Early Spring here & I don't know what to do, please advise!

Last year I put in some perennials. I let some things 'stand' in the garden just in case some birds wanted seed. We have had an unusually mild winter and some plants are already putting out some new growth. Gaillardia are actually budding already! I'm not worried about plants like that because they are easy to grow and I have seed for them. I have no experience with others like Agastache.
Does anybody have advice for me? Should I cut back last year's stems already? Our average last frost is mid-March but I have seen snow in April. Usually I don't see growth on plants until March.
This is a picture of the new growth on Agastache 'Ava'. Photo taken this morning. The climate here is high desert.

Thumbnail by angele
Albuquerque, NM(Zone 7b)

Just an opinion, but I would wait until it really is Spring to do Spring activities as Winter will be back. NM seems prone to false Springs with temperatures going warm/cold/warm/cold until May. Seems to confuse the plants A prime example is the annual loss of apricots. It gets warm, the trees bloom, it gets cold, the blossoms fall off, no apricots this year again. When I had an apricot tree I got apricots 1 year in 7. Some people even go out and try to make the trees cold so they won't bloom early. For natives (even hybrids) I wouldn't do anything special now as this is what they are adapted to.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

Wow! It's not even February! I don't cut back as the old growth helps to protect the plants from cold snaps and I have alot more of those to go sigh. The other NMers will know better what's best for your zone angele.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

Well there you go. A NMer to the rescue ^_^

Albuquerque, NM(Zone 7b)

And hi angele. Good to meet another NM gardener.