenLawns Rodney Village, DE wrote:

Ordered 25 Iris rhizomes, Never received them. Eden Brothers stated they sent them and it's not their problem. No help in replacement. Spent 78.00 for these plants and I'm out 100% of that money and nothing to show for it. This company is not interested in you. Do not support them. Buy from a grower who will back their products. They are a "shipping" or "Online" grower and problems happen, and obviously they aren't willing to accept that fact. I spent time asking for their support, but they won't help me, and I suspect they won't help you either.

On Mar 4, 2014, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Mar 18, 2014 12:53 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hello Bill,
Your order was placed with us on October 7, 2013. It was shipped on October 11 and confirmed delivered by FedEx on October 12. You would have received a shipping notice from our company when the order left our warehouse that would have provided you with a tracking number and order details. Your next contact with our company came on March 3, 2014 via email, in which you stated that you never received the shipment. We are extremely sorry for this situation and the inconvenience. However, since your only contact to let us know of the issue was five months after the incident, there is unfortunately nothing we can do. If this contact had come back in October, we would have been able to investigate the situation and been able to work with you to find a solution. All of our items are clearly indicated on the website, shopping cart and email confirmations, as to which season you can expect them to ship in and all items on your order were for Fall Shipping."

Negative TheDahliaLady
(1 review)
On Sep 23, 2013, TheDahliaLady Ventura, CA (Zone 11) wrote:

Posted on July 20, 2013, updated September 23, 2013
I am a commercial dahlia grower in California. I have a lot of demand for the Cafe Au Lait dahlia. We supply many weddings as well as flower wholesalers all summer. I ordered 400 Cafe Au Lait from Eden Brothers and anticipated great sales as well as happy buyers. As the plants grew we also took cuttings to increase stock. A lot of cost goes into that process with labor, heating, water and lights. So far 150 of the puny pot roots have bloomed and they are not Cafe Au Lait. Worse yet they are White Perfection which is anything but perfect. The company said they would credit me as each wrong bloom appears but have not credited my cc. My account with them is "locked" so I guess no credit there. I not only do not have this variety to sell to wholesalers I have had to back out of all weddings this summer. Not only a crop loss, a credibility loss. Not happy.
Ann Dunstan
Love House Dahlias

On September 23rd, 2013, TheDahliaLady added the following:

After a terrible experience Eden Brother's did finally give me a full refund for the botched order. My business and credibility loss is huge.
Negative rodwoodard
(1 review)
On Jul 11, 2013, rodwoodard Cumming, GA wrote:

My issue was simple. I ordered Calla Lily bulbs and they sent gladiolus which were labeled as the lily bulbs.

I planted, mulched and watered the bulbs lovingly only to have them come up and not be the plant I wanted or that fits well where planted!!!!

They gave me a refund, but imagine if it had been you and you planted the bulbs and have to wait an entire year to replant before your vision can be realized.

Very disappointing.

On Jul 11, 2013, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Jul 31, 2013 2:48 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Mr. Woodard, we spoke with you regarding your order on July 5. At that time you expressed your concerns that an item you received had been mislabeled. We sell a Pastel Mix of both Calla Lilies (which you ordered) and Gladiolus (which you accidentally received). During that phone conversation, we requested a photo to confirm the mix up, but assured you that a full refund for the incorrect selection would be provided. We are sincerely sorry for the error but we did immediately offer a refund for the product received, with our apologies for the inconvenience. It was simply an honest mistake that could have happened to anyone, but is actually very rare for our company. A refund for the full amount of the selection was posted back to your credit card on July 11. We feel we have done all that we can to correct this issue for you."

