Woodworkers unite!

Temecula, CA(Zone 8b)

hiya fellow woodbutchers....lol.

Let's see how many of us there actually are here.

For those of you that don't know me I'm drdon, I have a small shop and do some woodworking and woodturning. I'm still a bit of a novice, but hope someday to be able to do some cool stuff.

Temecula, CA(Zone 8b)

Here's a couple of bowls I recently turned. The taller one is made from a single billet of Bubinga, an African hardwood, the darker, smaller one is from a single billet of the Mexican hardwood Cocobolo.

The Bubinga bowl

Thumbnail by drdon
Temecula, CA(Zone 8b)

Cocobolo

Thumbnail by drdon

I'm raising my hand!! I've always been into construction (barns, chicken coops, and such-like) and very recently I have started getting into building finer items. I even got a router last month.

Over the last month, I've read several books about fine woodworking and I'm close to getting my feet wet. My first project will be a hand-made dove-tailed carcass box.

On my want list is a jointer, planer and a table saw. A lathe would be fun but that's for later. :)

I hope to participate and learn a lot in this forum!

Huntington Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

My gosh Don, is there anything you can't do or make? I am a very versatile person also, although not great at anything special. I love to work with wood and also refinish wood projects. I've always wanted to learn to carve wood like balvine, but haven't had the time to learn, with all the other projects I have going.

The bowls are beautiful and I love the wood you used. Are these the projects you were trying to finish before Christmas?

Donna

Temecula, CA(Zone 8b)

hiya SoCal,

great to see you!