Dappled Willow

Farmington, ME

Hello! I am new to gardening and need some advice on Dappled Willow (Hakuro Nishiki type). I just planted it about a 3 weeks ago in full sun location. I noticed that some of the pink leaves are drying out and turning brown while green leaves are turning yellow and are falling off. I have been watering daily to help the plan establish. Is it getting too much water? Or not enough? I checked the soil and it was moist but not soaked. I used shrub soil for planting and the area drains pretty well. I noticed that the plant flyer recommended part shade, although I am finding online that dappled willow can also grow in full sun. I am not sure what the problem is, but I don't want to lose this plant. I live in zone 5.

I would appreciate any recommendations.

Thanks!

Vicksburg, MS(Zone 8a)

Your problem sounds like a water issue to me. How are you watering it? Just a little each day? With any new tree, I put plenty of water into the planting hole before I put the tree in, backfill with soil, and water again and then I mulch it well. After that, I give it a good soaking about once a week by laying the hose at the base of the tree and setting the water to a slow trickle--I leave that for at least 1 or two hours, depending on how dry it is. A good deep soaking encourages any plant to put down deep roots whereas shallow watering can cause it to develop shallow roots.

Farmington, ME

I watered it daily for the first two weeks, but sounds like it was shallow watering from your description. After I noticed the issues with leaves, I switched to watering every three days or so. But I might still be over watering it. Sounds like I need to start watering weekly and do a deep soaking instead.

Thank you for your advice!

Windsor, ON(Zone 6a)