Negative bjl110
(1 review)
On Jun 20, 2013, bjl110 Pleasant Grove, OH wrote:

I ordered both the Darwin Hybrid Tulip mix and the Electric Asiatic Lily mix from Eden Brothers Last year. When the flowers bloomed this year it was quite evident that they were not mixes and were just the bulbs that they needed to get rid of. Not that in the sense that the flowers weren't beautiful, they were, and the bulbs were quite nicely sized when they arrived. However, out of 50 Darwin hybrid bulbs 40 were the same two varieties, with the other ten being 8 of one variety and two singles. Not my idea of a mix. The "mix" of 10 lilies was comprised of one single kind. By definition, not a mix. I wrote poor reviews on the companies site and was offered 50% of my money back, which I consider very fair. They said in the email that they "couldn't guarantee any color scheme", which is understandable. However, this was never said on the site, wasn't so much about the scheme as the lack of a good mix, and in the case of the lilies I was just charged more for a "mix" than the all electric orange bulbs that I got. I really just wanted a sorry and some new bulbs, which is what I got. Awesome. I considered the matter closed, and *was* still going to do business with them, just being sure to avoid the mixes this time.


When on their site looking at some other bulbs (I plan to plant crocus all over my small front yard this Fall), I went to go see if anyone else had a similar experience, since all of the other reviews had been glowing. Well, I found out why they have such great reviews. Even though I checked to see if my negative reviews warning of their mixes were posted a week or so after I made them, and they were then, but they sure weren't there now! I can think of no other explanation than that they scrubbed the review after they reimbursed me. I'd have been happy to amend my review or something of the sort, saying that they handled the situation very fairly. However, to act like the mistake just didn't happen is not the way to handle it. It is misleading and just plain wrong. I'll use my gift certificates that I have, but don't see myself doing much business with them after that. Not cool Eden Brothers. Shame on you for scrubbing your site and giving consumers a distorted view of your business.

On Jun 20, 2013, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Jun 21, 2013 3:08 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Dear bjl110,

You are correct when you say the review you posted on our site has not yet been published. Our system allows us to delay posting so we can try to solve our customer’s problem in a satisfactory way, which, in your case, we did.
Once in a while, the bulbs in a bin are not mixed properly and a customer ends up with very little color variation, which is what happened to you. We offered 50% of your money back so you could, should you chose to, order different colors to add more variation next season. As you mentioned in this review, this was quite fair.
We therefore felt your “issue” was not an issue anymore and marked it as “resolved”, so it did not post for that reason only. Should the issue remain, please let us know and your review will automatically post in 48 to 72 hours. Thank you."

Negative Ignored
(1 review)
On May 15, 2013, Ignored Greensboro, GA wrote:

I ordered and paid for begonias on April 18th., from Eden Brothers in GA. After receiving no product and no shipping details from them, I contacted them by email, without response. I then called them and was told the begonias would now ship from NJ the following week. No begonias received even ten days after the latest promised ship date. I contacted them by email, again. No response. I called them during regular business hours, again, and had to leave a message. I then emailed them yet again asking them if they intended to honor my paid for order. If not, refund me my monies. No response. I emailed them once again and informed them that I would have to take action for fraud on their part. Still no response. This is definitely a supplier to be vary wary of doing business with. I will never ever order from them again, obviously, and I will pursue legal recovery of the monies paid. Arrogant disregard of the customer is never acceptable if a company wishes to stay in business on an honest basis.

Negative kimmac
(1 review)
On May 1, 2013, kimmac maywood
United States wrote:

Posted on May 1, 2013, updated May 1, 2013
I ordered bare root Phlox plants and they were tiny and more like "dead root" Phlox. No responses to my email or from the plants. Do not waste your money and time on these people!

On May 1st, 2013, kimmac added the following:

I have finally received an email and the company was very cooperative. I chose replacement plants and hopefully will have better luck this time around.
On May 1, 2013, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On May 2, 2013 10:06 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

We are sorry the Phlox roots you received did not grow well. As you know, roots are fragile and occasionally can get damaged in transit. A new bag of Phlox is on its way to you as we speak. We trust these new roots will do better and be to your satisfaction. We remain available should you have any question and hope we have resolved this claim appropriately."

