Photo by Melody
Our annual end-of-summer contest is here, come on down to the Dave's Garden County Fair!

Comments regarding White Flower Farm

Click here to return to White Flower Farm's listing.

You are viewing only positive comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
175 positives
80 neutrals
130 negatives

Comments:

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next »

RatingAuthorContent
Positive Mylena1
(12 reviews)
On Jul 6, 2017, Mylena1 Cliff Island, ME wrote:

For the first time I ordered two hydrangeas from this company and I was amazed at what I got. The plants were big and healthy, and I even divided one bush into two. After planting the hydrangeas immediately started to bloom - all three of them. I was also amazed at the choice of hydrangeas this company has. I will order here again. THANK YOU!

Positive NJFlowers
(2 reviews)
On May 20, 2017, NJFlowers Randolph, NJ wrote:

I wish you could leave a review somewhere between neutral and positive. I want to LOVE White Flower Farm (oh that catalog!), but I only like them. The positives: good selection, especially of perennials that can be hard to find elsewhere; stuff ships when they say it will and at appropriate time for planting; good performance of some plants. The negatives: high prices; small plant sizes; and occasional poor plant performance. So I have kind of figured out over the years what I can and can't buy from them. I won't do shrubs anymore after I was sent a lilac twig that died and I won't do daylilies as places that specialize in these flowers are superior for that. I do turn to WFF for perennials I can't find elsewhere, just knowing the cost will be high, the plants will be small, and my husband will say, "You spent $200 for THAT!" But they are plants and will grow. The iris I planted from WFF last year are gorgeous--the stars of my garden right now. The perennials I planted earlier this spring were small but are doing well. My bare root roses are thriving. So I'd say order from WFF but just adjust your expectations, especially for cost, accordingly.

Positive BethAtlBeach
(1 review)
On May 18, 2017, BethAtlBeach Atlantic Beach, NY wrote:

I have been a White Flower Farm customer for many years and not only buy plants for my garden, but also regularly give White Flower Farm gift certificates to friends and family who garden.
I order my plants in February to make sure I get the heirloom tomatoes and hard to get plants that often sell out.
The plants usually come around Mother's Day. This year they came early, and for some reason, several of the plants did not make it. In the past I have had one or two that did not survive, but this year I had 8 (of 36) that didn't make it..
True to their word, when I called, they promised to replace the plants that didn't make it, no questions asked. While some of the more popular, heirloom plants were, unfortunately, sold out, White Flower gave me the option of replacing them with different varieties, or getting a credit.
I like that they stand by the plants that they sell, and that their customer service is nice, and helpful.
I would definitely recommend White Flower Farm.

Positive CCplantlover
(2 reviews)
On May 3, 2017, CCplantlover Falmouth, MA wrote:

I ordered two orders of "The Works" Daffodil collection last summer (200 bulbs); the bulbs arrived in time for planting last fall. The bulbs were good sized and in excellent condition. I planted them within a week. This spring they are simply gorgeous. Many are large flowered, fragrant, quite a few double flowers and a great variety of color. I will be ordering more bulbs this year as I want to increase the area devoted to spring bulbs. I've ordered from this company for a number of years and have always been pleased with the plants and have always had good service.

I have daffodils that are blooming now that were put in a number of years ago. I have found that bulbs planted in shady locations will often "peter out" over time; that's mostly due to location (light) and neglect (the bulbs do need to be fertilized after flowering). But bulbs that are planted in sunny locations and fertilized continue to expand and product beautiful flowers year after year. I've been very happy with my experience with White Flower Farm.

Positive southampton
(1 review)
On Apr 18, 2017, southampton Palmetto, GA wrote:

Through no fault of this company, I never received the White Wisteria or Day Lily that I ordered. The problem was clearly on my end, but Diana and Donna gave me a credit for the honor anyway! Now, this is customer service that goes way beyond expectancy.

I give them five stars for listening to my problem and assisting me in a most professional and caring way!

Because of this alone, I will look first for my plants at this fine company!


On Apr 18, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Apr 21, 2017 7:11 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for the feedback about your experience with White Flower Farm. Our customers deserve the very best and we are always looking for positive resolutions to all circumstances. I will certainly let Diane & Donna know you were thrilled with their service.

