Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Comments regarding High Country Roses

Click here to return to High Country Roses's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
83 positives
5 neutrals
1 negative

Comments:

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive shauss
(6 reviews)
On Oct 19, 2008, shauss wrote:

Since High Country Roses had such good feedback, I decided to give them a try during a fall sale. I ordered 3 roses, and wished I had ordered more! They were beautiful little plants--larger than the typical bands I've received from other mail order own-root rose companies, and very healthy. Their regular prices look like they run a little more than some others charge for band-sized plants, but the larger plants are worth that slightly higher price. They also have some of the better shipping rates around, which can make up for the difference in the price of the plants, and you get a bigger plant, too. I wish their selection of OGRs was larger, but with all the other roses they offer, they should have something for everyone. A nice selection of species roses, too.

Positive tiffanyhenschel
(1 review)
On Sep 23, 2008, tiffanyhenschel Anna, TX wrote:

I am unexpectedly disappointed in the service I have received from this company. I recently placed a large order, and I chose High Country Roses specifically because of the positive feedback and comments about them on this forum. This high level of service is not what I have experienced with them, however. I have two complaints, and they have not responded to either issue.

#1 Their website clearly states that my account would be billed when the roses shipped, but they billed me four days early--resulting in overdraft charges at my bank. I did not really expect a refund from them, but they did not even respond to my email with an explanation or an apology.

#2 I ordered seven different kinds of roses at three to six roses each (almost 40 roses total.) I know I ordered sale roses, so I was OK with the fact that some of them only had one or two canes. I was not expecting the top of the line quality. Two of the kinds I received were just plain not healthy, though--leaves yellowed and spotted. Even after several days of intensive care, they are not recovering from shipping like the others. I contacted customer service and told them how happy I was with part of my order but that I had a problem with another part. Again, they did not even respond to my complaint.

I am disappointed.


On September 24th, 2008, tiffanyhenschel changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Thank you for addressing my issues. I do not know why I did not receive your initial emails, but I did receive the one you sent when you responded to this webpage. I am satisfied with the way things have been resolved. I have a pending order for October that I was going to cancel, but I will keep the order now. Thank you.
On Sep 23, 2008, High Country Roses responded with:

"


On Sep 24, 2008 7:24 AM, High Country Roses added:

We are very sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience with our company and agree that your concerns are justified. We have received your email messages and so have replied via email as well, but it is possible that you did not receive our messages, as some spam filters do not allow them to go through. We did send a note of apology the day after we received your message, but apparently it did not reach you. We also received a note from you Monday afternoon, September 22nd, and sent a response to you Tuesday morning, September 23rd.

We appreciate your order and do want to address your complaints and do our best to justify and remedy the situation.

Our website and catalog state that a customerís credit card will not be charged when the order is placed, but rather at the time of shipping when the order is finalized. We have changed the wording on our website so that our customers are informed that they will be charged 1 to 2 business days prior to shipping. We do this so that if there are any problems with the card (address changes, expiration date changes, etc.) then we have time to contact our customers and still ship the roses on their scheduled ship date. This means that if a shipment is scheduled to go out on Monday, we charge the card on the preceding Thursday or Friday. We regret that our previous wording caused you to incur an overdraft charge and will reimburse you for that charge.

Your second concern is also valid, and has to do with our local weather, more than the health of the roses. We had several mornings with frost in early September and our nighttime temperatures have been in the 30ís. Some rose varieties respond more quickly to temperature changes than others, and the roses you are unhappy with are in the process of losing their leaves for winter. We would like for you to plant them as you would other roses and allow them to complete their natural dormant period. It may be spring before they grow new leaves, though in Texas they may re-leaf more quickly. If they do not grow out by spring, please contact us and we will issue you a credit.

We will be happy to call you about the order, especially if our email messages are not reaching you. Please let us know the best way to contact you about your concerns and we will do our best to insure your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Heather Campbell
"


Positive baeger
(3 reviews)
On Aug 19, 2008, baeger Rumford, RI wrote:

I ordered several roses at the end of May. They were well packed, well rooted and quite vigorous. I would definitely recommend them and plan on ordering more next year.

Positive Cynara
(2 reviews)
On Jul 11, 2008, Cynara Champaign, IL (Zone 6a) wrote:

I have ordered three roses from High Country. The roses were healthy, large for own-root stock, and established well. Service was excellent, even though I changed my mind.

