On Aug 21, 2012, hojn Mount Pleasant Mills, PA wrote:
for the price, the trees were small and the grafts were not healed yet ,some of my trees grew, but below the graft .at 18 dollers for a mullbery that i hoped to youse for grafting wood .now i have a nother trash mullbery. my plumb trees were tiny for the cost . the trees i got from adams co. nursery were 3 times the size for less money and all the grafts were well healed over. i was going to buy some more trees of burnt ridge, stuff adans co. dosent have, but `when they didnt want to replace the mulbery tree. I told her to forget my order. they do have the best deal on hazel nut bushes though.good price on seedlings , i would forget any grafted stuff though!!!!
Posted on May 10, 2012, updated June 15, 2012
Posted on May 1, 2012, updated May 10, 2012
I ordered three vines at the beginning of the month, one of which was to be a male for my female kiwis. In my order I explicitly said that they needed to be shipped 'ASAP.' Now I get a vague email stating that the plants will be shipped in 'April or May.' From the other reviews I'd read here I'd hoped to be able to rely on them for timely shipping. The flowers on my kiwis look ready to blossom any day now. So I have to choose; gamble on a plant which could come in anywhere from a week to month, or go to one of the more local nurseries for an expensive plant which will be made pointless (assuming the shipped plant will be good quality) when the order eventually arrives. To say that I am frustrated and disappointed is an understatement.
On May 10th, 2012, BeeznBearz added the following:
I'm still keeping this rating at a negative. The plants arrived today but they're not in the best of condition. The kiwi definitely will not flower this season, which means that I'll have to buy another male locally, if I can find it. The honeyberries only have barely burst buds on them. The number of live buds compared to the size of the plant are too few for comfort. Hopefully they'll improve given some kindness.On June 15th, 2012, BeeznBearz added the following:
And now I am sincerely upset. The honeyberries recovered, though one has just one live bud to its name, and the kiwi proceeded to completely die within days of its receipt. I have two other kiwis bought locally which have thrived under my care, so I know it's the plant and not my efforts which are to blame. In all correspondence with them I have been very polite, I should add. When I first contacted Burnt Ridge, they told me to wait a few weeks to see if the unhealthy/dead plants would recover. I conceded that the honeyberries lived, though that is a generous statement with the one budded plant. I advised them of the state of the kiwi and asked when a replacement would be shipped. They sent the following email: "We can include a free replacement with any new order next spring."
Nowhere in their website do they indicate that you have to order more plants from them to get a replacement. They simply have a warranty that their plants will leaf out and grow in their 'ordering information'. This is a shoddy business practice at best, bordering on fraud. I will tell them this and offer them a chance to refund the monies instead. If they do not respond professionally, I will report them to the BBB. As merchants, this practice breaches the warranty they include on their website as well as the 'warranty of merchantability' inherent in transactions with professional merchants. The money isn't really the issue. I primarily want this merchant, and others to be forthcoming in their policies.
I placed a order with Burnt Ridge on 04/28/2012 for 18 Oregon Grapes, 4 Pilgrim Cranberries, 4 Kinnikinnick, 4 Raspberries. I received an email on the 29th and 30th that they will have my order ready and would be shipped in May. I then received this email on May 2nd,
Thank you for your order. Unfortunately, this year we are unable to supply your
4 Kinnickinnicks in the size that you requested. I substituted the next closest
size (Gallon) for $4 each.If this is not ok, please let us know within a week
Then on the 3rd I received this email,
Thank you for your order. Unfortunately, this year we are unable to supply your
4 Kinnikinnicks in the size that you requested. I substituted the next closest
size (Gallon) for $10 each. If this is not ok, please let us know within a week
so that it does not delay the processing of your order. We also have a lovely
website that you can review for alternate choices at http://www.burntridgen....
Please make update/changes to your order through email or phone.
So much for a deal on $4 for the gallon plant. It sounded as if my order was ready and they were waiting on me to O.K. the change before they shipped it.
I responded on the 3rd
The substitution of the 1 Gal Kinnikinnicks for the 4" size is fine. Any idea on shipping date?
I didn't receive any response so I sent the email again on May 7th.
They responded on May 9th with this,
We got your email concerning your shipment date. Orders are shipped out on a
first come first serve basis. At this time there are a few orders ahead of
yours. Your trees are being kept fully dormant in our coolers and we'll ship it
out as soon as we can.