We look forward to assisting you with your gardening needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Michelle, Manager of Customer Service"


Positive raspberrypicket
(4 reviews)
On Apr 11, 2017, raspberrypicket Circleville, OH wrote:

I ordered two lily collections (36 bulbs) and received them last week. The lily bulbs were big and plump and looked freshly dug! They exceeded all my expectations! I compared the White Flower Farm lily bulbs to those I bought at a big box store, and the store lily bulbs were tiny and dried out. I am looking forward to seeing and smelling the lilies later this summer! The size and quality of White Flower Farm lily bulbs were outstanding! (Circleville, Ohio)


On Apr 11, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Apr 21, 2017 6:44 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive comment about your experience with White Flower Farm. We would love to see pictures of your lily flowers in bloom. Feel free to post a review of them and include a picture on our Website or visit our Facebook page and post a picture once they are in bloom. We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michelle, Customer Service Manager"


Positive KDboodo
(3 reviews)
On Jan 13, 2017, KDboodo Irving, TX (Zone 8a) wrote:

This review is written about a RECENT experience, not something from years ago like some of the reviews which I find so useless.

They are very serious about making sure you are happy with your purchase; five stars!

I chose to order 2 Daphne amaryllis bulbs from White Flower Farm this fall (2016) I had one bulb bloom not true to color. I was offered a replacement bulb from whatever varieties were still in stock (this variety being sold out) or a replacement of the same bulb sent next year. They even offered to let me wait and ensure the second bulb bloomed true before submitting the request. When they heard the second bulb was blooming the right color, but only 2 blooms per stalk (which I had figured might just be a quirk to this variety) they decided to send a replacement for it too! I will get my replacements next year, as I like this variety and did not want the others. This was my first order from WFF, and I will be keeping them on my list of places to order from :)


On Jan 13, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Feb 3, 2017 12:42 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your review and speaking about your recent experience with White Flower Farm. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our resolution. We pride ourselves in providing top quality products and a generous guarantee. We want all of our customers to be successful and satisfied with our products and service. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Michelle - Manager of Customer Service"


Positive willworkfordirt
(3 reviews)
On Aug 3, 2016, willworkfordirt wrote:

I purchased a Waterfall Japanese maple from White Flower Farm this past spring and it is doing well so far.

I was very impressed with how carefully packaged the maple was when it arrived and the delivery was timely.


On Aug 3, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 9, 2016 7:04 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so glad you liked the Waterfall Japanese Maple – it's actually one of my personal favorites! We look forward to assisting you again with your future gardening needs.

Sincerely,
Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager"


Positive smilingred
(4 reviews)
On Jul 7, 2016, smilingred Madison, WI (Zone 5a) wrote:

Every time I've moved over the past 20 years, I've ordered 100 mixed daffodils and 25-50 mixed daylilies to jump start my garden my garden.
Even though I've done this many times, I'm always impressed with the results each spring.
Thank you White Flower Farm


On Jul 7, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 9, 2016 7:17 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for your feedback. We would love to see pictures of your gardens in the spring! Feel free to post them on our Facebook page or email them directly to custserv@whiteflowerfarm.com.

We also have several new daffodil offerings this fall. If you haven't seen them yet, take a look on our Website - whiteflowerfarm.com. We look forward to assisting you again this fall season.

Sincerely,
Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager"


Positive Elspeth65
(6 reviews)
On Jun 13, 2016, Elspeth65 Stow, OH wrote:

My father has always sent me flower arrangements from WFF for my birthday, so last summer when we started "remodeling" our garden I decided to give them a try. I ordered some Snow-in-Summer and ajuga, plus 2 Brazelberry bushes, one blueberry and one raspberry. Everything arrived promptly and packaged well, and the potting medium was still moist. A couple weeks later I ordered some foxglove and the lavender goodwin basket - both arrived when promised and were large and healthy. (I did manage to kill the lavender over the winter, but I don't fault WFF for that, just my own black thumb.) In July my dad sent me a gift card instead of a bouquet, and I bought some Iris New Moon and several peonies. Again, shipped at the right time and packed with care.

I had berries on my bushes within a few weeks of receiving them last summer. They overwintered well and are bushy and healthy now, the blueberry bush is already covered in berries. The digitalis did not flower last year, but I did not expect it to. The ajuga and snow-in-summer are happily spreading and flowering, and the peonies and iris are huge and have given me multiple blooms already.

I ordered a white azalea this spring, and it is the cutest little thing. So far it is doing well.

I have been very happy with my experiences with WFF and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.


On Jun 13, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 9, 2016 7:21 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

We are so thrilled to hear how happy you are with all your White Flower Farm plants and ordering experiences. Thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments. Please don't hesitate to contact us for gardening advice or to help you with a future purchase. Thank you for your continued patronage.

Best,
MIchelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager

"


Positive MollyBlooms
(12 reviews)
On May 4, 2016, MollyBlooms Grosse Pointe Farms, MI wrote:

Ordered three coleus plants and they arrived in decent shape, although the planting medium for each was bone-dry -- no wonder, since they were shipped late in the previous week and so had a weekend to dry out before arriving the following Monday. The next day the coleus looked better after a good watering. I'd give this experience a "B."

