Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Comments regarding St. Clare Heirloom Seeds

Click here to return to St. Clare Heirloom Seeds's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
113 positives
1 neutral
1 negative

Comments:

Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive jmc1987
(2 reviews)
On Aug 10, 2014, jmc1987 Cascade, VA (Zone 7a) wrote:

Quite a wonderful seed company! I purchased beet and radish seed from them and it all arrived quite quickly, with informative papers to help you along with growing what you purchased. I even received a little bonus packet of seed and sample pack of earthworm castings! Will definitely buy from them again!

Positive JanetLNC
(2 reviews)
On Jun 21, 2014, JanetLNC Charlotte, NC wrote:

Very happy with my order, will definitely be ordering from them again in the future.

Positive BoPo
(2 reviews)
On Apr 28, 2014, BoPo Milwaukee, WI (Zone 5b) wrote:

I purchased some seeds locally and then I felt guilty for purchasing GMO seeds, so I returned them and did a google search for local companies who sell non-GMO seeds.

I decided to place an order with St. Clare for various seeds and WOW, my order came speedy fast. I couldn't be happier with my first experience with St. Clare and I will definitely be a returning customer. I also received a few "freebies" with my order, and I'm very happy.

Thank you St. Clare for providing us with great customer service and NON GMO seeds!

Highly recommend.

Positive cindyb7272
(1 review)
On Apr 7, 2014, cindyb7272 Taylorsville, NC wrote:

as a new gardener I need lots of information. They send a newsletter with their shipment and I enjoyed that very much! The seeds look good and are well packaged. They are not planted but I'm excited!

Positive larrn
(1 review)
On Apr 2, 2014, larrn Eagle River, WI wrote:

I ordered seeds by mail and received them in 3 days. I was impressed by the prompt service and I'm excited to see how the seeds do! I also received a couple "freebies" with my order which is always fun. Will most likely be ordering seeds from this company again as I have started ordering heirloom and/or open-pollinated seeds and I feel this company's values mirror my own.

Positive jjbergmann
(1 review)
On Mar 2, 2014, jjbergmann Gillett, WI wrote:

I just sent in my third order! That says a lot, doesn't it?
I love the abundance of great info about planting and what to expect from the seed I order. I'm very happy with the results I've had and look forward to another great year of gardening. Highly recommended product and service!

Positive ole_sow_n_sew
(1 review)
On Feb 27, 2014, ole_sow_n_sew Rushville, IN wrote:

I was pleased with how quickly St. Clare Heirloom Seeds shipped my seed order. They offer a lot of seed items that I use everyday and their prices are very reasonable. I will be ordering from them again. I originally found them when I was searching for planting information.

Positive Pussywillowpres
(2 reviews)
On Feb 6, 2014, Pussywillowpres Withee, WI wrote:

John & Sarah treated me like a friend. In placing an order for several families (to share shipping costs), I realized after the fact that I'd missed a list. I emailed to ask if I could add the extra seeds, and they very graciously said I could either place a second order & they'd refund the second shipping charge (sending all the seeds together), or I could send the list of seeds I'd missed & they'd redo the order for me. They even offered to separate out the seeds from the different orders in the packaging! I placed a second order (to spare them the trouble), and they did refund the extra shipping charge on the credit card. The seeds arrived quickly, in good condition, and in generous amounts (I'm sharing the extras with other gardening friends). I loved doing business with them!

Positive Bananatree123
(1 review)
On Jan 29, 2014, Bananatree123 Minneapolis, MN wrote:

I have purchased seeds from them for several years. Prompt and great service. Wonderful seeds that have resulted in a great harvest.

