Peace lily - should I be worried?

Plover, WI

Hi folks. I'm worried about this peace lily. It has great sentimental value as it came from the funeral of a beloved aunt. I'm not very experienced with plants, but I've had this one since 2008. It's never been a tremendous bloomer, and a lot of times it doesn't even blossom, just grows leaves. However I'm getting worried about it. I usually replace the soil every May. Last year I did two things different.

At the suggestion of a friend, I separated the plant into three segments. The other thing I did was I used a "moisture control" potting mix, and that last part has me especially concerned. At first I thought it was a great idea, but then I read that with this type of mix you run a risk of root rot, so I cut back on the watering. Now I'm afraid I didn't water it enough. I went and cut off all the leaves that were withering or turning brown, hoping it would help the remaining ones stay strong. So far one of the three hasn't grown back, the second looks like it has a new leaf coming in, and the third is doing best, with a new leaf or bloom coming in. I've attached two pictures: one I took tonight, and the other taken just after a repotting five years ago (for contrast.)

I plan on repotting it soon, and NOT with moisture control mix. However I'm concerned about what kind of mix to get; i.e. organic or non-organic, store-bought or special order from a small business, etc.

I've been doing a lot of online research and I understand the plant might just be in a "dormant" state from the long winter. Is it possible it just needs some new mix and it will start growing more? Any help would be appreciated.

Oh and one other thing - the last couple years I have watered her exclusively with distilled water. The tap water here is hard and full of chlorine.

Thank you!

Thumbnail by ArthurKing Thumbnail by ArthurKing
(Zone 9b)