Funny, I didn't order any trees? I found this to be a generic message send out to anyone who questions shipping. This is when I began to feel a little uneasy about the purchase.
Sad part about it is that these plants are native and very common to Washington State. You would figure that they would have hundreds of them instock and wouldn't have to keep them in a cooler waiting shipment...
Nine business days or 2 weeks went by with no response no plants
So on the 22nd of May I sent them this email,
We have decided we would like to cancel our order. We were hoping to get them 2 weeks ago. We are no longer willing to wait for them. If you would confirm our cancellation of our order we are going to put stop payment on our credit card.
Did They respond?
I resent that email again. adding that its going on 4 weeks of waiting.
So Today May 29th I sent them this email,
Since you haven't responded to our last email 7 days ago, We take it that our order must be cancelled. It's too bad you folks at Burnt Ridge don't have the courtesy to respond to your customers. Your service as gone from A+ when I ordered from your business a few years back to F-. HORRIBLE! It's to bad I used to recommend your company but now I wouldn't recommend you to anyone! VERY SAD!
with that Email I got a response all most instantly
This is a confirmation that your order has been cancelled per your request. We
apologize for you not receiving the email on the 22nd. It accidentally got sent
to the letter print outs I have here by mistake instead of in the form of an
If we can help you in the future, please do not hesitate to call.
Burnt Ridge Staff
Another funny, I didn't receive that letter in the mail that they said they printed out. It sounds like it is still sitting on someone desk.
You may see me as unreasonable about waiting, But I have talked to others and read others posts that have said there service and plant quality has gone down hill. It's to bad because out of 75 plus plants I've ordered from them a few years ago all but the dozen or so I've Culled have thrived.
Maybe you might have better luck if you call them or if your in Washington go to the farmers market and give that a try. I like a paper trail just for this reason that is why I placed the order on line.
Maybe you might be a person that doesn't mind to wait and likes to plant bare root plants in the summer.
What ever the case if you decide to buy from them. I wish you better luck than this experience I had with Burnt Ridge.
Received 1/4 inch whip apple with barely any roots, which replaces a 3/4" Dave Wilson bare root from Bay Laurel that was destroyed by gophers. Both the whip and the 3/4" tree were the same price. Forced to use this nursery as the majority of mail order firms are done for the season. I'm not impressed in the slightest about the quality of their trees.
On Jul 7, 2011, magnaastra Charleston, IL (Zone 6a) wrote:
Posted on May 9, 2011, updated July 7, 2011
Very uneven quality. The blueberries were just superb, some of the most fantastic root systems I've ever seen, and quite reasonably priced for this kind of quality. The fruit trees were okay, as were the cranberries, again, especially for the price. But the seaberries! There was some confusion about this part of my order; I made several changes, and they were really good-humored about keeping up, but in the process one cultivar was mistakenly deleted. They cheerfully re-added it after I enquired...but now I sort of wish they hadn't. It's labeled as a "one gallon specimen," but it's pathetically small and weak-looking with practically no roots: literally, I think they scraped the bottom of the barrel to come up with this poor little thing. I'll plant it, and nurse it along, and see how it goes. Not holding out a lot of hope for it, tho. Also, they could "only supply one out of two plants" of another cultivar although I ordered them a few months ago. Bottom line, I'd use them again if I can't find particular plants I'm looking for anywhere else, and really, those blueberries were marvelous...but I'm going to stay away from their seaberries FOR SURE!
On July 7th, 2011, magnaastra changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
Well, it's official: the little seaberry is being pronounced DOA. Poor little plant never showed ANY signs of life despite the best of care. It's my opinion that it was shoved into my order just to 'shut me up,' if you will, with no thought whatsoever to quality...only to quantity. Despite their lovely blueberries, I'm changing this to the big N, since, to me, this was awful customer service to the Nth degree. Great product equals zero without the OTHER side of the equation...which, of course, is CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Posted on February 14, 2011, updated April 20, 2011
Posted on October 15, 2010, updated February 14, 2011
Well I thought I had hit the jackpot. These guys have everything. The ratings here were outstanding. I ordered and spent very little and seemed to have gotten a lot. The customer service was top notch, calling me when they needed to replace something on my order.