Positive themagoos
(1 review)
On Oct 6, 2015, themagoos Owasso, OK wrote:

“White Flower Farm has the BEST customer service and I truly appreciate that, especially when customer service is declining in so many businesses today!”


On Oct 6, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Oct 7, 2015 9:29 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive comment. We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michelle, Customer Service Manager"


Positive ellenfoster
(10 reviews)
On Sep 20, 2015, ellenfoster Hinesburg, VT wrote:

This is a lukewarm +. I've ordered bulbs and plants from them in the past. The bulbs were large and healthy. The plants were only OK. They have a good cross the board selection. I've also used them for Christmas presents- "buy 3 for different addresses" as well as some miniature live Christmas trees. These are great for my dad, since they arrive pre-lit and with decorations, but they have been disappointing to me. None of my Christmas trees have made it to being replanted outdoors, but my local nursery told me that I could not expect them to be inside for a month and survive for re-planting. WFF sight does not give adequate detail for me to know this. Nothing wrong, just not great. They are expensive and the shipping charges are appalling.

Positive nitzi1944
(12 reviews)
On Jul 16, 2015, nitzi1944 Kings Park, NY (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on November 15, 2014, updated July 16, 2015
Posted on October 8, 2014, updated November 15, 2014
Posted on October 7, 2014, updated October 8, 2014
I had a gift cert. I ordered some Carnegie hyacinths and specifically told the phone person I wanted them delivered the VERY END of Oct. This is b/c I am having knee surgery the beginning of next week. Guess what? They just arrived and it will be 75 degrees today. Too warm to plant bulbs. I am going to refrigerate them. The shipping charges are TWICE the price of any other reliable catalog bulb seller like Brent and Becky or Colorblends.WFF is VERY overpriced and if it weren\\\\\\\'t for the gift cert., I wouldn\\\\\\\'t have ordered. MY first experience with WFF. I don\\\\\\\'t think I\\\\\\\'ll order again.


On October 8th, 2014, nitzi1944 changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

I am impressed by the offer of WFF to refund shipping charges on my original and also to resend the bulbs at the end of the month when I will be home from the rehab facility after knee surgery. Gives me hope that companies want to keep a customer. I am taking advantage of this offer b/c I don\\\'t know if the refrigerated bulbs will survive. I am changing my rating to positive b/c of this offer. Thank you WFF!
On November 15th, 2014, nitzi1944 added the following:

I received the replacement Carnegie hyacinths. Thank you for your kind consideration and offer. I got someone to plant them for me and look forward to Spring. WFF came through for me.
On July 16th, 2015, nitzi1944 added the following:

I must say, the white Carnegie hyacinth bulbs were gorgeous. They were very large. They bloomed for a long time and I received sooooo many compliments.
On Jul 16, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Oct 7, 2014 10:53 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

I am sorry to hear that we shipped your order earlier than you requested. Please contact us at 800-411-6159 or custserv@whiteflowerfarm.com so we can refund your shipping and handling charge and or replace the order to ship at the very end of October as you requested. If you wish to store them in your refrigerator, please make sure the temperature does not go below 40 degrees. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to correcting this error for you.
Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager


On Jul 16, 2015 8:09 AM, White Flower Farm added:

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased and complimented on the Carnegie hyacinth bulbs. Feel free to write a product review and upload any pictures you might have of them on our website at: whiteflowerfarm.com

Thank you for taking the time to update your review.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager
"


Positive BeaGardener
(2 reviews)
On Jul 9, 2015, BeaGardener Lexington, MA wrote:

In 2014 I ordered 5 ajuga plants, 3 lithodora plants, and 3 "Tutti Frutti" agastache plants from White Flower Farm. In May 2015 I was very concerned that these plants had not made it through the winter. After contacting White Flower Farm, their Customer Service promptly emailed good advice about the ajuga plants: do the scratch test at the plant crowns, and if one sees green, the plants are alive, just slowly waking up. What a relief to find this to be true of the 5 plants! As for the 6 other dead plants, WFF CS requested that I send photos of the dead ones. My husband photographed the dead plants with his phone, and I uploaded and sent the photos to WFF. They had already refunded all 6 to my credit card, and acknowledged and thanked me for the photos. I am satisfied by the entire experience, as everyone who contacted me was helpful, polite, and responded as I had hoped they would. As a result, I will continue to be interested in their business!


On Jul 9, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Jul 16, 2015 8:11 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your White Flower Farm order experience. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager"


Positive gardenkarma
(9 reviews)
On Jul 3, 2015, gardenkarma Allston, MA wrote:

I'm not usually daft at ordering from mail-order garden companies online. I do it enough to have experience with what to expect, so my experience ordering with this company may simply be an isolated incident. I ordered a flower assortment for hanging baskets only to realise the (read: high) price didn't even include a basket. Just 4 flowers - annuals. OK fine, that's on me for assuming.