One thing I should note, although it's not as bad as it sounds. The "Mme Isaac Pereire" I received definitely has rose mosaic virus. That's not a huge deal -- a lot of roses have it, it's not fatal, and it doesn't normally infect your other roses. But it's a detail that could be improved -- virus-free stock is available.

http://www.ars.org/About_Roses/disease_mosaic_virus.html


On Jul 11, 2008, High Country Roses responded with:

"


On Jul 17, 2008 8:57 AM, High Country Roses added:

Thank you for your nice comments about our roses and service.
I'm concerned, though, about the mention of rose mosaic virus on a rose you received. We have not seen any evidence of the virus on our 'Mme Isaac Pereire' stock plants or in any of the young plants we ship out. We have participated in Dr. Manner's program with some of our varieties and work hard to make sure our plants are virus free. If there is a problem with a rose, please contact us directly and we will try to rectify the situation.
Sincerely, Heather Campbell"


Positive JerseyWendy
(5 reviews)
On Jul 9, 2008, JerseyWendy Howell, NJ (Zone 6b) wrote:

This was my first time ordering from High Country Roses, and I am thoroughly impressed. I had been looking for an antique rose, "Mme. Isaac Pereire" to be exact, and saw that High Country Roses were offering it Once I placed my order, I was quickly notified by email that my order was received and the date the rose would be shipped. Sure enough, 2 days after the shipping date she arrived safe and sound. MUCH bigger than I had anticipated, very healthy, and still moist. The packing was superb as well.

I will definitely order from them again.

---
Wendy

Positive GophersLoveMe
(1 review)
On Jun 22, 2008, GophersLoveMe La Habra, CA wrote:

This is the first time I've ordered from High Country Roses. I don't know where to start with the compliments, customer service or the roses I received? High marks to both. 35 roses, excellent "careful" packing and all were green, healthy, one with an open flower! and several other plants loaded with buds. I am thrilled.

Positive mwitthoft
(4 reviews)
On Apr 28, 2008, mwitthoft Austin, TX wrote:

High Country Roses was friendly and helpful in choosing varieties for my climate, location, and preferences. The plants arrived in excellent condition. It is now a year since I planted them and they are extremely healthy and robust, and blooming profusely.

Positive MUDCATSLIM
(2 reviews)
On Nov 18, 2007, MUDCATSLIM Chesapeake, VA (Zone 7a) wrote:

I was pleased with the plants I purchased. The roses were packed well without a lot of dirt spilling around in the container they came shipped in. They were also still fairly well hydrated despite being shipped all the way from Utah to Virginia. That is a long distance for a plant to be kept in a dark dry box. They had some mildew and black spot but that is to be expected. They did very well , none died and they were planted later in the spring than I would have liked. They did so well in fact, I had to remove a few and give them away . I over ordered not really thinking about the space they would take up. Those plants are doing well for the new owner. Maybe this company isn't as well known as some of the others but don't let that put you off. The plants are usually healthy and thrive once in the garden. At least that has been my experience , taken with a grain of salt of course.

Positive karenann7
(2 reviews)
On Nov 14, 2007, karenann7 Millersburg, OH wrote:

High Country Roses really impressed me with the health and quality of their plants. Their roses are by far the most vigorous I have purchased from any nursery. Some of the roses arrived blooming and/or in bud and they continued to thrive. High Country Roses has a very good selection. I hope they will continue to increase their rose offerings. Customer service is excellent.

Positive eplutko
(3 reviews)
On Nov 7, 2007, eplutko Baudette, MN wrote:

Ordered from High Country Roses twice. Roses were delivered quickly. I am pleased with their roses.

Positive Len123
(5 reviews)
On Sep 27, 2007, Len123 Adrian, MO (Zone 6a) wrote:

excellent source for roses. roses are top notch, and best of all are the shipping rates, very reasonable.


On April 13th, 2008, Len123 added the following:

received order for spring 34 roses and look as good as last fall's roses. all of the fall planted roses from this vendor survived winter. Roses are 8"-24" tall. Very good size and healthy.
On April 13th, 2008, Len123 added the following:

received order for spring 34 roses and look as good as last fall's roses. all of the fall planted roses from this vendor survived winter. Roses are 8"-24" tall. Very good size and healthy.
Positive bonniekao
(2 reviews)
On Aug 29, 2007, bonniekao Milpitas, CA wrote:

I ordered two roses from High Country Roses.
They both arrived at the exact day I expected (2 days after placing order) .
Both arrived in good condition,
though one with some leaves "wrinkled" because of the wrapping, it recovers quite well next morning.
To my amazement, one of the two roses I ordered comes with some buds already!
They both look healthy and now are growing well in my garden.
The customer service is terrific!
They are very patient to answer my questions and give me very helpful advices concerning growing roses.
The shipping fee is reasonable too.
This is a highly recommended online nursery!

