Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Ferry-Morse Seed Company

Click here to return to Ferry-Morse Seed Company's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
17 positives
4 neutrals
11 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Negative mrdoitall
(3 reviews)
On Jan 18, 2014, mrdoitall Moores Mill, AL wrote:

This is all I need to know.>>> OWNED BY MONSANTO OR SEMINIS OR SELL SMALL PERCENTAGES OF SEEDS FROM THEM.

Negative tablerocktina
(4 reviews)
On Aug 6, 2012, tablerocktina Fountain Inn, SC (Zone 8a) wrote:

This year I planted sunflowers from Ferry Morse and had zero germination rate. Also planted spinach seeds and got great germination except what came up was certainly not spinach,but an aggressive weed. I am an experienced gardener. I emailed the company just asking for them to make some kind of response, but they never responded. They've lost my business, but I don't think they care.

Negative bicyclehead
(1 review)
On Aug 24, 2011, bicyclehead Warren, MI wrote:

I have been gardening for years. I had never planted spinach or lettuce before so I had no idea what the seeds looked like. This was also the first time I planted seeds from this company. The plants that grew from the seeds from the Ferry Morse spinach and lettuce packets turned out to be nothing more than weeds. I don't like to eat weeds, complete waste of my time and money.

Negative FerryMorseRipMe
(1 review)
On Jul 12, 2011, FerryMorseRipMe Gorman, NC wrote:

Ferry Morse is Pirate Company / resaling seeds that buy from anybody. I got 20 packs of "Texas Bluebonnet", but instead y got a WEED= Commelina diffusa [a very aggressive weed] invading my garden. I talked to them in the phone, about it. they said that they buy seeds from different people.. Blah.. blah. They will send me, the seeds I want. They never send me the seeds, that I paid for.
Ferry Morse are riping off people. And even if you talk to them, they do not fix the problem, because they are THIEFS
DO NOT BUY SEEDS FROM THESE CROOKS!!!!!!!!!!!.
FERRY?MORSE=WILL ROBE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
I plan to talk to LOWE's, to advise them about it.

Negative sunnieday
(1 review)
On Sep 11, 2010, sunnieday Burbank, CA wrote:

I couldn't find any other ones where I was shopping...so I bought some - and they were sprouting fine until today - so I was going replant I am trying to go organic and hopefullly will eventually be self-sustaining with solar panels and growing my own food.

Negative FlowerFriends
(1 review)
On Jul 16, 2010, FlowerFriends Fair Lawn, NJ wrote:

We bought Giant, Violet Queen Zinna Seeds from Ferry-Morse Seed Co., then planted them, and carefully watered and nursed them!
What we got were poor, single, pinkish Zinna flowers! Real trash that should not be sold--talk about enforcing Truth-in-Advertising!
We were going to complain to the company, but after doing a google-search of the company, Everyone but us knew they sold junk seeds, which were not as pictured on their seed packs!
Do NOT buy seeds from Ferry-Morse! To see what we were sold, and what actually grew, please see the posted picture at: harryposter.com/FM01.jpg

Negative dianne99
(5 reviews)
On May 11, 2010, dianne99 Brookville, KS (Zone 5b) wrote:

Posted on May 11, 2010, updated May 11, 2010
I will never buy this brand of seed again, and do not recommend it to anyone. It is everywhere in stores, and I've planted dozens of packets over the years. The packets have pretty (but inaccurate) pictures, and Ferry-Morse probably stays in biz selling to inexperienced gardeners and ones who do not keep brand info. After reviewing my seed info, I finally figured out that they are the worst quality seed of any I have ever grown. Not just once, consistently, over the years, different species, ... Not just germination, but plant species quality--nearly weeds. If germination is good, the plants are of such poor quality that I end up destroying them. Or seeds are of a different variety than the pack said. I formerly thought this was my fault, but no, not when it happens every time (I plant at least 30 new-to-me species per year--and examined 3 years of records). I would not buy from them if I was a beginner, you'll only get discouraged. I would not buy their brand if I was experienced, resulting plants are very poor quality--some were so bad that I am now fighting them as weeds--got almost 100% germination on that lot...go figure. Buy any other brand, esp. in a store, they are all better...my records have proved this to me. Ferry-Morse needs to improve their quality, only their marketing and trusting buyers keep them afloat.