Negative Kxmulli
(1 review)
On Apr 13, 2013, Kxmulli Los Angeles, CA wrote:

I took a chance and placed a first order for several items. Big mistake.
1- Seeds had no dates, no weight, no planting instructions.
2- peony roots were shipped poorly.
3-When I sent them pictures, they agreed the products were inferior. In writing.
4- they made re return process as difficult as possible.
5- they refused to refund shipping, even though they admitted they shipped inferior product.
6- they still haven't refunded my money.

Don't do business with Eden Bros!

On Apr 13, 2013, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On May 8, 2013 9:29 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Upon receiving customer’s photos, we did notice that the peonies did not have as many eyes as described on our site. We immediately offered to reship a new bag of peonies free of charge. Customer chose a refund instead which we provided in the form of a check as customer’s credit card was expired so the refund did indeed take a little longer to reach its recipient.
Last, we also reached out to the customer in order to find a satisfying solution to her complaints but have not heard back from her.
At this point, we believe we have done everything in our power to resolve this customer’s issues but have not been successful. At Eden Brothers, we strive to offer the best service and products at the lowest prices possible and are sorry this particular situation could not be resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Negative nicomyth
(3 reviews)
On Apr 10, 2013, nicomyth Toccoa, GA wrote:

Posted on August 18, 2012, updated April 10, 2013
Posted on July 10, 2012, updated August 18, 2012
I was not able to afford plants this year so I looked to order seeds. Eden Brothers had very good quality seed. I think I placed the order in the winter months. They were quick to send the seed, giving me more then enough time to plant. I live in Georgia and the heat can become intense early, making seedlings struggle to get established. I would say the viability of the seed I purchased was at least 90% germination. So often that is not the case from other vendors. It was obvious that the seed I received was fresh. I will use them again in the future.

On August 18th, 2012, nicomyth changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

I am not sure how I feel about this company now. I want to say that I am still happy with most of the seeds that I bought. (The orange bell peppers were wonderful) However I cannot recommend the cosmos "Bright Lights" seeds. I ordered a 1/4 lb and wish I had simply bought a packet. The flowers have never bloomed. I emailed Eden Brothers and the response was, as I understand it to be, there is no guarantee on seed. I have grown this variety before (from Burpee's catalog) and it has grown and bloomed. These grew into 4ft huge plants but never produced flowers. It is mid- August now. So I have to remove them. I don't think I will use this company next year.
On April 10th, 2013, nicomyth changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

It would seem that this company does not care about their customer after the sale. After reading some other negative reviews I must tell you that they are believable. I never did receive a good resolve on my issue with the Cosmo seeds. Eden Brothers sent me a standard email response of "Other customers have not complained of any problems with these seeds. . " Which I find slightly amusing since I found another comment to the same affect online regarding these same seeds. . . Hmmm. So I have decided not to order from them this year. Even though the germination of the seeds was great the customer service is non-existant.
Negative bmbranno
(1 review)
On Mar 10, 2013, bmbranno Avra Valley, AZ wrote:

I have given this company plenty of fair notice that I would post a negative email comment if they chose not to respond to two previous emails I have sent them in the past several weeks. They have yet to respond but were very willing to take my $115.90 when I ordered from them (February 5, 2013). My complaint is simple (beyond their very bad customer service when it comes to responding to complaints), they only gave me 5 Black Beauty zucchini seeds, 7 Crookneck Squash seeds, and a pathetic 9 Acorn Table Queen seeds. I simply asked them to be professional enough to respond to their emails in a timely matter (if at all), and to explain why I received so little of these seeds. I am constantly doing reviews as a professional online for, Yahoo, Hubpages, google +, etc. and to be honest, this company clearly does not care about anything beyond receiving payment for their product. Beyond that they cut the customer out of all contact. Poor customer service is every bit as detrimental to sales as no customer service, and so far Eden Brothers has indicated they really don't care what the public thinks when they failed to respond to the two previous emails I've sent them giving them more than enough time to remedy the problem. I would not recommend this company to anyone considering the vast number of other options available, and am surprised that Eden Brothers can stay in business with such terrible customer relations. It's situations such as this that damage the credentials for all online sales, which is a shame considering there are numerous other retailers online who offer superb service and respond readily to all email through their hotlines. I can't imagine them providing a rebuttal as they haven't replied at all so far. It'd be a shock if they did at this point. And to work things out? Really? Why should it take you as a liaison to work out something they could have provided all along? What's the point in that? All they had to do was simply respond. Instead they continue to send even more emails pushing their products. Why would I buy more from a company that cannot communicate with dissatisfied customers? And if they cannot handle the vast number of emails then they need to expand on their hires to cover that area as well, which I suggested in a previous email to them.

