Lessons learned while gardening in a drought...

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

The last few years have been trying for most of us that like to garden due to unprecedented drought conditions. As a result, I have been researching and experimenting with some successes which I'd like to share.

I have been practicing rainwater harvesting for a few years now, experimenting with lasagna beds, Hugelkultur beds, practicing mulching to conserve moisture and planting a succulent bed. I feel I am only limited by financial resources not limited by my knowledge or imagination.

I am reluctant to waste water, particularily on flowers so have neglected the flower beds. Some are hanging on and I am always amazed to find some plants that are truly drought tolerant and deliver blooms under these austere conditions.

Most of the flowers that do all right with this neglect have narrow leaves ( resulting in less moisture loss) or have bulbs that retain moisture.

Also Crape Myrtle, Althea and the Pavonia (rock rose in photo) ~ all of which are established.

water beds

Many wells and springs in this area have been drying up. I value the need for water for our own use first over flowers so I have neglected the flower beds as we are on a well.

Last fall, I dug up the plants that I wanted to save and needed extra care. I potted them up. This spring I built water beds.

Water beds are 2' x 8' framed with one layer of landscape timbers and lined with a heavy plastic. Then, filled with water. In these beds, I have set the potted plants, packing the pots in tightly to prevent further water evaporation. I also chopped up garlic and added to the water which helps prevent mosquitos. The water attracts frogs, toads and birds which also help control mosquitos and other bugs.