Chenille Plant, Red-Hot Cattail (Acalypha hispida)

South Florida, FL(Zone 10b)

Chenille Plant, Red-Hot Cattail
Acalypha hispida

Thumbnail by jnana
Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

Very exotic looking! Would you do a trade?

Hi CaptMicha, I would love to do a trade if someone teaches me how to do it. I'm not too sure as to how you mail plants. I am a total novice when it comes to this sort of trading. I've given cuttings to many friends, but they all live here. I am willing to learn.

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

Lol. There's a whole system.

This goes for cuttings or rooted plants.

You take your cutting or take your plant and wrap the bottom in damp papertowels. Then I usually tie a plastic bag around that part. Then you roll them in newspaper (don't leave any part of the plant exposed), kind of like a fish at market.

Pretty easy? You can order free priority boxes from the USPS site. Priority mail takes 3-4 days to deliver which is ideal for plant material. Otherwise, you can also just use a plain box or your post office has free priority boxes also.

Michelle

Hi Michelle,

Sounds very easy, so I'm willing to give it a try. Please e-mail me and we will talk.

jnana

Rabat, Morocco

I'd love to do a trade too, but somehow I think that sending cutting to Morocco would be just too complicated -- sanitary regulations and all that, not to mention the time it would take by normal post, or the expense by priority! I'll have to try and buy some seeds somewhere, or search the tiny nurseries around that might just have a plant hiding somewhere. I've never seen it in the nurseries here, although Acalypha wilkesiana is used a lot here. Jnana, your plant is beautiful! Those shaded corners in the garden must really come alive with those delicate red "caterpillars"!
Carey

Nottingham, MD(Zone 7a)