Only 2/4 of the flowers arrived. OK fine, they let me know on the packslip that the rest would ship when available. Communication was key! Unfortunately, the 2 that did arrive were thrown about the packaging so that the soil was everywhere but in the pots (no damage visible to the box from the outside) and the plants were small and yellowed on arrival. Those 2 flowers shrivelled and died before their partners arrived. Requested replacements, was met with no resistance whatsoever, ultimately received 4 healthy flowers - packaged beautifully this time! The difference was like night and day. Plastic around damp soil - that stayed in the pots - little bits of cardboard to keep things spaced and in place. They must have hired an engineer between my shipments. Joking and trouble aside, the flowers were given a home in a shoddy hanging basket I made myself (cringe, it's all right) and they even came back from the "dead" this year. Can't really complain about any of it in the long run.


On Jul 3, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Jul 16, 2015 8:23 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

We appreciate your feedback on your order experience with White Flower Farm. I informed our public relations and product development teams about the confusion with the hanging basket. We will strive for a solution that will ensure future customers do not experience the same confusion as you experienced.

I am pleased to hear that your additional two items and the replacements arrived in great condition. We look forward to assisting you in the future.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager"


Positive MattW1969
(5 reviews)
On May 10, 2015, MattW1969 Fremont, OH wrote:

Ordered a clematis and a Miss Molly butterfly bush. Was very pleased with both plants. Miss Molly was larger and more robust than I had expected. Would recommend.


On May 10, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On May 19, 2015 10:46 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. Feel free to post a review with pictures on our website (www.whiteflowerfarm.com) of the clematis and or Miss Molly butterfly bush. We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager

"


Positive titaniumhipster
(1 review)
On Dec 16, 2014, titaniumhipster Glen Oaks, NY wrote:

BoldChat Support

Thanks for contacting us. An operator will be with you shortly …


(Val) Hello, my name is Val. How may I help you?
(Paul) I’ve got some questions about your terrariums.
(Val) Certainly.
(Paul)Well Val. You seem pretty confident. Let’s see if you can give me some accurate answers to my questions. Last year I bought a “Stained Glass” terrarium. This year I want a “Victorian Conservatory.” How do I avoid any overlap in the plants they contain?
(Val) I’m not sure I understand your question…do you mean how do you space them accordingly so that the plants don’t end up on top of each other?
(Paul) Nooooooooooooooo. What I meant was if terrarium #1 contains an African Kaboodle plant, how can I avoid the plant present in terrarium #2?
(Val) Well, the kits are set up as collections. So in terms of switching plants out for different ones, I’m afraid we can’t do that.
(Val) In the Victorian Conservatory, there is Ruby Red Club Moss, Button Fern, Peacock Moss, Pin Cushion Spikemoss and a Bird’s Nest Fern.
(Paul) O.K. Could you list the plants present in the “Stained Glass” kit and the ones present in the “Victorian Conservatory” kit? This would help get started in choosing which kit I want.
(Val) Absolutely. Listed above your last text is the Victorian Conservatory, let me get the elements for the Stained Glass. Just one moment please.
(Paul) I await your answer.
(Val) In the Stained Glass, there is: Pin Cushion Spike moss (Selaginella kraussiana “Brownii’) Pin Cushion Spike moss (Selaginella kraussiana ‘Aurea’) London Pride, Button Fern, Tricolor Fern and Ruby Red Club Moss.
(Paul) It would be great if you could show me color photos of each of the plants you have listed. If you can do so I will be your friend forever (well for at least twenty minutes.)
(Val) I will try to find some for you. Can I try to attach them in an email to you?
(Paul) That would be great! Thanks for your efforts on my behalf.
(Val) Not a problem. Could you please provide me with your email address?
(Paul) gestalt77@gmail.com
(Val) Okay. Give me just a few and I will send the email over.
(Paul) That would be a great help.
(Val) Not a problem at all. I am happy to help.
(Paul) I’m standing by.
(Val) Paul, I have just sent the email over.
(Paul) O.K. I need a few minutes to find it.
(Val) Sure.
(Paul) Got it! If it was within my power to grant you a holiday bonus I would do so but for now a hardy slap on the back for a job well done will have to do.
(Val) Why thank you! If it’s not too much to ask, in place of a bonus perhaps you could give up a nice review on Dave’s Garden?
(Val) J
(Paul) Dave’s Garden? Who? What? Where?
(Val) It’s a website, where customers post review about every single nursery out there.
(Val) http://davesgarden.com/products/gwd/
(Val) Called Dave’s Garden Watchdog
(Paul) Well, how about that! I’ll get on it right away OR as soon as I get the wording to my liking OR as soon as I prioritize it. But I will get it done. You guys certainly deserve it. Especially you Val.
(Val) Paul, thank you so much. I will tell my manager, and she will be happy to hear this as well as see the review. Thank you so much again.
(Paul) Well you not only talked the talk but you really did walk the walk. Over and out.
(Val) Take care Paul!

