Fairly New to Echinacea Care - Please Help!

Nashville, TN(Zone 7a)

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to Dave's Garden and I grew my first echinacea last year. I found it at Home Depot and it is called "Sunrise". I've been reading on here that many have not been happy with the "newer" varieties. I must have gotten lucky, because mine bloomed like crazy last year and was beautiful. They died back in winter and have come back this year. The are showing signs of flower buds, but the plants themselves are not that much bigger. I have a few questions:

1) How can I tell when an ech. plant is ready to be divided?
2) How do I divide?
3) Should I fertilize, and if so - what kind of fertilizer and how often?

Thanks so much!

~ Natasha

(The photo is of "Sunrise" - the last bloom about to fade from last fall)

Thumbnail by KnittyNatty38
Ft Lauderdale, FL(Zone 10a)