Positive vetrap
(3 reviews)
On Jan 24, 2014, vetrap Penhook, VA wrote:

Posted on October 27, 2012, updated January 24, 2014
Love the selection, immediate service and commitment to ideals that reflect my own- please keep up the good work and may God Bless


On January 24th, 2014, vetrap added the following:

Only issue last year was ambiguity with Red Brandywine seeds. Last year's offering were Potato leaf variety. Glad to see they addressed the issue and this year they offer Landis regular leaf RB. Received this years order within a week. Pleasure dealing with John and Sarah.
Positive merrytyne
(1 review)
On Jan 14, 2014, merrytyne Bloomfield, PA wrote:

I ordered my 2014 vegetable garden seeds from St. Claire's after seeing all of the positive reviews here on GardenWatchdog. I was not disappointed!! My seeds were shipped within a day and I received everything that had been ordered, they even included some free broccoli! There was also a handwritten thank you note from John, as well as some helpful materials about gardening in general. I loved that I was able to order from a small family business and that everything was heirloom and non treated/GMO. I look forward to ordering from them again and would highly recommend them.

Positive gardenlover2014
(1 review)
On Jan 2, 2014, gardenlover2014 LaSalle, IL wrote:

I was very impressed by the website. Ordered a number of seeds and received them and 1 free packet within a couple of days. Very impressed can not wait to plant the seeds. Already have told others and they are going to order as well. Will definetely order from again.

Positive clynnlei
(1 review)
On Jan 2, 2014, clynnlei Milwaukee, WI wrote:

Found this company while searching for GMO free seeds. Placed my order and received the seeds in two days!

Positive Timbob93
(1 review)
On Dec 6, 2013, Timbob93 Menominee, MI (Zone 5a) wrote:

I started buying from St. Clare Seeds last growing season and just completed my order for the 2014 growing season. This company is fantastic with selection as well as their service. The particular thing I like the most is they are about 40 miles or so from my front door and I didn't even know that. This makes the seed more adaptable for my garden!
This is a good, positive Company that I will support!
God Bless
Merry Christmas
and a New Year wish for a great growing season to all!

Positive TJHarnish
(1 review)
On Aug 21, 2013, TJHarnish Round Rock, TX wrote:

I had a really good experience with this company! The ordering process was simple and payment method secure. The owners were polite, knowledable and quick in responding to my questions and inquiries. My seeds came quickly and I cannot wait to plant my fall garden. I really felt like I was dealing with my "friendly local neighborhood business". Thank you so much J & S. I will definately be ordering from you again. I will give you highest recommendations to my family, co-workers, friends and fellow gardeners :-)

Positive SweeChee
(1 review)
On Jun 1, 2013, SweeChee Columbiaville, MI wrote:

I love the resealable bags the seeds come in! Everything I've planted has come up wonderfully, except some bush beans and they're sending me a replacement pack from a new lot of seeds! They were very quick to respond when I asked them about my beans. I've just placed my third order with them. Although they're a little pricey, you get what you pay for, including great customer service, St. Clare Heirloom will be my go to for all my seeds from now on!

Positive txdragonman
(1 review)
On May 1, 2013, txdragonman San Antonio, TX wrote:

seeds came quickly, look to be in fine health. liked the extra step of the sealed protective bag inside the seed envelope. two thumbs up! will, and have recommended you on to other local growers looking for heirloom corn

Positive jmcowens
(1 review)
On Apr 30, 2013, jmcowens Novelty, OH wrote:

I received my order promptly and got great results from the product. Will definitely be ordering from this company again.

Positive sparkyjohnrg
(1 review)
On Apr 5, 2013, sparkyjohnrg Thiensville, WI wrote:

I won't say that they ship fast, But I'm not sure I closed my order page window before my seeds arrived. I only ordered 3 envelopes of tomato seeds, BUT, when I opened the package, there were 4 envelopes. I thought:"Great, another screw-up!" I checked the envelopes, and everything I ordered was there, PLUS an envelope marked "FREE PACK". They included a pack of "Florida Basket" (a new product) for me to try. I don't believe I have ever been treated this well by a mail order company!
I will order from them again, and spread the word to my friends.

Positive ang22181
(1 review)
On Mar 29, 2013, ang22181 Highland, MI wrote:

We just received our seeds for this year's garden! We've been ordering from St. Clare Seeds for just a couple years now and have had great success with growing and seed saving. We appreciate how quickly they fill and ship our orders. We decided to expand our garden this year and are excited for the season to begin!

