Moonflower Vine Question

St. Paul, MN(Zone 4b)

If one or more of you vine experts would offer some advice on my Moonflower vines, I would be most grateful.

I planted a number of Moonflower vines for the first time this year and they are all huge, lush and apparently healthy. They are on the south side of the building and get regular waterings. However, I have had a grand total of two flowers so far, and don't even see any buds forming. Does anyone have any thoughts on what the problem may be? Or am I just being impatient?

I don't post much yet as I am rather new at growing plants and don't have much to offer anyone, but I sure enjoy reading through the forums. I am always amazed at the many talented and helpful people on this site.

Erick

Deep South Coastal, TX(Zone 10a)

Well, my moonvine that I put ammonium sulfate on has grown about 50 ft in every direction, but have sparse flowers. I honestly think that vine grows a foot a day, maybe more. The one at the lower end of the fence gets minimal water, no fertilize and has many more flowers, but is a much smaller vine. Did you over fertilize your vine?(this seems to apply to blue sky vine, lady margaret passiflora, carolina jessamine.......the list goes on.....if a small section of the southeastern tip of Texas disappears y'all will know the vines have swallowed it up)

St. Paul, MN(Zone 4b)

Thank you, Calalily, for the nice response. I do fertizlize my Moonflower vines regularly, along with the rest of my garden. Perhaps they have responded by putting out lots of vegetative growth at the expense of flowers. I don't suppose there is anything I can about it at this point, other than enjoy them as lush green vines!

At the rate my Moonflower vines are growing, you should see them creeping into your yard any day now...

Thank you again,

Erick

Ventura, United States(Zone 10b)