I\'m Shocked

Atlanta, GA(Zone 8a)

I'm shocked that there are not more post to this forum. I would have thought that there were a lot more canners and dehydrators out there. Everyone should store at least 3 or more months of food and water. I am always looking for recommendations on preserving food. I like canning and dehydrating because it tends to preserve food longer.
I just put some oranges in the dehydrator. This is my first time dehydrating oranges. I have dehydrated loads of things but this is the first time with oranges. I love it when I find things on clearance to dehydrate. These oranges where $1.00 a bag. I would love to find some mushrooms on sale to dehydrate.

Thumbnail by weeding Thumbnail by weeding Thumbnail by weeding
Portage, WI(Zone 5a)

I am sure that for every forum out there, someone is shocked that it is not more active. I doubt there is any correlation between the number of people posting and how many like the subject. Want more traffic? Interest people, post many how-to threads, share your interest. Gene

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

I can tons and ferment some but don't care for dehydrated food. I also don't support food preservation techniques derived from non-authoritative sources such as online blogs. To each her own. It's not been so long ago that experienced posters shared information but when people came on with posts about pouring boiled food in jars and not processing because hot jars will seal regardless, or turning hot food upside down to seal jars...well safe to say they got tired of posting the same old song.

I process all the excess vegetables from our garden and have pantries that at any given time have more than two hundred quarts of various home canned beans and meat (beef, turkey & chicken). That said, I am interested in preserving food from garden to table, or if a process such as fermenting is involved. But I am not as interested in buying a $400+ Excalibur dehydrator for preserving strawberries or orange slices.