Positive GimliFan
(1 review)
On Mar 27, 2013, GimliFan zone 5, PA (Zone 5a) wrote:

All I can say is: Wow! Been ordering online for a while and was immediately refreshed (spoiled lol) by this company's response to my order: Confirmation email(s); Super reasonable shipping cost - received my order quickly and well packed; I have already made a second order (I received a discount coupon with first order then forgot about it and emailed them - the response was respectful, considerate and said it will be applied!) I like the site showing how many seeds are left. I am still collecting seed, but can say simply scroll down to other comments ref the high germination rate. All this for not large $$$ orders - I heart this company and hope it prospers! I really appreciate seeing JMJ to!

Positive troubaduoDOTcom
(1 review)
On Mar 21, 2013, troubaduoDOTcom Benton, AR wrote:

Overall, this in our family's opinion is the best and most honest seed company we've dealt with. We're in zone 7 and farm all throughout the year, probably doing business with about 10 seed companies this past year alone to get a variety, and came across St. Clare just last year, which has now become our go-to-seed company. My family has been gardening for years and years. I'm not saying that St. Clare is the cheapest seed company out there because they are not, just the best company in our opinion. I can't ever see getting any old seeds (or seeds that were harvested too early) that sprout poorly from this company. For example, a very reputable company with excellent marketing (and I don't like naming names with bad reviews so I won't) has sent seeds we've purchased, that take a very long time to mature on the vine in the fruit properly, and they don't sprout well. If you've ever read an article on how hard it is to sprout pepper and eggplant seeds and how their germination rate is low, that's not true... it's probably just the fact that someone didn't get seed from a 110 day pepper that was ready for seed harvesting, or the company old seed. We sprout and save seeds, and have no trouble using heating pads and getting soils at the right temperature and dampness with the knowledge of farming we have. So when we get seed from other companies that doesn't match up to St. Clare, we really notice the difference. Over 95% of their seed seems to sprout when done correctly and I don't know if there is another company that is as HONEST as St. Clare. (Sprouted St. Clare Subright Bells, Orange King Bells and Purple Beauty Bells with top notch success rates this late winter indoors). Even with specific questions, they'll always get back to us eventually with an in depth response & educational answer. Also, might I add they are super speedy always, ALWAYS, on getting our orders processed and shipped to us. And a lot of the time they even have thrown in free seed... :), along with a 10% discount coupon code for future orders. Not the biggest company, but the best and a nice selection of rare non-hybrid seeds in our opinion. There are a few other great companies out there, but St. Clare is our favorite because of their HIGH QUALITY of seed, their HONESTY and their SPEEDY PROCESSING which is second place to none. And when you're looking for organically grown non-GMO seed, you would like to order from an HONEST company. Shalom.

Positive loveyah
(1 review)
On Mar 20, 2013, loveyah wrote:

i can not say enough good things about this great heirloom seed company. this is my second year ordering from them. fast shipping, good prices, low shipping cost, excellent seeds that grew beautiful plants. a nice informative news letter that came with the seeds. their prices are as cheap as a wal-mart. i tell my family and friends about them. you can see the care that goes into your order. they give coupons to save on the next order with no expiration date and they gave me a free pack of seeds. i love them!!!

Positive mhaseltine
(1 review)
On Mar 17, 2013, mhaseltine Buffalo, NY wrote:

We love St. Clare Seeds and have been using them as our source for seeds for three years now. Their seeds are non-GMO, heirloom, and untreated! Not only that, but they are less expensive than any others we have found. They ship immediately, often throw in a few packs of free seeds, and I love the quotes and messages on their site. We are learning more each year in our garden and have been so happy with the seeds from St. Clare's. I love that we are supporting a small business. I've recommended them to many friends as well as on my blog and hope that they stay around for a long long time!

Negative olga1990
(2 reviews)
On Mar 5, 2013, olga1990 Englewood Cliffs, NJ wrote:

Did not have much success with their seeds ( placed $55 order last year).
Asked for some replacements.
They sent $ 10 refund instead.
Not the best experience.


