Time to vote! Choose your favorite images in our annual Photo Contest HERE

Pomegranate

Peachtree City, GA(Zone 8a)

My pomegranate has started to bloom. It only has 2 blooms so far. I bought this towards the end of last year. It is a large fruiting size bush. I have 2 other small pomegranate bushes. One is a russian pomegranate. Like I mentioned this is my first year with it fruiting. I know I must hand pollinate it, since I no longer see any honey bees. Does anyone have any suggestions for assuring fruit?

Thumbnail by weeding Thumbnail by weeding
Irving, TX(Zone 8a)

I am glad that you started this thread.
I also planted 4 pomegranate plants 2 years ago.
I took a class at NHG and they told me to buy the variety "WONDERFUL" which it produces large size fruits and not the little balls.
This year I am having tons of huge red blossoms ...
Will they turn in to fruits?
I know that the fruits ripen in the fall ... humm

Wonderful is one of the varieties sold in supermarkets. I have 2 Wonderfuls. I so far have 2 blooms, I hope I get more. The nursery told me it was loaded with fruit when they got it, but the guy that was suppose to water it keep forgetting. That was OK with me because I got it at 60% off the Monrovia price tag. I go out to pollinate and the bloom is taking forever to open.

This message was edited Apr 22, 2016 5:53 PM

Irving, TX(Zone 8a)

why do you have to pollinate by hand?
I have 4 bushes

No honey bees!

Irving, TX(Zone 8a)

I have 4 WONDERFUL Pomegranate plants.
Here what they looks right now.
I wonder if all of these flowers will turn into fruits ??
This will be their 2nd year in my garden.

Thumbnail by drthor Thumbnail by drthor Thumbnail by drthor Thumbnail by drthor