Mulch for Azaleas

Schaumburg, IL

What type of mulch is recommended for Azaleas? I put down hardwood bark a year and a half ago and my Bakeri did great. However, I was just reading about this much and a comment was made that this was bad for them. I am new to Azaleas and need some help.

Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)

Azaleas are shallow rooted plants and so, an acidic mulch would be best for them because they prefer to live in quite acidic soil. Hardwood mulch is alklaine and you do not want to make the soil in the top few inches of the ground alkaline. But the thing is, you really need a lot of that mulch to cause a problem because azaleas and rhododendron will tolerate s-o-m-e alkalinity anyway.

Acidic Soil locales: If you apply alkaline mulch to acidic soil and leave the soil unattended for a while, your soil will tend to return to its normal acid level on its own. For example, I did not worry much about the type of mulch I was using when I lived in mostly acidic Georgia and had no problems with iron chlorosis. Over there, I would be more concerned with having enough mulch rather than having acidic mulch.

Alkaline Soil Locales: But if your soil is near neutral or laklaine to start with, hardwood mulch may elicit a response from the azaleas if they deem the soil too alkaline for their taste. To grow azaleas in Illinois where the soil is usually alkaline, you have to amend the soil with products designed to keep the soil acidic. You can use slow acting garden sulphur, iron sulfate, Hollytone; or faster acting liquid iron-chelated compounds sold at nurseries.