Positive Dan1465
(8 reviews)
On Jul 11, 2007, Dan1465 Northfield, NJ wrote:

Last year I ordered from them and was very happy. This year, once again I'm even happier. Their Customer support is excellent, very helpful and accommodating. The 3 Roses I ordered all arrived very well packaged and were very healthy. I'm going to order from them again in the spring. What a pleasure.

Positive floria
(23 reviews)
On May 9, 2007, floria Athens, GA (Zone 8a) wrote:

I ordered 3 roses from this company last fall. Not only did the roses arrive in great shape, but they survived the crazy winter we had in Pennsylvania. They started growing in January, then got hit by an extended frost in early March. They are doing well now, and I honestly believe that this is due not to my beginner skills, but to the quality of plants this company is selling.


On September 16th, 2009, floria added the following:

Over 25 roses which I ordered from this company in 2007-2009 are thriving. They grow very fast and and are very healthy. In my experience, the company makes sure that the roses are in good shape for shipping: 3 out of the 14 ordered this spring were delayed - they came only now, but what a pleasure to unpack and see how healthy and large (1-2' tall) they are. I will definitely order again.
Positive sayma
(5 reviews)
On Mar 10, 2007, sayma Tujunga, CA wrote:

I ordered one Tamora rose in February ( a little early for own root roses in some areas). It arrived this week and it looks good so far, already growing new leaves.

Positive treytop
(3 reviews)
On Aug 26, 2006, treytop Northfield, VT wrote:

I ordered two roses from the company. About a week before they were due to be shipped, I was contacted via e-mail that one of the roses wouldn't be available and asked if I would like to choose a substitute. I did and both roses arrived in good condition at the end of May. One is blooming for the second time this summer! Both have grown well and are very healthy. I would definitely order from High Country Roses again.

Positive zenpotter
(3 reviews)
On Jul 17, 2006, zenpotter Minneapolis, MN (Zone 4b) wrote:

I have had two shipments from this company. The roses came in perfect condition. The first shipment was 6 years ago and every one of them is still going strong. The second was last year and they look great.

Positive tinadoc
(3 reviews)
On Jul 14, 2006, tinadoc Stanwood
United States wrote:

Very healthy plants, arrived quickly and in great condition.

Positive vabyvlue
(10 reviews)
On Jul 13, 2006, vabyvlue Taylorsville, UT (Zone 6b) wrote:

I have been ordering from High Country Roses for several months. Every time I get excellent customer service and excellent roses. I sure will keep ordering from them because I know that they stand for quality and service. Thank you very much for everything!!

Positive wild_willow
(1 review)
On Jun 21, 2006, wild_willow Kaycee, WY (Zone 3b) wrote:

Just got my order today and what lovely healthy roses!
Too of the 3 were blooming! The packaging was excellent!
They arrived quick!
I would buy from them again in a heartbeat and plan too.

Becky

Positive wharrison
(3 reviews)
On Jun 17, 2006, wharrison Manistee, MI (Zone 5b) wrote:

This is the first year that I've ordered from High Country Roses and it certainly won't be the last.

Sue and I stayed at a wonderful B & B (Hoods in the Woods) located north and east of Gaylord, MI and we thoroughly enjoyed our first stay with these wonderful (gardening, etc.) folks so much that we placed a gift order of Therese Bugnet to grace their zone 4 /3 residence.

A few weeks later, I decided that we had enough room to add two William Shakespeare 2000 and one Winchester Cathedral to our evolving garden. They arrived well - as a whole and individually - packaged last Thursday and will be added to our patio garden area very shortly. These own root roses were in excellent condition with a few having buds on them and we are looking to seeing them come into bloom.

I was especially pleased with the patience, the level of service, and the information I received from my several phone calls - all this in the middle of their shipping season.

Currently, I am considering the addition of "Darlow's Enigma" to our garden and have no doubts that it will be ordered from High Country Roses.

Impressive customer service and roses!

Highly recommended!

Bill

Positive fireant13
(3 reviews)
On Jun 15, 2006, fireant13 (Zone 9a) wrote:

Today, I received the three rose plants I ordered. The plants were well-packaged, undamaged, and nice sizes. I found the company through a link in Plantfiles, which gives good pictures and comments that helped me make my selection. I am just learning a lot of gardening, and roses are a challenge to me, but in time, I hope to have the east side of my house covered with Fourth of July blooms. This company is not too expensive and the plants look good, so I will probably order from them again in the future.