On Mar 5, 2013, St. Clare Heirloom Seeds responded with:

"On Mar 5, 2013 10:34 PM, St. Clare Heirloom Seeds responded with:

Dear Olga,

We do thank you for your input, and we are sorry for your disappointment. We appreciate the opportunity to share those reading here how we have dealt with a customer's complaints. We do feel that we offered a fair resolution, in light of our return policy (http://www.stclareseeds.com/contactus.html , scroll down to view policy). You state that you asked for replacements, and while you did, you actually said in your original email, "Please sent a replacement for next season or a refund." As we do not explicitly promise either replacements or refunds, due to the varying nature of gardening(climate, weather that particular season, customer ability variances, etc.), we felt that the compensation was fair.

As we stated to the customer, most of the varieties she ordered are very popular varieties, we sell many, many packets for these particular varieties, and had no other complaints last year on these varieties, rather, we had numerous compliments on their high germination rates. We also have grown a number of them in our own garden, and had great germination rates. The few more obscure varieties that she ordered are well known for being more difficult to germinate, so we feel the results are typical to seeds of those varieties from any company. Nevertheless, we still sent a partial refund. When we have a customer writing tell us even 3-5 seed packets didnít grow well, we have no problem replacing or refunding, but in this case the customer was asking for refund or replacement on nearly the whole order, which we felt was not truly just, considering all the above mentioned factors.

Of note in this interaction is the fact that this customer just wrote to us this last week and stated that we never gave her the refund, but admits here that we did. We are glad to hear that she found that we did indeed send her the refund back in November when she wrote to us with her original request.

Olga never wrote us with a reply when we replied to her complaint back in November, never giving us any fair chance to make it further right, not telling us she was still dissatisfied. Then last week, months later she writes and tells us she checked her account, and she never got her refund, and that she wanted replacement seeds. If she had written saying she felt it was an unfair or unsatisfactory compensation, we would have willingly worked with her, but we had the sense from her emails, what she said, and her timing of writing to us(as she was getting ready to order more seeds) that this customer was not dealing fairly or in an upright way with us.

Again we are sorry, Olga, that you are not satisfied, as we truly do strive to give a positive experience to our customers when dealing with our company.

To our other valued customers and readers here at Dave's Garden, we ask that you look upon the much more numerous positive ratings as the true reflection of how we do business!

May God Bless You,

John and Sarah"


Positive GodGave7
(1 review)
On Feb 21, 2013, GodGave7 Fort Atkinson, WI wrote:

When I discovered that there was a seed supplier right here in my home state that specialized in heirloom and non-GMO seeds, I knew I had to give them a try.
Well, my large order of seeds has arrived, and I am happy to say that I am not only pleased, but surprisingly impressed. Not only was shipping very low cost, but it was also very prompt. The seeds were packed beautifully and carefully, and a free packet of seeds was also enclosed. The invoice was personally signed, which was a nice touch.
The website is very pretty, easy to navigate, and the ordering and checkout very user-friendly. All the varieties of seeds I was looking for were available and very reasonably priced compared to other sources. I truly could not be happier with this company, and plan to order from them every year.

Positive yobretrac
(1 review)
On Feb 3, 2013, yobretrac Mason, TN wrote:

Almost everything I've purchased over the last 15 years has been from the internet. St Clare seeds is only the second company I've bothered to write a positive review for. I have given many places negative reviews because it is much easier to take the time to do so when your mad about a lousy product or service. I don't bother doing a review for a company that sends me the product I ordered in a reasonable time because that is what I expected when I ordered it. Only if a company goes above and beyond my expectations would I bother to recommend them. St Clare seeds is that company. I keep an emergency heirloom seed storage just in case and since no seeds will store forever, I plant the seeds I've had stored in the freezer after several years and reorder new ones. I consistently get near 100% germination on my stored seeds which led me to start planting 1 seed per container instead of the 2 to 3 seeds needed from other companies. Great product! I have received every order within three days and most within two. Great service! They even throw in a couple freebies with the order. If you want a great product and great service, you can not go wrong with this company.

