Has anyone grown Clematis from bare root purchases?

Natick, MA

I bought my first clematis via email and received one of those "twigs" in a tiny pot. Planted it last fall and am hoping it did well over the winter.

I could not resist buying a bare root at a local chain store and am wondering if any of you have planted a bare root clematis, how it did, and how you planted it. As you can see, I'm new to clematis, have always admired their beauty, but my one past experience didnt go well...I have read/learned more in the past year and hoping that knowledge will pay off :)

I potted my bare root clem inside to give it a chance in the warm soil. It is growing and probably 9+" tall with a couple nodes and leaves starting now. It will be another month and a half before last frost for my zone; At that time I understand I should plant it deep (with the exposed nodes showing and trim the top so that it encourages branching?

Is that right? Any more suggestions to help me get this off to a good start. I'm assuming it will not bloom this year..it is by the way, Venosa Violacea

THANKS in advance for any helpful input!

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Here's the two Venosa Violacea I purchased from Walmart a few years ago. They were typically packaged in a green bag with no growth to be noticed. From the start I planted them deep, trimmed back a few times (to encourage a fuller plant) and they're glorious. Well worth the minor expense.

I grew them at a very sunny window, indoors, and put them out, after hardening them off, in late May.

Thumbnail by pirl
Natick, MA

Hi Pirl,

When did yours bloom? Not first year I'm guessing?