Only a few more days to enter our 19th Annual Photo Contest. Voting starts this Friday! You can submit your best images HERE

Is there any use for over ripe cucumbers?

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

I have a lot of cucumbers that are over ripe..(they were hiding..) is there anything they are good for? Sure hate to throw them away..

Thanks for any help..

Kris

Wichita, KS(Zone 6b)

They work fine for relish.

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

Great, thanks...

Kris

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

Try peeling and seeding them...just using the hulls or 'meat' part for the relish..

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

MIL like to make a ripe cucumber pickle using the same spices you would use for a watermelon rind pickle.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I'll put a watch on this thread and try to locate my mom's recipe for "Slip Downs" this weekend... a ripe cucumber pickle that's sweet but less sweet than watermelon pickles...

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

I really appreciate all this advice..this is my first year of trying to make pickles (or anything) out of all the cucumbers I am getting...

Thanks, Kris

Claremore, OK(Zone 6a)

Lots of good ideas here. I'd be interested in the pickle recipes too.

Kris, isn't that a funny feeling when you spot that monster sized cuke hiding down there ? I always wonder how in the world I managed to miss that long enough for it to grow that size.

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

Peggie, yes, I am always amazed to find usually not one, but several very large ones that were overlooked and grew to enormous sizes...makes me wonder if I should be getting my eyes checked...LOL

Kris

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

Welcome to the world of veggie gardening....

Something else that bothers me is okra that gets too big to eat. You harvest it every day and somehow you'll miss some that are 6" long before you see them. I've found they make great pods for dried arrangements. Florists are supposed to love them....but here in the heart of okra country, it's hard to find a florist who considers okra decorative.