Positive SCPhoto
(1 review)
On Jan 7, 2013, SCPhoto Dallas, TX wrote:

I found St.Clare Seeds while doing a search for non GMO seeds. I love how fast my order got here (TX), in just a couple days! And they sent a free packet of seeds! Just an added bonus that they are located in Wis., the state I'm from!

Thanks St. Clare Seeds. Hope to order from you every year!

Positive ConGar
(13 reviews)
On Jan 2, 2013, ConGar wrote:

Posted on December 29, 2012, updated January 3, 2013
So, I was planning to order about thirty dollars worth of seeds, because I like to save my own seeds from year to year, BUT last season was a bad season especially for my peppers and tomatoes and there wasn't anything to save at the end of the season. So, I needed to find a company that could sell me some seeds for this season.

Obviously since I like to save seeds from year to year I need heirlooms (I will plant a certain amount of hybrids every year, but mostly heirlooms are where it's at for me) and through Dave's Garden I found St. Clare Heirloom Seeds - they had what I wanted, so I placed many items in my cart.

Good so far, right. However, when I was asked to input my information to place my order I was warned that the certificate for http://www.stclareseeds.com was expired and that I should leave the website.

So now I need to find another company to order my seeds from, but I thought it might be helpful to drop a message to St. Clare Heirloom Seeds letting them know about this issue if they don't all ready.


On January 2nd, 2013, ConGar changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

So, I ended up going ahead with my order from this company (after they fixed the issue, obviously), because the other night it was late and while I did look for another company I was tired (sleepy) and decided to just wait until the next day.

By the next day St. Clare Heirloom Seeds had fixed their website issue, and since they'd responded to the problem quickly (and my order was still in the shopping cart) plus they offered me a nice (and unexpected) discount I went ahead and placed my order with them.
(In addition to adding a few more packets to my order.)

And I got my seeds yesterday, and I noticed they included a free pack of seeds in addition to all of the above, but I had to work so I wasn't able to update this entry until today.

Obviously I cannot comment on seed germination yet, but decided if I waited for that I might forget to come back and update - obviously if germination is off I'll be back, but most of my order was tom seeds and it's rare for me to have a problem with tom seed germination.
On Jan 2, 2013, St. Clare Heirloom Seeds responded with:

"On Dec 28, 2012 11:33 PM, St. Clare Heirloom Seeds responded with:

Dear Customer,

We thank you for the review, and concern for our customers. We are actually at this very moment working on fixing this. We just arrived home not 2 hours ago from our family's Christmas Trip to visit extended family out-of-state, to find an e-mail notifying us of this issue with the Security Certificate. It was supposed to have been renewed, but somehow got missed so we are in contact with our webhost to fix this ASAP. We should have this fixed by the morning, as our webhost is very good at getting back to us quickly on things, and we plan on staying at it tonight until this is resolved. Thank you once again for your concern! Many blessings in the New Year!


On Dec 29, 2012 8:56 AM, St. Clare Heirloom Seeds added:

Just to update this matter for all our customers, our Security Certificate is once again valid and updated! If you wish to verify this during the ordering process, in secure areas (i.e. pages beginning with Https://, etc., basically any pages once you click "Checkout"), you can click on the little lock icon/image in the browser's address bar, and you will be given the verification information for our Security Certificate and its validity. Thank you , ConGra, once gain for sharing your concern for our valued customers! Happy Gardening to all!"


Positive heirloommama
(1 review)
On Dec 15, 2012, heirloommama Alma, NE wrote:

Posted on June 11, 2012, updated December 15, 2012
Greatly pleased with with our order of Japanese Hulless Popcorn which was difficult to find! John and Sara sent a free extra package of the popcorn, something useful which we were thrilled to get! The order came quickly with personal thank you note. Reasonably priced. Seed germination was excellent! We will be back to try more next year!


