Planting in larger pots?

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

I happened upon this page this morning and the writer mentions that the reason Amaryllis are grown in small pots and kept rootbound is to prevent the forming off shoots. I really like the look of some of the ones I have seen that have multiple bulbs and multiple stems all growing in one pot. Have any of you had experience with starting your bulbs in larger pots and with what results?

http://www.amaryllisgarden.com/

Here one of the ones I like with the multiple stems.

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/fp.php?pid=4724931

susan

This message was edited Jan 1, 2009 8:30 AM

Holden, LA(Zone 8b)

I have been growing amaryllis in large pots for several years. I plant them in 16 to 20 inch pots in late Feburary. I plant Impatients around the edge of the pot. When the Amaryllis is finished blooming the Impatients are almost ready to bloom. I leave both plants in the poy until late October or early November then remove the Amaryllis bulbs and allow them to rest in a cool dark place until next Feb. I have had good luck with this. I have not lost a bulb yet and have lots of bublets. Good luck with yours. Hazel

Washington, IN(Zone 6a)

You actually take the bulb from the soil? I always thought they were to be left in the soil and put away until the time to take them out. Let me know for if that is what's to be done I 'll do it.

Holden, LA(Zone 8b)

flowerfantasy, I always take them out of the soil. When I first started growing them many years ago, I left them in the soil, but the bulbs did not do so well. I lost some of my bulbs. After I started taking them out of the soil and laying them up somewhere to rest, I have had no more problems, and they bloom beautifully every spring.

Washington, IN(Zone 6a)

Ok I'll do that then because I don't want to lose mine.