The operator has ended the chat. Thanks for contacting us.

As a result of this chat I DID buy the Victorian Conservatory terrarium. Paul Tobin Floral Park, NY

Positive joevai1
(4 reviews)
On Nov 26, 2014, joevai1 Montrose, CO wrote:

Posted on November 18, 2014, updated November 26, 2014
I\'m not happy to be writing this review because I\'ve dealt with this company for many years. Their prices are high but everything I have received from them has been stellar quality and perfectly packaged for shipping. However, I feel I should give a warning about ordering their amaryllis bulbs. I received the rest of my bulb orders in a timely fashion but no amaryllis. Each order showed they would be shipped \"separately\". I placed this order in September so I would have the bulbs in plenty of time to flower out for Christmas. Since it is after the middle of November I called for a status of my order and was told the bulbs were just now beginning to be shipped and that somewhere in \"the book\" (I assume the catalog) it states that they won\'t be in bloom for Christmas. I still haven\'t been able to find that caveat anywhere. My order was checked and the bulbs shipped yesterday - still not enough time for a Christmas bloom. When I stated that I should have bought the bulbs locally I was told they are much smaller which, of course, I know and that\'s why I was willing to pay a premium price for these bulbs. I\'m just very unhappy that I didn\'t know about the shipping date in advance. As a parting sentiment, the rep noticed that I live in Colorado where it\'s been very cold and said she hoped they didn\'t freeze. When I questioned her she said that they ship UPS and sometimes the plants sit in the truck for a long time and that White Flower Farms had no control over that. That made me feel warm and fuzzy about my order. Not only are they later than expected but they may be frozen mush when I get them. There are many other reputable companies out there to order from. Guess in the future, I\'ll be ordering from them.


On November 26th, 2014, joevai1 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I have happily changed my rating from negative to positive. A rep from the company contacted me and assured me this was a one-time incident. She then immediately took care of my problem to my sincere satisfaction. I'm pleased to be able to say I'll be buying from them again. It's said that you really only know a company by how they treat you when things go wrong. I couldn't have asked for a better response. In addition, the rep has also contacted their publication department to make sure that in the future customers are aware of the bloom time for the amaryllis. As a footnote, the bulbs finally arrived and they were not frozen!
On Nov 26, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Nov 18, 2014 3:24 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with our amaryllis bulbs. I apologize that you were not aware when you placed your order that our Dutch and cybister amaryllis do not ship until mid November and take 8-10 weeks to bloom. Dutch and cybister amaryllis need a cold treatment and therefore ship later than our South African amaryllis (which ship in mid October). We ship all our products UPS or US Priority Mail and we carefully watch the weather to prevent any freezing or cold damage. In addition, we guarantee our products 100%.

We value you as a customer & I would be happy to compensate you for your dissatisfaction. I am unable to locate your order with the information provided above, so please contact me at your earliest convenience at at michelle@whiteflowerfarm.com.


Sincerely,
Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager "


Positive preashannah
(1 review)
On Nov 21, 2014, preashannah nj,
United States wrote:

I am AMAZED at the customer service of this company.

I has no idea about their guarantee when I bought my plants and when they arrived I was not satisfied so I called them up and within seconds they had refunded my full order and said I could keep the plants.

NO HASSEL, NO PROBLEMS, NO COMPLAINING!

I will definitely order again!

Positive Jadwin59
(12 reviews)
On Sep 29, 2014, Jadwin59 Rochester, NY (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered 7 "blue billow" gallon-sized lacecap hydrangeas in early September and received the order about two weeks later. The plants were carefully packed, in excellent condition with minimum breakage and sizeable, moist rootballs. They have thrived since being planted in a prepared bed.

WFF is not cheap, but it's a good source for a cultivar that I couldn't find locally at this time of year, and the plants appear to be very high quality.


On Sep 29, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Sep 29, 2014 11:57 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your positive feedback. Feel free to take pictures of your Blue Billow next spring when they are in bloom & post them with a review on our website at http://www.whiteflowerfarm.com. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager

"


Positive artistgardennyc
(1 review)
On Sep 22, 2014, artistgardennyc New York City, NY wrote:

I realize people have varying experiences with ANY retailer these days so I don't mean to refute the negative comments. I can only say that I have always rec'd excellent plants that have thrived beautifully in my NYC garden. Recently, one of my new three digitalis plants did not thrive well. I called for advice and the White Flower Rep immediately offered to replace all three of them, no charge, because they are sent in sets of three. I thought this was quite generous.


