I am new to ALLIUMS

(Zone 4b)

I just returned from a tour of residential gardens and I am always pleased if I learn one thing that I can apply to my own garden. Today was ALLIUMS. I don't know much about them but they are clearly a worthwhile addition to a spring early summer garden. The large ones I saw were striking and they don't appear to take up much room ('width wise').

Can you fill me in on more details?

- bulb...planted in the fall?

- do they require full sun?

- do squirrels or deer eat them?

- can you recommend a variety?

Stamford, CT(Zone 6b)

Not an authority, but I've been growing alliums for a few years. It's one of those "set it and forget it" types of bulbs.

The bulbs are planted in the fall. As far as I know, they need full sun. I don't think squirrels or deer eat them, as we have deer, squirrels and other critters, and don't seem to lose many.

I generally buy large bulbs, either Globemaster or Gladiator. The larger the bulb, the more expensive it is. Very early on, end of March beginning of April, you will see a pretty little rosette which eventually looks like the first photo. Once it starts to send its spike, the leaves shown in the first photo tend to become very dry at the ends and fairly unattractive, but not too noticeable. They flowers on the spike start to open and are fully open as in the third photo in a round ball. Each flowerhead contains hundreds of small flowers and last a couple of weeks. After a while, each individual bloom starts to die off, and as the heads starts to go to seed as in the fourth photo, still quite attractive. Most of our alliums are lavender or dark purple, but the last photo is of a white allium, abut a week before it is fully open.

These came out in full in May (for us in the northeast), and the heads have gone to seed, but I usually cut them down if they become too heavy and start to bend or otherwise look bad.