Starting Indoors...

Zanesville, OH(Zone 6a)

OK...this is my first year starting MGs. I've been very lucky in my trades, plus many kind people have given me seeds. So, I want to make sure I get my babies off to a good start LOL. I'd thought about using Jiffy pot or pellets but have recently read about people having problems with them. Any and all suggestions are much welcomed. Plus, I was thinking about starting them very soon...is it too soon here in Ohio? Has anyine used hydrogen peroxide in sprouting/growing MGs?

Denise

New York, NY

Wasn't intending to start morning glories, but volunteers came up in a pot of a passiflora I was given. Potted two up separately, and the first one just started blooming inside today, a nice iridescent purplish Japanese MG. The seeds must have been in the soil. These just appeared under a 600W HSP lamp. but the pot was shaded by other plants.

Always water my plants with a little hydrogen peroxide in the water, and I really do believe it helps both germinating seeds and growing plants

Here's some interesting info on hydrogen peroxide from the Sleepy Oaks website:

"Sometimes I add a cup of common drug-store hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) to a gallon of water, if the plant receiving it is in a situation where it should have more light. This usually happens when there is a hard freeze warning and the plants all come inside. When a plant is in a dark place, it is likely to absorb oxygen to sustain itself. The extra oxygen molecules in the hydrogen peroxide give the plants this extra little boost. Don't overdo it. Another thing I have found H2O2 to be good for is the following:
Oxygen kills fungus. If there is the suspicion that there may be a fungal problem in the soil, try watering with the same 1 cup to a gallon of water solution.