Photo by Melody

Comments regarding K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc.

Click here to return to K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc.'s listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
7 positives
5 neutrals
8 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Negative CyndeeT
(6 reviews)
On Nov 17, 2013, CyndeeT Maple Hill, NY (Zone 6b) wrote:

I will NEVER place another order with this company EVER AGAIN! they are manipulative and deceitful ..I placed a combined order for the following items ..Gladiator Aliums, Altruist Daffodils, Pinkvision Parrot Tulips,&Vanilla Peach Daffodils $128.23 well certainly not as large as some of the orders I see placed and messed up. well to keep this BRIEF. the out of STOCK notices started .. one order arrived .. Vanilla Daffodils and they are DRIED UP there is NOT ONE SINGLE BULB in the bag!! they must have been laying around for 3-4 years to have that happen
well I will be calling them MONDAY for a replacement of HEALTHY DAFFS my planting season is actually over the cold is setting in..but I NEED THEM NOW for my Planned flower garden. if I could purchase elsewhere I would. then the PINK VISION PARROT Tulips were cancelled so I called for the BLUE in substitution .. why not contact me abd ask rather than send a postcard letting me know they have ruined my plans for a flower garden color scheme? WHY? I 'll tell you why all the discounts free shipping or any bonus you may have gotten goes rigth ot the window when they pull a stunt likethis.. so what have I received out of my $128. order..you ask.. ALIUMs probably the only item I should have purchased from them.. so I will call and explain again my displeasure.. not that they actually care about ME.. but this is absurd.. lesson learned.. AVOID KVB..that's it's get this order fixed corrected refunded replaced and MOVE ON! ok stepping off my soapbox just wanted to get my story out there wondering how many horror stories we don't hear. YEP ZILLIONS


On Nov 17, 2013, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

"On Nov 19, 2013 10:09 AM, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. I truly apologize for the problems you have had with your order. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and rectify the problems you have had with your order."


Negative sscbm
(1 review)
On Sep 18, 2013, sscbm Farr West, UT wrote:

In July of 2013, I placed a $321.75 internet order with K. van Bourgondien for a variety of spring flowering bulbs using my name, my email, my address, and my credit card. In the subsequent order status email I received from K. van Bourgondien, the billing address name had been changed to my father, who has been dead for over seven years. The email was even addressed to him. In a reply email to K. van Bourgondien, I asked them to change the account to my name. K. van Bourgondien replied they wanted ďproof of charge such as copy of cashed check and we will update itĒ (the account).
I replied to K. van Bourgondien that I didnít understand what proof they needed or why. I suggested they delete my fatherís account and establish one under my name. A few days later I received an unsigned letter from Breckís Bulbs Payment Services asking for my fatherís death certificate so they could change the name on the account. I sent a letter in return stating that my father had no need of an account with Breckís, K. Van Bourgondein, or any other affiliate associated with Gardenís Alive. I also told them I would not send a death certificate, that I wanted my own account, and if that was not possible, to refund all charged amounts and remove me from any and all mailing or email lists associated with any affiliate of Gardenís Alive.
Ordering flower bulbs over the Internet shouldnít be this hard. The request for a death certificate so I could order flower bulbs with my name, address, and credit card is quite possibly the most ridiculous request I have ever received, especially since my father never lived at my address. The apparent inability of K. van Bourgondein or Breckís to establish a correct account for a paying customer leads me to conclude they really donít want my business. As further proof, upon querying my credit card account, I find K. van Bourgondien refunded the original charge amount. At least they followed one instruction.

Negative lelagray
(1 review)
On Mar 5, 2013, lelagray Frankston, TX wrote:

ordered bulbs-sent check-they cashed check-sent me a letter saying i needed a physical address and they had cashed my check-i sent physical address-they responded and said they couldnt send bulbs without money, even though they had already cashed my check and sent me a letter saying they did. they informed me to go to my bank and get copy of the check-i did. now im still waiting. customer service is a joke, nobody knows what is going on. will not purchase bulbs from them anymore. i placed order 2/8/13, they cashed check 2/20/13 and i am still waiting 3/5/13. having a hard time getting them to assist me. glad i didnt spend a lot of money with them!!!! wish i would have checked this site first. i order a lot of bulbs from different companies, so far no problems!!