Positive Meig
(13 reviews)
On May 25, 2006, Meig Far Northwest 'burbs, IL (Zone 5a) wrote:

Shipping was fast and the roses were packaged well. They arrived in very good shape, not wilted at all.

I was very pleasantly surprised at the size of the roses. I had emailed them and was told the size of the plants being shipped. I expected them to be smaller based on what I have gotten elsewhere that were supposedly the same size. Good root systems, too and more canes than I expected.

I have planted my roses and will update as they grow. So far, I am very happy with the size, price and customer service of this company.


On June 12th, 2006, Meig added the following:

Just wanted to say that both plants have put on a goodly amount of new growth and are doing very well.
Positive bisou218
(1 review)
On Apr 20, 2006, bisou218 Westlake, OH wrote:

Thank you high country for a service well done. The plants arrived in perfect shape and were well packaged. The delivery was done just as I had requested and I was surprised to see that several of the roses had flower buds on them! High country has an extensive selection of roses and they are all well suited to my zone on Lake Erie in Ohio. I will definitely repurchase. My family and I operate a landscaping company and I would like to add your website to our links on our homepage for our customers if you'd like. Thanks again!

Positive gedgar
(14 reviews)
On Mar 20, 2006, gedgar Mobile, AL (Zone 8a) wrote:

I ordered three roses (Lady Banks, Joseph's Coat and Seven Sisters). First time ordering from this company. The roses arrived right on time, packaging was excellent, and the roses are beautiful. I will definitely order from this company again.

Positive ponddigger
(1 review)
On Mar 15, 2006, ponddigger Orem, UT wrote:

Great roses and the customer service is excellent. I received three Betty Priors that were on sale and they are all monsters now.

Positive DanaDW
(7 reviews)
On Feb 1, 2006, DanaDW Pahrump, NV (Zone 8a) wrote:

The roses (6) I ordered from High Country Roses last year outperformed the other 12 I ordered from two other companies.
I will most definitely order from them again.

Positive ojaicheryl
(1 review)
On Oct 2, 2005, ojaicheryl Ojai, CA wrote:

Having ordered twice from High Country Roses I can say I am VERY happy with everything I have ordered.

My sister, (who lives down the street from me) has well over 200 roses ordered from another source and ends up with roses that are half the size and punny at a much greater price. The roses I ordered (at the same time my sister ordered from her source) have already bloomed and look great, whereas hers have still not bloomed yet. After seeing these results my sister has now converted to this source as well!

High country roses are larger and greener and healther than any roses I have ordered on line. And I have ordered from serveral sources on line. The staff is easy to work with if you have any issues, want to add or change your order, etc.

Thank goodness for High Country Roses! I know I will be ordering from them again and again!

Positive Bellingham
(8 reviews)
On Sep 3, 2005, Bellingham Bellingham, WA wrote:

For me, the thing that seperates a good company from a great company is the level of awareness they seem to have about what is going on with orders. This company is obviously paying attention.

I placed three orders over the course of about two weeks, for about a dozen roses altogether. All were packed and shipped very quickly, and, without my even mentioning anything, it looks as if they saw the third order come in when the 2nd order must have been almost out the door. They quickly added the third order and shipped everything together.

In other words, somebody cared enough to say, "Hold it a second, I think there's another order from that guy."

Maybe that's a small thing, but I think it shows that they are paying attention, and I'll definately buy again for this reason.

Receiving healthy roses didn't hurt either.

Positive torachan
(1 review)
On Jul 7, 2005, torachan Aurora, CO wrote:

I have ordered from High Country Roses about four times over the last year. In each case, the roses arrived on time and in great shape. I choose HCR when I am looking for a healthy, own-root rose, that is not available at local nurseries. The descriptions are uniformly realistic, a major issue when purchasing roses for the Rocky Mountain climate. HCR provides great chances to buy unusual roses that are adapted to the arid Rocky Mountains.

Neutral Cottage_Rose
(14 reviews)
On Nov 11, 2004, Cottage_Rose (Zone 5b) wrote:

I wasn't highly impressed with their roses quality upon arrival but they have done fairly well. They were planted during the heat of summer so next year will reveal more.
I doubt I will order from them again.

Positive ralladi
(2 reviews)
On Oct 4, 2004, ralladi Streetsboro, OH wrote:

I ordered 3 of their 'on sale' rose plants back in July 2004. The plants are thriving extremely well till now though on arrival they were smaller than I expected (but since they were sale plants I guess I should not be looking at the size). The plants arrived in 5 days. The customer service was also good. I would definitely order from them again.

