SOLVED: Tall, elegant weed and fragrant too! ID please?

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

This weed stands 8 to 10 feet tall before the blooms start arching downward.

Thumbnail by podster

I never paid it much attention till I noticed something that smelled delicately wonderful. In bloom right now...

Thumbnail by podster
Coon Rapids, MN(Zone 4a)

Does it have the smell like Artemisia - Wormwood?

I'm sorry ~ that is a fragrance I am not familiar with. Does it look like a member of that family?

This message was edited Oct 5, 2009 7:21 PM

Coon Rapids, MN(Zone 4a)

I just am thinking that it could be an Artemisia but I have no experience with Texas plants.

I will have to check into that suggestion ~ thanks for the direction.

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

i've seen that plant here but not up close. can't wait for an id!

Have you caught the fragrance of it? It drifted on the breeze when I was walking and it took a bit to isolate which plant. Very interesting plant.

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Maybe a species of Asparagus?

Can you see how many petals each flower has? The pic isn't sharp enough to see. Also a pic of any leaves on the main stems would be useful.

Resin

I need to go look closer. I don't believe it has any foliage on the lower part of this plant. The blooms are so delicate I will certainly try for a better photo or two. Limited by a vintage camera in vintage hands... lol

Prairieville, LA(Zone 9a)

Possibly Dog Fennel, Eupatorium capillifolium

http://apalacheehills.com/Weeds/dogFennel.html

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

i know that it's not the "dog fennel" that is so very common here, but i think there is more than one Fennel with that common name.

i have not smelled it. i see it in the distance when we're driving, never up close.

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Quoting:
Possibly Dog Fennel

Not an umbellifer - wrong flowerhead structure.

Resin

Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)