Negative pddrake
(1 review)
On Jan 28, 2013, pddrake Centerville, SC wrote:

Eden Brothers flat SUCKS! I asked a single question before purchasing and they were far too busy to answer. Ordered from Sustainable. WILL NEVER order from Eden. Caveat Emptor.

On Jan 28, 2013, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On May 8, 2013 9:33 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

We here at Eden Brothers sincerely value our customers and we do our best to respond to all emails and voicemails in a timely manner. Mr. PDDrake's email was sent on a Friday afternoon, during a very busy time of year here in our warehouse and we are not in the office during the weekends. He received a response shortly after with a detailed answer to his question. He was also thanked for his efforts to help improve our site by bringing our attention to an additional area of information to be included on the product listing.
We do regret that we are not able to answer emails immediately upon their receipt, but they will always be answered as quickly as possible. We also provide a phone number on our site for more immediate service.

Negative TrinityRanch
(1 review)
On Oct 25, 2012, TrinityRanch Macdoel, CA wrote:

The LOOP THE LOOP IRIS said #1 rhizome on Eden Brothers site.
Notice in their reply they refer to them as TULIPS>>
Below is the Answer to my E Mail:
We have not heard of any similar complaints on the quality of the Loop The Loop TULIP so I do believe that you were sent a product in good condition.

I was looking for more kinds of Kale and came across Eden Brothers and signed up for their Ads.
When I received one it had FREE shipping so I decided to try them. I ordered the kale and a few other things and then looked at the Iris and found Loop the Loop, they were a few $ cheaper than Schreiners Iris Gardens and came in a group of 5.
Each year I order a lot of Iris, If the name is a Schreiners Iris then I can usually count on it.
These IRIS were NOT #1 RIZOMES they were teeny tiny and sent in a plastic bag w/ no air in a sealed box. They were NOT worth planting before shipping and worse after being sent that way. Nothing on the box indicating live plants, so they were stuck in the mail box.

Sent: Friday, October 5, 2012 10:39 PM
Subject: Your Receipt Order Number: 78065 1 Bearded Iris - "Loop The Loop" - Bag of 5IRWH 101-3845 -qb5 $19.99
PLEASE PUT MY PHONE NUMBER ON PKG W/ A NOTE TO CALL, I live on a Ranch far from Post Office
The reason I stated in the E Mail that their Cust service was good is because I called to add more Iris to the order and they promptly called me back. I wasn't available and it shipped before I got back to them, Thankfully or I would have a lot more of these NO GOOD IRIS RIZOMES.
My E Mail to Eden Brothers
Your Customer service is good but that doesn't make up for such poor quality plants.

This Very small package has caused me GREAT inconvenience trying to locate it.
1st. the tracking didn't work.
2nd. It didn't state it was LIVE PLANTS so it was put in my mailbox.
Then after all the hassle I get it to find these SMALL half dead Iris in my mail box. The mail lady called me to say she had found them. They always call me if I have LIVE PLANTS.
Answer to my E Mail:
We have not heard of any similar complaints on the quality of the Loop The Loop TULIP so I do believe that you were sent a product in good condition.

