any ideas?

Gulfport, MS(Zone 8a)

i found what are think are eggs on top of a buddelia leaf. they look hard and are brownish-red. they are kinda in a V form, (imagine geese flying. there are 18 of them.
are they butterfly eggs? if so, any idea what kind?
TIA,
jen

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

MsJen, I have no idea. how big are they? they size of a pea?

Gulfport, MS(Zone 8a)

oh no, they are tiny. i dont even know what to compare them to. maybe a kiwi seed, maybe smaller.
i tried to take a pic with the digital, but the el cheaper i have doesnt do very well with small objects.
jen

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

maybe insect poop???if it is that small, I dont think they could be eggs, not that I am an expert though, But it seems they are too small.
Pity you cant post a picture...
and I will just die if in 3-4 weeks you tell us they hatched - lol

Gulfport, MS(Zone 8a)

would have to be a talented insect to be able to poop in such a pattern, rofl.
ill try again today to see if i can get at least something on camera.

jen

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

well, there is that of course Jen, I hadnt thought of the pattern, was just concentrating on the size....what could it be? I really think they are too small if they are the size of a kiwi seed, which is about the size of a sesame seed right? (just to make sure I'm thinking of the same thing)

Toadsuck, TX(Zone 7a)

Insect POOP????!!!!!!! Get a magnifying glass, I suppose! ROFLMBO!!!!!

"eyes"

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

lol - maybe not insect, but it cant be too big of a critter, the squirrels poop is about the size of a lemon or tangerine seed, just to keep things in perspective....
bird poop isnt uniform in size....just a big ole splat, so we have to rule out birds, I have seen some black poopy looking stuff on petunias and such that were infested with those white wormy things, I bet it's something like that....a catterpillar maybe?

Toadsuck, TX(Zone 7a)

It's the V shaped formation that is intriguing me.....

"eyes"