Mignon Dalias too crowded or not enough H2O for h. basket?

Eunice, LA

Repost from beginning flowers:

I put 2 petit mignon dalia bulbs/tubers in each of my four 14 or 16 inch hanging baskets. In the middle, I put a caladium bulb. Well, being a novice, I didn't know how big the dalias were going to get. I thought they'd be small plants/flowers but they grew really tall. I noticed that their leaves are kind of droopy sometimes. It has been extremely hot lately, with the heat index being over 100 most of the day. I did also notice that the autowatering system spinner wasn't spinning, but I've been doing that by hand.

My question is... are they overcrowded? Should I attempt to dig them up and put them in the ground so they'd have more room. Are they just not getting watered enough? I'd hate to loose them before I get to see their blooms.

What is odd is that the expensive Tahitian Dalia from American Meadows hasn't taken off at all: http://www.americanmeadows.com/SpringFlowerBulbs/Dahlias/Tah... and they were planted first. It is in the ground

These petite mignon dalias are quite tall in the hanging basket. http://www.dutchgardens.com/detail.asp?pid=6342 Can post pictures later if you need to see.

Northeast, WA(Zone 5a)

If it were me, I would take them out and plant them in the ground. Pinch them about 10 inches or so from the base so they would bush.

Eunice, LA

Thank you.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)