When I got the plants, they didn't really look all that hot. They kind of looked like they had been yanked out of the ground instead of dug. The paper had gotten dry in shipping and shipping seemed to take forever.
I gave them the benefit of the doubt and planted them. I planted 5 raspberries, 2 blackberries, 2 Taiwanese Raspberries and a cranberry. Only one raspberry ever sent out green shoots. I nursed the hell out of that plant and it died about a month later. I am meticulous about how I plant my plants. I've been doing this for a while.
I contacted them and so far, it took a week for them to get back to me and so far they seem kind of dodgy and adversarial. I asked for not a refund but new plants that actually survive. If that happens I will revise this.
On February 14th, 2011, jeainky added the following:
Well I ended up sending pictures which showed the plants were very much dead. I described my situation and how I tried to nurse these plants with daily care but to no avail.
The response I got was rather terse. They are at least attempting to replace the blackberries but refused to replace anything else (despite pictures) because, and I quote - "They didn't have any other problems." Well its pretty obvious that the statement is not true since others have rated after mine.
Literally if they had made more of an effort to replace the plants I would have moved this to at least neutral. Hell, if the two blackberries they send me actually live, I might be tempted. On April 20th, 2011, jeainky added the following:
Update: The rating stays negative.
I'm willing to assume I killed off everything but the raspberries and blackberries. I'm irritated that they would not send replacement raspberries unless I placed another order. I was still willing to work with them. I received my blackberries and planted them. They had no hair roots WHATSOEVER. This was the same condition of the blackberries and raspberries I received last spring. Until someone quits jerking these plants from the ground none are going to take.
I ordered from Nourse and the difference side by side between a Nourse raspberry and a BR blackberry or raspberry is day and night.
I'm very disappointed in the response I got, in the replacements and in Burnt Ridge in general.
Posted on November 2, 2010, updated January 15, 2011
Purchased 6 trees this past spring. 2 figs, 2 cherries, 2 apples. So far, the 2 brown turkey figs have turned out to be a completely different variety than what I ordered. This makes me wonder it they bothered to send me the correct cherry and apple varieties.
Only certain apples and cherries do well in my area, so if they've ripped me off and sent something else, there's a good chance I'll never get good crops.
I'll be contacting their customer service and will update this if they actually own up to and fix their mistakes.
On January 15th, 2011, sce_77 added the following:
UPDATE: I emailed Burnt Ridge with my complaint that the figs were the wrong variety. They said they don't send the wrong variety on purpose, and asked me to send pictures and the color painted on the stems. I did so about a month ago, and still have not heard back from them. Clearly they are not interested in fixing their mistakes.
On Jan 14, 2011, sweetmelon Lawrenceville, GA wrote:
I got three filbert plants from Burnt Ridge in 2009. They call them "trees", but in reality they are just sticks with maybe some roots on them if you are lucky. Which is all right for the price (at the time, now they doubled the prices).
Out of the three I got one didn't have any roots to speak of and so of course didn't make it. Couldn't get them to replace it. OK no big deal as I still have two that are supposed to cross pollinate.
The ones that are still going are Tonda di Giffoni and Gem. When choosing the varieties they told me those and the Yamhill that didn't make would be a good match for pollination. But now I'm reading that in reality Gem doesn't pollinate Tonda di Giffoni. Serves me well for believing whatever I'm told without double checking.
So now I can only get hazelnuts from the Gem tree if any at all. And Gem was meant to be the pollinator for the other two, as its nuts are not that great.
Posted on May 26, 2010, updated June 30, 2010
I was very excited about my order with Burnt Ridge... until I got it. It spent over a week in transit, and when I opened the box, I found that they had not sent 3 of my plants, and had not informed me OR sent replacements. The plants I did recieve were small, and obviously in bad shape from the trip. I planted the pawpaws I did recieve, and as I read the literature they included, I found that if you do not have a named variety, you will likely not get fruit. Well, the named viarieties I ordered weren't sent. I had to pay twice as much to buy one from someone else.
Also, I ordered 3 Sassafras trees. They are about as big as matchsticks and were covered in black mold when I got them. I haven't even planted them yet, I am waiting for them to show signs of life.
The only saving grace were the serviceberries, which were sent bare root, were totally bleached out from the week in the box, but I planted them and watered them and they are now leafing out nicely.