On Sep 22, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Sep 29, 2014 12:27 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope the replacement digitalis are thriving well!

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager
"


Positive judypal
(1 review)
On Aug 19, 2014, judypal Waterbury, CT wrote:

In the last 3 months, I needed to identify 2 plants. I emailed White Flower Farm with each picture and I received the identifications immediately. The emails were courteous and precise. I live in CT and have dealt with them in the past and have always received excellent service.


On Aug 19, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 20, 2014 7:50 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We were very happy to help you identify the plants. Please contact us anytime in the future. Happy Gardening!

Sincerely,
Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager"


Positive lovetogarden32
(2 reviews)
On May 22, 2014, lovetogarden32 hartford,
United States wrote:

Read all the reviews and decided to order anyway.. I usually buy locally but this time I tried mail order. I usually don't leave feedback but wanted to give this company a high five!

I ordered tomatoes and vegetable plants from White Flower and was impressed at the quality. I had a question about planting and called the customer service department which was able to answer all my questions quickly. Very polite & great quality. More expensive then I'd prefer but I will happily pay more for great service & product.


On May 22, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On May 22, 2014 12:04 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. Feel free to take pictures of your tomatoes & vegetables at harvest time & post them with a review on our website at http://www.whiteflowerfarm.com. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager "


Positive Lazydaisy153
(12 reviews)
On May 19, 2014, Lazydaisy153 Lilburn, GA wrote:

I place an order with White Flower Farm on 5/9/2014. It was for the Dawn to Dusk Collection. When it arrived, I immediately noticed that I was sent the wrong rose. I called Customer Service and spoke with Carol Ann. She was apologetic about the wrong product. She informed me that I should have been called by Shipping and told that they did not have this particular rose in stock. She went out of her way to track down an acceptable substitute for me. Carol Ann shows exceptional customer service .


On May 19, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On May 21, 2014 9:54 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your positive feedback. I will share this kind post with Carol Ann.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Customer Service Manager"


Positive myrelle22
(3 reviews)
On Apr 1, 2014, myrelle22 Belton, TX wrote:

This is the second time I have ordered from White Flower Farm. Both times my order was received in great condition. I was leery of ordering potted plants to be shipped, but they did an outstanding job. The plants arrived in perfect condition. I gave them a little water and they perked right up. I highly recommend this company.

Positive ScienceChick
(2 reviews)
On Mar 14, 2014, ScienceChick The Colony, TX (Zone 8a) wrote:

Ordered amaryllis bulbs - both potted and unpotted - for Christmas. They arrived on the third day of a five day ice storm (unusual for Texas). Sadly, they must have been frozen or nearly frozen at some point because all the bulbs rotted.

I called WFF (note - called, not emailed) and, although it really wasn't their fault that the bulbs froze, they replaced them. The customer service rep was very nice and very helpful. They were out of the varieties I had originally ordered but the rep took the time to find others that were close.

It did take a bit for the replacements to arrive due to bad weather in New England. The bulbs are HUGe and healthy. All are growing well and have multiple buds.

It's really nice to do business with a company that does what it says it will. When they say 100% guaranteed they mean it.

Positive DanSpitz_Guitar
(5 reviews)
On Oct 26, 2013, DanSpitz_Guitar Bellport, NY wrote:

I'm surprised at the negative reviews here....I've ordered from them multiple times in the past few weeks, and each item has shipped out in a timely fashion...the Globemaster Allium bulbs I ordered from them were really big and healthy looking; same for the Hydrangea Color Fantasy plants I ordered from them...nice size, very healthy looking...and same for the Grape Hyacinth bulbs I ordered from them---very healthy too....YES, this company is a little pricey, but everything I ordered was shipped fairly fast and looked quite healthy...I give them a thumb's up....


On Oct 26, 2013, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Dec 17, 2013 12:12 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your kind words! We pride ourselves in shipping top quality, hardy and healthy plants to our customers.

Sincerely,
Customer Service"


Positive BrisbaneAnne
(30 reviews)
On Jul 17, 2013, BrisbaneAnne Brisbane, CA (Zone 10b) wrote:

I was a little anxious when I placed my order with them because of the mixed reviews. However, my own experience turned out to be positive. They arrived very nicely packed. One variety I can only find on their website arrived very stressed and eventually died. I contacted them about it, and they replaced them very promptly. Unfortunately the replacement also came in looking bad. They again promptly refunded my money. I am in CA, having plants shipped all the way from CT can be tricky. I appreciate their customer service. I will try them again, probably during early Spring.

Positive riv
(4 reviews)
On Mar 27, 2013, riv Pine Grove, CA wrote:

recently ordered two bareroot roses and 3 malva plants. the roses were HUGE. beautiful roots and canes with new growth all over them. the malva were small, but looked healthy in their little pots. i'm very happy with these plants. this isn't the first time i've ordered from them and i've never had a problem or had to ask for a replacement or refund. great selection within plant types. i hope WFF keeps up the good work and doesn't deteriorate like some other mail order nurseries have.