On December 15th, 2012, heirloommama added the following:

Our family and friends continue to rave about the flavor and lack of hulls in this popcorn since harvesting it last fall. We highly recommend the Japanese Hulless Popcorn which is the gourmet treat it is represented as!
Positive ldabdo77
(1 review)
On Dec 7, 2012, ldabdo77 Miami, FL wrote:

How wonderful to have found them on the web, I have no words to describe how pleased I am with you, good delivery, good products,I will recommend you to my neighbors and friends, once more thanks

Positive jerryaustin1
(1 review)
On Nov 12, 2012, jerryaustin1 Phoenix, AZ wrote:

Dear folks at St. Clair Heirloom Seeds,

I could not help but write you about my recent order. I am very pleased with my recent order, everything I requested was shipped well, and arrived in record time. I am amazed not only with your service but also with the quality of your products. I can't believe it arrived in two days.

It is rare these days to receive such a level of service from any company, even a small family business. I will be telling everyone I know about your great company.

Sincerely,
Jerry Austin
3001 W Libby St.
Phoenix, AZ 85053

Positive JVanus
(1 review)
On Oct 7, 2012, JVanus Scottsboro, AL wrote:

My order arrived quickly and was complete. All packets are well labeled. And I received an extra, free packet of seeds! Their web site is simple to use and full of good information. My impression is that this business is owned by competent and caring people. I plan to continue buying seeds as my garden grows in size.

Positive cherry_bloss
(2 reviews)
On Jun 27, 2012, cherry_bloss Dresden, OH wrote:

AMDG+
This is a great company. Order was here in two days! Just as with a previous order, they included an extra, free packet of seeds, along with a discount coupon and even helpful information on seed life, storage, and planting. Such considerate folks--super customer service.

Positive trackinsand
(43 reviews)
On Jun 4, 2012, trackinsand mid central, FL (Zone 9a) wrote:

stumbled onto this website through GW, looking for vegetable seeds.
i placed an order last week and they arrived today. i love the extra tips and information they included, as well as the free packet of seed.
i am a first time vegetable gardener and most of these seeds won't even be planted until fall and then some the following spring. i read on the website how to store the seeds until planting.
i wanted seed ahead of time to get me spurred into action with the new garden section so i'm very excited now.
it will be my own fault if my germination rate isn't great but at least i have a start!
they seem like really, really nice people and i already love doing business with them.
thank you!!!

Positive redmite21
(4 reviews)
On May 23, 2012, redmite21 Webster, NY wrote:

Nicely packed packages of seeds. Their website provided good information on the seeds and how to plant the seeds. They also provided info on how to harvest seeds from the plants. I'm trying to patiently wait for the seeds to germinate and look foward to the beans, peas and lettuce I planted. I look forward to increasing my vegetable plantings next year with seeds from St. Claire. And-forgot to mention-good cost for the seeds, great shipping cost and fast shipment.

Positive crafty_cristy
(1 review)
On May 10, 2012, crafty_cristy Saraland, AL wrote:

I placed two orders with this company. They sent the seeds very quickly. Though I haven't planted all the seeds, the ones I have planted germinated quickly.

On the second order, they sent a free gift of Mississippi Cream Peas, much to my surprise and delight!

Positive LoreleiFarm
(1 review)
On May 9, 2012, LoreleiFarm Canton, GA wrote:

FANTASTIC company!! Prompt shipment and even included some extra free seeds! I am a first time buyer and would absolutely purchase again. Seeds had a high germination rate and I honestly believe the ones that didn't germinate were because of my own fault not the company. Thank you so much!

Positive lkday789
(1 review)
On Apr 29, 2012, lkday789 Brookside, CO wrote:

St. Clare Heirloom Seeds is a company I will be buying from again. Their website is easy to navigate and has a lot of information about the seeds they carry, and the best way to plant and take care of them. I purchased two of their seed collections, the kid's collection and the container collection. I have limited space, and these collections suited my needs. I also ordered some tomato seeds. Along with what I ordered I received 2 more packets of free seeds. I have had excellent germination rates and all of my seedlings are doing great. I look forward to this year's harvest. If I remember I will give an update at the end of the season. Thank you St. Clare Heirloom Seeds!

Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America