New to Gardening

Grove City, OH

Hi everyone! I just bought a new house, and while I was wanting to garden, I figured I would wait a year or two after things have settled down a bit (I also have a new baby). Howver, there seems to already be a garden here with a lot of plants and flowers.

I have zero experience with gardening, so I'm wondering: do I need to worry about things like fertilizing, pruning, etc right now, or will these plants survive if I dont manage to do all of that this year?

Also, I'm not quite sure what all the plants are, but I think I've been able to identify a few. There's a peony bush (the buds haven't opened yet), some columbine flowers, bleeding hearts, tulips, daffodils, a rose bush, a couple lilac bushes, and what I think is some sort of purple phlox?

I've also noticed some weedy looking flowers in random spots of the yard. I think one is fleabane, and then some little yellow daisy-looking things. I kind of like them and am wondering if there is a way to make them grow in specific areas, where they wont get run over with the lawn mower.

And last question, I think it would be cool to maybe cut some flowers for a vase. Which ones would be okay to cut, and any tips on doing so without harming the plant?

Union, SC(Zone 7b)

Hi Genovelle, it sounds like you have landed in a good spot if you have any interest in the garden. You seem like you are well read so far and I would encourage you to do just that. Iím a rookie myself. Enjoy.

Northampton, PA

Hey genavelle, can you please post pictures of your garden? So that I can give you a proper advice. Until then you can check these lawn maintenance tips. https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/48096906557/in/dateposted-public/ , surely it will help you.

This message was edited Jun 22, 2019 1:17 AM

This message was edited Aug 1, 2019 7:12 AM

This message was edited Aug 22, 2019 1:39 AM

Centreville, VA

photos, please!