Positive nancyelatimer
(3 reviews)
On Oct 25, 2012, nancyelatimer Union City, TN wrote:

I bought 50 bulb cages and then another $450 worth of plants and bulbs. Everything was expensive but top notch. The plants arrived in amazing shape--hard to believe they were shipped. I wish the price was lower but the quality it truly amazing.


On Oct 25, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Oct 30, 2012 10:28 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

We are very happy to hear how pleased you were with the quality of bulbs & the bulb cages. A protracted discussion with our partners at UPS has resulted in meaningful discounts in the cost of our shipping service, bringing down the delivered price of every item in our Holiday catalog.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Customer Service"


Positive combien
(8 reviews)
On Oct 16, 2012, combien Seattle, WA wrote:

Today I received the first order I placed with this company. I ordered a Philadelphus Snow White Sensation and could not be more pleased. Through the years I ordered many plants from many different companies and have never seen a more carefully packaged plant. The shipping and handling charge is a bit more expensive than some other companies, but I rather pay more and receive an excellent plant. Not a twig was broken. I will definitely order more from White Flower Farm.


On Oct 16, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Oct 30, 2012 10:29 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. A protracted discussion with our partners at UPS has resulted in meaningful discounts in the cost of our shipping service, bringing down the delivered price of every item in our Holiday catalog.

We look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Customer Service"


Positive trjonas
(2 reviews)
On May 19, 2012, trjonas Charlotte, NC wrote:

This review compares my experiences ordering from Gurneys and White Flower Farms. (I'll also post this review under Gurneys on this website.) I had positive experiences with both companies.

RASPBERRIES

I ordered one raspberry variety from Gurneys, and one from White Flower Farms. The raspberry bush from Gurney's sprouted right away and is doing marvelously. The raspberry bush from White Flower Farm took a few weeks but is beginning to sprout leaves now.

TOMATOES

I wanted to try three different heirloom tomato plants this year and wanted to be able to choose each variety. Gurneys didn't offer such an option so I ordered from White Flower Farms.

Unfortunately the plants arrived about a week before I could plant them (impossible to plan since they just say the plants will be sent at the right time - no specific date), so I followed the instructions on what to do with the plants in the meantime.

Two did just fine and are now flourishing in the garden. One went rapidly downhill while still in its pot and by the time I knelt down to plant it, it literally came apart in my hand. I called the company and asked if I could split the cost of a replacement plant with them since it wasn't their fault I couldn't plant it right away, but they wouldn't hear of it; they sent me a new plant at no charge, and it arrived in perfect shape and is now flourishing in the garden.

TOMATO CAGES

I ordered four strong tomato cages from Gurneys (they only come in sets of two) and though they were quite a bit pricier than your average tomato cage, they're also *quite* a bit sturdier than your average tomato cage. They look great and were worth the extra cost.

TOMATO AND RASPBERRY FOOD

I ordered tomato and raspberry food along with a tomato blossom rot prevention product from Gurneys, and they arrived promptly as did the other items in my order. It's too early to say how they'll perform, though.

SQUASH

I ordered zucchini and summer squash plants from White Flower Farms, and a winter spaghetti squash seed packet from Gurney. (A plant wasn't available.) The zucchini plant arrived broken in a box with other plants that were perfect, and White Flower Farms immediately sent out a replacement free of charge. It and the summer squash are both doing great. The winter squash is also doing great; it germinated and grew faster than I would have thought possible.

YELLOW PEPPER

I ordered a yellow pepper plant from White Flower Farms. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition, and is flourishing in the garden.

SWEET POTATOES

I ordered sweet potato plants from Gurneys. They were the last to arrive of my order but they kept me informed so I wasn't left wondering. Of the 12 plants, a few were quite vigorous and a few were almost dead. I planted them all and so far about 9 appear to be healthy. They haven't been in the ground long, though, so the others could still come back.

HERBS

Here my experience differs between Gurneys and White Flower Farms quite a bit. I wanted to order plants but in many cases they weren't available, and so I had to order seeds instead. This was the case with green onions, too, which I ordered as seeds. These were my orders:

Gurneys:

- French tarragon plant
- Green onion seeds
- Basil seeds
- Dill seeds

White Flower Farms:

- Oregano plant
- Thyme plant

White Flower Farms: the oregano and thyme arrived in perfect condition and are doing great.

