New homeowner, looking for basic advice

Bedford, NH

Awesome site! I just bought a house and I know nothing about gardening. I'd love to learn and create a nice space for my wife (and me!) I have a thousand questions but I guess I'll start out with the most basic question I can think of. These are some pictures of an area by my front door (full area and three close ups). Are these all weeds or plants worth growing? Thanks in advance!

Thumbnail by LouieShamarro Thumbnail by LouieShamarro Thumbnail by LouieShamarro Thumbnail by LouieShamarro
Tustin, CA

I'm not an expert but it looks like a hodgepodge of things. Definitely some grass and weeds mixed in with other plants. Is it worth keeping? That's up to you. If you like the wild look then go with it. The problem is if you have a lot of weeds it is going to be difficult to remove them and stop them from growing. Often times they have a tap root so you have to get the entire plant and root out otherwise it will just keep multiplying. I've learned that it's easier to do things the right way from the start, such as removing the unwanted plants, churning up the soil and adding new soil if needed, put down a weed barrier and then plan you design. IMO it's also the fun part of gardening, prepping the area and planting what you want and watching it fill it. If it were me I would at least thin it out so you can create a better structure or design layout. In my opinion it would be easier to remove the portions along the edge, the taller grass within the dirt and replace it with a better ground cover. The majority of standard plants are relatively cheap so I wouldn't go through the trouble of picking and saving plants unless you LOVE them. To save money you can grow a lot of plants yourself. There are many easy to grow varieties and seeds are dirt cheap!

Tustin, CA