I sent them an email with my concerns over a week ago and have not gotten a response. I will not order from them again.
On June 30th, 2010, kc00037 added the following:
While I am not changing my rating, and I never got a response to my original complaint email, I did request a refund for 5 plants that never leafed out, and they did respond almost immediately and refunded my money, no questions asked. So, still crappy plants, crappy shipping, but I give the customer service a D instead of the original F.
On Jun 7, 2010, dayinthegarden Occidental, CA wrote:
This nursery should be avoided at all costs. I received a citrus tree that was malnourished and leafless; in response to my email comparing this specimen to others I have ordered from Four Winds, the nursery said "I am sure that Four Winds nursery sends out healthy, dark green, bushy citrus plants since they are a California nursery that has heated greenhouses and specializes in citrus. We are a Washington state nursery that carries a broad range of edibles and have no heated greenhouses, except when the sun comes out." Why sell citrus trees and so many other non-WA state natives then, at full price? They offered a refund if it did not leaf out (it hasn't), but would not pay for shipping costs. They don't mention their lack of adequate facilities to keep them healthy on their website, nor that they are willing to send out such poor specimens expecting customers to nurse them to health. They also sent me a dead Chinese wolfberry and did not respond to my request for a refund. So unless you want poorly cared for plants that only grow in Washington state when the sun shines and no responsible customer service, don't order from this nursery.
Posted on March 9, 2010, updated March 12, 2010
Order placed on the 6th day of February 2010. At the time of order I requested they be shipped ASAP.
The trees were shipped 23 days later on the 1st day of March 2010.
The trees arrived the 4th day of March 27 days after I placed the order.
The order to delivery time is about average but there are nurseries that do much better.
Pre-arrival Burnt Ridge’s customer service was very good. The order confirmation was fast. They also emailed me a shipping confirmation and tracking number once the trees shipped. The box was adequate for the size of the trees and the price for shipping was more than reasonable. The roots were well packaged in wet newspaper and wrapped in a black garbage bag. Nothing fancy but it does the job as well as any.
Methley Plum; For such a small tree the root system was exceptionally large. However the tree was just barely ½" caliper which is on the small side. This tree had previously been topped at 30” which is not something I would do neither would I have purchased this tree if I had known.
Beauty Plum; This tree had an adequate root system for a small tree. The tree however was barely ½" caliper.
Lapins Cherry; The tree is 3/8”-½” caliper grafted whip. The root system is small even for a whip. The tree was shipped DISEASED. There is a lot of fungus on the graft union and coming through the graft union on its other side. It appears obvious that the graft union had previously been planted below the soil line and the fungus had eaten into the wood.
Large Grafted Illinois Everbearing Mulberry; This tree is a ¼” caliper whip. I do not know what a Small Grafted tree is to this company but I do not intend to find out.
I had no idea I would be receiving such small trees from the descriptions or from anything I read at Burnt Ridge. I read the reviews on this site and most said they had received average to large trees from this company. There is no way I would have purchased any of these trees if I had been given even a semi-accurate idea of what to expect.
I emailed Burnt Ridge my complaint at precisely 11:59 AM on March 5th. As of yet I have not received a reply.
I’m giving them a negative review because they………
1) Sent a obviously diseased tree.
2) They sent two whips without describing them as such.
3) Two of the trees had small-very small root systems.
4) One of the trees had been previously topped to 30” and was not described as such.
5) Their descriptions do not include tree size. That in itself is not the problem. The problem is they appear to be using this omission to sell whips at a slightly lower price ($ 1.99 lower) than other nurseries sell 5/8”-¾” caliper trees.
And last but not least but most importantly. I believe any company can have a bad day or bad order but good companies make it good.
6) THUS FAR THEY HAVE NOT RESPONDED TO MY EMAILED COMPLAINT OR ATTEMPTED TO REMEDY THE SITUATION IN ANY WAY.
I planted the trees to keep them alive in case Burnt Ridge offered a refund and wanted them back. At this time I have ordered replacement trees from another nursery. When the replacements arrive I will pull these trees as I have no use for them.
On March 12th, 2010, AZPHATMAN added the following:
Today I received an email from Burnt Ridge. It was very civil and courteous and sign by one Michael Dolan. He did check out a thread I have on another garden site and looked at the pictures. He feels there is nothing BR has to apologize for and no refund or credit will be given. He said what I think is fungus on the Lapins may be paint.