On Mar 5, 2013, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

"On Mar 14, 2013 11:09 AM, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

Thank you for letting us know about the problem with your order. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and check on your order for you."


Negative ParkCottage
(1 review)
On Jan 2, 2013, ParkCottage Minneapolis, MN wrote:

Your know, I just have to take issue with the responses by K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. to the negative comments over the last year:

"Thank you for your posting and we apologize for any inconvenience. We are now under new ownership and a customer service representative will contact you for more information. Or if you prefer you can call us at 800-552-9916 and of our of customer service representatives will be happy to help."

I had number of negative experiences and very poor customer service that caused me to stop doing business with this company, the last of which was in 2011. Now the response to negative comments is that they are under new ownership, a fact that is undisclosed on their website. Really? If that is true, why not disclose it. However, if it is simply a continuation of the family business, then I - for one - am not willing to invest any more time and money into the family values and customer service that more than likely has been passed down to the "new ownership." Seriously folks, if you make a claim of new ownership, stand behind it and post it on your website.


On Jan 2, 2013, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

"On Jan 3, 2013 2:23 PM, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

We appreciate your comments. We are under new ownership as of April, 2012. I will send along your suggestion to post it on our website."


Negative artaud927
(1 review)
On Dec 8, 2012, artaud927 West Orange, NJ wrote:

I twice ordered what looked to be a very attractive mixture of "bronze blend" irises. At least it looked very attractive in the picture. Unfortunately there was not a single "bronze" flower each time I ordered. When I asked customer service if they could be sure the 2nd time that I actually received at least one "bronze" iris, they said they could not and indeed they were good to their word at least with that. Waiting two years to grow the same ordinary irises instead of the ones i wanted was very disappointing. I simply gave up.


On Dec 8, 2012, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

"On Dec 8, 2012 12:44 PM, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

We appreciate you posting and letting us know about the problem with your Iris. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for you account information and see if we can get this taken care of for you."


Negative carolmo
(8 reviews)
On Jul 11, 2012, carolmo Olathe, KS (Zone 5a) wrote:

Ordered 5 bulbs of asiatic lily landini (black). Got bright orange flowers that looked like tiger lilies. Called and got new owner - lady said they just took over and could not see the orders yet. Gave plants to neighbor.


On Jul 11, 2012, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

"On Jul 19, 2012 11:06 AM, K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. responded with:

Thank you for your posting and we apologize for any inconvenience. We are now under new ownership and a customer service representative will contact you for more information. Or if you prefer you can call us at 800-552-9916 and of our of customer service representatives will be happy to help.

"


Negative lizherrera
(1 review)
On May 15, 2012, lizherrera WILLOW SPRING, NC wrote:

I cancelled my order and asked for credit. They said they would, but didn't. I finally had to request a charge back through the credit card company to get my money back.

Negative seagardener
(32 reviews)
On Feb 23, 2012, seagardener Southport, ME wrote:

Posted on February 23, 2012, updated February 23, 2012
Unfortunate. This season I turned in a $450 order for spring planted summer bulbs but was troubled when I didn't receive an e-mail confirmation. I called them on 2/13/12 to inquire & was told that my order was still in the system but that I would receive a confirmation soon.

Today I just checked their website & attempted to process an order to see if it would go through. A notice came up stating "Unfortunately, we are unable to accept any orders at this time". I attempted to check the status of my order by logging in on their website and received a message reading "There is no account with this e-mail address". When I called "800" numbers both from their Watchdog profile & from their website, I received a recording stating: "Due to unforeseen circumstances, we are unable to take your call at this time. Please try your call again later".

After all of this, I had to notify my credit card company to contest the charges K. Van Bourgondien & Sons, Inc. had applied to my account on 2/8/12. What a nuisance, and it's the end of an era with Van Bourgondien.


On February 23rd, 2012, seagardener added the following:

Ugh. After doing some further research online, it appears that they had filed bankruptcy proceedings January 26, 2012 yet debited customers credit card accounts up to at least February 8, 2012 & confirmed orders as late as 2/13/12. Pretty rotten thing to do.


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America