Gurneys: my order arrived quickly. The French tarragon plant didn't look all that strong, but I figured once it was in the ground it would perk up. It didn't; instead, it weakened every day until it was dead despite special care and attention. I bought a new tarragon plant at a local nursery to replace it. The seeds were even worse. The basil and dill seeds failed to come up at all, and I planted *many* of the seeds. (And I did follow the instructions!) After 3 weeks I finally dug some of the basil seeds up to see if there was any activity, and there was none. Just dead seeds. Of 12 green onion seeds, only 3 came up. I looked at the packets and there were no dates, so I wonder if I was sent seeds that were years old, especially when I compare how fast the winter squash seeds from Gurneys came up. So, I bought herb plants at a local nursery to replace the Gurneys no-shows.

White Flower Farms herb score: 100%
Gurneys herb score: 0%

That said, I didn't call Gurneys to ask them to replace the plants, as I was at the local nursery with my husband anyway and it was easier and quicker to just buy the plants there. Gurneys may have gladly replaced the plants if it had known of my experience.

Overall my experience was positive and I would order from both companies again. I did feel White Flower Farms had an edge in that I felt like I was dealing with a smaller business and real human beings more so than with Gurneys, and they also had more live plants in the fruits and vegetables I wanted (rather than seeds), but on the plus side, Gurneys offered better specials and they sell some nice extra items like the strong tomato cages.

Positive IL8900
(2 reviews)
On Apr 20, 2012, IL8900 Evanston, IL wrote:

I have been buying flower bulbs from White Flower Farm for over 20 years. Every bulb that I have received from them has come in excellent condition and has bloomed successfully. I especially love their wonderful tulip selections, daffodils, and alliums. My favorites are the Marit and Blushing Lady tulips, and Best Seller and Carlton daffodils. They were all were beautiful in the spring garden. I also have had wonderful results with the Gladiator, and Cristophii Alliums in my garden. I look forward every season to their beautiful photos in their catalogue. I don't buy perennial plants from them because I have wonderful garden centers nearby. They are not the cheapest company but I have been impressed with the quality of their bulbs and how they were always delivered on time for planting in the fall.

Positive pinballer3
(2 reviews)
On Apr 14, 2012, pinballer3 Brighton, CO (Zone 5a) wrote:

I ordered two Hosta varieties for spring shipping. The plants were well packaged and very healthy on arrival. I used a gift certificate for the purchase and had no problems.

Positive Hydrangeagrwr
(1 review)
On Feb 3, 2012, Hydrangeagrwr Columbus, OH wrote:

This was the first time I ordered from White Flower Farm, and I purchased jasmine. I was a little put off by the price at first but understood when the plant arrived... It was extremely healthy and full of blooms. Well worth the money and came on time for holiday delivery. Based on the jasmine, I decided to place a second order for an amaryllis. I was very surprised at the size of the bulb! Largest I have seen and put the grocery store bulb to shame. I look forward to the bloom which should be any day now!


On Feb 3, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Feb 13, 2012 7:55 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for testimonial on your first experience with our company. We appreciate feedback & encourage customers to post product reviews on our website as well. You can also include a photo of your amaryllis blooming to show its spectacular performance!

Thank you!"


Positive bsharf
(8 reviews)
On Jan 24, 2012, bsharf Palm Coast, FL (Zone 9a) wrote:

Posted on January 31, 2009, updated January 24, 2012
I've ordered Amaryllis bulbs for several years. Have been happy with the overall quality and correct labelling. I've had minimal problems with rotten bulbs, which were immediately replaced with a call to their customer service department.


On January 24th, 2012, bsharf added the following:

I am very pleased with the quality of customer service. Two weeks ago, year I had a problem with one Amaryllis bulb in a large order. On calling WFF, I was immediately offered a credit, on that bulb, for a future order.
Positive ycn4chin
(36 reviews)
On Sep 12, 2011, ycn4chin Dickson, TN wrote:

I ordered some special daffodils from White Flower Farms for a new garden bed. Yes, they were a little more expensive, but these were relatively new varieties. I placed the order in Spring to get a discount. I received an email last week stating that my order is being shipped, and the bulbs arrived last Friday. They were nice, firm, fresh bulbs, with over 50% double-nosed. I have always had good experiences with White Flower Farms over the years, and this order was in keeping with their reputation for quality.


On Sep 12, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Sep 30, 2011 2:05 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you!"


Positive michigan420
(2 reviews)
On Jun 25, 2011, michigan420 Muskegon, MI (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered three Wedding Gown hydrangeas because it is a new variety that I knew I probably wouldn't find locally. They arrived in good shape and I needed to keep them indoors for several weeks until our cold spring warmed up. They have all thrived since being planted and have bloomed beautifully.


On Jun 25, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Jun 28, 2011 11:38 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to rate our company & products. Feel free to post your Wedding Gown Hydrangeas on our Facebook page!! We enjoy seeing our customers gardens!

Sincerely,
Michelle"


Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next »


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


 

Hope for America