I am not fond of any of these trees and would never have purchased any of them if I had seen them first. However the trees are still alive and still under warranty so I have decided to try and keep them all alive in smaller pots as their size does not warrant the 25 gallon pots I had put them in.
At this time I’m not real happy about it and not likely to change the negative rating any time soon. However if the trees all thrive I may one day change the negative to a neutral. I can't ever see changing the rating to a positive. To me two branchless whips, one of which was only a 1/4" caliper and a tree previously topped to 30" without mention in the descriptions to me is way out of line.
Burnt Ridge however feels that this is normal variation in size. What is normal variation to them means the largest tree out of four they sent me is smaller than the smallest tree I have ever received from an online nursery. Keep in mind I have only been buying trees online for five years and my experience only cover the purchased of sixty some trees. Also keep in mind though that I have never purchased a whip from a nursery before which explains this in part.
However also keep in mind that there was nothing in the descriptions or other BR site information that I could find that would have led me to believe any of the trees I purchased would be so small or previously topped at 30”. This being an acceptable business practice to them speaks volumes to me about their company and as Forrest Gump says: "And I don't have anymore to say about that."
I ordered blueberry plants from the website and it stated size and price for them. When I got the blueberry plants they were not as large as what was stated on the website and the price was more than what was listed on the website also. I spoke to a person on the phone and she confirmed the price of the website and what I was supposed to be charged but the invoice was higher for them. I emailed the company and still never received a response back regarding the over charge and why the plants were not the size that was listed on the website. Won't purchase from this company again.
Placed an order for a couple of varieties of honeyberries which they had since they are not available many places and the prices were OK too. They sent me an email that the ones I wanted were not in stock and to pick a couple of others. I did, and I my 2nd choices were never confirmed. So, I emailed them asking for some sort of confirmation since the order was still up in the air. Never got a response to my request for a response. Finally I called them and got their answering machine, so I left a message. They didn't call back, so I called again (next day) and got the answering machine again. Emailed them again and told them I had emailed already as well as had phoned and asked if they would please let me know what was going on with the order. No response. Called a 3rd time and finally got a person who told me that my 2nd choices were not available either, and was asked if I would like some others. I said OK, whatever you have at this point, and they wanted to know if it was planting season here (Ohio) yet (April) of if maybe the ground was still frozen! Well, I hope so! This isn't Ankorage.
I wouldn't recommend dealing with this company since they ignore your communication whether by phone or email and act like they're doing you a favor to take your call (and your $$).
I ordered a Northern Pecan tree (bareroot) from them. The tree arrived in seemingly good shape. However, I noticed there was very few small roots, only one large taproot. After planting according to directions, nothing happened. The tree never leafed out. I called them for a refund and the person I talked to was negative. She promised the manager would call back but it never happened. I would not deal again with a company that does not stand behind their products or their promises.
First, I called them in September to confer with the owner on the trees that I wanted to order. He assured me that I could have everything that I wanted. So, I sent them a completed order form with a check. I indicated, on the order form, that I wished to have the trees sent by USPS because the UPS and the Fedex do not deliver to me. It seems that they do not like to come down the dirt road to my farm. Anything that is sent by either UPS or Fedex has to be picked up at their depot; a 110 mile round trip.
I received a notice from Burnt Ridge Nursery that they did not normally do business with the post office and that my postage would have to be about double the cost of shipping by UPS. I agreed.
Then, in November, I received a notice from them that one of the trees that I had ordered, they did not carry and that they had a "similar" substitute. I agreed.
In, December I received a notice that they did not have one another of the trees that I had ordered. I asked for a refund for that tree.
Now, it is January and time to begin shipping my trees. Well, guess what? Today, I received a notice that they did not have another of the trees that I ordered. The notice stated that, if I did not contact them within one week, they would ship a substitute. The notice was more than one week old, by the time that I received it.
I called immediately and checked to see if they had shipped to me yet. They had not. I cancelled my entire order and asked for a refund. I hope that they send it.
Needless to say, I will never do business with them again.
The reason that I ordered from them in the beginning can best be explained by the fact that I really have had good results with stock from Dave Wilson Wholesale Nursery. Well, the Burnt Ridge Nursery advertises that it carries Dave Wilson nursery stock. So, I was tempted to order from them.