Negative bottlegreen
(5 reviews)
On Oct 14, 2011, bottlegreen Saint Paul, MN wrote:

If there were a "mixed" category, I'd have chosen that. The order I'd placed last May finally arrived (35 daffodils, 100 crocuses) and the bulbs all looked healthy and were a good size. The problem? I did not receive the 50 'Cream Beauty' I'd ordered, receiving instead 50 'Snow Bunting.' I was never contacted by the company to ask if I wanted a replacement or a refund.

On Oct 14, 2011, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Oct 24, 2011 2:07 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hi there,

We apologize for the mixup. Have you planted the bulbs that were incorrectly labeled? If not, please forward them back to us and we'll be happy to double your order. "

Negative rubykate
(1 review)
On Sep 20, 2011, rubykate Richmond, VA wrote:

I called for clarification on an order I was submitting on line during regular office hours and no one has returned my call. This is not the reason for my negative review.
The customer service rep response to the unhappy wildflower seed customer (8/23/11) was enough to convince me NEVER to purchase anything from Eden Brothers. Regardless, of the fairness of the customer's criticism, the matter was handled by Eden Brothers in a rude and unprofessional manner. Attacking a customer personally has convinced me to take my business elsewhere and to steer my fellow gardeners away from Eden Brothers. I can only hope the company sees this review and seeks to rectify the damage done.

Negative bigskyseeker
(1 review)
On Aug 19, 2011, bigskyseeker Turlock, CA wrote:

I ordered well over $100 of wild flower seed mixture from Eden Brothers Seed Company in the summer of 2010. Come Fall 2010, I sowed them as directed in 3 out of the 4 locations that they were planted. The seeds were both annual and perennial mix and were planted in Montana, Ohio and Tennesee respectively. To date, August of 2011, little has sprouted or bloomed with exception to a few small blue flowers.

When bringing the situation and my concerns to Eden Brothers attention, they seemed baffled and I felt like they did not believe me, almost like I was making it up. They said they could not do anything about it money wise and offered me a gift card ( a small fraction of what I actually paid for the seed) toward product in their store. I asked them for seed replacement and was denied.

After this very negative experience, I will not do business with the company again. In my opinion, any company today which does not stand behind its product is living in the Dark Ages. Eden Brothers Seed Company's customer service in my opinion, is horrible if even existent. Other seed companies will now receive my business.....any recommendations?

On Aug 19, 2011, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Aug 23, 2011 12:16 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

As this "customer" states, he purchased a total of 3 pounds of seed from on July 23, 2010. It was shipped immediately. The order consisted of: 1 LB "Burst of Bloom" Wildflower Mix, 1 LB "North American Natives" Mix, and 1 LB "California Dreaming" Mix. This order totaled $109.00.

These are all wildflower seed mixes - and many, if not most - of the species are perennials, which any real gardener understands will not bloom until the following year (2012). As for the annuals, emails to our company (responded to in rapid fashion) and his own admission above, indicate he had some annual growth. It's unfortunate that this "customer" has not seen the growth he envisioned, but obviously he has seen some bloom as of August 2011, and will no doubt see much more in the ensuing months and years.

Eden Brothers maintains a loyal customer base of over 50,000+ satisfied seed customers that is growing rapidly. We are honest people, and we stand by our products and we treasure our true customers. "

Negative sjweld
(1 review)
On Jun 15, 2010, sjweld Reedsburg, WI (Zone 4b) wrote:

This spring I ordered Sweet William, Dianthus and Marigold seeds from this company. I started a number of other seeds under the same conditions as I started these. With my other seeds I had very good germination rates. Well over 90% on each of them. With the seeds I got from Eden Brother's, I had VERY poor germination. I'd be lucky if it was 10%. I'm not at all happy with the seeds I got from them and only hope the bulbs I am suppose to be getting shipped in the fall are better than the seeds.

We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.

Hope for America