Negative chuckearthdog
(1 review)
On Aug 22, 2009, chuckearthdog West Lafayette, IN wrote:

Bought squash and pumpkin seeds for our garden in the spring. Plants were healthy and growth rate very good. A good amount of flowers early on and continued throughout the year. But no veggies!! The only plant that is producing a single veggie is a gourd!!! -it was supposed to be a yellow squash!! The lot number for the squash is 2009 lot01 for season USA 12/09.

Thinking that it was my garden or some other issue, I started a second batch in July with different soil conditions. Still same problem. Loads of growth, flowers...no vegetable production. Something's wrong with this batch.

A neighbor friend of mine had the same probs with Ferry Morse products ( good growth, flowers and no veggies at all) At least I got a single gourd for my trouble.

We're both pretty disappointed and won't be using Ferry Morse again.

I still have seeds left over if anyone else wants to try. But I'm thinking something got botched. Next spring I'll be using anything but Ferry Morse.

Negative loiseb
(1 review)
On Jun 17, 2009, loiseb Wallkill, NY wrote:

With the rising cost of food, we decided to plant a garden. Great idea, but our mistake was using ferry morse seeds. We planted beans, peas, carrots, beets, cucumbers, and watermelon. We have hardly any plants. Very few seeds germinated. Waste of time for this year. You can bet next year we won't be using ferry morse products.

Negative bill247
(1 review)
On Apr 1, 2009, bill247 Maricopa, AZ wrote:

We purchased Ferry-Morse several kinds of vegetable seeds. Also, we purchased Burpee seeds. When we planted them in our garden, Burpee seeds did great while Ferry-Morse took 3 times the time to rejuvenate and did not grow. I mean all Ferry-Morse seeds. When I called and I was told to buy a chemical which costs $12.00 and use it. What a stupid advice. I hope Ferry-Morse go out of business.

Negative denisedelong
(1 review)
On Jul 18, 2006, denisedelong Naples, FL wrote:

I purchased a packet of seeds (Zinnia, Giant, Canary Bird) at Home Depot and for $1.79 plus tax got 8 seeds. No kidding. Is this a quality control issue or some extremely rare zinnia? The outside said 700 MG but what does that mean to me the average gardener.
No I can't take it back to the store for a refund, I've put them in starter pots already.
Not the end of the world but annoying.
I have emailed the company thru the Dave's Garden link. By the way when you go their company site their own email link isn't working.


On Jul 18, 2006, Ferry-Morse Seed Company responded with:

"


On Jul 19, 2006 9:56 AM, Ferry-Morse Seed Company added:

Dear denisedelong,
At FERRY-MORSE SEED COMPANY, we strive to make all our products, people, and operations perfect for you - the home gardener. We only use seeds with germination rates higher than required by the USDA, and our quality-trained personnel fill packets with these seeds on high-speed machines built especially for our industry.
I do apologize that you received a packet that was obviously underfilled. Sometimes we do make mistakes among the tens of millions of seed packets we fill each spring; however, we've not been able to continue business now for 150-years by avoiding problems an error on our part creates for you or any other home gardener.
We always listen to any unpleasant experience that may occur (sorry, we're still not perfect even though we try); and, in any rare cases of underfilled packets, we always promptly send a replacement packet of the same variety directly to the customer's home.
Please email me with the exact variety you purchased, and with your mailing address so that I can have a fresh packet sent to you immediately. If it is too late for you to plant the seed this season, simply keep the packet in your home in a cool, dry place until next spring...the seed will still be just as viable 10-months from now.
Again, denisedelong, I apologize for this inconvenience for you; and, I sincerely hope the replacement packet will at least in some small way help to rectify this error on our part.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please note that you can always reach us at 1-800-283-3400 and at ferry-morse.com should you ever need us again.
Mike Tate.
Mktg Mgr.
FERRY-MORSE SEED COMPANY.
601 Stephen Beale Drive.
Fulton KY 42041."



We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America