From Today in history: January 20

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

1939: .... Four different species of pine are native to Arkansas: loblolly (Pinus taeda), longleaf (Pinus palustris), shortleaf (Pinus echinata) and slash (Pinus elliottii) pine.

Unfortunately not true; only Pinus taeda and Pinus echinata are native in Arkansas, the other two don't get that far northwest.


Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

The information most likely came from one of these sites (there are several that all repeat the same basic information:

The USNA's site has similar information, although they don't mention the other two species by name.

Pine tree (genus Pinus) state tree of ARKANSAS

Arkansas has designated the “pine tree” as its official state tree. The 1939 resolution adopting pine cites the utility of pine timber resources as a great source of wealth for the state, and that pine is a renewable resource that will continue to be important to Arkansas in the future. There are four species of pine native to Arkansas. Among them, the loblolly pine, also known as the Arkansas pine, often is cited as the state tree of Arkansas. This would be a good choice, given its significance as a timber tree, but it is entirely unofficial. In the National Grove of State Trees another Arkansas native, the shortleaf pine (Pinus echinata) has been planted to represent Arkansas. This too is a good choice, being an important timber tree, widely distributed across most of Arkansas (more common in Arkansas than loblolly pine). The other two pines native to Arkansas are much rarer, and less suitable candidates.

Shortleaf pine (Pinus echinata) is grown in the National Grove of State Trees to represent Arkansas.

Look for: medium to large pine tree; needles 3-5 inches long, in groups of 2-3, flexible and with a persistent sheath at the base; egg-shaped cones two inches long with scales that remain flexible, each with a small sharp central prickle (called an umbo).

The University of Arkansas includes both P. elliottii and P. taeda as landscape trees in the state:

Edited to add, the Arkansas forestry commission list all four here:

This message was edited Jan 21, 2010 10:45 AM

This message was edited Jan 23, 2010 9:44 AM

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)


I'm going on the maps produced by the USFS; they of course only map native locations, not cultivated trees. Reproductions of them here:

Native in Arkansas:
Pinus echinata:
Pinus taeda:

Not native in Arkansas:
Pinus palustris:
Pinus elliottii:

No surprise that the latter two can be grown, they'll be hardy in Arkansas, but they don't occur there naturally.


Post a Reply to this Thread

Please or sign up to post.