Positive Glad_Grammy
(3 reviews)
On May 9, 2004, Glad_Grammy Saint Paris, OH wrote:

I ordered roses from seven different companies earlier this year but High Country Roses is the standout for me. Pleasant person on the phone took my order, plants came exactly at the time specified, beautifully packaged with absolutely NO damage, healthy plants, some with buds already on them and blooming, and all at a good price! To say the least, I am extremely happy with their product and service! I will do business with them again. In fact, next year I may just get all of my roses from them as they have the hardy old garden types I love. I give them the highest recommendation.

Positive weedkicker
(12 reviews)
On Jan 23, 2004, weedkicker wrote:

I've placed two orders with this company and have been pleased both times. The plants have been in terrific shape and the service has been great. Will continue to do business with them.

Positive nevadagdn
(117 reviews)
On Oct 22, 2003, nevadagdn Sparks, NV (Zone 7a) wrote:

I ordered two roses: a Rugosa hybrid ('Magnifica'?) and Rosa woodsii. Both arrived healthy, in good condition. The plants were small, as in liner size, but that's what I wanted and expected. Both plants grew and have grown well since planting two years ago, but then, those two varieties are about as idiot-proof as they come.

I was pleased with the service and the quality of plants provided for the price.


On March 9th, 2005, nevadagdn added the following:

I ordered two more roses this year--Rosa moyesii and 'Popcorn'. I ordered by phone, and Rosemary was very helpful. She advised against having my plants shipped so soon because our weather is so changeable: very good advice for novice gardeners. Since I'm not a novice, and I'm well-equipped with wall-o-waters, rose cones, row cover and other gardening debris, I opted to receive my roses next week because I have my own rose-planting strategies. I appreciate good advice even when I ignore it :-)
On March 17th, 2005, nevadagdn added the following:

This years' order consisted of two healthy, well-branched 1-qt. plants. I am very happy with the quality of the plants I received.
On May 27th, 2005, nevadagdn added the following:

The Rosa moyesii I received in March is growing like mad--it's caught up with much larger rose plants put in the ground last Fall. 'Popcorn' is more restrained (it IS a miniature), but still extremely healthy. The two roses from previous years (R. woodsii and R. rugosa) are now hell-bent on dominating their respective corners of the garden. You would never know they had been small 1-qt. plants a couple years ago.
On October 17th, 2007, nevadagdn added the following:

I ordered (and planted) 6 more roses. No change to previous comments: all 6 had good top growth and decent-sized root balls.
Positive Silverann
(1 review)
On Oct 21, 2003, Silverann wrote:

I bought 5 roses from High Country this summer while they were on sale. The middle of summer is admittedly not the most auspicious time to plant roses, but to my surprise and delight all five are thriving, and those that are repeat bloomers are blooming now! The staff have been helpful and knowledgeable, and when I asked for a rose that is not readily available they put me on a waiting list and told me that when they have one they will let me know. I will continue to buy from this company!

Positive rbittman
(6 reviews)
On Aug 11, 2003, rbittman wrote:

I ordered two own-root roses from them last December: Darlow's Enigma and Francis E. Lester. Both arrived on time, packed well, and in great condition, albeit dormant. They seemed small, but I am a beginnger at roses, and wait for the rest...the roses absolutely took off the following 2003 Spring and Summer. They are currently 4-5' tall with multiple canes from the base (note that both are ramblers). Darlow's started flowering in June and never stopped. Lester flowered once in early Spring and not again, which is normal for him. I would most definitely order from High Country Roses again; healthy, fine own-root roses. Nice for a beginner to see progress so soon!

Positive bubbawanda
(1 review)
On Jun 28, 2003, bubbawanda wrote:

I ordered "high country banshee" a damask rose as well as "austrian copper". I live at 6000ft and have subzero temperatures. The roses were great! These are real people who know what it takes to pull off roses in a cold climate.

I would recommend High Country Roses to anyone. One thing though, when you get your roses, do prepare your soil well. I dug down 3 feet and used lots of horse manure and bone meal. Makes all the difference in the world, and your roses will blast to the moon!

Positive ahill
(1 review)
On May 19, 2003, ahill wrote:

I have High Country Roses in my Wyoming garden, and they are doing great! I highly recommend them for the Rocky Mountain region, if not to all regions. The owners and staff are exceptionally helpful and courteous. I wish them all the best, and would definitely buy from them again and again.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next »


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America